— for Pradoville2, other scams

CABINET has approved the appointment of six attorneys to serve as special prosecutors on several cases, including but not limited to, the range of forensic audits conducted by the APNU+AFC administration when it came into power in May 2015.
The six attorneys are Michael Somersall, Hewely Griffith, Lawrence Harris, Patrice Henry, Compton Richardson, and Trenton Lake.
Last July, Ministers of Legal Affairs and Public Security, Basil Williams and Khemraj Ramjattan, respectively, were tasked with advising Cabinet on the feasibility of establishing a special prosecutorial team.

Government had made it clear that it has no intention of going after any one person or group of persons and gave the assurance that there will be no witch-hunting.
At the announcement of consideration of a special prosecutorial team, Opposition Chief Whip Gail Teixeira described the move by the administration as witch-hunting.
She told reporters that Article 187 of the Constitution of Guyana confers the powers of prosecution in criminal proceedings on the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP).

WITCH-HUNT
“This new action is a departure from the existing functional and professional system of prosecutions. The proposal to create a special prosecutions unit cannot be seen as anything else but further institutionalisation of another attempt to witch-hunt political opponents,” she said in a statement to the media last year.
“Were the Government to go through the DPP and the Guyana Police Force, both professional bodies governed by the Constitution and statute, they would be expected to abide by a level of professionalism and follow specific guidelines and act based on evidence,” she added, while noting that the APNU+AFC administration clearly has no faith in the aforementioned entities.

She strongly believes that Government’s move to establish the team is designed to target her party.
Meanwhile, on Friday during a post-Cabinet press briefing held at the Ministry of the Presidency, Minister of State and Cabinet Secretary Joseph Harmon told reporters that he was not in a position to disclose the names of the attorneys who have agreed to work on the special prosecutorial team, but noted that they are all qualified and practising attorneys in private practice.

He disclosed too that Government received two recommendations from persons who reside within CARICOM. He said that as far as he is aware, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams, is in the process of finalising “retainer arrangements” and for that reason the names of the attorneys have not been publicised.
“… I believe that is why the Attorney General has not decided to let go of these names like that, because they are still looking at what retainer arrangements will take place; but I want to give you the assurance that all of the persons whom the Attorney General had spoken to have said they are prepared to work on these cases, and in fact, there are some persons who were not contacted but heard about it – they are also prepared,” Harmon told reporters.
The Minister of State said too that the attorneys who will form part of the team represent a “pool of skills [and] talent who are prepared to work with us to ensure that those wrongs of the past are dealt with in a very swift manner.”

Asked whether the attorneys have begun engagements with the Special Organised Crime Unit (SOCU) and the State Assets Recovery Unit (SARU), the Cabinet Secretary was not in a position to state.
He noted, however, that there are persons assisting with the financial analysis of the work to be done by SARU. Those persons reside abroad, making reference to the representatives of the World Bank who visited Guyana last year.
Efforts, he said, are continuing to ensure that the law relating to the SARU is crafted well.

BEFORE CABINET
“We are at a point where it is already crafted and before Cabinet. The next stage is for it to go before the National Assembly and be debated and passed into law,” added Harmon.
Last October, Harmon had told reporters that Government intended to set up a special prosecutorial team to prepare reports into the forensic audits which have been completed on the Sparendaam housing project, commonly known as ‘Pradoville Two’ and the Guyana Cricket World Cup Inc.
He had said then that both regional and international assistance would be provided in each case.

“Cabinet, upon examination of the reports, concluded that in both cases there were indications of criminal culpability that required further investigation. Cabinet agreed that in each case a special prosecutors’ team would be established, and that the Minister of Legal Affairs would submit a report to Cabinet — within one week — on the composition of such a team,” he had stated.
He said the special prosecuting team would not be limited to local personnel and would have a “wider sweep.”

“We are looking to bring persons who are capable of handling these matters. Yes, we are looking at the region in the first instance as well and then further [sic] afield,” he stated.
When questioned about the roles of SOCU conducting the prosecution of cases such as ‘Pradoville Two,’ he had reminded reporters that SOCU is part of the Guyana Police Force (GPF).
“These are criminal investigations, and therefore the decision is that it goes to the police and the police decide whether it is SOCU or the Criminal Investigation Department [that would] deal with [the investigations]; but as far as Government is concerned, the matter should be investigated by the criminal investigation elements within the Guyana Police Force.”
In the ‘Pradoville Two’ matter, it was found that plots of land were transferred at values that were not reflective of market prices at the time and according to the report, the valuations provided were “unusual for the time and location.”

