This good Sunday morning, I woke up happy and light knowing that we have moved a place in our country's history with the nomination of a bright, capable woman as the Prime Ministerial Candidate of one of the largest Political Parties in these parts.
and then i read this.... and realized that sexism is alive and well ...and we are left to resolve yet again to crush it under our heels at every turn. Rise up women, rise up men. Rise up a against this kind of junk. To this idiot man women are not "strong people" that could "run the next govt".
“I suspect they used a woman because they are looking at the woman-vote but I think in a country like this where the system is very tyrannical and authoritarian, people looking for changes are looking to put strong people that could run the next government,” he added. (Frederick Kissoon, Demerara Waves 21/02.2015)

And to this effect, I posed these questions to her this morning.

"As the Education Minister, I do hope that it was a typo that you spelled his name rule instead of Ruel. That aside, what was the reason for the change as you stated that "this is how change happens". There have been many negative comments about the PPP in their supposedly high handedness and while I understand that supporters of each party will paint the other parties as less qualified, is there any areas where the PPP needs to improve their governance? I personally support the PPP and have personally known Dr. Jagan and his wife since the late '70s but have been reading about the current and previous PPP leaders abuse of Guyana and its resources. Does the current PPP recognize these defects and if so, what do they plan to do if given the opportunity to govern Guyana?"

To which she replied ...."the change referred to moving from an unequal world for women to one where women and men are equal...and yes, most days, priya. can. spell...most days."

I followed up with " I am certainly in favor of the advancement of women in the world. In fact, I am surprised that in the year 2015, there is still a need to protect women's right. They should have been equal way before now. I don't personally have a problem if she chose to not speak at this time for after all, in politics people need to be properly prepared before they do so and I am certain that she will rise when the time is right. Just like you did when you were required to do so. I just hope that the comments about PPP abuse are incorrect because that would be doing a gross injustice to Dr. Jagan's party. He was a decent man who was barred from the job he mostly enjoyed until he had aged and the world too him way too soon. But for those few years, he governed as simple as he lived prior to becoming head governor of Guyana in 1992. Power, wealth and fame eventually dies. It is a person's legacy that lives on and I hope that the current PPP is more than just about power, wealth and fame. Actually, my greatest joy is to one day see the total destruction of Mr. Burnham's constitution but I am not seeing any signs that the current politicians care to get rid of it. I don't believe the Alliance's statement that they will. Time will tell how the people of Guyana feel about the parties. I do hope most of all that the safety of all citizens will be preserved regardless of their party affiliation. Good luck to you but most of all, good luck to the Guyanese people."

While she liked the last comment, she did not respond to it. Maybe she had to go clap roti.

Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
bro careful how yuh thro dat "clap roti" comment rung hay, a few been known to get banned fuh it

Oh shit. Hopefully Ray don't read this thread.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
bro careful how yuh thro dat "clap roti" comment rung hay, a few been known to get banned fuh it

You think she scrappy coolie Soldier bai Bhageshwar Murli already lookin fuh wan exit strategy on May 12th?

If I was he, I would be looking fuh wan exit strategy right now.

I juss feel real bad fuh dem coolie bais who have to pork knock fuh their daily bread

oh sarry mih tawt yuh literally meant pork knockin

Yuh know bai, I still can't understand how a profession came to be called "Pork Knocking."