Even as the Alliance For Change (AFC) Chairman, Khemraj Ramjattan expressed disapproval of its leader’s denouncement of the sedition clause in the Cybercrime Bill, Attorney General Basil Williams has blamed “poor leadership” as the reason why the AFC and the parliamentary opposition are now finding fault with the impending legislation which has been around for nearly two years.

Notably, President David Granger, while fielding questions from reporters Thursday morning on the sidelines of an event, walked away when asked to comment on the controversial sedition clause.

Ramjattan – who is also the Minister of Public Security – told reporters that he understands the public’s concerns but maintained that the sedition clause is “necessary because sedition is part of our existing law.”

He argued that the clause does not prevent online users from being critical of the government.

“We were very careful to ensure that we put a subparagraph that says if you criticse the government, it is not sedition so we put limitations to what it is,” he explained.

But the Cybercrime Bill states that “…a person commits the offence of sedition if the person, whether in or out of Guyana, publishes, transmits or circulates by use of a computer system or any other means, a statement or words, either spoken or written, text, video, image, sign, visible representation, or other thing, that – (a)   brings or attempts to bring into hatred or contempt, or excites or attempts to excite disaffection towards the Government established by law in Guyana; or (b)   encourages, incites, induces, aids, abets, counsels any person to commit or to conspire with another person to commit any criminal offence against the President, Prime Minister or any Minister of the Government established by law in Guyana.”

AFC Leader Raphael Trotman is reported as saying in today’s Kaieteur News, however that its parliamentarians are prepared to vote against the Bill in the National Assembly if the sedition clause is not deleted.

According to Trotman – who is a Cabinet Member – “I can say that as presently constructed, I, as Leader of the AFC, cannot support Clause 18.1 in the Bill and will, therefore, be urging for an amendment, and if none is forthcoming, I will vote against it.”

The draft Cybercrime Bill – with the sedition clause – was made public in 2016 but only recently did the public brouhaha commenced. The People’s Progressive Party (PPP), as well as the AFC, had representatives on a Special Select Committee tasked with reviewing the draft legislation but none of them objected to the provisions at that forum.

The PPP subsequently admitted to “dropping the ball” but maintained that it will fight against the sedition clause as it is “undemocratic” and has no place in modern society.

But the country’s Attorney General – who is also the Chairman of the Peoples National Congress (PNC) – said he cannot understand why now, the AFC and the PPP are critcising the Bill.

“The AFC and the Opposition had representatives on the special select committee. Everyone had ample time, I don’t know what (their) concerns (are now,” Williams told reporters. The Attorney General added: “the fact that there has been no objection for well over two years when everyone who is saying ‘no’ now, had representatives there (Commitee). They were all negligent, its poor leadership.”

Nonetheless, he said being the “caring government” that they are, the Cybercrime Bill will be reviewed at Cabinet. Notwithstanding, Williams defended the inclusion of the sedition clause in the Bill. “It is a provision in our criminal law. You can’t create cybercrime (law) and offences that our under our law, the law under our land, are no longer offences because you are doing it on your computer,” Williams reasoned.

Minister of State Joseph Harmon previously asserted that the sedition clause is necessary because it guards against espionage, sabotage and subversion.

mr "Dave" . . . what is it with some of y'all that you seem afraid/embarrassed? to identify the PPP faux 'news' outlets you haul garbage from and deposit here as "topics"

admin needs to enforce . . .

