PYO protests opposition stance on AFHP in front of Parliament

Written by Savitri Laikram, Thursday, 25 July 2013 21:03, Source - Guyana Chronicle

THE Progressive Youth Organisation (PYO) yesterday staged a peaceful protest outside of Parliament Buildings on Brickdam, Georgetown, calling on the political opposition to support the legislation linked to the Amaila Falls Hydro Project.

alt

A section of the PYO members who turned up to picket yesterday.

The youth arm of the People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) believes that the opposition is thwarting the development of Guyana.

Executive member of the PYO Steering Committee, Romel Roopnarine, indicated in an interview with the media that this picket is one of the first peaceful protests to be staged by the group, and more peaceful protests will be staged in future, among other initiatives.

He said the PYO showed up to display its support for the Amalia Falls Hydro Project, and to register its objection and concern against the stand taken by A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC) parties, which are trying their utmost to stall the project and, by extension, the development of Guyana.

Roopnarine said the PYO picket line had representatives from groups located all across the coastline as well as from Regions 9Upper Takutu/ Upper Essequibo) and 10 (Upper Demerara/Upper Berbice).

Moreover, he said, a wide cross section of persons from all across the country, all of whom are protesting in solidarity with this project, have united to send a message to the Opposition and those who are delaying the hydro power project in the National Assembly.

He said the youth are protesting because they are aware of the project, as it is attracting widespread public attention and is the main topic being debated nationally at this time.

alt

Persons hurl abuse at the PYO members and try to obstruct the demonstration.

At a recent PYO press conference, Roopnarine said the PYO, after holding discussion, had decided to join the chorus of condemnation of the Opposition for its callous act in respect to this AFHP project. He described the actions of the AFC and APNU as anti-development, and said their attitude is boycotting, undermining and sabotaging critical developmental initiatives and projects which are geared to make the lives of all Guyanese much easier.

The PYO is leaving the door open with respect to having its members’ voices heard on the Amaila Falls Hydro Project; and Roopnarine asserted that the opposition parties have now found themselves cornered and are ashamed to admit their failure to understand that the entire nation needs the Hydro Power Project, testimony to which are the many releases and calls by various bodies for the opposition parties to rethink their decision in this regard.

In campaigning for the 2011 elections, the Opposition had called for the creation of more jobs for young people, and the provision of cheap and clean energy, but now they have both backpedalled on those calls, Roopnarine noted.

He said the Amaila Falls Project makes both of those things a reality, and what the opposition parties have proven is that they have moved away from the promises made in their respective manifestos, which strangely called for the same things.

Roopnarine said the PYO is appreciative of the stakeholders’ consultation forum which was hosted yesterday at the Guyana International Convention Centre (GICC), because it was very informative and had great detail in terms of explanation regarding the project from the government.

The PYO members simply wanted their voices heard on the matter. The youth of Guyana who are in the PYO movement would have obviously seen a positive and bright future for the country, Roopnarine said, as he noted that there would be challenges with a project of this magnitude, but the PYO felt the need to display its support and address the situation in a progressive manner.

alt

Government ministers who were present to encourage the PYO members

He asserted that the PYO is very dynamic, as its members have been going about Guyana doing many projects and humanitarian work, as they are youths who are in support of the brighter and fast-developing Guyana. He said also that the PYO comprises youths from all across the country and are of all ethnicities. They are of the opinion that the faster this project begins, the faster it will conclude, and it will be very beneficial to the country, as the people would not want to go back to the situation caused by politics in the 1960s and 1970s.

He said the AFHP is not a PPP Government project, but one that will be of benefit to all of Guyana, as was recognised by the experts of the New York-based investment and advisory firm Blackstone Group LP, which are known for their hydropower work. They have seen the feasibility of the project as international experts.

“We cannot sit down and do nothing and expect hydropower to fall into our laps,” he pointed out. He noted that the opposition parties are giving the impression that allowing the PPP/C government’s plan to introduce hydropower to Guyana will show progress and highlight the negativity of the PNCR’s failed hydropower project during their regime. As such, they are trying to stall this project using every possible method they can find.

