Queens doctor works to improve lives of orphans in Guyana

BY Clare Trapasso
DAILY NEWS WRITER
Wednesday, September 28th 2011, 4:00 AM
Source - New York Daily News

Dr. Robby Mahadeo, of Queens, has been going on medical trips to his native Guyana since 1993. This summer, he and his wife, Priya, got the whole family involved by taking along kids Ashton, 6, and Ashley, 8.

A Queens pediatrician who makes annual pilgrimages to impoverished Guyanese orphanages has embarked on a campaign to improve conditions in them.

Dr. Robby Mahadeo, 47, of Holliswood, is raising money and collecting toys, clothes and school supplies for about 60 young residents of two Guyanese orphanages in Georgetown, the capital, that he visited last month.

Mahadeo, who moved to the U.S. from Guyana at 16, plans to distribute the supplies to the orphanages at the end of the year.

"We asked them for a wish list of things they would like," said Mahadeo, who traveled to Guyana with his family. "We're hoping to make sure that these kids live like normal kids."

St. Mary's Elementary School in Manhasset, L.I., which Mahadeo's children attend, is lending a hand. The school plans to raise money for the orphans, said Principal Celeste Checchia.

"Our students need to realize that there's a world out there beyond Manhasset," said Checchia, whose students previously exchanged cards with Guyanese orphans.

Mahadeo, a former City Council candidate who has a weekly TV show on a local cable channel, began making medical missions abroad in 1993, he said. He has made about 20 trips since.

At first, he went with a team of fellow doctors or hospital residents and assisted in heart surgeries for children born with cardiac defects, he said. As time went on and the country's medical care improved, he said he discovered the orphans had a host of other social and emotional needs.

On his latest trip, Mahadeo brought his wife and two kids along to visit 13 Guyanese orphanages. His wife, Priya, 36, said she was struck by the sheer number of kids put in orphanages because they needed protection from their own families - both from physical and sexual abuse.

The Mahadeos plan to return to Guyana around Christmas to distribute the toys and money collected to ensure it goes where it was intended. They also are considering setting up a charity.

"You go to one of the orphanages and your heart just tears apart with sadness," Mahadeo said. "These kids have nothing."

For information about how to help, contact Mahadeo at doctormahadeo@yahoo.com

This is great it is unfortunate however that so many people curse members of the Diaspora as if they are not Guyanese the truth is we need Guyanese from all over the world to come and help us.

The Govt has largely failed in health care even with the massive spending that we have disbursed in health care we just cannot point to many wins to say here is what we have achieved.
J
The US has a medical ship touring the Caribbean/South American waters and offering services to the nation's citizens by a scheduled visit. I got attended by a ship's doctor many moons ago in the Grenada Island. Guyanese doctors have been offer their professional service to Guyanese elders and children alike for many years, and we need to thank them for their charity to the homeland rather than to find political venom to throw in people's faces.
Bhai, Yuh never deal wid NIMAKARAMS before???
Originally posted by Cobra:
The US has a medical ship touring the Caribbean/South American waters and offering services to the nation's citizens by a scheduled visit. I got attended by a ship's doctor many moons ago in the Grenada Island. Guyanese doctors have been offer their professional service to Guyanese elders and children alike for many years, and we need to thank them for their charity to the homeland rather than to find political venom to throw in people's faces.
Originally posted by Mitwah:
How many orphanges are there in GUyana? Twenty years ago this was unheard of.

Beginning in the laet Burnham years and getting worse today more than a few parents abandon their kids as they cant afford to feed them. The older ones have to fend for themselves so they can focus on the younger ones who cant. Guyana has the highest rate of child labor in the English speaking Caribbean.