AFC will not support sedition clause in Cybercrime Bill – Trotman

AFC Leader, Raphael Trotman

Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Raphael Trotman said the party’s Parliamentarians are prepared to vote against the sedition clause if it remains part of the Cybercrime Bill when it is returned to Parliament for passage.
Clause 18.1 has been subjected to growing public criticisms following the release of a report from the bi-partisan Parliamentary Special Select Committee which reviewed the Bill. It was tabled by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams.
“I can say that as presently constructed, I, as Leader of the AFC, cannot support Clause 18.1 in the Bill and will therefore be urging for an amendment, and if none is forthcoming, I will vote against it,” Trotman informed Kaieteur News.
According to Trotman, the issues surrounding the Bill were not formally discussed at the AFC National Executive Committee meeting on Tuesday. However, Trotman said that he took the opportunity to canvass the views of several members.
He expressed confidence that his views are held by most, if not all, of the party’s executive members.
The overall thrust of the Bill is to make illegal, certain activities undertaken using a computer and the internet, such as child pornography, cyber bullying, theft of data, and revenge porn among others.
However, there are concerns about aspects of the Bill, which was tabled by Attorney General, Basil Williams. The most contentious is Section 18 (1) (a) of the Bill which indicates that a person commits the offence of sedition if he brings or attempts to bring into hatred or contempt, or excites or attempts to excite disaffection towards the Government established by law in Guyana.
According to Section 18 (1), a person can commit the offence whether in or out of Guyana by intentionally publishing, transmitting or circulating by use of a computer system or any other means, a statement or words, either spoken or written, a text, video, image, sign, visible representation, or other thing.
The penalty ranges from four months in prison to a life sentence where death occurs.
It is widely believed that any sitting Government could use the clause to curtail freedom of expression and silence critics.
Trotman explained that he has been the subject of intense criticism and attacks over the past months, and by extension, so too the Government.
“I have chosen not to lash out, but to take my blows and to continue working, knowing that the truth will make its way into the public domain eventually and the Government’s positions will be better understood and accepted,” Trotman noted.
He added, “This is 2018 and so we must recognise that this is the age of enlightenment and expression. Even though we do not always agree with many of the views and opinions against us, yet we ought to respect the freedom to make them and be very circumspect when we come to stifling it. “
According to Trotman, Clause 18.1 is not what modern and open government and democracy are all about.
However, he believes there should always be the crimes of treason and sedition, but the burden of proof for these should be a high and heavy one and not be based on a few social media or op-ed comments that are brutally critical.
Local transparency watchdog, Transparency Institute Guyana Inc. (TIGI), and social activist Ruel Johnson, have called for the scrapping of the clause in the Bill.
Williams had indicated that nothing is wrong with the Bill. However, the Government has indicated that the Bill will be returned to Cabinet for further discussions.
A report from the committee was tabled in Parliament last Thursday. It showed that while several amendments were proposed, the sedition clause was untouched.
Government Members on the committee included Basil Williams, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, who tabled the Bill; Khemraj Ramjattan, Minister of Public Security; Nicolette Henry, Minister of Education; Michael Carrington and Audwin Rutherford.
The opposition members on the committee were Gail Teixeira, Chief Whip; Clement Rohee; Anil Nandlall and Gillian Persaud. Nandlall has stated that the sedition clause has no place in modern Guyana.
Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo stated on Monday that the People’s Progressive party (PPP) members dropped the ball in highlighting the sedition clause in the bill.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...rcrime-bill-trotman/

mr "Dave" . . . what is it with some of y'all that you seem afraid/embarrassed? to identify the PPP faux 'news' outlets you haul garbage from and deposit here as "topics"

admin needs to enforce . . .

Going forward I will post the source sir. a press conference that was attended by all media outlet .

GNI editor in chief is embarrassed  to publish these type of news... he haul the garbage 

admin should be the one publishing the news 

https://newsroom.gy/2018/05/03...-of-poor-leadership/

Oye Dave,

you need to step up and post the source of the articles,otherwise you guh loose your credibility.

Lots of media hustlers in the homeland,every one hustling to get the message out.Some don't even worth a click to read.

