(1) Is The Amalia Hydro Project good for Guyana????

(2) If Amalia Hydro Project is Good for all Guyanese.....

What is Wrong is wrong if AFC supports the project????

(3)If Amalia Hydro Project is Good for all Guyanese.....

and The Amaila Falls Hydro Inc. is set up as the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company......

created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.....

What is the Problem with Nigel Hughes or any other Guyanese being appointed Company Secretary of The Amaila Falls Hydro Inc.....

(4) How come these House of Isreal thugs not screaming "Conflict of Interest.....or seeing anything wrong with the following"......

(a) "Desmond Hoyte  being a shareholder at GT&T?????"

(b) "SS Ramphal, Rashley Jackson & other PNC Top Guns as Directors of GCX Oil???"

(c) "Donald Ramotar sitting on the Board of Directors of OMAI Gold Mines along with Senior PNC officials?????"

(4)"Why is it acceptable for PPP & PNC Executives to be on these Boards....but AFC officials cannot hold positions on similar Boards????"

Amaila is good for Guyana. The problem is the thieving built into the price of 858 mill USD. AFC let the ball down here.  

AFC kept saying it was overpriced....AFC went to the Chinese Ambasador and raised this Issue.

Hydropower is needed for energy security

May 19, 2013 | By | Filed Under AFC Column, Features / Columnists 

By Sasenarine Singh & Moses Nagamootoo

In keeping with our Action Plan, the Alliance for Change (AFC) remains focused on finding solutions to alleviate the critical problems of our Guyanese people. Primary among these is to provide energy security. For decades, the people of Guyana have endured an electricity supply that has been expensive, inefficient and unreliable. Our people carry the burden of the giant state-owned monopoly, Guyana Power and Light (GPL)’s poor delivery of power supply and, on top of this, provide billions as bailout and subsidies for its operations. Taxpayers have already funded GPL to the tune of over $40 billion, and there is still no light at the end of the proverbial tunnel. Whilst GPL is doing patchwork, we know that for us to enjoy affordable and reliable electricity, we have to remove our dependence on imported oil and, whilst the search continues to find and tap our own oil and gas resources, we have to live with GPL. But must we do so under an uninspiring political directorate and an expensive and incompetent management? Towards this end, the AFC supports the construction of a hydro project. We see hydro and, in particular, the Amaila Falls Hydro Electric Plant, as one of the primary solutions to our energy security.  Hydro facility is a capital-driven enterprise and needs financial guarantee for our investment. Unless this is assured, we could end up throwing money that we would borrow, literally over the falls! COSTS AND TRANSPARENCY But even with our position being this clear, the minority Government tries to brush aside our concerns over costs and transparency of the project. Initially, we were told that the price tag for hydro would be US$650 million in 2010. But the goalpost has now shifted to US$840 million in 2013. Originally the State planned to invest equity of US$40 million into the deal, now we are being told by the Finance Minister that the State is committing US$80 million plus to the Amaila Falls Access Road alone. The Project was expected to commence in the third quarter of 2011. Three contractors have been engaged, under questionable processes, and they have all failed to deliver. Cynically dubbed “road to nowhere”, this vital artery to Amaila Falls remains incomplete after billions wasted or misspent. It appears that no verifiable geo-technical study has been done, resulting in the loss, in swampy areas, of whole machines. There is no certainty that we would achieve financial closure in 2013. The AFC is alarmed at these developments and demands an inquiry into moneys so far spent. We justifiably cannot commit more of our people’s moneys willy-nilly, without logical and reasonable explanations to justify the expenditure. TOUGH QUESTIONS In the meantime, with regard to the Amaila hydro project, Government must answer all the tough questions and not merely duck out by resorting to attack propaganda. Government must say clearly how this Project will affect our balance of payment and our fiscal accounts; what the fiscal risks are and, in the event of the contractor doing a “Fip Motilall” on us, what the full impact would be on the public debt. It is no comfort to say that moneys for the project will come from Norway or the low carbon development strategy’s “redd+ fund”. These funds are not yet disbursed, but the minority PPP Government wants to draw down billions of dollars from our Treasury, even before all technical evaluations are completed for the project. We said, quite rightly, “wait for the report”. Until then, AFC is prepared to countersign a post-dated cheque. This position could not have been better clarified than when AFC Vice Chairman, Mr. Moses Nagamootoo, announced recently in Parliament that “the AFC would not unreasonably hold back the Amaila project; but the party must be guaranteed that the benchmarks have been achieved. A significant player in all of this is the IDB. They are the ones with the technical capability and we have to be guided [by them],” PPP BULLYISM Therefore, all this unnecessary anti-AFC propaganda from the Ramotar administration that we are against GPL and Amaila hydro project, is pure nonsense. The AFC will not be bullied over our position that the Amaila project must be supported by the best technical and investment advice, and must be executed in a transparent fashion. We want to put President Ramotar on notice that we expect transparent procurement processes for all consultancy and contracting services, and full access to all documentations on this Project. Where is the Procurement Commission? How can the AFC, a party grounded in service to the people, settle for anything less? CRUX OF THE MATTER For now, the crux of the matter is that unless GPL is fixed, the Amaila project would be held in limbo. If GPL cannot profitably sell and distribute its own electricity, it would not be able to do so for Amaila. The Government must be honest about this and admit that this State-owned entity has been a punishing financial burden on all householders and taxpayers. GPL’s service is a major contributor to the escalating cost of living. We pay more for less service. We pay for technical losses and commercial theft, as well as for high-cost and incompetent management. We force entrepreneurs to generate their own power, the cost of which is added to everything they produce. The AFC’s strategy therefore makes sense, that we must replace the outdated and expensive fossil fuel-based technology at GPL for a more comprehensive renewable energy platform, which is good for the economy, energy security, and the environment. In the short-term, the AFC’s vision includes doing feasibility studies for: (a) a Hydro Power Plant at Tiger Falls to produce electricity for an alumina smelter to revitalize the economy of Linden; (b) an ethanol plant in the Canje Basin to pump 10% Guyanese ethanol in every single motor vehicle fuel tank in the country; (c) a wind farm at Hope Beach and (d) a hydro-power plant, hopefully developed in collaboration with Brazil, to export energy from Guyana to Northern Brazil. AFC AGENDA The AFC continues to pursue a robust patriotic and national agenda, aimed at reducing our dependence on imported fossil fuel, reducing the cost of electricity and enhancing the reliability of our electricity supply. We support all meaningful offshore and onshore oil/gas exploration, biofuel ventures, hydro projects, etc. As a clean energy source, hydropower is a superior national potential that would guarantee our people’s wellbeing. No one should play politics with it. The PPP’s propaganda that AFC is against the Amaila project is cheap and irresponsible. AFC is NOT against the project. What we are against is borrowing money blindly, without sound feasibility, and spending it improperly. Our conscience will be driven by getting the best value for money for our people.

