Much has been written about the Guyana elections in the Trinidad and Tobago media. That situation will not end well. There is an internal rebellion in the ruling People’s National Congress-led coalition against the president David Granger. The president’s trusted lieutenant Joe Harmon and other PNC stalwarts have insisted that Granger be sworn in using fraud and force. But Granger has resisted, leading to a showdown in the party. Granger may not come out on top as he does not control all levers of power, like the disciplined forces and the party.

It is well known that Granger and Harmon were a close-knit team that came into government with an agreed agenda to repress the business sector and those in control of the independent media. But Harmon soon became a pragmatist, recognising the significance of private business in national development and role of the media. Defying Granger, he has been supporting big businesses. The hardcore faction of the PNC, led by Granger and the party’s chair, Volda Lawrence, are angry that Harmon teamed up with the business class and have cut down Harmon, removing him last week as director general of the office of the president.

Granger is casting blame for the March 2 election loss on Harmon and others when it was really his poor performance that led to the PNC defeat. His aloofness and absentee management were the cause for the party in the electoral predicament of having to resort to fraud to win. Harmon campaigned on every corner during the election unlike Granger who campaigned at national rallies. Unlike the president who was known to retire at 8 p.m., Harmon has been up very late at night.

Over the last four years, the country has performed poorly. Financial reserves fell into deficits. Harmon has saved the economy from total collapse by working closely with the business sector even though only a few businesses and the banks prospered. He was opposed to the two per cent royalty given to the government by Exxon on the contract.

President Granger is incensed that Harmon called a meeting to discuss succession planning. Had Granger taken advice and been sworn in, there would not have been need for a secret meeting to discuss his removal from office. Harmon feels that with the president ailing there should be succession planning. Since he was very close to Granger, it was natural that he should be the successor.

The president unjustifiably removed Harmon from his post in the office of the president and put him in charge of the anti-COVID-19 initiative, taking that power away from minister of health Volda Lawrence. Harmon has strong support from leading figures like Amna Ally, Roysdale Forde, James Bond, Mark Archer, Vincent Alexander, and other stalwarts who are leading the effort against the opposition being declared the victor. Some big business owners are also very supportive of Harmon with funds to guarantee that the PNC remains in government. Volda Lawrence is coming around to supporting Harmon because the president does not have her in mind as a successor. Also, Volda has been very critical of the president’s wife Sandra, telling friends that the president is allowing himself to be influenced by his wife who is harbouring a political agenda in exercising control over the government.

Shawn Simmon

Ansa McCall and Massy control a large part of business in Guyana.  The Trinis positioned themselves in Guyana waiting for a slice of the oil windfall. Now that is all a Nancy story and both countries are looking for food handouts.

@Prashad posted:

According to my wife Harmon got kicked to the curb because his enemies painted him as being too close to East Indians.

Yuh wife does gafu tell yuh everything to post?  WTR!

1. Issues discussed with Dave -- info further on this post.

2. Matter/issues are now reasonable.

Demerara_Guy == Moderator.

==============================

MORE APNU+AFC CORRUPTION EXPOSED.

