Ramkarran strikes gold with “Demerara Gold”

Ralph Ramkarran

Earlier this month, without any fanfare, the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) quietly announced on its website “closure” on a case it had brought in the courts of the United States and Canada against Bedessee Limited for selling brown sugar sourced from Mauritius and branding it as “Demerara Gold”.

As part of its diversification efforts to add value to its sugar, GuySuCo started to package and sell locally produced brown sugar in 2003. But by the middle of the decade, as it expanded to the US and Canada where there are large Guyanese populations constituting an almost “captive market”, it came up against the identical Bedessee brand. At that time, Guyana could have proceeded to file a “Geographical Indications” claim with the World Trade Organisation (WTO) to secure exclusive usage of the “Demerara” label for its brown sugar, as was advised by some politicians.

Under the Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights, the “Geographical Indications” rule – accepted by the WTO – any product which has been traditionally related and sourced from a particular geographical region of a country can obtain exclusive right over the name. For instance, “Parma” ham or “Champagne” cannot be labelled as such even if the identical product is produced elsewhere, as in say California. The firm of Cameron and Shepherd, headed  by then Speaker of the National Assembly Ralph Ramkarran, but more pertinently, member of the governing People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) Executive Committee (Ex-Co) persuaded Cabinet that it should not proceed along this path – even though the Regional Negotiating Mechanism (RNM) was prepared to proceed.

All that would have to be done was for some local laws to be drafted to legalise the designation and then the RNM would file with the WTO. Ramkarran argued that the Government should proceed on the line of claiming “trademark” infringement for the “Demerara Gold” label even though Bedessee had been using the name before GuySuCo. And since the beginning of the century, Mauritius and South Africa had been shipping brown sugar as “Demerara Sugar” and the name had become almost generic.  Then Agriculture Minister Robert Persaud proceeded to file legal proceedings against Bedessee in 2009 and the matter was reported in the local press and their North American editions. At that time, serious concerns were raised about legal costs for the action that would be incurred – which would have to be fought both in the US and Canada since Bedessee had filed a defamation suit for some statements made by the subject Minister.

Sugar workers bundling cane

As the lawyers for GuySuCo, Cameron and Shepherd fought the case in the local courts as the associate for the Washington and Canadian law firms. Locally, the law firm of Hughes, Fields and Stoby represented Bedessee. Then GuySuCo Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Errol Hanoman declined to comment on the actual quantum of the charges by the law firms, but noted that Washington-based lawyers “did not come cheap”.  He suggested that reporters contact the local affiliate Cameron and Shepherd, run by Ramkarran.

A spokesman for the firm was reported to vouch that “top lawyers” of the quality of the Washington firm would bill at a rate of US$1500 ($300,000) per hour. Local lawyers pointed out that even though the Washington firm would make the billing, since much of the tedious work of research among other things would be done locally, Ramkarran’s local firm would collect the bulk of the billings.

A year later, it was announced that GuySuCo was unsuccessful in its bid to secure its “trademark” infringement bid. Bedessee was also successful in its suit against Persaud for his intemperate language. Damages had to be paid to Bedessee.

A sugar worker cutting cane

With GuySuCo now announcing the end of its suit and that it accepted that Bedessee had sole trademark rights over the “Demerara Gold” brand for brown sugar, the case is no longer sub judice. In the words of one legal luminary, Guyana has “lost sugar and husk”.  But not so for Ramkarran, who had advised this Quixotic path – his firm collected the bulk of the $520 million paid out in legal fees to the Washington firm.

The Guyana Times has been unable to ascertain the amount paid to the Canadian firm, which would be shared with Cameron and Shepherd also. Legal practitioners say it would be slightly less than the US legal billings – somewhere in the vicinity of $500 million. In the meantime, field, factory and office workers of GuySuCo are all up in arms over their poor rates of pay, and they have had to resort to strike action in several instances. They refuse to accept the excuse that “the Corporation isn’t making profits” when exorbitant legal fees, such as the above, are paid immediately.

Whatever the quantum of legal fees GuySuCo had to pay its lawyers for those two cases, it would be utterly foolish to suggest that Ralph Ramkarran has bankrupted GuySuCo and caused sugar workers to punish.

The PPP-handpicked boards of directors are to be blamed squarely for GuySuCo's perilous state today.

