Public pressure forced Ramotar to axe Bheri – Dr Luncheon

April 29, 2015 2:15 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

By Tracey Khan – Drakes

Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran and Sherlina Nageer during the exchange in front the Whim's Magistrate's Court. [Mark Jacobs' Photo]

Minister of Health, Dr Bheri Ramsaran and Sherlina Nageer during the exchange in front the Whim’s Magistrate’s Court. [Mark Jacobs’ Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – Government spokesman Dr. Roger Luncheon has expressed surprise at the news that Dr. Bheri Ramsaran has being relieved of his ministerial post by President Donald Ramotar.

A media release from the Office of the President on Wednesday, April 29 had expressed the President’s outrage at the verbal outbursts and insults uttered by Dr Ramsaran towards women’s rights activist, Sherlina Nageer.

At his post cabinet media briefing at the Office of the President, Dr Luncheon acted surprised after he was informed that the Health Minister was relieved of his post.

“That is indeed a response that I suspect many have been awaiting…the question that you have asked whether he is still a member of cabinet, well that is what I will have to find out, if he has been relieved of his ministerial post, I want to believe that those subsequent development has also taken place.”

He believes that the President Ramotar caved to pressure from both the local and international community, who issued numerous calls for Ramsaran to resign.

Cabinet Secretary: Dr. Roger Luncheon

“The pressures I am pretty certain you are aware that have been brought to bear on Minister Ramsaran about his utterances, and I suppose as we would say that the pressures have prevailed, that is all I would be able to say now until I become more aware with the decision and as well as the basis for the decision,” Dr Luncheon told reporters.

Since the revelation of two recordings with Dr Ramsaran verbally assaulting and degrading Nageer went viral, calls from all sections of society were mounted for his dismissal.

Meanwhile, the women’s rights activist continued her protest in front of the Ministry of Health today with members of several civil society groups. She told reporters during an interview that she is happy the government has finally taken that step in firing Dr Ramsaran.

“It’s a historic moment; Mr. Ramsaran now has the dubious honor of being the first and only for a public official or minister of the PPP who has been sent home and that’s worth noting. We would like to think that the voices of civil society have been heard and that there is greater understating to accountability and sexual violence,” Nageer said.

However, she is still not convinced that this is an honest move by the government.

“We’re less than two weeks away from elections and Mr. Ramsaran is just one of many bad apples within this government who have been guilty of sexual violence, and so were not appeased, we take his firing with a large grain of salt,” Nageer further noted.

She added that they will now take the picketing to the office of the Attorney General on Thursday since “they are not fooled and the issue is far from over.”

“The PPP is desperate for votes and they might feel as if they have lost some ground and I think they are hoping to make up for that,” the women’s rights activist opined.

RE:Government spokesman Dr. Roger Luncheon has expressed surprise at the news that Dr. Bheri Ramsaran has being relieved of his ministerial post by President Donald Ramotar.

SURPRISE?  Why?

Lunchman can't believe for the first time action was taken against one of their own for wrongdoing, imagine that, someone fired for doing wrong, mmmmm! what a concept.

RE:Government spokesman Dr. Roger Luncheon has expressed surprise at the news that Dr. Bheri Ramsaran has being relieved of his ministerial post by President Donald Ramotar.

SURPRISE?  Why?

Lunchman can't believe for the first time action was taken against one of their own for wrongdoing, imagine that, someone fired for doing wrong, mmmmm! what a concept.

She added that they will now take the picketing to the office of the Attorney General on Thursday since “they are not fooled and the issue is far from over.”

“The PPP is desperate for votes and they might feel as if they have lost some ground and I think they are hoping to make up for that,” the women’s rights activist opined.

Originally Posted by asj:

Had Guyanese kept up the Pressure on the issue of Chat 3 Nandalalala he would have gone too.

Hint hint, that's how a democracy works.  Under the PNC, it's the woman who might have lost her job.

Had Guyanese kept up the Pressure on the issue of Chat 3 Nandalalala he would have gone too.

Hint hint, that's how a democracy works.  Under the PNC, it's the woman who might have lost her job.

They finally fired one person after how many years of scuzzy antics from others? This is all because of election and Anil aint going anywhere until he gets kicked out with the rest of scum.

Nothing to do with Democracy.

Forbes and Hoyte fired nuff people before and even jailed some of them who Janet later freed so don't get ahead of yourself.

Sperm bai admitted to stealing money to buy sperm he should be fired now!

Forbes and Hoyte fired nuff people before and even jailed some of them who Janet later freed so don't get ahead of yourself.

Being "sperm" bai, he could not have insulted any women like Beri Beri.

Let me refresh yuh memory lil bit.

AG: But how you misquote the man suh man

LG: How the f**k  I misquote the man, we got the man pun record and is not me alone, they had other staff there too

AG: Who, who is the other staff, some nice girl dem sen’

LG: Man me can’t give you the name man… oww

AG: De man wan f**k de girl man, the man tell me seriously he wan knock de girl

LG: How he gun f**k de girl

AG: No but still chief (inaudible) de man say he wan knock de ting, you can arrange

continued....

LG: No but whatever it is because I had to, of course I had an input I had to do it because dem send me and the other reporter and is not me either remember is the editors dem to, I don’t see why

AG: Yeah but who is the girl

LG: Me gun tell you a cant tell you on the phone man oh sk**t you wan **** me up

AG: Whaaam glen nah a tap me phone man he nah got dem technology

LG: No no man nah do dah, dem got people

AG: uh

LG: Ah cant do duh but a cant tell you who that is but is one of we staff hey

AG: Oh oh some (inaudible)

LG: Is a reporter dem woulda send dem wouldn’t a send me alone, you know I don’t do much

AG: Eh hey

LG: amm

AG: Anyhow me nah know..wait no

LG: Ammm

AG: But hear nuh gildarie you do a story on duh , what is he gotayhing, if me uncle

LG: Yea but…

AG: Hear nah, if me brother, leh we say, you got brothers

LG: Eh hey