As the public debate continues over dual citizenship, President David Granger declared that as the Head of State he has the right to take away a person’s Guyanese citizenship.

The President was addressing persons gathered at a ceremony to dedicate the Department of Citizenship’s building, located at Shiv Chanderpaul Drive, Georgetown.

“The Constitution (of Guyana) empowers the President with the authority to deprive a dual citizen of his or her Guyanese citizenship,” the President said.

He cited Article 46 of the Constitution which states: “If the President is satisfied that any citizen of Guyana, has at any time after the 26thof May 1966, acquired by registration, naturalization or any voluntary act (other than by marriage) the citizenship of country other than Guyana, the President may by order deprive that person of his/her [Guyanese] citizenship.”

President Granger also pointed to the provision of the Constitution which bars dual citizens from being elected members of the National Assembly.

Four of the President’s Cabinet Ministers sat in the National Assembly with dual citizenship, taking a legal oath before the elections that they were qualified to sit in the House when they were not.

They subsequently resigned after the Caribbean Court of Justice affirmed the Constitutional decree that those with dual citizenship are not eligible to sit in the house.

Those who resigned – Joseph Harmon, Carl Greenidge, Dominic Gaskin and Dr Rupert Roopnarine – were subsequently given senior posts in the ministries they controlled.

https://newsroom.gy/2020/02/06...th-dual-citizenship/

• mceclip0

I don't share anyone sentiment to vote Granger out because he speaking the truth. But I would advise him not to heed to curass mouth coolies who talk about removing him and don't go to vote. Them can prappa talk rass.

I believe He is absolutely correct on this...

Would you be happy if he strips you of Guyanese Citizenship. You don’t have to run for MP for him to do that.

Dondadda posted:

Would you be happy if he strips you of Guyanese Citizenship. You don’t have to run for MP for him to do that.

As a principle, I dont believe in dual citizenship. As an American, the US government does not allow dual citizenship. For example, a person in the US army cannot become a citizen of another country and fight on behalf of that country while serving in the US army or being a US citizen.

There are some exceptions. For example, I believe Israel allow dual citizenship, for obvious reasons.

However, in the case of Guyana, with such a small population, I believe the President and PM should only hold Guyanese citizenship. Parliamentarians should be able to establish dual citizenship in order for the country to tap into the Guyanese diaspora, many of whom have skills that can be used to develop the country. 

As for the President's recent proclamation, I assume there is a process by which a dual citizen can be stripped of his/her Guyanese citizenship. To change this, one would have to change the Guyana Constitution (to allow dual citizenship, that is). 

Dondadda posted:

As a principle, I dont believe in dual citizenship. As an American, the US government does not allow dual citizenship. For example, a person in the US army cannot become a citizen of another country and fight on behalf of that country while serving in the US army or being a US citizen.

There are some exceptions. For example, I believe Israel allow dual citizenship, for obvious reasons.

However, in the case of Guyana, with such a small population, I believe the President and PM should only hold Guyanese citizenship.

Parliamentarians should be able to establish dual citizenship in order for the country to tap into the Guyanese diaspora, many of whom have skills that can be used to develop the country. 

As for the President's recent proclamation, I assume there is a process by which a dual citizen can be stripped of his/her Guyanese citizenship. To change this, one would have to change the Guyana Constitution (to allow dual citizenship, that is). 

Why should a Country allow holders of Dual Citizenship to introduce and vote on laws in the country ? 

Seems like folks want to suck cane and blow whistle .

After it was established that Harmon and Greenidge have dual citizenship, Granger just basically changed their titles but they never lost their ministerial portfolios so Granger talking here is basically talking out his ass.

Perhaps, it is his usual way.

Dondadda posted:

However, in the case of Guyana, with such a small population, I believe the President and PM should only hold Guyanese citizenship. Parliamentarians should be able to establish dual citizenship in order for the country to tap into the Guyanese diaspora, many of whom have skills that can be used to develop the country. 

According to my Turkish friend every Jew regardless of nationality or race can serve in the Israeli army as a soldier.  They do not have to be citizens of Israel. All they need is a letter from their Rabbi stating that they are Jews.

Dondadda posted:

However, in the case of Guyana, with such a small population, I believe the President and PM should only hold Guyanese citizenship.

Parliamentarians should be able to establish dual citizenship in order for the country to tap into the Guyanese diaspora, many of whom have skills that can be used to develop the country. 

Why should a Country allow holders of Dual Citizenship to introduce and vote on laws in the country ? 

Both of his daughters have dual citizenship. Are they going to give up their Guyanese citizenship?

As the public debate continues over dual citizenship, President David Granger declared that as the Head of State he has the right to take away a person’s Guyanese citizenship.

The President was addressing persons gathered at a ceremony to dedicate the Department of Citizenship’s building, located at Shiv Chanderpaul Drive, Georgetown.