PYO member Sawan Jagnarain pointed out that, earlier in the day, when the demonstrators began their peaceful protest, individuals who portrayed themselves as opposition supporters came up to the youngsters and started shoving them about, and tried to hit them while using very explicit language and chasing them off the road.

alt

Ministers Anil Nandlall and Irfaan Ali handing out leaflets to passing vehicles yesterday.

He said he hopes that APNU’s leader, David Granger, understands that he cannot be talking about the “virtues of democracy” while, on the other hand, when people come out to exercise that right, they are violated and railroaded.

He said he stood there witnessing the individuals walk in to a yard which houses an office of an opposition leader, after they would have finished their assault on the youths.

Various ministers of the Cabinet sought to show their appreciation of the PYO demonstration by joining in and encouraging the actions of the PYO, lauding their good work and dedication.

Ministers who were present included Priya Manickchand, Anil Nandlall, Irfaan Ali, Clement Rohee, Dr Frank Anthony, and Robeson Benn. Also present was Director of Sports in the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sports, Mr. Neil Kumar. The ministers and Kumar also assisted the PYO in handing out leaflets that detailed the social and economic benefits the Opposition had denied the people of Guyana by refusing to support the AFHP bill. Those leaflets were handed out to passing vehicles and persons.

APNU leader David Granger was at the scene of the protest. He greeted persons who showed up to challenge the protesters and hurl abuses at them. When members of the PYO and passing persons tried to engage him in conversation, he walked away.

It is very sad to see how my fellow young people are being misled by the PPP. The IDB cannot guarantee that the price of electricity Guyanese will have to pay post Amaila will decline. Why pursue this project? The PPP never allowed young people to be thinkers. Jagdeo and Ramotar do not want thinkers; they want misinformed fans.  

That is the biggest thing wrong with our political system. It does not incubate thinkers. It farm raises ideologically bound  party hacks with stunted independent thinking faculty.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

That is the biggest thing wrong with our political system. It does not incubate thinkers. It farm raises ideologically bound  party hacks with stunted independent thinking faculty.

I could not have said it so eloquently. 

They want puppets.

Unthinking puppets are promoted rapidly in the party. They are the leaders' favorites, especially when they are willing to spy on, and slander, other party members.

GREAT WORK BY THE PYO AND MINISTERS OF THE GOVT. We MUST educate the People of the destructive ways of the Opposition. I see some white mouth IDIOTS trying to impede DEMOCRACY!!!!!

Nehru, I admire your steadfast loyalty to the PPP but, like myself and other ex-members I look forward to the day when you will see the light and dissociate from that den of corruption.

I know you're an intelligent and good man and there is cause for hope. I'm not giving up on you, brother. Be bold and break the chains of sentimentality and nostalgia that still bind you. What you waiting for?

GREAT WORK BY THE PYO AND MINISTERS OF THE GOVT. We MUST educate the People of the destructive ways of the Opposition. I see some white mouth IDIOTS trying to impede DEMOCRACY!!!!!

Nehru, I admire your steadfast loyalty to the PPP but, like myself and other ex-members I look forward to the day when you will see the light and dissociate from that den of corruption.

I know you're an intelligent and good man and there is cause for hope. I'm not giving up on you, brother. Be bold and break the chains of sentimentality and nostalgia that still bind you. What you waiting for?

Bhai Gilbakka, Thank you for your concern. There is nothing sentimental nor Nostalgic about BRUTALITY, VIOLENCE, SHORTAGES, MURDER and so on. I am simply giving support to the BEST we have right now. The Opposition by their History and current ACTIONS do NOT attract support from any decent person. I have stated the ILLS of the PPP Govt and what they need to improve. However, I will NOT jump from the frying Pan into the FIRE. Others are free to do so.

I didn't mean you must leave the PPP to join the PNC or AFC, Nehru.