As the APNU+AFC government unravels, so too are the secret deals being exposed.
Ray Tristyn Klien (Son-in-Law to Joe Harmon) has emerged as a key player in the massive corruption and fraud over the last five years. He was hired by Republic Bank (TT) in 2016 and became a central negotiator of the 30 Billion dollar bond issued to NICIL. Joe Harmon was a member of the NICIL board and in effective control, this obvious conflict of interest was not declared and hefty fees were paid to Klien.
Klien also negotiated with a long list of Trinidadian businessmen who were eager to gain a foothold in Guyana and capitalize on the oil boom. In the two weeks before the election Ray Klien negotiated billions of dollars in land sales in the Ogle area alone with several businessmen in exchange for huge kickbacks. These deals were done illegally as the government was in caretaker mode.
In an effort to give legitimacy to it, on the 28th February (seventy-two hours before the Elections) Director-General Harmon reportedly forced Granger to convene a special 'Cabinet' meeting and approve the multi-billion dollar land sales retroactively.
Harmon is also using his close associate BK as a surrogate to purchase shares in Demerara Bank that have suddenly has been put on the market by a prominent family. This has attracted the attention of international financial regulatory bodies.
Two of Joe Harmon's brothers, Ben and Lennox, have been actively laundering money in the USA and stand to lose everything they have very soon. Joe has been informed that the home he purchased for his mother in New Jersey will also be seized. Joe’s children are facing seizure of assets including homes and boats in Miami. Ray Klien and his wife Danielle Harmon-Klien moved back to Washington D.C recently.
The Trinidadian businessmen who have benefited from Joe’s influence are fighting for him as their deals cannot withstand scrutiny. Joe has bought several plots of land in his own name and through associates; the Trinidadians influenced the recent publication of a letter in the Trinidad Express that portrays Joe as the shining light of Guyana and Granger as weak. The reasons for Joe Harmon’s desperation are in the light for all to see.

If you guys support Trump, then I can safely say that you would also support Granger, who is cut from the same cloth.  Donald Trump lies 100 times a day to the Media and the American People.   The Don tells you to drink  insecticide, so I am wondering who you don't, if you like him so much.    Trump is an admirer  of Jim Jones.

Dave ...

Where is the source for the the article ??.... i.e., http// ....

Article -- MORE APNU+AFC CORRUPTION EXPOSED.

Also, please ensure future articles have the proper http// ... plus other needed information such as title, date, etc..

Alyuh know Jagdeo did the same things over and over again. He wants to get back to the trough. 

YUh guys should know that is how all the politicians operate. Honesty in Guyanese government doan stop at the Indians.

@Ramakant-P posted:

If you guys support Trump, then I can safely say that you would also support Granger, who is cut from the same cloth.  Donald Trump lies 100 times a day to the Media and the American People.   The Don tells you to drink  insecticide, so I am wondering who you don't, if you like him so much.    Trump is an admirer  of Jim Jones.

You are focused on the wrong barometer.  If Biden wins, PNC wins.  The Obama coalition will not throw out a Black govt.  What you think the coup plotters in Brooklyn hoping for?  This is why coolies get licks, ayuh cannot walk and chew gun at the same time.  Ayuh shoot yourself in the nuts!

Trump can do what he wishes, if the people vote him in, he wins.  He will be president and it means what you care about, most don't.  So keep on trucking!

Dave ...

Where is the source for the the article ??.... i.e., http// ....

Article -- MORE APNU+AFC CORRUPTION EXPOSED.

Also, please ensure future articles have the proper http// ... plus other needed information such as title, date, etc..

I removed the source because it has Harmon family members ( son-in-law, daughter and grandkids) I can post the source if admin will approve. 
The attachment feature that was removed, prevent us from posting numerous article. 

In this case, I could have posted a screenshot of the source without the image and prevent others from accessing personal information. 

In regards to the source, date, http/ - this requirement prevents a member from writing his own article. Please advise. 

Dave ...

When a person writes her/his own comments, there is no need for http//

I removed the source because it has Harmon family members ( son-in-law, daughter and grandkids) I can post the source if admin will approve. 
The attachment feature that was removed, prevent us from posting numerous article.

Dave ...

One must be cautious with articles having such information.

Hence, it is highly preferable that one must avoid making such publication.

It is understandable to avoid grandkids, family, etc., in articles.

I will let this one go .... however henceforth, be cautious with such posts.

In this case, I could have posted a screenshot of the source without the image and prevent others from accessing personal information. 

Preferable to do.

Thank You Sir, please enable the attachment feature to allow the screen shot. 

Dave, I appreciate your posts and keeping us informed. Just copy the URL for the article and paste at the bottom. 

Last edited by Mitwah