Opposition members in Parliament today, Monday November 10.

Prorogation is most undemocratic, distasteful – says Speaker Trotman

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman says the move by President Donald Ramotar to prorogue the 10th Parliament is most unfortunate and undemocratic; explaining that the power of the elected House of the people’s representatives has been muttered.

Addressing Opposition Members of Parliament (MPs) in the House this afternoon, the Speaker said this illegality is compounded by the fact that no date has been given for restoration of normalcy.

President Ramotar, by way of proclamation, suspended the Parliament this morning ahead of a debate on the No Confidence Motion brought against his administration by the Opposition.

Recalling the suspension of Guyana’s Constitution in the 1950s, Trotman says this development is more distasteful; explaining that then it was done by the mother country but now it is being done by our own.

“It has been a long and arduous road that brought us here, a road filled with features of impediments, imperfection, imponderables and even impudent of times. Along the way, we have slipped and slid from the sublime to the ridiculous and even from scandal to threats,” he added.

Trotman echoed the sentiments that today will go down in Guyana’s history as momentous. He said democracy in Guyana will enter into a new orbit and will see Guyana’s Parliament joining the ranks of Parliaments that have passed through fire and turmoil.

“Along the way I have learnt, today a spec tomorrow a hero. Hero or monster you are consumed, like a jig shakes the loom, all involved and all are consumed,” Trotman told the House filled with Opposition MPs and not a single MP from the government side.

The prorogation means that the House cannot proceed with its work until the Head of State decides on a date. But according to Trotman, “the National Assembly remains ready and willing to discharge its mandate as the legislative arm of the two tier Parliament.”

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader David Granger says his Party is enraged at the President’s decision; declaring today “the darkest day for democracy in Guyana.”

“This Proclamation has effectively paralysed the parliamentary process and smothered the voices of the people’s legitimate representatives in the National Assembly. It is an affront to the Guyanese people who three years ago, in November 2011, voted for A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance for Change (AFC) to have the majority of seats in the National Assembly,” Granger said.

He told those gathered that President Ramotar has now, single-handedly, engineered a constitutional crisis. To this end, Granger said APNU will not accept this denial of democracy and will not be intimidated by the government’s dictatorial behaviour.

On a separate note, AFC Executive Moses Nagamootoo said the President is ducking from scrutiny and protecting his “renegade” administration from accounting for the country’s resources.

He said no one can say AFC was unreasonable to bring this motion against the government; recalling the many interventions that were made prior to this point.

He said the government was warned and turned down attempts at negotiations; adding that “with a dagger now at the opposition’s throat” any attempt at dialogue will be futile.

“We will not submit ourselves to this level of bullyism and state terrorism,” Nagamootoo said; adding that “today is a day of infamy and shame.”

The AFC Executive said the government has disrespected the National Assembly and the People of Guyana but warned that this will not daunt their spirit and whenever the House reconvenes the motion will be brought back.

Thanks, Trotman, for the democracy the PNC gave us! I am sorry that the PPP is becomes a dictator for doing their jobs to kick allyou ass out of the honorable house you don't belong. 

Opposition members in Parliament today, Monday November 10.

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman says the move by President Donald Ramotar to prorogue the 10th Parliament is most unfortunate and undemocratic; explaining that the power of the elected House of the people’s representatives has been muttered.

Addressing Opposition Members of Parliament (MPs) in the House this afternoon, the Speaker said this illegality is compounded by the fact that no date has been given for restoration of normalcy.

President Ramotar, by way of proclamation, suspended the Parliament this morning ahead of a debate on the No Confidence Motion brought against his administration by the Opposition.

Recalling the suspension of Guyana’s Constitution in the 1950s, Trotman says this development is more distasteful; explaining that then it was done by the mother country but now it is being done by our own.

“It has been a long and arduous road that brought us here, a road filled with features of impediments, imperfection, imponderables and even impudent of times. Along the way, we have slipped and slid from the sublime to the ridiculous and even from scandal to threats,” he added.

Trotman echoed the sentiments that today will go down in Guyana’s history as momentous. He said democracy in Guyana will enter into a new orbit and will see Guyana’s Parliament joining the ranks of Parliaments that have passed through fire and turmoil.

“Along the way I have learnt, today a spec tomorrow a hero. Hero or monster you are consumed, like a jig shakes the loom, all involved and all are consumed,” Trotman told the House filled with Opposition MPs and not a single MP from the government side.

The prorogation means that the House cannot proceed with its work until the Head of State decides on a date. But according to Trotman, “the National Assembly remains ready and willing to discharge its mandate as the legislative arm of the two tier Parliament.”

