President will not address Parliament on Thursday – Presidential Advisor on Governance

Georgetown GINA, January 10, 2012
Source - GINA

Contrary to a report carried in the Kaieteur News newspaper of Tuesday, January 10, President Donald Ramotar will not be delivering an address at the opening of the 10th Parliament on Thursday, January 12, 2012.

Presidential Advisor on Governance Gail Teixeira said today that Thursday’s sitting of the National Assembly will specifically focus on the selection of the Speaker of the House, the Deputy Speaker and the swearing in of Members of Parliament.

General and Regional Elections held in Guyana on November 28, 2011 resulted in the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) gaining 32 seats in the National Assembly, the highest number of seats among the four Parliamentary Parties that contested the elections.

A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) gained 26 seats and the Alliance for Change (AFC) trailed behind with seven seats. The United Force (TUF) did not secure a parliamentary seat.

Parliament to convene on Thursday

January 10, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur News

The Tenth Parliament will convene on Thursday.

Yesterday President Donald Ramotar issued the proclamation for the convening of Parliament on Thursday, January 12, 2012, at 14:00hrs in the Parliament Chambers, Public Buildings Georgetown.

The proclamation was issued in pursuance of article 69(1) of the Constitution.

The political parties have already submitted their parliamentarians. And the question of the Speaker of the National Assembly would be determined on Thursday when the parliament convenes.

The highlight would be the address by President Donald Ramotar, the swearing in of the various Members of Parliament and the election of the Speaker.

Contrary to a report carried in the Kaieteur News newspaper of Tuesday, January 10, President Donald Ramotar will not be delivering an address at the opening of the 10th Parliament on Thursday, January 12, 2012.

President will not address Parliament on Thursday – Presidential Advisor on Governance

Georgetown GINA, January 10, 2012
Source - GINA

The highlight would be the address by President Donald Ramotar, the swearing in of the various Members of Parliament and the election of the Speaker.

Parliament to convene on Thursday
January 10, 2012 | By KNews | Filed Under News
Source - Kaieteur News

Ramotar will be the First Elected Minority President of Guyana.
He will also be the Only Guyana President who never Addressed Parliament or Addressed the United Nations......"Poor Fella"
Gadaha, Well you go and address the UN nah.
Originally posted by Jalil:
Ramotar will be the First Elected Minority President of Guyana.
He will also be the Only Guyana President who never Addressed Parliament or Addressed the United Nations......"Poor Fella"
Gadaha, Who wasting time not even able to come and vote for a Speaker??? Who asked for vacation until now???? Man learn to read or ask yuh Pickney dem to read and explain to you. !!!
Originally posted by Gupta:
Bad start President Ramotar, you are wasting a good opportunity to show your leadership. Why are you ducking the opening of Parliament.

The Guyanese people won!!!
Originally posted by Gupta:
Bad start President Ramotar, you are wasting a good opportunity to show your leadership. Why are you ducking the opening of Parliament.

The Guyanese people won!!!
bai the duck do not know how to speak,bar--rat send him up river with a boat without any paddle.the blind will be leading the blind,
The decision not to address parliament at this time was a bad one .....Donald will miss an ideal opportunity to reach out across party lines to all the law makers in parliament and to charge them to work in the interest of the nation as a whole......
Sir Churchill, I know it is busy time and you probably went on Vacation and thing but[with ALL due RESPECT, President Donald Ramotar has been reaching out, in, left, right and center to ALL Parties, Their Leaders and Members from the time he got Elected. Just bringing you up to speed. Hope you had a great Vacation.QUOTE]Originally posted by Churchill:
The decision not to address parliament at this time was a bad one .....Donald will miss an ideal opportunity to reach out across party lines to all the law makers in parliament and to charge them to work in the interest of the nation as a whole......[/QUOTE]
Originally posted by Nehru:
Sir Churchill, I know it is busy time and you probably went on Vacation and thing but[with ALL due RESPECT, President Donald Ramotar has been reaching out, in, left, right and center to ALL Parties, Their Leaders and Members from the time he got Elected. Just bringing you up to speed. Hope you had a great Vacation.QUOTE]Originally posted by Churchill:
The decision not to address parliament at this time was a bad one .....Donald will miss an ideal opportunity to reach out across party lines to all the law makers in parliament and to charge them to work in the interest of the nation as a whole......
[/QUOTE]

