Originally Posted by Jordi Morre:
Just saw how much costs a copy of Fortune. Suppose those readers don't flip through. I think no one can afford not to read it if they want to make some business in Guyana but you are right - the Gov needs to put together some kind of consistent plan. Every country got its brands. If they gonna call it the Next Frontier, then they should stick to that until it ain't.
But, Clath ah easy fuh dutty but hard for wash....

Frontiers are fuh crossin'.... motto and message not a bad one. 

Politics not gonna' bring 'nobody' but, Guyana is full of adventure and if Japan is promoting like this, don't see any shame. But gotta be regular to get the message out. World a mess now so why not try something new....more to Guyana than gold.

Think I'm done with this subject - Stay positive Guyana, thanks all and God Bless!

And who says that the readers of Fortune want to do business in Guyana?

You are correct that Guyana needs to develop a brand, in the same way that Jamaica has. 

Its really sad when I see El Dorado rum being advertised as a Caribbean brand, with all the blue waters and white sand beaches.   No BRAND Guyana, so this is what they have been left to do.

It is good to see you had your daily dose of negativity about Guyana. The catharsis will do you good.

Now why don't you mention how you are so ashamed to be Guyanese that you changed your handle to caribj and then even tried to pass yourself off as a Bajan but they would not have you as one of their own.  

Your cried on the Providence Stadium which is not a success. You cried on the East Bank road, the Berbice Bridge, both of which are successes. You cried about the Skeldon Estate and your tears drew dividend as we see it struggling. 

Funny.  I think that Guyana can be an excellent product to be prkmoted to tourists if the simpletons in Guyana ever got a clue.

You think that Guyana has nothing to offer foreigners.

So who is the one who is so embarrassed to be Guyanese that they think that there is nothing in Guyana that tourists might like, if presented to them properly.  It is you who said that Guyana is just bush, mosquitos and criminals and so of no use to visitors, aside from those who go to see family.

Druggie all you see in Guyana is a country run by robber barons which allows business elites to enrich themselves, using paid criminals if it comes to that.  Aside from that you see nothing good in Guyana.

Berbicians scream that the Berbice Bridge is killing them because it is too expensive and they are angry that the PPP is preventing them from using alternate methods to cross.  I will not be surprised if that didn't cost the PPP some votes in region 6.

Providence is just a glorified Thirst Park and Bourda combined, except that we owe India millions.  Skeldon is a scandal and I am surprised that you even raise that.

And I see the govt is finally admitting that Marriott is a risky project, which is why they had to develop it, in the hope that they could get private investors interested.

Druggie any one who has Bajan ancestors is considered a Bajan by them. This is why they tolerate Afro Guyanese but call all manner of ill on Indo Guyanese who they consider to be foreign interlopers, and racist at that.

Funny.  I think that Guyana can be an excellent product to be prkmoted to tourists if the simpletons in Guyana ever got a clue.

You think that Guyana has nothing to offer foreigners.

So who is the one who is so embarrassed to be Guyanese that they think that there is nothing in Guyana that tourists might like, if presented to them properly.  It is you who said that Guyana is just bush, mosquitos and criminals and so of no use to visitors, aside from those who go to see family.

Druggie all you see in Guyana is a country run by robber barons which allows business elites to enrich themselves, using paid criminals if it comes to that.  Aside from that you see nothing good in Guyana.

Berbicians scream that the Berbice Bridge is killing them because it is too expensive and they are angry that the PPP is preventing them from using alternate methods to cross.  I will not be surprised if that didn't cost the PPP some votes in region 6.

Providence is just a glorified Thirst Park and Bourda combined, except that we owe India millions.  Skeldon is a scandal and I am surprised that you even raise that.

And I see the govt is finally admitting that Marriott is a risky project, which is why they had to develop it, in the hope that they could get private investors interested.

The problem with you is that you have a habit of assuming that if one nation has a successful industry then Guyana should have success too in a similar industry. White sand --- > Barbados     Mud, malaria, dutty water, bush ---> Guyana

Now you understand??? 

. White sand --- > Barbados     Mud, malaria, dutty water, bush ---> Guyana

Now you understand??? 

There you go.  Mud, malaria, dirty water....this is what you think of Guyana.

Now others might say a multi ethnic country with a rich range of cultures, beautiful scenes, fantastic interior attractions, and POTENTIALLY a broad range of activities that tourists can enjoy, from seeing historic artifacts (if developed), unique tropical architecture (if Gtwn is cleaned up and your Indo elites stop destroying our unique buildings with ugly monstrosities that destroy the environment with the massive A/C) and every thing that YOUR PPP claims that the interior offers.