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader David Granger says his Party is enraged at the President’s decision; declaring today “the darkest day for democracy in Guyana.”

“This Proclamation has effectively paralysed the parliamentary process and smothered the voices of the people’s legitimate representatives in the National Assembly. It is an affront to the Guyanese people who three years ago, in November 2011, voted for A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance for Change (AFC) to have the majority of seats in the National Assembly,” Granger said.

He told those gathered that President Ramotar has now, single-handedly, engineered a constitutional crisis. To this end, Granger said APNU will not accept this denial of democracy and will not be intimidated by the government’s dictatorial behaviour.

On a separate note, AFC Executive Moses Nagamootoo said the President is ducking from scrutiny and protecting his “renegade” administration from accounting for the country’s resources.

He said no one can say AFC was unreasonable to bring this motion against the government; recalling the many interventions that were made prior to this point.

He said the government was warned and turned down attempts at negotiations; adding that “with a dagger now at the opposition’s throat” any attempt at dialogue will be futile.

“We will not submit ourselves to this level of bullyism and state terrorism,” Nagamootoo said; adding that “today is a day of infamy and shame.”

The AFC Executive said the government has disrespected the National Assembly and the People of Guyana but warned that this will not daunt their spirit and whenever the House reconvenes the motion will be brought back.

Trotman in effect has been fired.

He can now speak as an ordinary citizen.

This shameless speaker was not impartial and will go down in Guyana's history as a goon for the disgraceful opposition.

Burger King and all.

Thanks, Trotman, for the democracy the PNC gave us! I am sorry that the PPP is becomes a dictator for doing their jobs to kick allyou ass out of the honorable house you don't belong. 

The man is a waste as a speaker. He was never fair.

Burger King has been fired.

Gives him more time to be with Welshman.

Opposition Leader David Granger says his Party is enraged at the President’s decision; declaring today “the darkest day for democracy in Guyana.”     

What world has grainja been living in?

GUYANESE NOW UNDERSTAND THE POWER OF THE PRESIDENCY

* The Burnham constitution loaded up the Presidency with enormous powers.

* Speaker Burger King(Trotman) is just a nonentity and as yuji said he was just fired by the President.

* Moses will have to find another forum to cuss his grandchildren---he has been ejected from Parliament by the President.hahahaha

Opposition Leader David Granger says his Party is enraged at the President’s decision; declaring today “the darkest day for democracy in Guyana.”     

What world has grainja been living in?

A world where water never flows. 

HAHAHA But he forgot the 28 YEARS OF REAL DARKNESS.

This murderer is talking about democracy. What does know about democracy? He knows blood, AK47, rigged elections; not democracy.

Fool, one of the historical gripe of the PPP and keystone to their claims to being victimized was the suspension of the constitution of the British. Do yo know how often the old folks speak of that day with infamy? Every history book mentions it from Morrison  to Cheddi. This was their thrum card. Now these idiots go and do the same thing. YOU craven fools will complain of British and PNC tyranny but deceive yourselves horribly that today something honorable was done because your own kind has fallen  so low and did it. By the way who do not belong in what house?

Trotman was ejected as speaker with the stroke of a pen. He must now sit in the corner like a Lil Boy.

The PPP has done a disgraceful thing and you horrible creatures are here pretending that they did a necessary thing. What corruopt filthy fools you are!

They don't seem to have a lot of paid protesters today. People are smart and don't to riot and break the laws. People don't want to get problem with police. The people in the street understand democracy more than the opposition politicians. If Granger want to riot, he and his hunch men should go out on the street and do it.

Trotman was ejected as speaker with the stroke of a pen. He must now sit in the corner like a Lil Boy.

The PPP has done a disgraceful thing and you horrible creatures are here pretending that they did a necessary thing. What corruopt filthy fools you are!

Storm, this is your opinion as a non PPP supporter.

You just spat out a mouthful of sqirm.

This murderer is talking about democracy. What does know about democracy? He knows blood, AK47, rigged elections; not democracy.

Dude, quit putting blood on Granger hands where none belong. Instead you should be painting the PPP red for the 400 kids they murdered. You associate Granger tangentially with the deaths on elections day 1973 yet forget the killing fields left by the PPP and RK in 2002-04

This is a hard fought for democracy. This is the now. No one is holding a gun to the PPP's head. They claim the have the authority of the people. They could prove it. Instead they do what they always complain about recreate an odious event in our history.

