Two Guyanas?

Posted By Staff Writer On April 11, 2014 @ 5:05 am In Letters |

Dear Editor,

In the face of threats by the PPP to turn any denial of the government’s $6 billion subsidy for the sugar industry into a racist act against the predominantly East Indian sugar workers, the joint parliamentary opposition voted for the subsidy. Sugar workers turned out to protest in front of the parliament.

At least one opposition member reportedly spoke to them. There were no police arrests. Nobody charged the sugar workers with wanting handouts from the government.

I am not saying the opposition buckled as I am not opposed to the sugar subsidy. Despite the problems with the sugar industry, too many poor people depend on sugar for their livelihood. And I do believe that in ethnically divided societies policy-making must always take cognizance of the ethnic consequences.

But two years ago when the government moved to cut the electricity subsidy to Linden, they were accused of wanting freeness. The government refused to back down. Not a single PPP member went to speak with them. When they protested they were shot at by the police – three dead and several injured. When public servants recently refused the government’s paltry wage increase, the government stood its ground.

If we do not have two Guyanas yet, we are extremely close.

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

In the face of threats by the PPP to turn any denial of the government’s $6 billion subsidy for the sugar industry into a racist act against the predominantly East Indian sugar workers, the joint parliamentary opposition voted for the subsidy. Sugar workers turned out to protest in front of the parliament.

At least one opposition member reportedly spoke to them. There were no police arrests. Nobody charged the sugar workers with wanting handouts from the government.

I am not saying the opposition buckled as I am not opposed to the sugar subsidy. Despite the problems with the sugar industry, too many poor people depend on sugar for their livelihood. And I do believe that in ethnically divided societies policy-making must always take cognizance of the ethnic consequences.

But two years ago when the government moved to cut the electricity subsidy to Linden, they were accused of wanting freeness. The government refused to back down. Not a single PPP member went to speak with them. When they protested they were shot at by the police – three dead and several injured. When public servants recently refused the government’s paltry wage increase, the government stood its ground.

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

The REAL RACIST IS DAVID HINDS. He never said a word about Linden Criminals NOR Linden Subsidies. The man is RACIST to the bone so I would not pay attention to his racist ramblings.

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

The REAL RACIST IS DAVID HINDS. He never said a word about Linden Criminals NOR Linden Subsidies. The man is RACIST to the bone so I would not pay attention to his racist ramblings.

Mr Hinds is saying true. 

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

Mr Hinds is saying true. 

Gal, YUh right, I cant get yuh upset cause I gun suffer later.

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

Mr Hinds is saying true. 

check your own words if you need to find a racist. Why were the protesters there criminals?  You may not pay attention to what he says but in the long run what he say will be seminal to the understanding for political reform.

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

Mr Hinds is saying true. 

check your own words if you need to find a racist. Why were the protesters there criminals?  You may not pay attention to what he says but in the long run what he say will be seminal to the understanding for political reform.

You have to be a CERTIFIED FOOL.. They did not RIOT, BURN and LOOT. You really gat a bloody brain or someone implant a DONKEY Brain on you?????

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

Mr Hinds is saying true. 

You have to be a CERTIFIED FOOL.. They did not RIOT, BURN and LOOT. You really gat a bloody brain or someone implant a DONKEY Brain on you?????

I bet if there was police shooting them  as a means to close down the protest there would be some burning. Note, they did it at Albion.  Do you think that murder by the state is good strategy to address a disagreement? Remember, the Greeks, Spanish, among others burned and blocked roads for an entire summer and no one sent in a stupid party of police to murder them. That is the reality.

The opposition voted for the 6 Billion subsidy because they were under pressure from the protesters. Plus, they will need the Indian support again in 2016. It was an inside discussion between APNU & AFC. They played their card well, but they can't be trusted.

the Opposition know that most Indians will be knee benders to the race based appeals of the PPP in their  struggle to retain the Presidency. They know those open to their understanding will be the young and the mixed population. Sugar workers number less than 10 percent of the electorate.