Like you didn't read that advertorial.

You do need to know that Costa Rica is terrified what will happen if one day Guyana gets its act together.  It has no Kaieteur Falls and other attractions that Guyana offers.

So druggie walk around with your head hung in shame if one of your white friends asks you if they should visit Guyana.

You do need to know that Costa Rica is terrified what will happen if one day Guyana gets its act together.  It has no Kaieteur Falls and other attractions that Guyana offers.

So druggie walk around with your head hung in shame if one of your white friends asks you if they should visit Guyana.

Costa Rica is not afraid at all, the draw to that nation is the beaches, the rain forest is just a day trip. In Guyana rainforest tour is several day, expensive flight by small plane and nuff nuff mosquitoes that carry malaria.

Costa rica attraction:

x

x

Costa Rica is not afraid at all, the draw to that nation is the beaches, the rain forest is just a day trip. In Guyana rainforest tour is several day, expensive flight by small plane and nuff nuff mosquitoes that carry malaria.

Costa rica attraction:

x

x

gburd you should wake up 

Now you understand??? 

Now others might say a multi ethnic country with a rich range of cultures, beautiful scenes, fantastic interior attractions, and POTENTIALLY a broad range of activities that tourists can enjoy, from seeing historic artifacts (if developed), unique tropical architecture (if Gtwn is cleaned up and your Indo elites stop destroying our unique buildings with ugly monstrosities that destroy the environment with the massive A/C) and every thing that YOUR PPP claims that the interior offers.

Our work is never done seems. Maybe BGurd hasn't been out of Georgetown or traveled much in Guyana. Probably not big on adventure tourism but there IS business there and spectacular things to see.

If ya eye don see, yah mouth nah must talk....

My 'next' adventure is Mt. Roraima - gonna see it from all sides me.

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q...TXCWjS_G-zEEg8wa_MnQ

http://cafe967.daum.net/_c21_/...1%B1%CD%C7%D1+%B0%F7

Kaiteur never gets old and people traveling all over just to see waterfalls - Iguazu, Victoria - all famous.

This part of the economy of today.

How about the canopy walk? Plenty of the type of people Guyana could attract interested in seeing nature. So many rush bringing 'em down to see the bush. Guyana is full of birds, animals, nature and that BGurd you will See means growth, business and empowerment.

I don't care if the Marriott only has 192 rooms - I just care that Guyana  got a brand name hotel coming in. Pegasus is a nice hotel but Marriott name gonna bring in more tour operators, businessmen, diplomats, etc and those people gonna bring ideas, money and experience.

Georgetown gonna change for the better. Whole country gonna move with the movement.

Been talking with people, using that next frontier thing - they like it and asking me more. I like it that they be asking me more.....

http://travel.cnn.com/explorat...ar-places-see-639593

God Bless ya Guyana!

Now you understand??? 

Our work is never done seems. Maybe BGurd hasn't been out of Georgetown or traveled much in Guyana. Probably not big on adventure tourism but there IS business there and spectacular things to see.

Kaiteur never gets old and people traveling all over just to see waterfalls - Iguazu, Victoria - all famous.

How about the canopy walk? Plenty of the type of people Guyana could attract interested in seeing nature. So many rush bringing 'em down to see the bush. Guyana is full of birds, animals, nature and that BGurd you will See means growth, business and empowerment.

I don't care if the Marriott only has 192 rooms - I just care that Guyana  got a brand name hotel coming in. Pegasus is a nice hotel but Marriott name gonna bring in more tour operators, businessmen, diplomats, etc and those people gonna bring ideas, money and experience.

Georgetown gonna change for the better. Whole country gonna move with the movement.

Been talking with people, using that next frontier thing - they like it and asking me more. I like it that they be asking me more.....

God Bless ya Guyana!

That guy Drugb struggling for identity.  He seems ashamed of everything "him" but still trying to stand out as "him".  This bai need a shrink.  And he gone hide his drug head like a lil sissy.

God Bless ya Guyana!