Nehru FYI I was not on vacation ....I disagree with the comment that Ramouthar has been reaching out to all parties.....little meetings in the comfort of the OP cannot be reaching out....those were private meetings to " wheel and deal ".... Ramouthar called parliament to meet with the intention of squeezing into the speakership the PPP's nominee in the midst of a perceived conflict between the AFC and APNU on the question of the speakership....and now seeing that a compromise was arrived at between the opposition parties Ramouthar and those who gave him bad advise are left holding the bag.....they are unprepared for parliament on Thursday.....

Ramouthar will not recover from this grave lack of judgement on his part...
It is normal Political strategy. Why the need to address Parliament on Thursday and not Monday or Wednesday. Can you explain why the AFC candidate was rejected for the Speakership??? Why did they compromise their decision to nominate Moses???
Originally posted by Churchill:

Nehru FYI I was not on vacation ....I disagree with the comment that Ramouthar has been reaching out to all parties.....little meetings in the comfort of the OP cannot be reaching out....those were private meetings to " wheel and deal ".... Ramouthar called parliament to meet with the intention of squeezing into the speakership the PPP's nominee in the midst of a perceived conflict between the AFC and APNU on the question of the speakership....and now seeing that a compromise was arrived at between the opposition parties Ramouthar and those who gave him bad advise are left holding the bag.....they are unprepared for parliament on Thursday.....

Ramouthar will not recover from this grave lack of judgement on his part...[/QUOTE]
It is normal Political strategy. Why the need to address Parliament on Thursday and not Monday or Wednesday. Can you explain why the AFC candidate was rejected for the Speakership??? Why did they compromise their decision to nominate Moses???

Again...APNU has 26 seats to AFC 7...try to put the pieces together
How does that answer my questions>>> Confused Confused
Originally posted by raymond:

Again...APNU has 26 seats to AFC 7...try to put the pieces together

President Donald Ramotar is a man of good judgement and character. He's doing a fine job without the influence of former President Jagdeo that many feared. The lack of judgement comes from posters who are still hoping to bring him down for personal reasons. His excellency deserves to be respected, and it's only fair to address him properly and to spell his name correctly. That is a lack of judgement on your part.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:

President Donald Ramotar is a man of good judgement and character. He's doing a fine job without the influence of former President Jagdeo that many feared. The lack of judgement comes from posters who are still hoping to bring him down for personal reasons. His excellency deserves to be respected, and it's only fair to address him properly and to spell his name correctly. That is a lack of judgement on your part.

His record at Guysicko speaks volumes of his performance and his nepotism and cronyism speak of his good judgement and character. He is Jagdeo's puppet.
Leave the KATAHAR to indulge in his self prophecy. That is ALL these people care about. Me ME ME . They think their disguise are fooling anyone. They more concern with their bottom line than with helping the deserving POOR. Shameless bunch of Nincompoops!!!!

I have known Rumouthar since he was a clerk at Gimpex in 1965....during that lenght of time I have seen several versions of spelling of his name.....

I do not dislike Rumouthar for personal reason but political....
It is a fact that he has always been a poor performer....he failed at Guysuco and as general secretary he helped Jagdeo to destroy the PPP.....the fact that he was selected to be the PPP presidential candidate should be proof enough that he is also a puppet of those behind the scenes who are pulling the string...
i WANT TO TAKE THIS OPPORTUNITY TO APOLOGISE TO cHURCHILL. i THOUGHR aBIDHA WAS QUOTING FROM rAYMAN. pLEASE ACCEPT MY SINCERE APOLOGY AND BELIEVE ME IT WAS SIMPLY A MISTAKE ADDRESSING THE wrong PERSON. i AM VERY SORRY.
Leave the KATAHAR to indulge in his self prophecy. That is ALL these people care about. Me ME ME . They think their disguise are fooling anyone. They more concern with their bottom line than with helping the deserving POOR. Shameless bunch of Nincompoops!!!!

that is what i tell these indian katahar,let all jump on the ppp band wagon and help them ministers build mansions.to hell with the poor