FLASH BACK: Acting Foreign Minister, Priya Manickchand [left) and Presidential Advisor on Governance, Gail Teixeira walking out of the US Ambassador's reception

The Guyana government has accused critics of then Acting Foreign Minister, Priya Manickchand of being “racist” and “sexist.”

Presidential Advisor on Governance, Gail Teixeira said attacks against Manickchand following her public humiliation of former United States (US) Ambassador to Guyana, Brent Hardt about his tenure here was yet another instance of Indian women being targeted.

Teixeira alluded to the Alliance For Change’s (AFC) characterization of Manickchand as “Satira Gal” (a Guyanese folk song) as part of a “racist and sexist” pattern. “It’s really saying basically …that Indian women in this country must know their place. They mustn’t come out of their confines and suddenly be out there speaking,” she said on a programme on the state-owned National Communications Network (NCN) television.

The Government Chief Whip noted that women’s movement has not been defending Indian women like Acting Town Clerk, Carol Sooba;  the Finance Minister’s wife, Gitanjali Singh and then Supreme Court Registrar, Sita Ramlall. “A lot of women who have been targeted in the media and by opposition parties have been majority Indo-Guyanese women,” said Teixeira.

The governing People’s Progressive Party (PPP), which draws the bulk of its support from among East Indians, lost its parliamentary majority by one seat at the 2011 general and regional elections partly due to apathy and less than satisfactory mobilization and dissatisfaction with the governance system.

The Private Sector Commission and former PPP Executive Member, Ralph Ramkarran have recently said that government should have resorted to diplomatic channels to air its grievances about the posture of then American envoy.

But Manickchand said the speech that she delivered at last week’s US Independence Day reception followed after several discussions with the then Ambassador about his “rogue behavior.” “We did speak behind closed doors,”  she said.

The then Acting Foreign Minister accused Hardt of breaching all the norms and conventions by launching an attack and laughing at Executive President and mocking the PPP’s General Secretary. Government also objected to Hardt saying that the President had engaged in unconstitutional and illegal acts.

Hardt had highlighted inconsistencies in Ramotar refusing to assent one of the Local Government Bills because it was unconstitutional but has declined to call local government elections which is provided for in the constitution. By law, the poll should be held every three years but has not been since 1994.

The government also interpreted one of Hardt’s utterances as an incitement of violence when he drew on an example of how Americans fought against British colonialists.  “We believe he went wrong when he practically called for an insurrection in this country,” he said.

Despite mounting criticisms, the Guyana government remained unapologetic and said its "feral blast" against the diplomat was justified.

This is embarrassing. Words cannot describe this insult on our women. Women that are our mother that gave us birth. Women who could be our sisters and daughters. I can believe AFC can stoop that low.

lol

What does race have to do with the fact that a foreign envoy was told about his rogue behavior in public by a person employed by Guyanese Tax Dollars. I have to agree with Ralphie boy on this one.

Gail Teixeira is just looking for a red herring.

She shuddah save sheself de trubble and just look between she putagee legs.

Really, I'm darned angry that the PPP cabal will go to lengths to be wrong and strong. Always proud of their misdeeds, always defending the indefensible.

But I say this: according to my sources in Guyana, not all PPP members and supporters are agreeing with Gail Teixeira, Priya Manickchand or Roger Luncheon on this "feral" blasted thing. Many are annoyed but they don't have the material clout to confront the cabal.

And, in case you want to accuse me of racism and sexism against Teixeira, let me state honestly that I was just repeating word for word what an old PPP comrade and friend told me on the phone last night.

Shut yu razz.

If a woman operate like a HO and want cuss down like Sitira gyal, what you expect?

Treat she like Queen Lizabeth?

This FAT sow deserve fair treatment.  Every action has a reaction.

She cuss down and them bwoys cuss she down back.  Fair treatment.

Nothing sexist about that.

“Lady Bracknell. Good afternoon, dear Algernon, I hope you are behaving very well.

Algernon. I’m feeling very well, Aunt Augusta.

Lady Bracknell. That’s not quite the same thing. In fact the two things rarely go together.” 
― Oscar WildeThe Importance of Being Earnest

This is how dumb Priya is, she cannot understand the concept of behaving like a lady, she enjoys being a jackazz.  So she get good jackazz treatment.  GET OUT the place she was told by the majority of the crowd.  Even Roberta Perswaud stood his ground and continued to engage the Ambassador. He more focused on the US Born baby that he is focused on Priya.

GET OU THE PLACE and do not come back to the US Ambassador's house.

Gail Teixeira is just looking for a red herring.

She shuddah save sheself de trubble and just look between she putagee legs.

Really, I'm darned angry that the PPP cabal will go to lengths to be wrong and strong. Always proud of their misdeeds, always defending the indefensible.

But I say this: according to my sources in Guyana, not all PPP members and supporters are agreeing with Gail Teixeira, Priya Manickchand or Roger Luncheon on this "feral" blasted thing. Many are annoyed but they don't have the material clout to confront the cabal.

And, in case you want to accuse me of racism and sexism against Teixeira, let me state honestly that I was just repeating word for word what an old PPP comrade and friend told me on the phone last night.

Putage leg, nah that sour puzz nah putagee no moh, it took too many different laar from different race it is now a certified doulgla-buffianda -mix breed CAT.

You nah know the story when the medical officer had she on she belly in the Ministry?

Why yu think she get fired as a Minista?

Doggy style.