It was a horrible decision. Rumors going around that it is a relative of Mrs Ramotar.

Dem PPP bais not only doan catch criminals. They let go free the few we do catch, successfully prosecute, successfully withstand the defense appeals, and manage to keep from escaping.

Dat is how yuh run a country man. I can't imagine why substantial coolies voted PNC in this election.

Originally Posted by Chameli:

i hope and PRAY that someone kills that child killer as soon as he step foot out of jail...BHAMMMMMMMMMMM...one bullet in his sskkkkkkkkkkkkull

it's not like me to wish anyone bad or wish ill upon another...esp not death but this is my one exception

And what of the political party and their leader who signed his pardon? That's ok right?

Mitwah, I am here. Dont know all the facts regarding the case, but here is something for you to read and educate yourself. I am watching the basketball game brother.

Even before the final results of the May 11 elections were announced by GECOM, the  PPPC had questioned the Preliminary count. There was a gap of only 5000 votes between the PPPC and APNU/AFC. Pointing to discrepancies in the numbers between their SOP's and that announced by GECOM from 22 boxes, the PPPC asked for a recount of those boxes. They said the Chairman of GECOM agreed. It seemed a reasonable response - how long would a count take??  Especially since the PPPC said they'd accept the entire results if the minuscule recount showed no discrepancy.

But then lo and behold, there was no recount and the "final" result - which saw some small additions to both parties totals but retained the 5000 votes in favour of APNU/AFC - was declared. The APNU/AFC, according to GECOm and the International Observers had "won". What was the PPP to do?? Well they had the precedent of the PNCR back in 1997. Then, even though there was a gap of 40,000 votes in favour of the PPPC, the PNCR claimed there was "rigging" and demanded a recount.

But it didn't only do that. It came out with supporters in the streets in violent protests and presented the PPP from governing even though all the international observers had also vouche for  the elections. Eventually, CariCom was called in and the "Herdmanson Accord" was brokered between the PPPC and the PNCR. There would be a "forensic audit" of all ballots, constitutional reform, and a truncation of the PPP's term of office by two years.

In the present, with a much better case for a recount, the PPPC has thankfully not called out its supporters in violent protests. All they have done is to direct their peacefully protests to GECOM at its national HQ in Georgetown and in the region's calling for a recount and a resignation of GECOM's chairman. 

It doesn't appear that the protests are having any effect and we hope that the PPPC doesn't feel compelled to follow the PNCR's precedent. Guyana suffered too much in the ten-year war that followed - which had armed gunmen in Buxton taking on the state and individuals deemed to be "supporters of the PPPC". If this was done for a 40,000 gap, it's quite possible that even "non-hot heads" might be roused to radical action for a contested 5000 gap.

This Eyewitness believes that all those countries that have professed to have Guyana's interest at heart must prevail on GECOM to allow an internationally vetted "Forensic Audit" to be done to the results.

If we go by the PNCR's 1997 actions, not to do so could place Guyana back on the precipice. 

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Why are you fighting a ghost. 

Your name is Mahabir baba. I never thought of you as a ghost with such dharmic names VISHNU +MAHABIR.

Let me remind you what Tulsidas wrote:

Bhoota pisaacha nikata nahin aawai

Mahaabeera jaba naama sunaawai

Ghosts and goblins cannot come near,
Great Hero, when your name is uttered..

Originally Posted by VishMahabir:

Between you Mitwah and Horseface Redux, there is enough dirt and slander on this platform. You guys are in the guessing game.... Really?

Emails, recorded telephone conversation exposeâ€ĶJagdeo/Nandlall/Sattaur plot to kill staff and shutdown K/News

October 4, 2014 | By | Filed Under Heist of Guyana, News 

September 21, 2014

Jagdeo/Sattaur plot to destroy Kaieteur News unearthed

Publisher of the Kaieteur News, Glenn Lall, is in possession of incontrovertible evidence of a plot by former President, Bharrat Jagdeo, and Commissioner-General of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), Khurshid Sattaur, to bring down Kaieteur News. Confidential documentation, leaked to this publication, reveals that the Commissioner-General provided the former President with detailed tax information of a number of independent media houses in Guyana.tax - a a The disclosure of the information by GRA’s Commissioner-General to Jagdeo, represents a grave breach of the ‘Oath of Secrecy’ sworn to by Sattaur as an officer of the Guyana Revenue Authority, said one lawyer. In taking the Oath, Sattaur solemnly declared that he would “truly, faithfully, impartially and honestly execute the powers vested in him.” He also swore that he would “judge and determine upon all matters and things before him without fear, affection, or malice”. And he swore, too, not to disclose any tax information concerning any taxpayer, but this has not been the case. Both Jagdeo and Sattaur are fully aware of the impropriety of their action and as such Sattaur even acknowledged, in the documents, that Jagdeo is expected to treat the information with confidence, said the lawyer. The documents would lift the lid off a few Government officials who have been insisting that all is right in Guyana and democracy is very much alive, he added. Both Kaieteur News and Stabroek News have been on the receiving end of Government’s anger over critical issues like corruption, value for money on projects, and local government elections. This publication is of the firm view that former President Jagdeo is not entitled to receive financial or tax information of any taxpayer, let alone a private citizen, as it would be highly improper, and clearly a breach of regulations.