Rajwantie Baldeo was stabbed to death by her husband on the corner of 103rd Ave. and 124th St. in Richmond Hill.

(FACEBOOK)

Police arrested a Queens man after he stabbed his 46-year-old wife to death — nearly decapitating her in front of witnesses on a Queens street corner early Monday, police said.

Prem Rampersaud, 50, surprised his wife Rajwantie Baldeo who had just left work at the corner of 103rd Ave. and 124th St. in Richmond Hill around 12:15 a.m. — confronting her about a man she had met online, authorities said.

Rampersaud slapped Baldeo across the face and choked her, before pulling out a long kitchen knife and stabbing her in the chest, shoulder and both hands, police said.

He then began cutting at his wife’s neck, police sources said.

Off-duty NYC correction officer fatally shot in Brooklyn

Two witnesses who were passing by at the time told police they tried to stop the man, but that he didn’t even acknowledge them.

Rampersaud, kneeling down on one knee, kept on sawing, sources said. The witness told cops they could hear the blade scraping bone.

Reached by phone, the victim’s daughter told the Daily News that her father was a monster who often made ominous threats.

“My dad was a very bad person. My mom didn’t deserve to die like that,” said Shalini Ronaldo Ramjiawan, 30.

Mass. teen arrested in classmate slaying, victim was decapitated

“He would say things. He always threatened he would kill mom,” she added.

Shortly before police and paramedics arrived, Rampersaud dropped the knife and walked away. He was taken into custody by cops a few blocks away on Liberty Ave.

His wife, whose name was not immediately released, was rushed to Jamaica Hospital, but could not be saved.

Rampersaud was arrested and charged with murder and criminal possession of a weapon.

He told cops he became enraged after his daughter showed him a Facebook photo of Baldeo with another man.

Despite being married for three decades, the couple had only lived together a short while. Rampersaud had given his wife $9,000 to leave Guyana and move into his Jamaica home about a year ago, police said.

Baldeo apparently kept the marriage a secret among her peers.

Co-workers at The Oasis restaurant on Liberty Ave. near 123rd St., where the slain woman worked, said she tried to avoid him at all costs and referred to Rampersaud only as her ex-husband.

“All I know is she said that if her ex-husband ever comes in looking for her, to not tell him she works here,” recalled Nazia Rajpaul, 25, a waitress at the restaurant.

Such a scenario became reality this past Friday afternoon, when a drunk Rampersaud showed up asking for her by the name of Christie.

"He showed up mad drunk," Rajpaul said. “I wasn’t afraid, but he kept asking over and over for her. I just kept telling him she's not here."

Ramjiawan said Rampersaud was known to attack Baldeo when drunk.

The restaurant’s manager Shashi Sherman, 49, said he had to throw Rampersaud out.

"He had to be thrown out ... I just told him to get out of here," said Sherman.

The woman wasn’t at the restaurant at the time, but when she arrived later that night and learned of the incident, she was incredulous.

"Her reaction was that she couldn't believe he would do that, that he would turn up drunk at noon looking for her," Rajpaul said.

Police sources said Rampersaud visited a 99-cent store a day or two after that episode and purchased the kitchen knife he used to kill his wife.

Rampersaud’s landlord in Jamaica, where he was staying with a friend, said he was constantly paranoid Baldeo was cheating on him.

"He was always going on about how she was cheating on him,” said the landlord, who declined to give her name.

“He was jealous and delusional. They were getting a divorce.”

The landlord said Rampersaud had threatened murder in the past.

Rampersaud told her he would “kill (Baldeo) and then kill himself ... if she's not going to have me back he’s going to kill her so no one came have her,” the woman said.

http://www.nydailynews.com/new...er-article-1.2899035

I can't recalled seeing this woman at Oasis. She is probably a newbie and work in the kitchen. But then again, I haven't been there in almost seven months, but I pass there once a week. This is sad and hit close to home for many who frequent Oasis and shop each day on Liberty Avenue where she work.   