Fool, one of the historical gripe of the PPP and keystone to their claims to being victimized was the suspension of the constitution of the British. Do yo know how often the old folks speak of that day with infamy? Every history book mentions it from Morrison  to Cheddi. This was their thrum card. Now these idiots go and do the same thing. YOU craven fools will complain of British and PNC tyranny but deceive yourselves horribly that today something honorable was done because your own kind has fallen  so low and did it. By the way who do not belong in what house?

It has to be done one way or the other. Guyana is in a political gridlock. It will come down to the same if a no-confidence motion is successful.

Storm, this is your opinion as a non PPP supporter.

This is not opinion. This is fact. The powers exercised today were emergency powers not normal business as usual.The PPP took it upon themselves to decide for the people unilaterally what is best for them. In doing so they trampled on our parliament and ignored the logical path to legitimacy....elections.

Dude, quit putting blood on Granger hands where none belong. Instead you should be painting the PPP red for the 400 kids they murdered. You associate Granger tangentially with the deaths on elections day 1973 yet forget the killing fields left by the PPP and RK in 2002-04

This is a hard fought for democracy. This is the now. No one is holding a gun to the PPP's head. They claim the have the authority of the people. They could prove it. Instead they do what they always complain about recreate an odious event in our history.

Again, this is your bias opinion. Grainger was Burnham henchman.

If I remember well the PPP was voted into Govt by the People of Guyana.

I keep going back to the four words at the end because to me it sums up Guyana's politics...MORALITY goes out the window along with TRUST.

IS ABIE TIME NOW!

Hush you !

Our CURRENT, yes Current Canadian Prime Minister prorogued parliament once. 

So Hush !

And the representatives of the people are asking for re clarification on that since they were piss poor to date!

* POPPYCOCK!

* The Burnham constitution never meant for parliament to be imbued with power.

* The power is in the Presidency and Guyanese all saw the President exercising his power today.

* The clowns in the opposition are now in shock---they never expected the President to punch them in the face with the prorogue.LOL

* PPP SUPPORTERS ARE EXCITED & ENERGIZED----they now see their President as a decisive leader.

* Moses, Khemraj, Burger King and Granger look like LOSERS today.

Hush you !

So Hush !

Again you idiot...Canada is a parliamentary/federal system. Suspending parliament does not create a defacto dictatorship!

Yes 1973 elections when our Berbician brothers were gunned down by an army of which Granger had his hands in.

Hush you !

So Hush !

Again you idiot...Canada is a parliamentary/federal system. Suspending parliament does not create a defacto dictatorship!

You idiot ,  are grossly ignorant of the British parliamentary system and can join the fools in the opposition. 

* POPPYCOCK!

* The Burnham constitution never meant for parliament to be imbued with power.

* The power is in the Presidency and Guyanese all saw the President exercising his power today.

* The clowns in the opposition are now in shock---they never expected the President to punch them in the face with the prorogue.LOL

* PPP SUPPORTERS ARE EXCITED & ENERGIZED----they now see their President as a decisive leader.

* Moses, Khemraj, Burger King and Granger look like LOSERS today.

The president is a toady. His only accomplishment to date is to disgrase us and push us to political confrontation. He signed no opposition bill, did not seek to meet any of our constitutional requirements for good government ie local government elections, procurement commission but rushed his pitiful corrupt behind to hide behind an emergency rule to make himself dictator. He is a horrible filthy and dastardly man no longer deserving any respect in or out of the office.

And the representatives of the people are asking for re clarification on that since they were piss poor to date!

THey will soon have their chance.

Hush you !

So Hush !

You idiot ,  are grossly ignorant of the British parliamentary system and can join the fools in the opposition. 

And what do you know....yammering that you do does not make it so. Why don't you tell us why this is right except a fat headed blustering idiot in office decide to press the nuclear trigger?

The majority of Guyanese voted against the corrupt low breed PPP.

The same low life PPP get seed more than katahar to put allyou in place.

HEHEHE DEm Katahar ah run fuh cover.

Yes 1973 elections when our Berbician brothers were gunned down by an army of which Granger had his hands in.

You found out if the surgery went ok? The one where the AG stole taxpayers money to go sperm up his wife. U heard any more on this?

They don't seem to have a lot of paid protesters today. People are smart and don't to riot and break the laws. People don't want to get problem with police. The people in the street understand democracy more than the opposition politicians. If Granger want to riot, he and his hunch men should go out on the street and do it.

What craven bigots! Every racist sinew in your body is quaking because you are so sure those "black" people will do violence because to you that is what they do and meanwhile you let that grotesque toady get a past with turning himself into a dictator!