“The Constitution (of Guyana) empowers the President with the authority to deprive a dual citizen of his or her Guyanese citizenship,” the President said.

He cited Article 46 of the Constitution which states: “If the President is satisfied that any citizen of Guyana, has at any time after the 26thof May 1966, acquired by registration, naturalization or any voluntary act (other than by marriage) the citizenship of country other than Guyana, the President may by order deprive that person of his/her [Guyanese] citizenship.”

President Granger also pointed to the provision of the Constitution which bars dual citizens from being elected members of the National Assembly.

Four of the President’s Cabinet Ministers sat in the National Assembly with dual citizenship, taking a legal oath before the elections that they were qualified to sit in the House when they were not.

They subsequently resigned after the Caribbean Court of Justice affirmed the Constitutional decree that those with dual citizenship are not eligible to sit in the house.

Those who resigned – Joseph Harmon, Carl Greenidge, Dominic Gaskin and Dr Rupert Roopnarine – were subsequently given senior posts in the ministries they controlled.

https://newsroom.gy/2020/02/06...th-dual-citizenship/

The highlighted is Granger's hypocrisy.

According to Islamic teachings, a hypocrite is the most despised person in the eyes of God. Granger fits that description.

Essentially, Granger can deny all non-PNC supporters who are dual citizens their Guyanese citizens thereby their privilege to vote in Guyana. Just as in the case of Harmon et al, PNC dual citizens need not worry about Granger's high handedness as they are not his target.

Both of his daughters have dual citizenship. Are they going to give up their Guyanese citizenship?

I doubt he will take away theirs. It would be fitting for them to have their other citizenship status rescinded though.

This dictator is quick to quote the constitution which he ignored and refused to adhere to when the NCM was passed. Now, this anal dictator is quoting the constitution. Who gives a rat's ass about taking away my Guyanese citizenship. I don't need it. I lived many more years in the US than in Guyana. He can take it and shove it up in all the holes of the human bodies he has in his household. You know what I am sayin'?

So lets say for argument sake that u  have dual citizenship for Guyana and the US. Granger takes away your guyanese citizenship. You're living in the US and commit a crime which demand deportation. Which country they sending yuh back to.

Guyana. The US doesn't give a shit what Granger says. Granger only has value to fools.

So lets say for argument sake that u  have dual citizenship for Guyana and the US. Granger takes away your guyanese citizenship.

You're living in the US and commit a crime which demand deportation. Which country they sending yuh back to.

US Citizens aren't deported, if you are convicted for crime. Lying to obtain US Citizenship  by naturalization ,can cause citizenship to be revoked.

https://bipartisanpolicy.org/b...ke-your-citizenship/

So lets say for argument sake that u  have dual citizenship for Guyana and the US. Granger takes away your guyanese citizenship.

You're living in the US and commit a crime which demand deportation. Which country they sending yuh back to.

US Citizens aren't deported, if you are convicted for crime. Lying to obtain US Citizenship ,can cause citizenship to be revoked.

You can be stripped of your US citizenship for certain crimes and be deported back to your home country. I think murder and drug-related offences come to my mind.

US Citizens aren't deported, if you are convicted for crime. Lying to obtain US Citizenship ,can cause citizenship to be revoked.

You can be stripped of your US citizenship for certain crimes and be deported back to your home country. I think murder and drug-related offences come to my mind.

I think you are correct here.

That's another way of saying you don't know.  Ignorance versus knowledge.

Zara posted:

Comrade Granger is right again. When you take US citizenship you suppose to give up other.  

How can a Guyanese have US citizenship and say he also has Guyana.. 

Oiii Zara --- Read extremely c-a-r-e-f-u-l-l-y ...

Guyanese can have her/his Guyanese citizenship and also have citizenship from other country(ies).

The issue is whether a Guyanese having a Guyanese and other citizenship can be a member of parliament for the Guyana government.

No you can't.

I think Skelly was referring to naturalized US citizen. I am not certain about US naturalized citizens laws 

My answer is about Naturalized US Citizens. There was discussion on a thread a while back.

PPP comrades here are so silly followers of a corrupted leader. US citizen is not taken away for such crimes. Only if you lie to get it or did treason actions.  Comrade from Skeldon is a very stupid comrade.

I think Skelly was referring to naturalized US citizen. I am not certain about US naturalized citizens laws 

My answer is about Naturalized US Citizens. There was discussion on a thread a while back.

Fair enough. 

Succinctly about naturalized U.S Citizens ...

--- Naturalized U.S citizens cannot loose their citizenship.

There are extremely rare situations where a naturalized U.S. citizen may loose her/his citizenship .... example ...

-- refusal to testify -- within ten years of obtaining naturalization -- at a U.S. congressional committer/hearing regarding the person's activities in a subversive act.

-- concealing or providing false statements and facts on issues to obtain U.S citizenship.