President to Granger … I’m not surrendering control of budget - but still open for ‘inclusion’ talks

“I have no intentions of abdicating the responsibilities of the government … this is our responsibility - not Mr. Granger’s…”

January 14, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur News

President Donald Ramotar

The ruling party yesterday insisted that while it remained committed to consulting with the Opposition on the preparation of the National Budget, it would be unwilling to surrender control.

This much was made clear by President Donald Ramotar yesterday during his first press conference since being sworn in last month.

During the opening session of the 10th Parliament on Thursday, Presidential Candidate of the A Partnership For National Unity (APNU), Brigadier General (rtd), David Granger, said that his party is not satisfied with “mere consultations” on the National Budget. “We are interested in collaboration. We want a budget that was drafted on a tripartite basis so that all of the monies that are collected through revenues are deployed to the benefit of the people as a whole.”

However, President Ramotar was quite clear where the People’s Progressive Party/Civic stood on the matter.

“I have no intentions of abdicating the responsibilities of the government… this is our responsibility- not Mr. Granger’s.”

He was of the view that the government has the responsibility to ensure that it prepares and presents the National Budget.

The Head of State said that when he had started talks back in December with the Parliamentary opposition parties, including both APNU and the Alliance For Change, it was agreed that the opposition would send representatives to the Minister of Finance, Dr. Ashni Singh to consult on the Budget. However, this was not done.

The ruling party would be more than keen to have the Budget prepared and tabled in Parliament early with Ramotar stressing yesterday that his administration was all set to continue work.

With the loss of the coveted Speaker’s post, and now with the opposition wanting more of the say in the crafting of the National Budget, the going may be tough for the ruling party, which since 1992, has been enjoying a majority in Parliament.

Brigadier General (rtd), David Granger

The Budget was tabled in Parliament in January last year. Ramotar yesterday said that the Budget could be ready by the first quarter, with strong indications that much work still lies ahead.

The opposition, on the campaign trail, had promised greater scrutiny into how public monies are spent and signaled intentions to even help in drafting the budget.

On Thursday, Granger made it clear that APNU, like the PPP/C and AFC, wants closer cooperation.

Granger warned that APNU will be paying keen attention on how monies are being spent in Guyana.

“We don’t want monies squirreled away in areas where the National Assembly has no scrutiny. So there are specific things that we need to inject in the budgetary process and we need to be part of the planning. We don’t want to be presented with a fait accompli (done deal).”

According to President Ramotar yesterday, the Opposition by choosing AFC’s leader, Raphael Trotman, as the new Speaker, missed a golden opportunity for closer ties between all the Parliamentary parties.

He again insisted that tradition was broken when the Opposition elected one of their own to become Speaker, a position which would go to the winning party, in this case the PPP/C. The Deputy Speaker goes to the Opposition.

“We have stuck with that, even when we had the combined majority over the Opposition. We have stuck with that tradition, and we thought that that tradition would have been kept going.” The PPP/C choice, of Ralph Ramkarran, the official argued, is a tested person who is a “known quality” and who has conducted the business of Parliament in a very professional way. “I am very proud of him, and being a colleague of his.”

The President yesterday also did not rule out the possibility of still embracing the Opposition in his government, saying that he is “still willing to be inclusive in my approach … as long as the Opposition shows some inclination that they are ready to work, I will be ready to work with them.”

He stopped short of saying how far his government is prepared to go in terms of inclusivity.

Meanwhile, on the outstanding issue of the vacant Minister of Tourism, Trade and Commerce, Ramotar disclosed that he is still mulling a number of issues but a number of candidates considered appeared to have interests in the tourism sector, which would present a conflict of interest situation.

Minister of Housing and Water, Irfaan Ali, is currently also overseeing that Ministry.

According to President Ramotar yesterday, the Opposition by choosing AFC’s leader, Raphael Trotman, as the new Speaker, missed a golden opportunity for closer ties between all the Parliamentary parties.

Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

Stop whining. It's time for a golden shower on the PPP.
Ramoutar is missing the boat once again....everyone and his grandmother knows that the govt is responsible for the budget... ..

The issue is that all political stake holders,including private industry must have an input in the preparation of the budget....

Ramoutar needs to be reminded that he is a minority president !....
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
Originally posted by Inqubus:
he is a big belly dunce.

Mi know, alyuh blackman smart.

yep isnt black man head of the greatest country on earth lets see coolie top that - u sore losers..
Originally posted by Churchill:
Ramoutar is missing the boat once again....everyone and his grandmother knows that the govt is responsible for the budget... ..

The issue is that all political stake holders,including private industry must have an input in the preparation of the budget....

You stupid fellow, he knows that.
he is a big belly dunce.

yep isnt black man head of the greatest country on earth lets see coolie top that - u sore losers..

His mother is a white woman, he can't be black.
he is a big belly dunce.

