November 11 ,2020

…over WhatsApp status on electricity woes

A radio announcer attached to Radio Mabaruma, one of several radio stations unveiled by the APNU+AFC administration  in the Hinterland, was fired this week over a post she made  on her WhatsApp status over the electricity woes in the Region One town.

Reports are that announcer Tellisa King , who was among the initial batches of radio personalities groomed by the National Communications Network (NCN) when the Hinterland station was switched on in June 2016, was fired by the state agency after she posted a status on her mobile phone’s WhatsApp about the electricity woes at the town.

According to a resident of the town, two weeks ago, Minister within the Prime Minister’s Office, Kwame McCoy and other government officials visited the town. The town’s electricity supply runs from 05:00hrs until midnight, however, on the instruction of McCoy the power station operators were told to ensure that the generator operates 24/7 basis in order for him to see the light.

The following morning, a source at the power station told Village Voice, the generator broke down and this led to the town being without electricity for several days.

Reports are that King posted on her WhatsApp status that the woes maybe be linked to McCoy’s insistence that the power runs 24/7.

Persons at Mabaruma noted that one of King’s friends took a screenshot of her post and dispatched it to McCoy who kept a meeting with administrators of NCN for the announcer to be dismissed over her private post.

NCN’s CEO Michella Abraham-Ali pleaded with McCoy and other officials for King to remain on air. However, she told the announcer that the state entity was also informed that King’s parents are supporters of the APNU+AFC and that this is tied to her dismissal.

Residents of Mabaruma are up in arms over King’s dismissal, many noting that she captured the audience in the town with her programmes. She also came to prominence earlier this year when she interviewed medical officials in the town while the initial cases of COVID-19 were recorded there. A former female announcer , who was a vocal critic of the former government, is set to take her place.

Under the APNU+AFC administration, several radio stations were unveiled as part of a plan by the government of the day to keep residents in far flung areas informed.

Radio Lethem, Radio Orealla, Radio Mahdia, Radio Aishalton, Radio Essequibo and Radio Bartica are the other stations which were switched under the project overseen by former Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo.

Politics in full swing here in region#1 it's an uncontrollable virus more dangerous than the present pandemic, but my daughter life wasn't dependant on that job it was just a part time job she loved and enjoyed dong aside from her job at the National Insurance Scheme, and earned her position as a radio broadcaster after qualifying for it so it wasn't given to her through politics or any government she earned it respectively

https://www.facebook.com/Ridge...sts/1012828879217353

The current government can't govern ,they are vindictive bunch ,suppressing FREEDOM.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Why are you twisting everything around?  This tells me that you guys are here only to make jokes, not discussing the issues.

You're the joke.  You are so dumb and ignorant that only "chupid" describes you and chupidness na gat cure.

@Ramakant-P posted:

Why are you twisting everything around?  This tells me that you guys are here only to make jokes, not discussing the issues.

I am not joking when I am telling you that you are dumbest poster.

Who are you trying to impress with your lies?

Mit,

You should be working in the interest of the Guyanese people and not in the interest of APNU.

I am not an APNU supporter. As a matter of fact, I don't belong to any party.

You should be working in the interest of the Guyanese people and not in the interest of PPP/C, blindly. Please take off your blinkers.

@Mitwah posted:

I am not joking when I am telling you that you are dumbest poster.

Who are you trying to impress with your lies?

You have become the Dumb Specialist in addition to being a Pervert.

Shitwah knows Dumb.

@Mitwah posted:

I am not an APNU supporter. As a matter of fact, I don't belong to any party.

You should be working in the interest of the Guyanese people and not in the interest of PPP/C, blindly. Please take off your blinkers.

You are the AFC bottom House supporter, now the AFC is DEAD ,so you belong to NOTHING.

Mit!

Who do you think you can fool?  With all the attacks against the PPP and the unending praises for APNU/AFC do you expect anyone to believe that you are a neutral commentator?  Men! you got to be really stupid to think you can fool us.

@Ramakant-P posted:

I was not joking, I replied to your post. Do you always post then a few hours later forget what you posted? Here's an eye opener for you. You can always go back to see what you posted, you can do this months, probably years from now and it will still be there.

Mit!

Who do you think you can fool?  With all the attacks against the PPP and the unending praises for APNU/AFC do you expect anyone to believe that you are a neutral commentator?  Men! you got to be really stupid to think you can fool us.

Where did I say I am a neutral commentator? An ole goat like you should stay safe in your pen. Show the "unending praises" that you are referring to.

@Mitwah posted:

Where did I say I am a neutral commentator? An ole goat like you should stay safe in your pen. Show the "unending praises" that you are referring to.

One just have to follow your posts on this forum to see how much of a biased, dirty hog you are.  A dirty hog like you can you never leave the sewer of politics and come clean. Sanskar goes against such endeavor.

Billy Rumgoat, thanks for being in the sewer , Punditji 

@kp posted:

You never bite the hand that feeds you.

Politics in full swing here in region#1 it's an uncontrollable virus more dangerous than the present pandemic, but my daughter life wasn't dependant on that job it was just a part time job she loved and enjoyed dong aside from her job at the National Insurance Scheme, and earned her position as a radio broadcaster after qualifying for it so it wasn't given to her through politics or any government she earned it respectively

@Django posted:

And yet she became a political victim of the PPP henchmen.