Bharrat Jagdeo's mouthpiece Guyana Times wants to make Ramkarran a scapegoat for GuySuCo's failures, but it will not pass muster.

I'm sure Ralph will issue an appropriate response to that mischievous piece of writing.

Jagdeo must know that his Skeldon factory fiasco still rankles taxpayers and sugar workers.

Yuh fellas need to elect APNU+AFC. After that, then throw out Jagdeo and his hood and re-claim the Peoples Progressive Party. And remove the Jagans from the annals-they encourage the dicks that reaming the Guyanese people.

I do not understand what this piece is about. I guess it is all a lead up to an attempted hack job to suggest Ramkarran is somehow terrible for being paid for a job. After all, it is GUYSUCO that paid him. He did not pay himself.

Also, the photographs of hardworking cane cutters contrasted with a champagne drinking dine dining Ramkarran is supposed to imply he is a parasite.

Well, it is the parasites at the Times who I bet would not do a piece on their no bid contracts for drugs trying to tar and feather someone for earning pittances compared to what they earn by being friends with the crooks in the PPP

That is a posh meal there. Is that red Caviar or small tomatoes on that plate there?  I would not mind having a meal like that myself.

Originally Posted by Wally:

That is a posh meal there. Is that Caviar on that plate there?  I would not mind having a meal like that myself.

Come on, Wally, do a serious analysis on that tendentious Guyana Times piece.

When things are not revealed its a problem and when investigated and exposed its a problem. You want to have your pie and eat it too. Think about the genus that did all the hard work. He , yes, he is that good. He is Sherlock Holmes and Eliot Nest ropped up in one.Kudos to you my brother from another mother.

Originally Posted by Honest:

When things are not revealed its a problem and when investigated and exposed its a problem. You want to have your pie and eat it too. Think about the genus that did all the hard work. He , yes, he is that good. He is Sherlock Holmes and Eliot Nest ropped up in one.Kudos to you my brother from another mother.

What is the problem? The fellow was paid for a job. Those who selected him is at fault if he was a poor advocate. They agreed to his fees also so if it appears extreme who do you think is to blame...the one paying or the one valuing his services?

I also do not see your analogy is also baffling. You surely do not know the characters of the fictional Holmes or the real Ness. I guess like everything you throw them into the pile hoping to glean some credibility. Well you simply muddied the waters more leaving your premise terribly suspect.

STABROEK NEWS, MARCH 20 --- I watched with more than a tinge of sadness the presentations by former President Jagdeo at Babu Jaan and a press conference at Freedom House in which he gave his own peculiar version of aspects of our country’s past. I can only hope that no future former president will hold and express similar jaundiced views.

However, some of Mr Jagdeo utterances gave me cause for reflection about two issues. The first is specific to Mr Jagdeo. I seem to recollect that in 2010 Mr Jagdeo when he was President, said something to the effect that if the Skeldon Sugar Factory does not work as expected then the sugar industry is dead. Further, Mr Jagdeo promised to personally get involved to ensure that the factory was fixed. If the former President did get involved he was not successful, for the factory ain’t fixed. If on the other hand Mr Jagdeo did not get involved then… promises, promises. Are sugar workers aware of Mr Jagdeo’s role in their plight?

The second issue relates to something Dr Cheddi Jagan was fond of complaining about when alluding to the international economic situation. His refrain was “the rich are getting richer and the poor are getting poorer.” Little could Dr Jagan have suspected that what he campaigned against would hold sway in his beloved Guyana accomplished under the watch of the PPP which he founded.

SIGNED:

Rashleigh E Jackson

I do not understand what this piece is about. I guess it is all a lead up to an attempted hack job to suggest Ramkarran is somehow terrible for being paid for a job. After all, it is GUYSUCO that paid him. He did not pay himself.

Also, the photographs of hardworking cane cutters contrasted with a champagne drinking dine dining Ramkarran is supposed to imply he is a parasite.

Well, it is the parasites at the Times who I bet would not do a piece on their no bid contracts for drugs trying to tar and feather someone for earning pittances compared to what they earn by being friends with the crooks in the PPP

The gentleman also made a lot of money on a logging deal with some foreign entity.  These chaps never cared about the poor. CBJ din even have a real poor man in his inner circle. It is said, "no poor man ever created employment for the poor." Everybody trying to paint the picture that CBJ was a poor man. Is it any wonder, he din know how to create jobs. But he certainly know how to suffer thieves.