Hehe. Mi know, but he nah ga nutin foa do down hay. Yuh see da Santorum man seh he nah waan tek dem money a gi blaaahh... people. Abama cyaant do wah da PNC a do down hay. He gafa lissen up to da white man or he out laka deep South Mississipi Delta.
Originally posted by Ramakant_p:
China is the Greatest country in the world. The USA is a parasite begging alms from the chinese.

Da America a gi way too much freeness to dem lazy people who nah waan wuk. Juss like wah we see hay in GT, if people nah waan wuk, den dem muss deal wid datt demself. Dem waan we do datt donk hay, nuff freeness an' wenn dem nah get, dem raab, kill, loot and bun down. Dem a wach we.

Ramoutar needs to be reminded of the fact that he is not only a minority president but he helped the party to lose the majority.....when you sober up you may remind him ....

As I said you are stupid and a traitor..
Ramoutar must use his executive powers to silence the opposition.
Bringback communism. Democracy does not work ina developing country. Put the army and the unemployed to build roads and work in farms.

When you sober up, you will realize that you don't have any intelligence in that cotton picking mind of yours. You know nothing about me. You Jack.ass.
People like Churchill, Chief and Mitwah who supports Granger and the PNC and are willing to give up their wives and daughters to them should be shot. Bloddy traitors.

Joey realized that he has wronged the Indian people and has made amends.

Moses wants to do the same, But those jackasses who just hand over their wives and daughters to the blackman just to hangout with them, should be jailed for life.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Like Ramotar is still following racial politics. The budget is for the running of the whole economy, not just the PPP elite who are the main beneficiary from it.

he was elected President and he does not have to consult with the very people who bankrupted the country. The PPP does not need help in bringing in the budget. You are naive to think that ramoutar is a racist. Granger has proven that he is a a racist but you do have the balls to say so.

As I said you are stupid and a traitor..

Ra55 Churchie... dem PPP bais drop dem famous label " Traitor " pun yuh backside. Welcome to de club of Traitors .
In any democracy the budget is voted upon by parliament, after being drafted by the government. It is so that the PNC and PPP have had the majority vote in the past so that they could steamroll any budget past the noses of the opposition.
However, the current parliament is not under the control of the PPP, so they gonna have to come up with a budget that meets with the approval of all those who represent the voters.
In the interest of the Guyanese people the upcoming Budget cannot be a "take-it or leave-it" Budget as was done in the last 20 years when the PPP was in power and previously when PNC was in power. The projected income and expenses MUST be scrutinized. No more gimmicks..no more unaccounted $4Billions that occurred in the 2008 and 2009 Budget.
Originally posted by Gupta:
No more gimmicks..no more unaccounted $4Billions that occurred in the 2008 and 2009 Budget.

That is what is hurting so many PPPites on GNI. The party is over, but they can't get over it. They are complaining about the quality and size of the free meals now on offer.
Originally posted by Mr.T:
No more gimmicks..no more unaccounted $4Billions that occurred in the 2008 and 2009 Budget.

That is what is hurting so many PPPites on GNI. The party is over, but they can't get over it. They are complaining about the quality and size of the free meals now on offer.

Who is complaining about free meals. When was there ever free meals.
Stick to the topic. Ramoutar is not going to allow the PNC to dictate the budget.. In their 28 yerA RULE, THEY STOLE EVERYTHING IN SIGHT.

The PPP wond the Presidency and the Governmnet not the PNC/APNU.

PPP + AFC = 39 seats.

PNC + WPA = 26 seats.
Ramotar has to seek approval from parliament if he wants that budget passed. And since the PPP does not have a majority in parliament they'll have to come to an agreement with the opposition parties. An extreme example of what I mean is the US budget discussions between democrats and republicans. Ramotar can shout as much as he wants, but he has not got a majority.
The fact that the PPP is the governing party does not mean they can the law on their side. They are a minority government.
EVERYONE will have their input. What the Pres is saying is that the FINAL version will be HIS. He will listen to all the suggestions and then make his FINAL decision. Remember, he IS THE EXECUTIVE PRESIDENT OF THE COOPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA.

tHEN gUIYANA IS IN GOOD HANDS WITH pREZ rAMOTAR.
In the interest of the Guyanese people the upcoming Budget cannot be a "take-it or leave-it" Budget as was done in the last 20 years when the PPP was in power and previously when PNC was in power. The projected income and expenses MUST be scrutinized. No more gimmicks..no more unaccounted $4Billions that occurred in the 2008 and 2009 Budget.
Originally posted by Nehru:
What the Pres is saying is that the FINAL version will be HIS
With input from APNU, AFC, civic organization, businesses..etc. How can the FINAL version be "HIS". Big Grin
I DONT expect you to understand.
What the Pres is saying is that the FINAL version will be HIS
With input from APNU, AFC, civic organization, businesses..etc. How can the FINAL version be "HIS". Big Grin
EVERYONE will have their input. What the Pres is saying is that the FINAL version will be HIS. He will listen to all the suggestions and then make his FINAL decision. Remember, he IS THE EXECUTIVE PRESIDENT OF THE COOPERATIVE REPUBLIC OF GUYANA.

The government does not have the majority to carry out that trick this time.