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

Good call Bhaya

It is time that we highlight AFC/PNC racism and blatant attack on Indo Guyanese and their lifestyle.

Everytime an Indo Guyanese builds a house or starts a business. They accuse Indo Guyanese of stealing.

Time to put an end to his AFC/PNC racism towards Indo especially Sugar Workers.

The AFC line up behind the PNC to vote for billions and billions of Free Electricity for Linden. But the AFC opposed a relief for sugar workers.

We must be very careful otherwise history can and will repeat itself.

The PNC is the same old racist PNC and now joined by the AFC.

Sugar workers protested in front of the parliament in a very peaceful manner and therefore the police had no reason to make any arrests. The protest in Linden was violent and the policemen whose lives were threatened opened fire to save themselves.

What is the cumulative amount of subsidies the sugar industry has received vs. that of electricity subsidies given to Linden?

Difference between Sugar Workers Protest and the Linden Protest:

Sugar Workers were peaceful and obeyed the law.

Linden Protest was violent and destruction to Public Property must be noted.

Take your pick: Peaceful Protest or Violent and Destructive Protests.

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

For the good of the nation, ALL POLITICAL activists associated in the affairs of the country must peaceably leave the people alone. And let new ppl try to salvage Jagan's mess/shit.

Nagamootto needs to quit parliament and start that process. His quiet revolution with a new face as the nation's leader. We are heading into a pre-see-piss.

Nehru needs to be locked up and the keys given to Jagdeo/Ramotar.

Good call Bhaya

It is time that we highlight AFC/PNC racism and blatant attack on Indo Guyanese and their lifestyle.

Everytime an Indo Guyanese builds a house or starts a business. They accuse Indo Guyanese of stealing.

Time to put an end to his AFC/PNC racism towards Indo especially Sugar Workers.

The AFC line up behind the PNC to vote for billions and billions of Free Electricity for Linden. But the AFC opposed a relief for sugar workers.

We must be very careful otherwise history can and will repeat itself.

The PNC is the same old racist PNC and now joined by the AFC.

I see equate a light bill with the fact that the PPP sold Guymine, the new owners laid off 80% of the workers, and as a result Linden is a seriously depressed town with an almost non existent job base.

Dont you see how you silly you look equating a job (sugar workers) with a light bill.   If you didnt harbor so much hate against black people you would advocate that major incentives be provided for Linden to capitalize on its pool of skilled workers, lower cost and more reliable electricity, and its role as a key gateway to the deep interior.

But no you just scream "lazy blackman" and show envy to the one little concession that they get, and that is a cheap light bill.

If you had a brain you would understand that industries go through transitions, workers sometimes suffer, and its the role of the gov't to help with a transition.  BOTH sugar and bauxite workers should benefit from it.

You see this is the difference between you and I.  I want Indo=Afro.  You want Indo ONLY as you see Afro as non deserving.

Two Guyanas?

Dear Editor,

Yours faithfully,
David Hinds

The law is different for black people in Guyana. Shoot them down if they dare to oppose the tiefin PPP.

Difference between Sugar Workers Protest and the Linden Protest:

Sugar Workers were peaceful and obeyed the law.

Linden Protest was violent and destruction to Public Property must be noted.

Take your pick: Peaceful Protest or Violent and Destructive Protests.

What a liar you are.  The protest in Linden was peaceful until the police MURDERED people.  At this pointr violence started.

Did the policde at any point PREVENT the sugar workers fromn protesting?  NO!! We have now learned that this wasnt a protest.  Workers were BUSSED in by the PPP which wanted to play their usually "scare collie about dem evil blackman" games.

Because in your RACIST Guyana Indians are allowed to protest and blacks get shot when they do.  Two major black protests since Ramotar became President.  There were casualties after BOTH!.

