NYC high schoolers walk out of classes by the hundreds for Manhattan protest of Trump's travel ban

Hundreds of NYC students walk out of class for Trump protest
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Tuesday, February 7, 2017, 7:43 PM
NYC PAPERS OUT. Social media use restricted to low res file max 184 x 128 pixels and 72 dpi

Public Advocate Letitia James encouraged the young activists.

(Andrew Savulich/New York Daily News)
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS
Tuesday, February 7, 2017, 7:43 PM

Hundreds of city high school students walked out of classes Tuesday to protest President Trump’s travel ban against seven mostly Muslim countries.

At a rally at Manhattan’s Foley Square, protesters decried the immigration ban as well as the confirmation of Betsy DeVos Tuesday as the country’s next education secretary.

“Never in my 17 young years have I felt as black as I did the day Trump became our President. Never in those 17 years have I felt as much Islamophobia, discrimination and hate as I did in the last three months,” said Yacine Fall, a high school senior from Harlem. “After I cried, I felt more determined than ever not to be silent.”

NYC PAPERS OUT. Social media use restricted to low res file max 184 x 128 pixels and 72 dpi

The rally was in protest of Trump's travel ban of seven Muslim-majority countries in addition to the confirmation of Betsy DeVos as education secretary.

Public Advocate Letitia James urged on the crowd.

NYC judge urged to push feds to return detainees of Trump’s order

“You’ve got to rise up, like so many have done before you, and you’ve got to resist, like so many have done before you,” she said.

The group marched to Federal Plaza where the New York office of United States Citizenship and Immigration Services is located after the rally.

Youssef Abdelzaher, 17, a high school senior from Astoria, Queens, said it would fall to young people to resist the Trump administration.

“It was the youth who walked out during the civil rights movement. It was the youth who tore at the Berlin wall with their bare hands. It was the youth who stood in front of tanks at Tiananmen Square,” he said.

After the rally, the group marched to Federal Plaza where the New York office of United States Citizenship and Immigration Services is located.

Protest in high schools existed, exist and will continue to exist in the schools of the US_of_A.

Of note, protests exist worldwide in schools by students for issues.

Protest in high schools existed, exist and will continue to exist in the schools of the US_of_A.

And you don't see a problem with this?. These kids should be in school getting their edumacation...they have no clue why they are protesting. 

Why do you think they have no clue why they are protesting?

Based on the article. They are drinking the cool aid ...media influenced 

I remember a big high school protest in Guyana...I think it was for a teacher who was fired in Berbice...

I just enjoyed the day off...walking out of classes to join the masses

When did the Republicans or anyone ever protested Obama?  He closed down the US Embassy in Yemen and sided with the Saudis to bomb Yemen and no one said a word. 

Where have you been living?

Heard of the party of "NO"?

RiffRaff posted:

I remember a big high school protest in Guyana...I think it was for a teacher who was fired in Berbice...

I just enjoyed the day off...walking out of classes to join the masses

Remember a protest back in Guyana too. Ministry of Education transferred our Headmaster to Saint Stanislaus. Can't remember how long we protested but to no avail.

Amral posted:

The media love to fan the flames of hatred for Trump. People ought to respect the office of the President. 

Donald Trump MUST first and foremost display respect for the office of President of the US_of_A and conduct himself in a manner that merits being in the office.

They transferred my headmaster to Saint Stanislaus but I didn't protest.  I was just really really sad.

typical PPP...sit on your hands and cry

They transferred my headmaster to Saint Stanislaus but I didn't protest.  I was just really really sad.

Sad......really sad. People like ayuh mek we lose Bulby an get Taylor. Then again, that was Guyana. We cudda protest til we finish 6th form.

My thought exactly. 

Funny story. We had a Korean diplomat's son in one of our classes. In the spirit of international friendship we taught him to flip the bird. Taylor didn't like us sitting on the sides of the bridge. One morning he drove in and the Korean kid was sitting there. Taylor made abrupt stop, jumped out and started screaming at the kid who didn't understand a word of English but just sat there smiling and flipping Taylor the bird. I think we might be to blame since we told the kid flipping the bird was a sign of respect. After a few minutes of getting nowhere, Taylor jumped in his car and drove away.