In fact I have traveled all over Guyana, from Lethem to Kaiteur, Bartica, Madhia, Iwokarama and on and on. The point being made to caribj is that Guyana will never attract the large amounts of tourists like Barbados and Costa Rica as the draw there is the beaches and rain forest is just a 1/2 day trip nearby. In Guyana, if you had traveled, you will note that the journey is arduous and not for the typical tourist looking for sun and sand.  As you mentioned, it is adventure tourism, not mainstream. Only a select smaller population engage in this type of tourism in much smaller percentages than the beach and sun worshiping population.  

Costa rica attraction:

x

x

A Central American tourism consultant was arguing with me about how much fear Guyana is generating in those quarters.  I told him that Guyana is not ready.  He claimed that when it is Guyana will be a threat.

I defer to a Central American tourism consultant, and suggest that you do too.

Of course the beaches can be found any where in the world, as can surfing.  Costa Rica knows that its easier to find beaches and water sports than it is to find countries with well developed eco/adventure attractions.  This is why Costa Rica, Panama and Belize ensure that they are known as eco/adventure destinations, in addition to their beach attractions.

What druggie fails to understand is that no one is suggesting that tourism will be a major industry, or that Guyana will attract huge numbers.  What people are suggesting is that tourism is an ecological sustainable way of developing the interior, and creating some employment in G/twn for less skilled people.

If and when gold prices drop much of our gold industry will not be sustainable as it is expensive to mine and transport the gold from many interior locations.  This is why the industry exploded as soon as prices increases.  Some mines, which were not profitable, suddenly became so once prices became higher.

Any way druggies thinks that Guyana is only mud, malaria and crime and is too embarrassed for his white friends to visit.  The only positive he sees in Guyana is the PPP crime family which allows unscrupulous and wealthy business people to rape the country.

. In Guyana, if you had traveled, you will note that the journey is arduous and not for the typical tourist looking for sun and sand.  As you mentioned, it is adventure tourism, not mainstream. Only a select smaller population engage in this type of tourism in much smaller percentages than the beach and sun worshiping population.  

Druggie if you are pouring oil on any discussion of tourism in Guyana then you are saying that the PPP are a bunch of idiots to be spending money on Marriott.  They do not need Marriott to attract Guyanese to visit.  And indeed most Guyanese stay with relatives, certainly those visiting G/twn..

You mention Iworkrama.  Almost every week I see some mention of it in some international travel journal.  Its the lack of packages that prevent more from going.

Yes druggie it will shock you to know that many a European tourist is interested in combing a beach vacation in Barbados with some thing else.  Venezuela is tapping into this selling tours to Germans in Barbados.  Why cant Guyana?

Indeed druggie hotels in B'dos have been begging Guyana to get its act together as they fear losing some who get bored with the limited range of activities that the island offers to Europeans who tend to spend two weeks.  A few years ago a bunch of them went to Guyana to see what packages could be designed.

Why is  a sun and sand island so eager to do this druggie?  The point is that Guyana should develop its transportation infrastructure to the interior.  Not only will this benefit tourists, but more importantly it will allow other economic activities in the interior to become more feasible, and will also allow Guyana to tap into the potential that the State of Roraima in Brazil offers.

A Central American tourism consultant was arguing with me about how much fear Guyana is generating in those quarters.  I told him that Guyana is not ready.  He claimed that when it is Guyana will be a threat.

Of course the beaches can be found any where in the world, as can surfing.  Costa Rica knows that its easier to find beaches and water sports than it is to find countries with well developed eco/adventure attractions.  This is why Costa Rica, Panama and Belize ensure that they are known as eco/adventure destinations, in addition to their beach attractions.

Obviously you are either lying or  the consultant is an idiot. 

Costa Rica is 19,700 sq mi compared to Guyana's  83,000 sq miles, 170 miles wide by 288 miles long. Most of Costa Rica is white sand beach with 800miles on the Atlantic and 630 on the Pacific. They also have 67 volcanoes, with 6 active to attract the tourists.  People drive from the Atlantic beachs through the well maintained road to the Pacific beaches. The rainforest ride is just a pass through for the beach going crowd and a day trip for the zipline and canopy tour.   Compared to Guyana 501m by 271m and muddy beaches on the coastline.  To get to the decent part of the rainforest with anything worth seeing one has to either travel by expensive small plane or undergo days of arduous journey via 4x4 on mining roads.  I have been trying to teach you and that boy d2 over the years but you keep resisting. You need to analyze before jumping up and down shouting how other nations are successful at "eco tourism" when it is just a side show. 

How much more devious than this can the PPP get? Here they are pretending that Fortune Magazine wrote an article on Guyana based on its merits, when it turns out that it is an advertising publication paid for by the Government of Guyana.

