Qualfon’s new call centre to have 3,500 seats

September 3, 2013 · By Stabroek editor, Source

Qualfon’s Providence call centre will cater for 3,500 seats when built.

A sod turning ceremony is set tomorrow at the Providence location for the facility which the Mexico-based company says will provide 6,000 jobs.

Describing itself as the largest private employer in Guyana, the company, in information released ahead of the ceremony tomorrow, disclosed that the complex will have solar power panels and `green’ building materials, an indoor/outdoor cafeteria, an interfaith chapel, an onsite water treatment facility, back-up generators, a water pond and landscaping, parking and designated pick-up and drop-off areas.

In addition to the initial contact centre, the company plans an administration building and a second operations centre. It said the Providence installation will be one of the “largest contact centre campuses in the world”.

Speaking about its investment, Qualfon said that it chose Guyana as it is well suited to serve the contact centre industry.

“Qualfon’s largest market is serving customers in the United States, and Guyana understands Americans. They speak the same native-English language and watch the same TV”, Mike Marrow, Qualfon’s CEO said. “That’s why we have decided to heavily invest in Guyana and build one of the largest contact centre campuses in the world”.

Its Chief Sales and Marketing Officer Bob Dechant added “Qualfon’s investment in a new 3,500-seat contact centre campus represents a concrete sign that Guyana is a premier new location for the industry and that Qualfon believes in the future of Guyana”.

Operating here since 2005, Qualfon says it has “average employee tenure of 28.8 months and an average monthly attrition rate 5.45%” in its facilities here.

It added that “Guyana provides one of the most compelling offers in the BPO (business process outsourcing) industry. With its competitive prices and native-English language, as well as Qualfon’s low attrition rates, Guyana is a great alternative to India and a strong complement to the Philippines”, Dechant added.

The company also lauded the Guyana Government and Go-Invest for their help in making the expansion possible.

The call centre campus is being built south of the Princess Hotel on the East Bank of  Demerara.

Qualfon celebrated its seventh anniversary of operations in Guyana last year. A company press release then had said that it first launched its commercial operations in Guyana with only 50 employees.  Last year it had over 1,500 employees.

President Donald Ramotar and Finance Minister Dr Ashni Singh are to address the launching.

Where is CaribJ? He must be happy that these low wages jobs coming to Guyana. Call centers have become the bottom of the barrel for outsourcing, even Indian is too expensive for them now. 

Many years ago I told you that call centers will be good for Guyana due to our low wages. I could not understand why it wasnt more aggressivley promoted.

You scoffed at the idea dismissing it.  Just as you do eco/adventure tourism (which your PPP constantly babbles about and even wants to spend US$150 million for a gigantic terminal).

Now I see that Guyana is finally benefitting from this.  Good thing that they didnt listen to you.

Originally Posted by raymond:

finally..UG graduates will have jobs

Unless these are advanced service jobs I very much doubt that they will want UG grads.  A decent CXC pass should be enough.  There are even more of these.

Qualfon Building One of the Largest Contact Center Campuses in the World in Georgetown, Guyana and Creating 6,000 New Jobs

Qualfon held a groundbreaking ceremony today to celebrate the start of construction on one of the largest contact center campuses in the world.

Georgetown, Guyana (PRWEB), September 04, 2013. Source

Qualfon Guyana Contact Center Campus

Qualfon, a leading global business process outsourcing (BPO) provider, held a groundbreaking ceremony today to celebrate the start of construction on one of the largest contact center campuses in the world. This new state-of-the-art, multi-building campus will expand Qualfon’s capacity in Guyana and bring an estimated 6,000 new jobs over the next five years. Guyana is a former British colony and a native-English-speaking country located on the Northern coast of South America.

Qualfon Guyana Contact Center Campus

“The Government of Guyana recognizes and appreciates the work being done by Qualfon in providing jobs for hundreds of our people,” said Donald Ramotar, President of Guyana.

Qualfon is making a major investment in Guyana, because it is a country that is well suited to serve the contact center industry. “Qualfon’s largest market is serving customers in the United States, and Guyana understands Americans. They speak the same native-English language and watch the same TV. In addition, they have a diverse and welcoming culture that is unique in the world," said Mike Marrow, Qualfon CEO. “That’s why we have decided to heavily invest in Guyana and build one of the largest contact center campuses in the world.”