If it was him. He was at Stewartville school for about 2 years during my time. That guy was very strict. Stewartville school went from being the cowboy school to the school that parents were trying to get their kids into. Then abruptly without explanation to us the students Taylor left

Amral

Wonder why Guyanese kids are the way they are? They are told what to think and do and not how to think. In high school here, you can blurt out any answer, whether you are right or wrong. No punishment or shaming. Try giving an incorrect answer in Guyana.

Vish, how do you know that they do not know why they are protesting? Crystal ball? 

This is a good education for them, Praxis, combination of theory and practice, theory in action.

Z
Amral posted:

The media love to fan the flames of hatred for Trump. People ought to respect the office of the President. 

There is a difference between respecting the office of the president and respecting the individual who holds that position. 

The Republicians and Trump, etc used the media to go after Obama. Well, payback is bitch.

Z

Come on now.  You and I both know these kids wanted to cut school.  What do they know or care about Trump.  This is all cheap political mileage for Mayor DeBlasted.  He is looking for votes for his re-election in November.  Add he is willing to sacrifice anything for it, including these kids schooling.

Zed posted:
Amral posted:

There is a difference between respecting the office of the president and respecting the individual who holds that position. 

The Republicians and Trump, etc used the media to go after Obama. Well, payback is bitch.

Really?  When????

Wonder why Guyanese kids are the way they are? They are told what to think and do and not how to think. In high school here, you can blurt out any answer, whether you are right or wrong. No punishment or shaming.Try giving an incorrect answer in Guyana.

Still in my memory twice was punished,had to stretch my hand out in Standard 3 and lean over the desk in Form 3,both times was three lashes.

Come on now.  You and I both know these kids wanted to cut school.  What do they know or care about Trump.  This is all cheap political mileage for Mayor DeBlasted.  He is looking for votes for his re-election in November.  Add he is willing to sacrifice anything for it, including these kids schooling.

Bibi gyal, some of these kids might be 18 years or older. They have a right. One or more of these very kids one day might be the next president or senator from the state of NY. Give them credit and support...freedom of expression.

We have instances of high school student activism in Guyana. A couple of weeks ago, there was a protest by students at Patentia High School. This was the second one. Also, there was another one at Queens College. 

Z

I do not think you you have a basis for making this statement about wanting to skip class or that they are being used.

Z
Zed posted:
Amral posted:

Really?  When????

Your memory going bad with age? If you believe there is no basis for the statement, then I can tell you with confidence that  I have some AFC supporters  who still believe the Larry Singh rental agreement was above board.

Z

From ABCNews.

Hundreds of New York City students walked outside of class Tuesday and briefly rallied outside Trump Tower in Midtown, carrying their signs and their chanting voices into the streets nearly a week after Donald Trump's election.

Pounding wind and rain probably had something to do with the brevity of the well-publicized city-wide protest, which began around 10 a.m. and was over by noon. Most of the students were in high school and middle school, and are all united in their dislike of President-elect Trump. They were orderly and stayed in special areas set up by the NYPD.

Metal barricades kept them from disrupting traffic at Fifth Avenue between 58th and 55th streets, with the crowd easily reaching the 1,000 mark.

"I think that it is important to be a part of this community of kids," one protester said. "Because I think there is something to say about that. In these next four years, it is up to us to kind of fight for the things I think Donald Trump will change or will try to change. And yeah, to be a part of this community, I think does say something."

Many said while they may not be old enough to vote, they still play an important role in democracy.
Zed posted:
Zed posted:
Amral posted:

Really?  When????

Your memory going bad with age? If you believe there is no basis for the statement, then I can tell you with confidence that  I have some AFC supporters  who still believe the Larry Singh rental agreement was above board.

Answer me!!!!!!!!!!!

Based on the article. They are drinking the cool aid ...media influenced 

What in the article made you think that they are drinking the kool aid and don't have a clue why they are protesting?

Even the PNC kids in Guyana have more respect for their constitution and the democratic process than these.  The hand of Mayor DeBlasted is stirring the pot.  He gave them permission to do this.  And the well educated adults are cheering on to see their kids running through the streets of New York like mad hyenas while other nearby schools are in session and those kids are getting an education.