President visits flood hit Essequibo coast, assures residents that relief is in sight

Written by , Published in News, Georgetown, GINA, January 17, 2015, Source - GINA

Region Two Chairman Parmanand Persaud and President Donald Ramotar speaking with National Drainage and Irrigation Authority Head, Lionel Wordsworth and other officials at the Lima Outfall on the Essequibo Coast

Flooding along parts of the Essequibo coast, prompted Head of State President Donald Ramotar to visit several hard hit communities. Accompanied by Regional officials including Chairman, Parmanand Persaud and Drainage and Irrigation officials, the president had a firsthand look at outfalls in the communities of Devonshire Castle, Hampton Court, Lima, Anna Regina, Three Friends, Richmond, Reliance and Henrietta.

In addition to observing the measures being instituted to relieve the accumulation of water, the president was able to meet with residents many of whom voiced their concerns about the situation. President Ramotar instructed regional officials to keep him informed daily of the situation until it was rectified.

The fact that some seven inches of rainfall occurred along parts of the region, over the last two days exacerbated the situation, the president noted. “A lot of the problems have to do with the mud blocking up the outfalls, and constantly as you clear it the mud comes back in”.

Additional equipment is being put in place to remove the flood waters, he added, “We are sending in more dredges and more pumps so that we can have some relief from the situation as far as possible. The most important thing now is to try to get the water off the land”.

Region Two Chairman, Parmanand Persaud and President Donald Ramotar speaking with National Drainage and Irrigation Authority Head, Lionel Wordsworth and other officials at the Lima Outfall on the Essequibo Coast

He assured residents that officials are doing their best to bring relief to their plight, and empathised with them during this difficult time.

Head of the National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA), Lionel Wordsworth, said the heavy rains have resulted in flooding in agricultural and residential areas. A big effort now, he said, is to clear the outfalls and sluices to have effective gravity based drainage. “While that is happening, we also redeployed some pumps from the East Coast of Demerara and Georgetown to assist with the situation here”.

President Donald Ramotar speaking with officials and residents at an Outfall on the Essequibo Coast

The NDIA head said that, in addition to the aforementioned measures, a second dredge will be put into operation this evening.

The situation, he admitted, is a very challenging one for his team. “The accumulation along the outfalls is very frequent so it requires a constant effort to keep them clear so that the gravity drainage could be effective. Unless we can overcome these challenges, problems like these can surface sometimes”.

He added that 12 pumps are currently operating along the Essequibo coast, and two more will arrive from Georgetown and be pressed into service on Sunday.

President Donald Ramotar with officials and residents at an Outfall on the Essequibo Coast

WHAT A COMPASSIONATE, CARING, SELFLESS PRESIDENT WE HAVE. OUR PRESIDENT JUST RETURNED FROM A VERY HECTIC TRIP TO INDIA BUT STILL FIND THE TIME AND ENERGY TO PEOPLE OF ESSEQUIBO  GOD BLESS YOU MR PRESIDENT.

Results of the millions spent on sea defenses. Progress under the PPP.

Erosion along the Essequibo River has caused these houses on one of the small islands to crumble, forcing residents to abandon them. (Photo by Arian Browne)
20150118Photo

WHAT A COMPASSIONATE, CARING, SELFLESS PRESIDENT WE HAVE. OUR PRESIDENT JUST RETURNED FROM A VERY HECTIC TRIP TO INDIA BUT STILL FIND THE TIME AND ENERGY TO PEOPLE OF ESSEQUIBO  GOD BLESS YOU MR PRESIDENT.

Compassionate my ass. What da fk does that mealy mouthed fart prick know about compassion? You rass got away from the stench known as Guyana and live comfortable in the US but want tell the Guyanese people how fo tek lar from their illegal prez.

Why you rass doan go back there and show dem how fo live happy on next to nothing nuh.

This is the problem with you PPP goofs here, all yall rass ran out of Guyana and want those who reside there and have no way of escape, to kiss up to their corurpt leader, live the poor life, all the while the governnment and their people flying round de world with $$$$ in their planes, made from only God knows what kinda scum deal they made.

The people are fed up and this time has got to be different.

Correct, Nehru.

Continued irrelevance to issues are your prime focus.

What new sentences do you have D_G, you seems to be an intelligent person.

You must have other sentences written somewhere.

It will definitely show your intelligence.   

Yes Bhai.

Jai Hind, Jai Ramotar.

Yes Bhai.

Jai Hind, Jai Ramotar.

Indeed very energetic.

Yes Bhai.

Jai Hind, Jai Ramotar.

Indeed very energetic.

Energetic indeed, abee president ah wuk.   

Originally Posted by Tola:

Yes Bhai.

Jai Hind, Jai Ramotar.

Indeed very energetic.

Energetic indeed, abee president ah wuk.   

All work and no play will make JACK a dull boy.

Last edited by Nehru

This man has no shame, he has limited system in place to help these people and he run up there to lie to them.  They should throw a pooosee of piss on him for his stupidity.

This PPP poosee will wuk