You can be independent like me. Support the opposition when they have good arguments and criticize them when they play wutliss. Critical support, dat is de ting.

Originally Posted by Danyael:

Linden and Agricola rioters were thinkers? 

I strongly believe Amaila Falls Hydro is a very good Investment.

Correct Nehru .. an excellent proposal.

My predictions and views on matters are in the 90% level .. and with the available information, the Amaila hydroelectric project will be developed.

I didn't mean you must leave the PPP to join the PNC or AFC, Nehru.

You can be independent like me. Support the opposition when they have good arguments and criticize them when they play wutliss. Critical support, dat is de ting.

Mr Gilbakka,

Would you vote for the present PPP?

WHY? A single sentence cannot say much. Explain WHY. 

I love to teach young, Dunce Punks. It is a very good Investment because it will make Guyana self-sufficient in Energy Energy , Provide reliable and dependable Energy to Guyana and beyond, it will recoup it's cost in 20 years. It will speed up development and efficiency in ALL sectors.  You need more??? Cause I aint start bout Green energy, the environment and saving the planet yet.

Amaila is not the only hydro that can do all those things? You have not convinced me there is not a better alternative. Amaila adds excessive debt and risks. Your argument is quite weak. 

Guyana is small country with less than a million households.

Consider the costs of hardware.

Consider the distance for the transmission lines.

Consider the expertise that is needed for the systems.

Consider the cost of every home for the re-wiring.

Consider the maintanance.

A small hydro system like Moco Moco could not be maintained properly, what u think will happen to Amalia? 

Guyana is small country with less than a million households.

Consider the costs of hardware.

Consider the distance for the transmission lines.

Consider the expertise that is needed for the systems.

Consider the cost of every home for the re-wiring.

Consider the maintanance.

A small hydro system like Moco Moco could not be maintained properly, what u think will happen to Amalia? 

This is what I was trying to tell Nehru. Thank you.

i belive building a hydro is a great investment i am a guyanese and need to see development but this is not about building the hydro but the way the ppp government is going about building it all the guyanese people is saying show us the books and lets see if it can be done cheaper come clean and we will support the project 

Martin Carter put it in a nutshell "...all are involved, all are consumed". Guyanese need to get real, stop seeing 'them' and 'us', and only see 'us'. A house divided can only collapse. What is more important, loyalty to a power-hungry politician, or the future of our children?

Originally Posted by Conscience:

Martin Carter put it in a nutshell "...all are involved, all are consumed". Guyanese need to get real, stop seeing 'them' and 'us', and only see 'us'. A house divided can only collapse. What is more important, loyalty to a power-hungry politician, or the future of our children?

the most inportant thing at this point is to stop the thiefing start showing the books

The PYO is leaving the door open with respect to having its members’ voices heard on the Amaila Falls Hydro Project; and Roopnarine asserted that the opposition parties have now found themselves cornered and are ashamed to admit their failure to understand that the entire nation needs the Hydro Power Project, testimony to which are the many releases and calls by various bodies for the opposition parties to rethink their decision in this regard.

In campaigning for the 2011 elections, the Opposition had called for the creation of more jobs for young people, and the provision of cheap and clean energy, but now they have both backpedalled on those calls, Roopnarine noted.

Mr Gilbakka,

I voted for the PPP in 1973, 1980, 1985 and 1992.

I migrated from Guyana in 1996 and supported the PPP solidly until the last, 2011 elections, as GNI folks know.

I cannot support the present PPP.

Voting is out of the question unless they restore the overseas vote.

Who is Romel Roopnarine.

He is below Odinga Lamumba, Norman McClean,Philip Bynoe, Kit Nascimento, Hamilton and Kwame McCoy.....

No one cares what Romel Roopnarine ....or his Seniors.... and Bosses think.

"the opposition parties have now found themselves cornered and are ashamed to admit their failure to understand that the entire nation needs the Hydro Power Project, testimony to which are the many releases and calls by various bodies for the opposition parties to rethink their decision in this regard.":

How did Roopsta come about this one? He, as the others, speaketh crap, bring on another.