God, you are blocked, so no need to respond to any posts here, I don't see the content of your post, just that you posted.I have the option of viewing the post but since you were disrespectful I choose not to.  I gave you a chance and you were belligerent. Now if you want me to unblock you, please post a topic with an apology then I may reconsider. 

I could care less whether you blocked me or not. I post where I deem it necessary without worrying who blocked me or who will read or respond to my posts. Only a spineless person would block another here to hide from someone who obviously has superior intellectual abilities.

You are among the least respectful people here so why would anyone take you seriously when you accuse someone of being disrespectful to you. You get what you've dished out over the years and now you run like a wimp and hide when you can't take the rockings. 

Looks like you're now begging people for an apology. Look for mine just after fowl cock get teeth.

How would you know anyway if someone apologized to you? Like you still reading those posts you claimed that you're blocking. 

Same goes for you cocaine, issues an apology to the great drugb and you will be unblocked, else you will remain in the wilderness with the pedophile gang looking for lil bai battie. 

Eat Shit you pervert.

Originally Posted by God:

I could care less whether you blocked me or not. I post where I deem it necessary without worrying who blocked me or who will read or respond to my posts. Only a spineless person would block another here to hide from someone who obviously has superior intellectual abilities.

You are among the least respectful people here so why would anyone take you seriously when you accuse someone of being disrespectful to you. You get what you've dished out over the years and now you run like a wimp and hide when you can't take the rockings. 

Looks like you're now begging people for an apology. Look for mine just after fowl cock get teeth.

How would you know anyway if someone apologized to you? Like you still reading those posts you claimed that you're blocking. 

Soon the clown will cage himself.  He will have blocked most of GNI, maybe even Amral, then will sit like a loner in his cage and watch the world pass by.

Baseman, I'm surprised he's actually blocked you. I have never seen you say anything crass to him as some of us do ( he brings it on himself ) this shows the guy has mental problems and I believe he should be placed on the side bench to chill for a while before he blows his top.

He's losing it.  I never cuss the clown, we have disagreements.  The banna losing it or is his last stand at being "important".

Did you mean "Impotent"?

God, you are blocked, so no need to respond to any posts here, I don't see the content of your post, just that you posted. I have the option of viewing the post but since you were disrespectful I choose not to.  I gave you a chance and you were belligerent. Now if you want me to unblock you, please post a topic with an apology then I may reconsider.  

drugabeer

Ohh rass, like fly to shyte they flock, all my blockees. ahahhaha

Yep you said it. We're the flies, you're da shyte.

You finally got it right.

Costa Rica is 19,700 sq mi compared to Guyana's  83,000 sq miles, 170 miles wide by 288 miles long. Most of Costa Rica is white sand beach with 800miles on the Atlantic and 630 on the Pacific. They also have 67 volcanoes, with 6 active to attract the tourists.  People drive from the Atlantic beachs through the well maintained road to the Pacific beaches. The rainforest ride is just a pass through for the beach going crowd and a day trip for the zipline and canopy tour.   Compared to Guyana 501m by 271m and muddy beaches on the coastline.  To get to the decent part of the rainforest with anything worth seeing one has to either travel by expensive small plane or undergo days of arduous journey via 4x4 on mining roads.  I have been trying to teach you and that boy d2 over the years but you keep resisting. You need to analyze before jumping up and down shouting how other nations are successful at "eco tourism" when it is just a side show. 

I guess you have never heard of the Pantanal ofBrazil.  Way in the interior, yet it does attract tourists.

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/br...al-west/the-pantanal

When Guyana is able to develop a similar package they will attract tourists.  And yes Druggie even German and other Europeans who spend two weeks in Barbados, but eventually tire of the beach.

Look at it this way druggie one good way of developing transportation to the interior is by increasing demand.  Such demand will lead to better roads, and more reliable and cheaper transportation.

Guess who will benefit most from this?  GUYANESE!.  Not only will some unskilled people find work in G/twn as visitors spend a day or two before going to the interior.  But females in the interior will earn a living from activities other than prostituting themselves to pork knockers and soldiers and rich business people when they are forced to go to the coast looking for work as domestics.

Druggie I find it hilarious that a guy like you, who doesnt even know what 10% of 43% is, will assume to know more than a travel consultant whose main focus is assisting Central American countries in their tourism marketing and negotiating with airlines to get better access.  A  man who happens to have visited Guyana, so is aware of our RAW potential, though he does say that Guyanese, both the private sector and the PPP, have no idea what to do to develop tourism.  So he is not immediately worried.