The audit into the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited (NICIL) has revealed that some $257M were spent on the development of the housing project, and the value of land there should have been $82.8M per acre; but the lands were sold for significantly less.
During development of the project, a transmission tower belonging to the National Communications Network (NCN) was removed and relocated by the former People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) to facilitate the development of the area.

“Instead of accumulating all the costs associated with the Sparendaam Project — including the market value of the land — in a special account to be applied in arriving at the price to be charged per houselot, NICIL’s Board and Cabinet were complicit in charging the related costs of $257.049M to NCN in the form of equity investment, and to CH&PA in the form of receivables.
“The fact that several key Cabinet members are the beneficiaries of the houselots renders it highly inappropriate for the very Cabinet to approve of the charging of the expenditure to the accounts of NCN and CH&PA,” the audit report stated.

SARU has recommended that the Attorney General put systems in place so that charges of “misconduct in public office” could be laid against former President Bharrat Jagdeo and five ministers of the former administration: Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud; Public Service Minister Dr. Jennifer Westford; Education Minister Priya Manickchand; Labour Minister Dr. Nanda Gopaul; and Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee

<form action="http://guyanachronicle.com/" class="td-search-form-widget" method="get"><input class="td-widget-search-input" id="s" name="s" type="text" value="" /></form>

The PNC has now implanted themselves as before and cares little of how anything looks and what they promised during the campaign.  This is only the beginning.  The ethnic cleansing machinery is ramping up!

This should not come as a surprised to anyone who thought they knew the PNC much more than some of us. Where are the crabdaad coolies who were praising the coalition for integrity, accountability and fairness?

The funny thing is that the FILTH HEAS and ultra RACIST who were bawling when the PPP has 2 Indians and 1 Afro in a mix of 3 . Now it is ALL Afro and look at the big smile on their faces, filth and all!!!!!!!!!!

Tax payers money to pay all the commission of enquiry- now black lawyers, we would then have another commission to review the black lawyers...

as it get closer to election, this trial  will be the distraction to voters-

they would jail a few ppp members .

protesters will then hit the streets.

pnc stooges will loot , rape Indian and burn GT - congress place will blame freedom house 

the intentions is to drive Indians out of Guyana and have Guyana like a African country 

Now that the SC's can be retained, this can end up costing the tax payers. It's not about cost versus benefits. You guys are prodding them like Drugb:

So far they have zero PPP jailed for padoville 2.

“The fact that several key Cabinet members are the beneficiaries of the houselots renders it highly inappropriate for the very Cabinet to approve of the charging of the expenditure to the accounts of NCN and CH&PA,” the audit report stated.

SARU has recommended that the Attorney General put systems in place so that charges of “misconduct in public office” could be laid against former President Bharrat Jagdeo and five ministers of the former administration: Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud; Public Service Minister Dr. Jennifer Westford; Education Minister Priya Manickchand; Labour Minister Dr. Nanda Gopaul; and Home Affairs Minister Clement Rohee

Now that the SC's can be retained, this can end up costing the tax payers. It's not about cost versus benefits. You guys are prodding them like Drugb:

I see you have returned back to the PNC fold after screaming that you withdrew critical support. Maybe the paycheck came in as honorary adviser of the president. Or maybe monkeys were trapped and the bank account fill up for the new years. 

They are dipping into Guyanese bank account to pay Advisor Mits, he is on again. Mr. Soup Drinker peddling his soul for a barrel of oil and his family Rumjaat as the chief Dog Catcher.

This Govt  need to make better appointments . 

Tell dem rass deh Chief.

These guys should be good enough to file the leans on the properties and freeze bank accounts.  Notice, it's the PPP keyboard fighters here who are pushing for the prosecution from the audits. This matter is likely to go beyond the call of the next election. Brace yourself.

Tell dem rass deh Chief.

These guys should be good enough to file the leans on the properties and freeze bank accounts.  Notice, it's the PPP keyboard fighters here who are pushing for the prosecution from the audits. This matter is likely to go beyond the call of the next election. Brace yourself.

This all has to do with financial envy. They are like Crab wants to pull others into their gutter .and for Mit's if you were happy with your self you would not care a Dam but you have to follow instructions  from Prakash

Tell dem rass deh Chief.

Don't you think all members of parliament should be investigated? Why only PPP? How about the PNC from 1964-1991? What is good for the goose is good for the gander too. It should not be a political witch hunt. Stop the chest beating and macho man attitude and concentrate on making Guyana a better country to live in. Maybe Joe harmon should be investigated too for the $5 mil(USD). How about that? 