The multi-building facility will be built at East Bank Demerara, near the National Stadium, top hotels and Georgetown’s newest mall. It will accommodate 3,500 seats. In addition to the initial contact center, construction plans include an administration building as well as a second operations center.

Qualfon contracted with FRE Resources to build the campus, which will feature:
-Solar power panels and “green” building materials
-An indoor/outdoor cafeteria
-An interfaith chapel
-An onsite waste water treatment facility
-Back-up generators
-A water pond and landscaping
-Parking and designated pick-up and drop-off areas

Qualfon has been operating in Georgetown since 2005 and is the largest private employer in the country of Guyana. Qualfon provides award-winning services to clients and their customers with the average employee tenure of 28.8 months and an average monthly attrition rate of 5.45% in its facilities in Guyana. “Guyana provides one of the most compelling offers in the BPO industry. With its competitive prices and native-English language, as well as Qualfon’s low attrition rates, Guyana is a great alternative to India and a strong complement to the Philippines,” said Bob Dechant, Chief Sales and Marketing Officer at Qualfon. “Qualfon’s investment in a new 3,500-seat contact center campus represents a concrete sign that Guyana is a premier new location for the industry and that Qualfon believes in the future of Guyana.”

“Qualfon is proud to be investing in the future of Guyana and bringing customer service, sales, technical support, and related management jobs to the local communities," said Marrow. “Guyana is the ideal location for our business due to the country’s U.S. and Latin American proximity, native-English-speaking population, high-caliber workforce, and its dedication to building economic strength through more industry diversification. Our expansion here is due in large part to the support we have received from the Guyanese Government and the Go-Invest organization. These partnerships have helped us justify further expanding our presence.”

“The Government of Guyana recognizes and appreciates the work being done by Qualfon in providing jobs for hundreds of our people,” said Donald Ramotar, President of Guyana.

“We have found this company to be a significant and reliable partner,” said his Excellency.

“We see our joint efforts are helping to create new industries and providing greater services based on the new Information & Communication Technologies. This augurs well for the future,” said his Excellency.

ABOUT QUALFON
Qualfon is a global provider of call center, back-office, and business process outsourcing (BPO) services. Since 1996, Qualfon has delivered a strategic advantage for billion-dollar companies around the world. Today, we have 10,000 employees across six countries, including the Philippines, Guyana, Mexico, Costa Rica, the U.S.A, and China. Our mission is to “be the best BPO and make people’s lives better.” Qualfon invests in employees, their families, and our communities. As a result, Qualfon achieves employee tenure rates two times higher than the industry average. Leading the BPO industry in employee tenure is the secret to our high-quality services and disruptive pricing. http://www.qualfon.com

Contact

Some job creation is better than none. This is good. But let's wait to see if this really happens. Does anyone know whether the failure of the President's son to lay the fiber optic cables will impact negatively this much needed investment? 

Good news is never your favorite subject anyway. Flatter yourself on something you can handle.

Many years ago I told you that call centers will be good for Guyana due to our low wages. I could not understand why it wasnt more aggressivley promoted.

You scoffed at the idea dismissing it.  Just as you do eco/adventure tourism (which your PPP constantly babbles about and even wants to spend US$150 million for a gigantic terminal).

Now I see that Guyana is finally benefitting from this.  Good thing that they didnt listen to you.

Low wages good for Guyana? It appears that you like TK dankey cart economy. Its not much different than cane cutting. hahaha

Call centre employees are often stressed and abused. Many articles in the business press report this. But then again beggars can't be choosers. Let's have this first positive development in Guyana for 21 years. 

Good news is never your favorite subject anyway. Flatter yourself on something you can handle.

Snakes have very tiny brain.

Low wages good for Guyana? It appears that you like TK dankey cart economy. Its not much different than cane cutting. hahaha

So there you go again.  You would rather nothing but private militias killing off their enemies rather than some development. 

Wages in Guyana are lower than many other places, and this provides a competitive advantage.  Many US companies are bringing these jobs back from India, to the USA, or to the culturally similar Caribbean.  This because they want workers who have a clearer understanding of US culture than Indians have.  Most people living in the Caribbean think and behave as if they are in the USA, as they spend all day watching US TV.

