Ray, YUh know the flooding was a result of an accident, breaking of a Koker right?

of course...after all...why maintain the koker, we 6 feet above sea level

YUh kno BIG BIG bridges, Tunnels and Subways does fall apart in Merika???

I know, but they maintain them....they don't wait until the thing actually breaks and cause problems for residents

Ray, YUh know the flooding was a result of an accident, breaking of a Koker right?

of course...after all...why maintain the koker, we 6 feet above sea level

YUh kno BIG BIG bridges, Tunnels and Subways does fall apart in Merika???

I know, but they maintain them....they don't wait until the thing actually breaks and cause problems for residents

How about dat Bridge ah Indiana???

there was a crash that caused that bridge to collapse...try again

How about the one a few years ago in MN across the Mississippi River? Old bridge that was being repaired.

please...stop with the excuses...it's a koker and we below sea level

If the koker is broken, should the water not recede when the tide goes out? At least some of it? Unless the drains are clogged by garbage.

PPP incompetence is the result of many kokers failing all over the country wasn't it a lil while back mahaica seawall was crumbling to bits.

The PPP is thiefin all the money instead of spending it on key infrastructure.

Where are all the pumps we borrowed money to buy from india? Robert persaud again with his favorite company surrendra thief out all the money. No pumps were delivered. Even Luncheon had to admit ramsammy lyin.

Tide smashes Kingston koker door

Posted By Mandy Thompson On March 13, 2013 @ 5:25 am In Local News | No Comments

Sections of Georgetown were flooded yesterday afternoon after high tides bashed the Kingston koker door in and engineers were at press time putting in place a temporary wall to keep out the next high tide scheduled for 5.21 am today.

The koker door broke around minutes to 5pm yesterday, the attendant stated, and water from the Demerara River rushed through nearby areas. The attendant also said that the door broke due to the force of the water that was hitting it. Up to press time, the situation was under control and the water had begun to recede in parts of Georgetown including the Lamaha Street canal.

Feverish work was underway last evening for a makeshift structure following the smashing of the Kingston koker door.

Bemused city residents watched as water levels in the Lamaha Street canal and others rose rapidly. In other streets, yards and compounds were flooded including those of State House and the Ministry of Finance.

The high tide occurred at around 1707 hrs yesterday at a height of 2.78 metres and began to recede around 1900hrs yesterday. Another high tide is expected at around 5:21am today at a height of 2.80 metres

Dat is pretty recent.........

Let's talk current affairs. How many kokers are broken currently that you know of?

the man just post one

wha yuh think cause the flood

The Govt gets the blame...you fellas love to give them credit for good stuff...why not blame for bad stuff??

RiffRaff, I don't think anyone see this coming. However, these kokers should be inspected from time to time, especially if they're aged. When a koker broke suddenly, you will get flood until it fixed. I know the situation is an unfortunate one, and I am not blaming the govt or giving them credit for anything. They need to get it fix very fast.

This is a regular occurrence in GY. Every week somewhere rass flood out because somebady forget fuh lack the kokah door or the door bruk or some other nonsense.

Why?

PPP thiefin out all the money all these things should have been automated and upgraded to pumps. But of course Robert buy the pumps from surrender the company he been thiefin money wid for decades, see skeldon if yuh think a lie.

Let's talk current affairs. How many kokers are broken currently that you know of?

the man just post one

wha yuh think cause the flood

The Govt gets the blame...you fellas love to give them credit for good stuff...why not blame for bad stuff??

RiffRaff, I don't think anyone see this coming. However, these kokers should be inspected from time to time, especially if they're aged. When a koker broke suddenly, you will get flood until it fixed. I know the situation is an unfortunate one, and I am not blaming the govt or giving them credit for anything. They need to get it fix very fast.

How can your PPP see when you are blndly thiefin?

Koker Collapse: Criminal neglect by Government – says Bulkan

October 10, 2014 2:40 pm Category: Politics A+ / A-

http://www.inewsguyana.com/kok...ernment-says-bulkan/

By Kurt Campbell

Flooding Peters Hall_Providence [6] - koker[www.inewsguyana.com]–Shadow Local Government Minister, Ronald Bulkan has blamed the government for the Koker collapse which occurred last Wednesday afternoon; flooding the villages of Peter’s Hall, Providence and Nandy Park along the East Bank of Demerara.

According to Bulkan, the unfortunate incident was “entirely preventable”; adding that it could have been avoided had there been a functional local government system.

“In the absence of functional local governments system and having to deal with a system that is at the point of near total collapse we have lost our first line of defence,” Bulkan told reporters this morning, Friday, October 10.

APNU Member, Ronald Bulkan

He says the incident points to “criminal neglect” on the Government’s part.

A team of opposition Members of Parliament, headed by Bulkan, toured the affected areas yesterday morning.

The collapsed koker door.

Reporting on the visit today, the Shadow Local Government Minister reminded that with Guyana’s coast a few feet below sea level, Kokers are a vital part of keeping the ocean and river out from the land.

“This must be a priorityâ€Ķ to protect the integrity of the land and citizens and their livelihood,” he added.

The National Drainage and Irrigation Authority (NDIA) yesterday installed stop logs to reduce flooding from the breached koker but some residents along with Bulkan are not satisfied with the course of action taken.

“It’s not an act of nature as I heard some government officials saying, making reference to tsunamis in Thailand; this is a manmade problem,” he vented; adding that “a koker door is not science or even high engineering, it is something basicâ€Ķ this points to neglect and callousness on part of central government for allowing something like this to happen.”

The flood affected community.

He said it was devastating to see the suffering which has resulted from the “neglect.”

“If we care about protecting people’s lives and properties there should have been doors built and waiting for such eventualities.”

He reiterated that the failure to have a functional local government system was responsible even as he reiterated his Party’s call for the President to announce a date for the holding of local government elections.

The PPP is shameless, They cannot even focus on the basics. 

The PPP is busy thiefin they have no time to focus on ensuring the most basic infrastructure is maintained.

They have done absolutely nothing to transition the country from Kokers to using more screw pumps across the country and using more automation via sensors and new technology to monitor critical infrastructure. 

PPP are dunces.

He says the incident points to “criminal neglect” on the Government’s part.

“It’s not an act of nature as I heard some government officials saying, making reference to tsunamis in Thailand; this is a manmade problem,” he vented; adding that “a koker door is not science or even high engineering, it is something basicâ€Ķ this points to neglect and callousness on part of central government for allowing something like this to happen.”

SWEET OH SWEEEET GUYANAAA,,,TO DA MOONNN.