There should not be VAT on private education. HOWEVER, there needs to be more regulation when it comes to those teachers who teach nothing or the minimum in school then charge for "lessons" after school.
I understand a bit the thinking of the Govt here. Guyana has a porous tax system, as such, money is made and never reported to the tax authorities. VAT was implemented to capture it at the (luxury) consumption end. The Govt views private education as one of these (luxury) consumables of the wealthy who likely does not report all their income.
I see both sides here and the Govt should reach out for a compromise deal. Education is a basic human right like food, clothing and shelter. The Govt should compromise of a lower rate for education to recognize the fact that there is a component of basic rights wound up in this dispute.
Furthermore, the Govt should ring-fence these revenues and invest it back in pubic education, especially for the rural and poor communities. Put the poor to protest against the rich rather than the rich against the Govt.
But this PNC cabal are so stupid they cannot pull things off!
asj posted:Private schools stand against 14% VAT on private education
You see what I mean, all the rich Guyana "White" people protesting. They have noting better to do. Their husbands off dredging, hustling, rustling and what ever else guys do. Their maids are cleaning up at home and feeding the kids and dogs while they keeping busy protesting against the PNC clowns. No rustic poor here. Their kids are attending the local Public schools sitting on hard wooden benches while they throw cast net and fork dutty for the next meal! Some of their mothers might even be maids in these "White" people's homes!
I tell you, this shyte just cannot be for real!