Tell dem rass deh Chief.

Don't you think all members of parliament should be investigated? Why only PPP? How about the PNC from 1964-1991? What is good for the goose is good for the gander too. It should not be a political witch hunt. Stop the chest beating and macho man attitude and concentrate on making Guyana a better country to live in. Maybe Joe harmon should be investigated too for the $5 mil(USD). How about that? 

The PPP had 23 years to go after them but what did they do? They provided a safety haven for the HOI gang.

Tell dem rass deh Chief.

The PPP had 23 years to go after them but what did they do? They provided a safety haven for the HOI gang.

had the PPP taken any action, Georgetown and the surroundings would have been a charcoal exporter.

ba$eman posted:

The PNC has now implanted themselves as before and cares little of how anything looks and what they promised during the campaign.  This is only the beginning.  The ethnic cleansing machinery is ramping up!

Hold your racist arse.  The PNC won this elections fair and sqaure, there was no imposition in 2015.

But 2020?  That is a different kettle of fish.  I was advised that Crobin and Hammie were recommissioned with a G$300 million datchna from the Durban Park Funds and running an operations out of Congress Place.  It involves ballots and boxes.

KishanB posted:
ba$eman posted:

Hold your racist arse.  The PNC won this elections fair and sqaure, there was no imposition in 2015.

But 2020?  That is a different kettle of fish.  I was advised that Crobin and Hammie were recommissioned with a G$300 million datchna from the Durban Park Funds and running an operations out of Congress Place.  It involves ballots and boxes.

Haul you foolish ass, I never said the "impose" themselves.  I said they have have implanted themselves to facilitate the excesses of the past. Your AFC are now drowning as they swirl in the toilet an cannot do shyte.  You talk shyte but you have nothing at stake.  You did see the back of BJ but now you have Granger pissing all over you and you running for cover.

You "were advised" well, who cares, the lot of you are traitors!  The PPP/BJ and the people of Guyana have to deal with it!

ba$eman posted:
KishanB posted:
ba$eman posted:

Haul you foolish ass, I never said the "impose" themselves.  I said they have have implanted themselves to facilitate the excesses of the past. Your AFC are now drowning as they swirl in the toilet an cannot do shyte.  You talk shyte but you have nothing at stake.  You did see the back of BJ but now you have Granger pissing all over you and you running for cover.

You "were advised" well, who cares, the lot of you are traitors!  The PPP/BJ and the people of Guyana have to deal with it!

Traitor?  You are the ignoramus traitor who backed a tiefing Ramutar.

I backed an old man who went rogue.  What I saw in Granger in 2015 was a good fearing old man who promised to rule Guyana for all its people.  I believed him, but he lied.  So what, time to keep moving on.

You on the other hand followed a CROOK - Ramutar who was giving away the Treasury to his children, his sissy, is maaamee,his chachee and chacha and aji and aja and nanie and nana.

That is what Traitors do, rob the Treasury and get freeloader like you to give them a free pass. Go to hell Baseboard!

I was wrong on Granger, I admit, but at least I stood with him in 2015 on Principles.  You stood with Rumtar for a hustle.

KishanB posted:
ba$eman posted:
KishanB posted:
ba$eman posted:

Traitor?  You are the ignoramus traitor who backed a tiefing Ramutar.

I backed an old man who went rogue.  What I saw in Granger in 2015 was a good fearing old man who promised to rule Guyana for all its people.  I believed him, but he lied.  So what, time to keep moving on.

You on the other hand followed a CROOK - Ramutar who was giving away the Treasury to his children, his sissy, is maaamee,his chachee and chacha and aji and aja and nanie and nana.

That is what Traitors do, rob the Treasury and get freeloader like you to give them a free pass. Go to hell Baseboard!

I was wrong on Granger, I admit, but at least I stood with him in 2015 on Principles.  You stood with Rumtar for a hustle.

So you were gullible and you got conned by a blackman. I would be embarrassed if a Guyanese blackman conned me. Run and put blackpat pun you face now.

KishanB, a Kindergarten student can FOOL you. I am surprise you did not lose all you have. You and others were warned, given evidence, pointed to evidence BUT despite all of that you concluded that the PNC are Angels and urged the Guyanese people to Vote PNC. Now it seems you are understanding and evaluation your deficiencies, naivety, lack of basic knowledge and plain stupidity. Well, it is quite late!!!!!!!!!!

Bhai

You can add VVP to that list.