President to deliver inaugural address to Parliament on February 10

Georgetown, GINA, February 1, 2012
Source - GINA

President Donald Ramotar greets Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman

Guyana’s 7th Executive President Donald Ramotar will deliver his inaugural address to the tenth Parliament on February 10 and ahead of his keynote address, he was visited by Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman.

The meeting followed a correspondence of congratulations which the President had penned to the new Speaker that came with an invitation for the two to meet for a one-on-one discussion.

Trotman was on January 12 installed speaker of the National Assembly by a majority vote that went in favour of the opposition parties, holding the combined majority and People’s National Congress Reform (PNC/R) Member of Parliament Deborah Backer was named Deputy Speaker.

In an invited comment to the Government Information Agency (GINA) after today’s meeting the Speaker said that it is his interest to ensure that the President’s inaugural address comes off smoothly and get the business of the parliament going.

“It’s good that the Parliament and the Office of the President can meet and work out details… I’m happy that we have been able to meet as has promised,” Trotman said.

President Donald Ramotar in meeting with Speaker of the National Assembly Raphael Trotman Also in photo is Head of the Presidential Secretariat Dr Roger Luncheon

The selection of Speaker of the National Assembly was high on President Ramotar’s agenda since taking the Presidential seat last December.

Discussions began at the tripartite level but were stymied after the opposition parties locked themselves away in talks and arrived at their own accord on a speaker.

The President had said in a statement that such a move squandered an excellent opportunity for enhanced political cooperation and consensus but believes nevertheless that the business of parliament must continue.

They better learn to work together and get over their differences for the people's sake. This has to be a deliberative democracy or next time we are in for a war and will deserve it
Originally posted by D2:
They better learn to work together and get over their differences for the people's sake. This has to be a deliberative democracy or next time we are in for a war and will deserve it

D2 is now starting a war. LOL.
You talkin SHIT. What War are you referring to??? You like to open your stupid mouth and spew absolute Garbage!!!!!
Originally posted by D2:
Was Raphael Trotman invited by the President in his capacity as the Speaker of the National Assembly or as the AFC Leader? If he was invited as the Speaker why does Trotman have to discuss with the President regarding Tripartite Committee or give advise to the Head of State regarding how many times he should give State of the Union Addresses. I notice that Donald Ramotar did not give him an answer re: bitterness in him being Speaker. On the other, if he was invited as leader of the AFC, then the President is legitimizing the fact that it is OK for Trotty to keep both his positions.
Originally posted by D2:

...........................................................................................................

D2 calling for war and denying that he did so on the other thread.
Originally posted by alena:
Originally posted by D2:

...........................................................................................................

D2 calling for war and denying that he did so on the other thread.

Ow nah, even buck man waan feed abie to da daggs. Mi ga tell Romotar mek cassava bread, piwari and peppa pat national symbols soa dem like abie.