Originally Posted by sachin_05:

This might be a good time PPP/Rohee  send their goons to fire in the crowd and blame the opposition...

Hopefully, you will be at the front of the crowd.

This might be a good time PPP/Rohee  send their goons to fire in the crowd and blame the opposition...

I ai'nt no inbreed retarded PYO member, sorry I ai'nt dieing fuh no PPP milk...last time I checked you and baseman both suffering from kera cause by PPP milk...

Bai, milk is good fuh you.

Nehru this Hydro project is a Great Idea for Guyana....

we all agree.

No one is doubting this.....

what we need is Full Transparency and Total Honesty.

If there is nothing to hide.....

why Barr the media from asking Questions.

Read and understand wha a go on....

Inexplicably, the media was barred from asking any questions.

“This is quite strange since the media are stakeholders.

They also represent the interest of the wider society.

“The media are more privy to information on the issues which they help the people to understand,” said Kaieteur News’ Editor in Chief Adam Harris.

“It is the media that reported on the many issues that today form the subject of debates nationally.

When the government secretly signed the Cheddi Jagan International Airport deal, the local media made the public aware. And that is only one,” Harris said.

President Donald Ramotar,

Prime Minister Samuel Hinds, and

Housing and Water Minister Irfaan Ali ......

were the main PPP presenters.

They all remained silent when Junior Finance Minister, Juan Edghill, barred the media.

Who is Juan Edghill?

Look how the House Of Isreal Thugs ......

are allowed to dictate positions for the PPP.....

Like Banning the Media from asking Questions.....

and the PPP President and Prime Minister .....

just sit there and agree...... 

just going back to the days when.....

House of Isreal was enforcing the rules for the (PNC) Government.

Also present were representatives of

the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry,

the Private Sector Commission,

the Guyana Manufacturing and Services Association and

other stakeholders.

No one could object to the "House of Isreal" barring the media.

President of the Georgetown Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Clinton Urling, queried Government’s willingness to agree to an independent analysis of the project.

Why would a PPP Government be unwilling to agree to an independent analysis of this project?????

Why would a PPP Government willingly follow the Banning of Questions by the Media....as dictated by "De House of Isreal Thugs"

Why would a PPP Government REFUSE to Re-tender a new & Transparent Contract for this Hydro Project.

What is there in this Hocus-pocus agreement that Jagdeo & Ramotar hiding from the Guyanese.

It is the Kick-backs collected that cannot be exposed.....

Everyone supports the Hydro Project....so simply...

Be Transparent.....Retender the Contract...

So Guyana gets the Best Deal for their Investment....

and move the project forward....

GET RID OF ALL HOUSE OF ISREAL THUGS....

THERE IS NO ROOM FOR THEM IN THE PPP...

SEND THEM BLACK THUGS BACK.... PACKING TO THE PNC.....

Which part of this

Jagdeo & Ramotar have a Problem with ....

bUT YUH GUN SEND poor young aFROgUYANESE IN FRONT OF THE LINE CAUSE YOU THINK THEIR LIVES ARE worthless!!! vote kfc for dictators and scumbags!! 

the man is saying send those PYO MEMBERS in the front line you and baseman can go join them hold a sign that say we are thiefing to enrich our family

Guys.....do not put Baseman and Nehru in same class.

Baseman want lil PPP milk......he admit it.....

Baseman family Anil...

Drink, Drunk & Enjoy PNC Peeeee...

and Den eee get up and sing a ****** song....

Ramson de PNC Thug Verify this.....

Nehru joke about Ramotar Hennasy & Bharat Poke.....

But.... there is no proof .....

Nehru want or teking PPP milk .......

or Nehru Drink or Swallow PNC Pee......

Mr Gilbakka,

I migrated from Guyana in 1996 and supported the PPP solidly until the last, 2011 elections, as GNI folks know.

===

Assume you could vote would you vote for PPP?

Mr Gilbakka,

===

Assume you could vote would you vote for PPP?

NO