Leonora, stop this nonsense. This is not a generational custom. Your imagination has gone beyond the scope of rational thinking.

Some people experienced psychological trauma in the act of killing and do things that are incomprehensible to some. 

Obviously, the crime was premeditated and he wanted her dead. The thought must comes to his mind that he was going to jail for a long time.

The daughter of a woman killed and nearly decapitated on a Queens street allegedly by her jealous husband said her father had been threatening to kill her for years.

Yet no one made a report or filed for a restraining order. The victim is dead and he is going to jail for life. Two families are left to pander on what could have done to avoid this tragedy.

• mceclip0

The Mudda Kunt will now experience Rikers Island. Enjoy you Bastard!!!!!

You see where $9000.00 put the man now? A lesson for the rest..don't go fetch trouble from bush and bring it home.

Bhai, I am not going to get involve in their Domestic situation. But I know this if any woman want to leave me, I say to them go ahead there are plenty more where you come from. I am not going to lie to you, it will most likely go like this " Get the bleep out of here yuh Mudda %%%%"

Nehru bhai, I have told my wife many times that if two people cannot live together, it's time to split. Why put each other life in misery which may end up in violence. I would not cuss her down or cut her down infront of other people. After all, she has been my wife and we loved each other. So far, I have been a lucky man.

The man may have gotten used and abused by this woman to go the length of killing her and go to jail for life. Take example from Miss Mary, (the jail bait) from 131 street.  

UPDATE: U.S.-based Guyanese man charged with wife’s murder

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

SOUTH RICHMOND HILL, Queens (WABC) — Prem Rampersaud said nothing as he was led out of the 106th Precinct in handcuffs. The 50-year-old is charged with a grisly murder — sources tell Eyewitness News he attempted to decapitate his wife.

Prem Rampersaud as he was being placed in a police car. [ABC7 Eyewitness News photo)
Prem Rampersaud as he was being placed in a police car. (ABC7 Eyewitness News photo)

The victim was walking in the middle of 124th Street in South Richmond Hill, and had just gotten off work. Police said Rampersaud knew that, and was waiting for her. He said something that made her turn and walk away.

Surveillance then shows him walking towards her, and then grabbing her arm and pulling her back towards a fence. She fights back, but he overpowers her and drags her to the ground right by a tree.

The attack happened just after midnight, and people living in the neighborhood tell Eyewitness News they did not hear a thing. (lie)

For roughly four minutes, the suspect repeatedly stabbed the victim in the neck and torso. Witnesses tell police when Rampersaud confronted his wife, he slapped her, choked her, and attempted to remove her head with a knife. The woman’s head remained partially attached.

During the attack, two people started walking towards the area. Shortly afterwards, the suspect took off running on 103rd Avenue. The two witnesses then came back to the scene and tried to help the victim, at one point using their flashlights to try to make sense of what unfolded in front of them.

By the time emergency crews arrived on the scene, it was too late. Paramedics tried to stabilize the victim, who was severely injured, but she was pronounced dead at the hospital.

One woman who did not want to be identified tells Eyewitness News that Rampersaud was staying at her house – she said she does not know him well, and a friend asked her to take him in for a few days.

The couple, from Guyana, was living apart. (Eyewitness News ACB7)

The daughter of a woman killed and nearly decapitated on a Queens street allegedly by her jealous husband said her father had been threatening to kill her for years.

Yet no one made a report or filed for a restraining order. The victim is dead and he is going to jail for life. Two families are left to pander on what could have done to avoid this tragedy.

His ass should have long been back in Guyana.  Why did she not file a DV complaint?  Her friends in NY, especially the females, would have known exactly what to do!

May she RIP and he rot in hell.  Great pity for the kids to lose both parents.  Fam has to step in and save the kids!

Kids?  The daughter is 30 years old.  They might even be grandparents.

ba$eman posted:

Wow, ok, they had kids very young, he 50 she in her 40's!

What are you guys doing to help women in this situation?