Please read AFC's position.......then show us how they let the Ball Down here

Jalil, you ask some real kakahole question to them people. You shouldn't even be speaking on behalf of any issue or anybody. 

Crab Louse...you cock-up and scratch.

You choose to believe lies....and accommodate the House of Isreal Thugs....I choose to ask questions.....and have nothing to do with Thugs.

Amelia Falls is good for Guyana.  The PPP should have engaged the PNC much much earlier to ensure trust and openness and gain their support.  If the PNC was on-board, it would not have mattered when the AFC's position would have been.

TK, Sase and others would still be free to open up their bagasse, solar and wind generating stations and compete with Hydro.  The GoG said the nation would have out grown the capacity anyway and their sources would have been welcome.

Amelia Falls is good for Guyana.  The PPP should have engaged the PNC much much earlier to ensure trust and openness and gain their support.  If the PNC was on-board, it would not have mattered when the AFC's position would have been.

TK, Sase and others would still be free to open up their bagasse, solar and wind generating stations and compete with Hydro.  The GoG said the nation would have out grown the capacity anyway and their sources would have been welcome.

I am glad to see you agree the Afro PNC has a right to Guyana as much as the Indo PPP. A large project like this ought to make it necessary for the the PNC and AFC to be involved early. If GPL screws up or cannot sell the electricity cheaply everyone loses. If GPL pulls it off everyone wins. It really now boils down to GPL. This could have been Guyana's Manhattan project. This should have been Guyana's quest to put a man on the moon. But how did the PPP start out? By giving your boy Fip the contract to build a road. They gave the nation Skeldon. They refused a procurement commission. They refused an Ombudsman, etc. Do you think these things instill confidence?    