Originally Posted by Mars:

The law is different for black people in Guyana. Shoot them down if they dare to oppose the tiefin PPP.

Several years ago Berbicians protested and burned down a police station.  No mention of that from the Afro hating racists here.  This because they were frustrated that the PPP wasnt protecting them against bandits.  We have learned that some of these bandits are Indians.

What a lying bunch of black hating racists do we see PPP supporters on GNI are.

I have come to the conclusion that those who dont limit themselves to the prism of race on GNI are skeptical of all of the parties.  Those who defend the PPP do oso only because they hate blacks.  NO ONE here unconditionally supports APNU!

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Sugar workers protested in front of the parliament in a very peaceful manner and therefore the police had no reason to make any arrests. The protest in Linden was violent and the policemen whose lives were threatened opened fire to save themselves.

What is the cumulative amount of subsidies the sugar industry has received vs. that of electricity subsidies given to Linden?

Lindeners were squatting on the bridge when the police came in and shot at them to move. Selling this idea that Indians are the peaceful race and those Negroes are simply sub par on manners may be your message put it is the reason we do not want an Indian only government. You folks forget your origins in the cesspool of Indian social structure and come to this place where you are liberated to express your full human potential and still have t he gall to recast others as the new Saudra.

You call the PPP supporters racists. Look at your postings..

How the hell are you an expert on Indians in Guyana? Are you David or Richard Attenborough? Take your Indian bashing to the reservation. Maybe the Amerind chief will assign you a shaman to cure your ignorance. 

You folks forget your origins in the cesspool of Indian social structure and come to this place where you are liberated to express your full human potential and still have t he gall to recast others as the new Saudra.

Rest assured the the intellectuals and the wealthy of India didn't sign up to cut cane in Guyana.  Indeed Asian Indians will be quick to let you know, in case you forget.

Some one of Asian Indian descent attempted to rob a bank branch in the Bronx.  Is he Indian from India or a Guyanese Indian?  We all know the answer.

You call the PPP supporters racists. Look at your postings..

How the hell are you an expert on Indians in Guyana? Are you David or Richard Attenborough? Take your Indian bashing to the reservation. Maybe the Amerind chief will assign you a shaman to cure your ignorance. 

I call anyone who say racist things a racist. You are a racist since you pretend to be pedigreed but the reality is you are a mongrel like anyone else.

As to your question as to what makes me an expert; that is easy. I am curious, seek to understand and not unwilling to accept the truth about the origins of my ancestors. My paternal great grandfather  was not a rajput. He was a destitute behari coolie who came here and married a madrasse of no less impoverished origins and bound to a plantation. He was the typical coolie whose origins are domms dossas, lohars, pillars, chamars etc. They did not come as investors or overlords. They were a few grades above African slaves.

Note Scoble said the were not reticent about unions with Africans. He stated that those who came with the Whitby and Hesperus quickly began to cohabitate with the Negresses and of course there began our blended heritage.

That some of you have become puffed up and fortified with a false history began to see others as lesser than must be reconciled to reality. Everything you are is of the good Guyanese earth. No Indian culture like the Guyanese Indian Culture exists in India. It is a synchretic one and better for it.

Why would I need an Shaman when I can get a Kali priestess? Do you think one is superior to the other with their mumbo jumbo?

Some of the kulies on here think they are from the Dravidians and some think they are from the Aryans.  What they cannot understand, is why there are some many Untouchables. By choice the Untouchables lived on the outer perimeter of their invaded abodes. Who would want to live among so much prejudices that is concieved by the invading armies of the Dravidians and Aryans. Just look how the Brahmins turned out to be-in modern times.

Jagan was not a racists in the light, but in 1992, he choose to ignore the imperitive of the day. To move quickly towards a just society. Instead, he selected closet racists in his government. His failure to be a thoughtful leader resulted in the wanton acts of the ppl he left behind to run the affairs of the country. 

Lock up Nehru and give Jagdeo/Ramotar the key to keep.