AFC will not support sedition clause in Cybercrime Bill – Trotman

AFC Leader, Raphael Trotman

Leader of the Alliance For Change (AFC), Raphael Trotman said the party’s Parliamentarians are prepared to vote against the sedition clause if it remains part of the Cybercrime Bill when it is returned to Parliament for passage.
Clause 18.1 has been subjected to growing public criticisms following the release of a report from the bi-partisan Parliamentary Special Select Committee which reviewed the Bill. It was tabled by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Basil Williams.
“I can say that as presently constructed, I, as Leader of the AFC, cannot support Clause 18.1 in the Bill and will therefore be urging for an amendment, and if none is forthcoming, I will vote against it,” Trotman informed Kaieteur News.
According to Trotman, the issues surrounding the Bill were not formally discussed at the AFC National Executive Committee meeting on Tuesday. However, Trotman said that he took the opportunity to canvass the views of several members.
He expressed confidence that his views are held by most, if not all, of the party’s executive members.
The overall thrust of the Bill is to make illegal, certain activities undertaken using a computer and the internet, such as child pornography, cyber bullying, theft of data, and revenge porn among others.
However, there are concerns about aspects of the Bill, which was tabled by Attorney General, Basil Williams. The most contentious is Section 18 (1) (a) of the Bill which indicates that a person commits the offence of sedition if he brings or attempts to bring into hatred or contempt, or excites or attempts to excite disaffection towards the Government established by law in Guyana.
According to Section 18 (1), a person can commit the offence whether in or out of Guyana by intentionally publishing, transmitting or circulating by use of a computer system or any other means, a statement or words, either spoken or written, a text, video, image, sign, visible representation, or other thing.
The penalty ranges from four months in prison to a life sentence where death occurs.
It is widely believed that any sitting Government could use the clause to curtail freedom of expression and silence critics.
Trotman explained that he has been the subject of intense criticism and attacks over the past months, and by extension, so too the Government.
“I have chosen not to lash out, but to take my blows and to continue working, knowing that the truth will make its way into the public domain eventually and the Government’s positions will be better understood and accepted,” Trotman noted.
He added, “This is 2018 and so we must recognise that this is the age of enlightenment and expression. Even though we do not always agree with many of the views and opinions against us, yet we ought to respect the freedom to make them and be very circumspect when we come to stifling it. “
According to Trotman, Clause 18.1 is not what modern and open government and democracy are all about.
However, he believes there should always be the crimes of treason and sedition, but the burden of proof for these should be a high and heavy one and not be based on a few social media or op-ed comments that are brutally critical.
Local transparency watchdog, Transparency Institute Guyana Inc. (TIGI), and social activist Ruel Johnson, have called for the scrapping of the clause in the Bill.
Williams had indicated that nothing is wrong with the Bill. However, the Government has indicated that the Bill will be returned to Cabinet for further discussions.
A report from the committee was tabled in Parliament last Thursday. It showed that while several amendments were proposed, the sedition clause was untouched.
Government Members on the committee included Basil Williams, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, who tabled the Bill; Khemraj Ramjattan, Minister of Public Security; Nicolette Henry, Minister of Education; Michael Carrington and Audwin Rutherford.
The opposition members on the committee were Gail Teixeira, Chief Whip; Clement Rohee; Anil Nandlall and Gillian Persaud. Nandlall has stated that the sedition clause has no place in modern Guyana.
Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo stated on Monday that the People’s Progressive party (PPP) members dropped the ball in highlighting the sedition clause in the bill.

https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...rcrime-bill-trotman/

Thanks for posting this one Hari Bol. Editor in chief is a hypocrite, he is selective in his news. 

Oye Dave,

you need to step up and post the source of the articles,otherwise you guh loose your credibility.

Lots of media hustlers in the homeland,every one hustling to get the message out.Some don't even worth a click to read.

Alrite man. Gon do so. 

Admin should suspend people who put misleading subject lines to their posts.  Especially when the Subject line and the article are completely opposite.

Suh you calling for Dave to be banned ?

Admin should suspend people who put misleading subject lines to their posts.  Especially when the Subject line and the article are completely opposite.

No I am calling for you to get banned.  Dave can’t get banned. He is Canadian.

Ha..ha.. i knew it.

You wanna get rid of Django,suh you all can get a free ride with the propaganda.

Admin should suspend posters who fail to post the source of their cut and paste.

Admin should ban woman abusers on this site, don’t you agree.

Name the abusers and show their posts, else shut yuh poke.

Admin should suspend posters who fail to post the source of their cut and paste.

Oh man too early . Sri Ram🙏🏻

No. Because only three posters will be left on this site.

How do we know who is a woman on this site? Everyone deserves fair and respectful treatment.

Hi Drunkie you are the President of that club and also the Most vulgar poster.

How do we know who is a woman on this site? Everyone deserves fair and respectful treatment.

True.  Po Jalil gone to his grave thinking that I am Kwame.  I like the name though.  Only the other day, Mitwah realize that I am not really Jagdeo posting here.  And the ones who have antimanish posts, well, how would you know who is who.  

he he...some of dem people here sound like they in the middle...neither man nor woman

True.  Po Jalil gone to his grave thinking that I am Kwame.  I like the name though.  Only the other day, Mitwah realize that I am not really Jagdeo posting here.  And the ones who have antimanish posts, well, how would you know who is who.  

Jalil knew who you were. We were just messing with you. I figured out who the Reeper is. Do you?