Amelia Falls is good for Guyana. 

The PPP should have engaged the PNC much much earlier to ensure trust and openness and gain their support. 

Baseman Jagdeo & Ramotar took a short cut....they Imported the Black PNC House of Isreal Thugs and moved them into the Office of the President and into Freedom House.....and they think these Thugs like Kit Nascimento, McClean, Lamumba, McCoy, Bynoe & Hamilton can control the PNC.....But Jagdeo & Ramotar plan Failed.

If the PNC was on-board, it would not have mattered when the AFC's position would have been.

Again Jagdeo & Ramotar put all their eggs....

in the Black PNC House of Isreal Thugs Basket......

Then they put a lil boy fuh do a mans wuk....

and de lil bhai believe he is a fighter....

but when he face a former PNC man....

at the Everest Cricket Club....

ee ketch couple slap, kick and ee get knock-out....

and since eee drink ramson peee.....

eee talking pure pi$$ ...non-stop....

TK, Sase and others would still be free to open up their bagasse, solar and wind generating stations and compete with Hydro.

[ AFC got a plan....which include some good things]

The GoG said the nation would have out grown the capacity anyway...[Baseman....the truth now....

they only admit this two weeks ago.....

after Dr Clive Thomas skin up their plan .....

and exposed the lies.... and ignorance]

and their sources would have been welcome.

[so now yuh saying.....

AFC plan can still help dem out]

The PPP should have engaged the PNC much much earlier to ensure trust and openness and gain their support. 

Baseman Jagdeo & Ramotar took a short cut....they Imported the Black PNC House of Isreal Thugs and moved them into the Office of the President and into Freedom House.....and they think these Thugs like Kit Nascimento, McClean, Lamumba, McCoy, Bynoe & Hamilton can control the PNC.....But Jagdeo & Ramotar plan Failed.

If the PNC was on-board, it would not have mattered when the AFC's position would have been.

Again Jagdeo & Ramotar put all their eggs....

in the Black PNC House of Isreal Thugs Basket......

Then they put a lil boy fuh do a mans wuk....

and de lil bhai believe he is a fighter....

but when he face a former PNC man....

at the Everest Cricket Club....

ee ketch couple slap, kick and ee get knock-out....

and since eee drink ramson peee.....

eee talking pure pi$$ ...non-stop....

TK, Sase and others would still be free to open up their bagasse, solar and wind generating stations and compete with Hydro.

[ AFC got a plan....which include some good things]

The GoG said the nation would have out grown the capacity anyway...[Baseman....the truth now....

they only admit this two weeks ago.....

after Dr Clive Thomas skin up their plan .....

and exposed the lies.... and ignorance]

and their sources would have been welcome.

[so now yuh saying.....

AFC plan can still help dem out]

Everybody got a "Plan"...everybody.  As I said, you can try with Bagasse and Solar/Wind.

I am glad to see you agree the Afro PNC has a right to Guyana as much as the Indo PPP. A large project like this ought to make it necessary for the the PNC and AFC to be involved early. If GPL screws up or cannot sell the electricity cheaply everyone loses. If GPL pulls it off everyone wins. It really now boils down to GPL. This could have been Guyana's Manhattan project. This should have been Guyana's quest to put a man on the moon. But how did the PPP start out? By giving your boy Fip the contract to build a road. They gave the nation Skeldon. They refused a procurement commission. They refused an Ombudsman, etc. Do you think these things instill confidence?    

If GPL screws up, you remove the management and bring in experts.  However, without a steady a dn cheap power supply, there in nothing to sell and nothing to prove anyone right or wrong.

(1) Is The Amalia Hydro Project good for Guyana????

(2) If Amalia Hydro Project is Good for all Guyanese.....

What is Wrong is wrong if AFC supports the project????

(3)If Amalia Hydro Project is Good for all Guyanese.....

and The Amaila Falls Hydro Inc. is set up as the Special Purpose Vehicle/Company......

created for the development, construction and operation of the US$858M Hydro Power plant.....

What is the Problem with Nigel Hughes or any other Guyanese being appointed Company Secretary of The Amaila Falls Hydro Inc.....

(4) How come these House of Isreal thugs not screaming "Conflict of Interest.....or seeing anything wrong with the following"......