So why not gain something from this?

However low the call center salaries are, most likely they will be better than that which some one can earn elsewhere.  So why not give people a break instead of damning every attempt at REAL ECONOMIC development?

As these workers gain expertise they then move away from service/customer rep calls to product tech advise calls, where the pay is better as a higher level of skill is needed.

I will give credit when credit is due so I am glad that the call center industry in Guyana is growing.  Indeed this might be at the expense of some other Caribbean countries where wages are higher, so they are less competitive than Guyana.

I can assure you that I have a better opinion of an expanding call center industry, than of more retail outlets, which create the lowest paying jobs, and the greatest exposure to sexual abuse by employers.

But I guess all you know how to do is to applaud the phantoms, and to  tell girls to go find work in the bush.

Call centre employees are often stressed and abused. Many articles in the business press report this. But then again beggars can't be choosers. Let's have this first positive development in Guyana for 21 years. 

Better they be stressed in a call center than in a store where they have to spend their days fleeing the store manager who wants a piece of them...or else.  And for LESS pay at that.  Regent Street has long been a good source of business for those doctors who perform abortions.

I agree. If indeed this investment becomes a reality it will be the most significant investment since 1992. It's great for the country. 

1) The Amaila Hydro project would have been a greater investment.

2) The Marriott Hotel is another investment.

3) CJIA expansion is an investment.

4) There are many other investments beyond the proposed call center since 1992. You need to look beyond the horizon to see the investments made possible by the PPP that put people to work.

Amaila will be done when the government realize that the majority of the population voted against them. Put together a better financial arrangement and the opposition will support Amaila. Marriott is a money laundering scheme backed by the PPP government. CBJ expansion is a figment of your imagination and another one structured for extracting kick backs by your boys. You seem to be confusing drug investments with private investments.  

1.  The jury is out about whether Amaila was feasible.  Apparently teh WB wasnt enthused about it, and you know how tyhey love Guyana.  Guyana has had loads of WB funded projects.

2.  The private sector are scared to invest in Marriott, so that alone shou8ld tell you that this is a high risk project in a city with way too many hotel rooms, and with an almost non existent tourist trade.  Most Guyanese visitors stay with their relatives.

3.  CJIA is going to be the biggest PPP scandal.  Let us look at arrivals today.  Only BW has flights today.  6 of them.  At no time will there be more than two flights on the ground. SO WHY DO YOU NEED 8 JETWAYS!!!

4.  Care to list the new sectors which have developed since 1992.  Yes rice is up thanks to the Venezuela market.  How much do rice farmers get. given that this is a barter arrangement in exchange for oil?  Gold up thanks to high prices.  Real estate and retail up thanks to a recycling of earnings from remittances and gold, and drugs, plus money laundering.

The ONLY new sector that I can see has been the call center sector.  This will provide good opportunities for high school grads who have had to flee to Bdos and elsewhere, some maybe to call centers on those islands.  The alternate for most of these girls is minimum wage jobs in stores.

And indeed it is now looking like Qualfon has good contracts.  Given that the only english speaking country outside the USA that they operate is Guyana, and given that Filipino call center employees are atrocious it does look like Guyana can emerge as a major center.  So give it credit.  Other companies might start looking closer at Guyana, given that our salaries are even lower than Jamaica's, the main Caribbean competitor.

It is nice to see that this new kind of foreign investment is creating thousands of jobs.  We need more investments like this. I hope the gov't continues to work hard to create more jobs.  We need more jobs for our people.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

It is nice to see that this new kind of foreign investment is creating thousands of jobs.  We need more investments like this. I hope the gov't continues to work hard to create more jobs.  We need more jobs for our people.

If you pull yuh head out yuh kakahole you would realize that   Qualfon, Inc. is an international Business Process and Contact Center Outsourcing provider.[1] Founded in 1996 it initially provided outsourcing services such as IVR, billing, BPO/Call Center, SMS and other related services.

Its not a GOG investment the GOG dose'nt have a dime invested in this project...the marriot and the airport extension that dose'nt  hire Guyanese youths is example of GOG investment....

Last edited by sachin_05