Druggie one day you will realize that you do not know every one.  True your friends just want to lie on a beach, but others want to do some thing else.  There are the back pack type of eco visitors who will never do Guyana.  There are also wealthy young guys who are interested in challenging vacations. White water rafting, fishing, bungie jumping, and all sorts of other activities.

Guyana is not interested in becoming a major tourism destination.  That is aside from the PPP which thinks that Guyana can compete with the Caribbean islands. 

What they do want is to diversify the economy to allow development of regions right now limited to gold and timber.  A mere 50,000 eco/adventure visitors will be enough.  As of now Guyana gets maybe a scant 2,000.

Now when he says that Costa Rica and Belize afre concerned, its not about their beach tourism.  They have to worry about what happens when Cuba comes on board for US visitors.

Its their less developed regions, which depend more on eco/adventure and where such visitors create jobs in hotels, and buy services from locals. The scale of Guyana, and its low level of development, means that it has more to offer than these places. PBS and BBC think so.

Guyana is a mere 1 hour from Barbados.

I guess you have never heard of the Pantanal ofBrazil.  Way in the interior, yet it does attract tourists.

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/br...al-west/the-pantanal

When Guyana is able to develop a similar package they will attract tourists.  And yes Druggie even German and other Europeans who spend two weeks in Barbados, but eventually tire of the beach.

Look at it this way druggie one good way of developing transportation to the interior is by increasing demand.  Such demand will lead to better roads, and more reliable and cheaper transportation.

Guess who will benefit most from this?  GUYANESE!.  Not only will some unskilled people find work in G/twn as visitors spend a day or two before going to the interior.  But females in the interior will earn a living from activities other than prostituting themselves to pork knockers and soldiers and rich business people when they are forced to go to the coast looking for work as domestics.

Druggie I find it hilarious that a guy like you, who doesnt even know what 10% of 43% is, will assume to know more than a travel consultant whose main focus is assisting Central American countries in their tourism marketing and negotiating with airlines to get better access.  A  man who happens to have visited Guyana, so is aware of our RAW potential, though he does say that Guyanese, both the private sector and the PPP, have no idea what to do to develop tourism.  So he is not immediately worried.

Druggie one day you will realize that you do not know every one.  True your friends just want to lie on a beach, but others want to do some thing else.  There are the back pack type of eco visitors who will never do Guyana.  There are also wealthy young guys who are interested in challenging vacations. White water rafting, fishing, bungie jumping, and all sorts of other activities.

Guyana is not interested in becoming a major tourism destination.  That is aside from the PPP which thinks that Guyana can compete with the Caribbean islands. 

What they do want is to diversify the economy to allow development of regions right now limited to gold and timber.  A mere 50,000 eco/adventure visitors will be enough.  As of now Guyana gets maybe a scant 2,000.

Now when he says that Costa Rica and Belize afre concerned, its not about their beach tourism.  They have to worry about what happens when Cuba comes on board for US visitors.

Its their less developed regions, which depend more on eco/adventure and where such visitors create jobs in hotels, and buy services from locals. The scale of Guyana, and its low level of development, means that it has more to offer than these places. PBS and BBC think so.

Guyana is a mere 1 hour from Barbados.

I suggest if you know all this then you should go set up a tourism operation in Guyana, but no , you will say that is the job of the PPP. You have not even been to the Guyana hinterland to know what is available for tourists, there is a couple of water falls and the rest is vast expanse of jungle or savannas. You have determined that Guyana is a ecotourism mecca from your armchair in the west. 

Druggie why do you not tell the PPP to stop talking about tourism if you feel that all Guyana has are mud, mosquitos and criminals and you are too afraid that your white friends find out, and question what kind of person you must be.

Are you suggesting that I do what the PPP does and take advantage of the tourist industry that they claim to be developing in Guyana?  Building a Marriott hotel in the hope that they will be able to sell to private investors if it works (according to their advertorial)?  Indeed they did encourage many people to devbelop hotels, nost of which are now empty.

It is generally expected that infrastructural development be performed by govt.  It is also generally expected in developing nations that the govt assists the private sector to develop select industries.

I will suggest that instead of Marriott they work with the private sector to remove the various barriers to the development of the interior.  Focusing on better transportation as a priority.