Speaking with Kaieteur News on Thursday, after the commissioning of the new “fire boat”, Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan said, that there has been a “spike” (rise) in crimes recently.

Minister of Public Security,
Khemraj Ramjattan

He said that the level of criminal activities in Guyana fluctuates sometimes.
Ramjattan explained that there are times when the crime levels would decrease and then all of a sudden, there is an increase. The Minister also highlighted that sometimes, the rise in criminal activities is seasonal. “For example, as we approach year end, crime levels tend to rise,” he continued.
Also in agreement with the Minister is Commander of ‘D’ Division, Linden Lord. He claimed that it is quite true that as we approach the Christmas Season, crime levels do rise.
Reasons for this, he says, is because at year end there is normally a large influx of foreigners and Guyanese who live abroad.
The Commander also said that there are also increased business activities due to large scale shopping.
Finally, he said that it is the time of the year when a lot of recreational events such as parties are held.
Lord said that as a result of the increase in activities, robbers, thieves, and gunmen are attracted.
Recently, Kaieteur News has been reporting on a number of criminal activities that occurred over the past two weeks. It can be safely said that apart from the recent road accident that occurred at Friendship, at least 10 persons have died as result of gun-related robberies and cold-blooded murders.
Guyana has witnessed the recent attempted robbery that left prominent businessman and gold miner, Deon Stoll dead.
Further, the body of an 18-year-old soldier was found dead with a gunshot wound at the Tucville Squatting Area. A man was also chased, beaten and strangled by another man who tried to rob him on Church Street. He died in front of the office of the General Secretary of the People’s Progressive Party (PPP).
In addition, a businesswoman who operates a pawn shop at the Harbour Bridge Mall was also shot in her leg and relieved of her hand bag.
Moreover, a lone bandit was caught on CCTV camera with a handgun attempting to rob a furniture store. These are just some of the serious crimes that occurred during the past week.
Kaieteur News had reported of the increased criminal activities around the Stabroek Market Area. It was also reported that the police operating around the Stabroek Area are a bit lenient with known criminals and in their response to criminal activities.
Commander of the of the East Coast Division Royston-Andries Junor told Kaieteur News Saturday that even though his nights and days are normally quiet in terms of frequent criminal activities. There has been number of firearms and narcotics seized due to intelligence cordon-operations.
He also added that there have been a few encounters with undocumented motorcycles.
However, like the Minister, both Commanders Lord and Junor said that the most they can do is increase the intelligence operations, road blocks and patrols.

Dem DUMB PNC supporters are indeed brain dead and are a bunch of dufuss!! What a group of stupid people. They all purchases Snakeoil by the barrel Ramjhattan told the FOOLS he has a no return/refund policy and that they can use it as vaseline. Talk about being naive, dumb and slavish!!

Marnin DJ!!

Banna....Haul you arse....there were no crimes during the PPP time????

No knucklehead.  They claimed that they are the answer to crime.  Then they used doctored stats to claim crime is on the decline. However, the average person does not see it.  Instead, what we read, see and hear is crime all over unabated as ever!  Now they coming clean and admitting failure!

So, if crime fighting has been a failure, then what has been accomplished in the four years?

You are in a disoriented state of the mind to understand crimes during PPP government. 

He must have tripped a circuit!

I am surprised that he is sober enough to make an admission. 😀

Sometimes even the most intoxicated does open their eyes to the realization they are being run over by a train!

Hey, you one subject professional dumb skoant student, You skoant nah nuttin about Guyana and you taakin about de PPP? Gwan dah side you chachundar loongera.

No knucklehead.  They claimed that they are the answer to crime.  Then they used doctored stats to claim crime is on the decline. However, the average person does not see it.  Instead, what we read, see and hear is crime all over unabated as ever!  Now they coming clean and admitting failure!

So, if crime fighting has been a failure, then what has been accomplished in the four years?

Were there any Sash Shaw or Roger Khan incidents in the 4 years???

Speak Hinglish banna...you in Hamerika, OK??

You boys have a one track mind, so you cant see the forest for the trees.

In the PPP time the drug lords control influence over law and order and there were seriously violent crimes, including that of a PPP minister....

You forget so quick or you gat ADHD?

You boys have a one track mind, so you cant see the forest for the trees.

In the PPP time the drug lords control influence over law and order and there were seriously violent crimes, including that of a PPP minister....

You forget so quick or you gat ADHD?

You like "ONE" like you one subject perpetual student.

Were there any Sash Shaw or Roger Khan incidents in the 4 years???

That’s an irrelevant come back. What does that have to do with crime today?  In fact you have just shoot PNC crime fighting effectiveness in the head!

Skelly, the man don’t know what “Chachundar loongera” means. Explain to him nah. 

High accolade for the individual.    

This guy is making excuses.  His wife ought to be mad with him since her ex-husband was brutally murdered. Ramjattan should be more sensitive to the victims by stating emphatically crime is a major problem in this country.

Ramjattan admits to crime increase

Oct 21, 2019 News, Source -- https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...s-to-crime-increase/

Speaking with Kaieteur News on Thursday, after the commissioning of the new “fire boat”, Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan said, that there has been a “spike” (rise) in crimes recently.

Minister of Public Security,
Khemraj Ramjattan

He said that the level of criminal activities in Guyana fluctuates sometimes.
Ramjattan explained that there are times when the crime levels would decrease and then all of a sudden, there is an increase. The Minister also highlighted that sometimes, the rise in criminal activities is seasonal. “For example, as we approach year end, crime levels tend to rise,” he continued.
Also in agreement with the Minister is Commander of ‘D’ Division, Linden Lord. He claimed that it is quite true that as we approach the Christmas Season, crime levels do rise.

Perhaps it is close to pay day so his eyes opened a wee bit.

This guy is making excuses.  His wife ought to be mad with him since her ex-husband was brutally murdered. Ramjattan should be more sensitive to the victims by stating emphatically crime is a major problem in this country.

The man say I Taking Care Of The Rum Bottle Like How I Taking Care Of My Wife. 

APNU / AFC Just  wake up and discover how crime must  be solved. 

“The National Security Commission has started to look at ways we can enhance security. I believe the first step would be to catch the persons who committed this heinous crime and make them an example to persons who have similar intentions that this will not be tolerated,”Minister of Natural Resources Raphael Trotman told reporters last evening, on the sidelines of a wake held for Stoll at the Guyana Gold and Diamond Miners Association’s (GGDMA) North Road, Georgetown office.

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...up-security-in-city/

• mceclip0

The man say I Taking Care Of The Rum Bottle Like How I Taking Care Of My Wife. 

Like this way for dee Jhaaatttt ...

http://guyanachronicle.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/01/Ramjattan.jpghttps://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSQ_oFUpT_qmZtWtRj08g2f0S5pE2MyM9WspiZ7AqMJMMEzxDk6qg

Dondadda posted:

Skelly, the man don’t know what “Chachundar loongera” means. Explain to him nah. 

Dis bharwah ah play dead fuh see who ah go ah he funeral.