(a) "Desmond Hoyte  being a shareholder at GT&T?????"

(b) "SS Ramphal, Rashley Jackson & other PNC Top Guns as Directors of GCX Oil???"

(c) "Donald Ramotar sitting on the Board of Directors of OMAI Gold Mines along with Senior PNC officials?????"

(4)"Why is it acceptable for PPP & PNC Executives to be on these Boards....but AFC officials cannot hold positions on similar Boards????"

Jalil if Amaila Falls is good for Guyana why didnt the AFC vote for it LONG AGO? The issue is taht the AFC made it into an ambulance chasing issue, as they seek out relevance, that is until a major lead within the party threatened to resign.

And of cours eyou cite examples of PPP and PNC corruption.  So how the AFC has proven to be just as bad.  Pushing through deals that benefits their leaders even when they have no evidence that the rest of Guyana will benefit.

Stop pretending as if the AFC is any different from either the PPP or the PNC.  They have lost their moral high horse and w/o it I really do not know what purpose they serve as they clearly lack a constituency.

Did you detractors of the Amelia falls project, from your armchair in the west, know that the PNC spend 300M USD - adjusted for inflation 2 Billion USD on the UMDA project? And all for nothing.

Ask your selves how much of the people's money the PPP have invested so far in Amelia. 

Oh yes and now the PPP might spend $US 850 Million.  Had they not tried to enrich Fip Motilal, one of their cronies, with ample other corruption, then they might have been trusted w/o third party verification.

The AFC demanded this until Nigel Hughes screamed at them for jeopardizingt his livelihood, and suddenly they changed their tune.

Oh yes starting with Fip Motilall and the millions wasted there.

The PPP lacks credibility when it comes to larger projects. 

Nah, remember Burnham project failed also, and that had a smelter at its center.

I have already told you my opinion about Burnham.  It increasingly looks like the PPP is pushing Guyana in the same place.  Bankrupt and filled with failed mega projects, but with an unscrupulous elite who lined their pockets to the demise of the country at large.

One would think that I history of failure and massive waste with hydro power would make people sure before they spend massive amounts...but hey Fip Motilall, Nigel Hughes and orther PPP elites msut enrich their pockets.

I am wondering how long it will take before Nigel Hughes joins the PPP.

CaribJ I see you ducking from all 3 bouncers....

yuh staying far from PPP & PNC involvement in GT&T, OMAI GOLD MINES, and CGX Oil....

Yuh Quiet about these secret Deals involving yuh PNC Boys....

Nigel Hughes said and I believe him he was involved with AFHI long before he joined AFC.

Nigel said  .....he informed AFC about his involvement before he Joined them....and I believe him.

Nigel said .....whenever issues about Amailla was being discussed in AFC ....he excused himself because of his position of Company Secretary....and I believe him.

Nigel come clean.....and he looking out for the Guyanese

now tell us about SS Ramphal, Rashley Jackson, Corbin and Hoyte.....

no need to tell us about Jagdeo, Ramotar & Brassington....

the three of them more stink than ganda egg.

CaribJ I see you ducking from all 3 bouncers....

yuh staying far from PPP & PNC involvement in GT&T, OMAI GOLD MINES, and CGX Oil....

Yuh Quiet about these secret Deals involving yuh PNC Boys....

Nigel Hughes said and I believe him he was involved with AFHI long before he joined AFC.

Nigel said  .....he informed AFC about his involvement before he Joined them....and I believe him.

Nigel said .....whenever issues about Amailla was being discussed in AFC ....he excused himself because of his position of Company Secretary....and I believe him.

Nigel come clean.....and he looking out for the Guyanese

now tell us about SS Ramphal, Rashley Jackson, Corbin and Hoyte.....

no need to tell us about Jagdeo, Ramotar & Brassington....

the three of them more stink than ganda egg.

I am not really interesting in dialoguing with you except to suggest to you that the AFC is now as bad as you accuse the PPP and the PNC of being.

The AFC screamed about how bad Amaila was and how they would refuse to support it until they got 3rd party verification that the project was sound and confidence that it would be properly implemented.  Indeed their screams were louder than those of the PNC.

Yet a scant few weeks later they change their tune.

You can list all the corruption under the PNC and the PPP and I will suggest to you that the AFC has now proven itself to be no better.