By Gary Eleazar

Head of State Donald Ramotar during his address in the recent opening of Guyana’s 10th Parliament

President Donald Ramotar displayed an astute sense of awareness as it relates to the challenges associated with the discovery of crude oil and accordingly warned the nation.
“There is high optimism that we are on the verge of discovering petroleum.” He noted also that Guyana has been listed by some experts as having the potential of becoming a major player in this sector in the world.
The President did warn however that, “we have to prepare for this eventually and carefully plan to prevent possibly serious negative effects on the traditional sectors.”
Ramotar said that Guyana must learn from the experiences of other countries that have passed through that stage already. Speaking on the need to have Guyana remain competitive in other sectors even with the imminent discovery of oil, the Head of State said, “If our goods and services are going to be globally competitive we must reduce transport costs and improve market access for our exports.”
He stressed that this is why a deep water harbour and a road and bridge link to Brazil and Suriname respectively, are all very important projects. “These projects will allow us to become a major hub for the movement of goods between South America and the North while reducing transport costs and providing easier and freer access to larger markets for our producers…In the process, increased services and more employment would be created.”
The President urged all to support the local sectors, industries and firms with potential to produce globally competitive goods and services.
“We must not rule out any form of organization of production of goods and services…We will embrace large and small companies, public and privately owned firms…All have advantages.”
Ramotar, who is a trained economist, told the Parliament that small businesses are known to sustain growth and many of our large firms possess the managerial expertise, skilled workforce and access to resources with which to venture deeper into regional and global markets.
The President also called for an embracing Information Communication Technology (ICT) saying that new technologies are driving growth, inventiveness and innovation and integrates Guyana with a larger economic space that is spawned by globalization.

A CGX Oil rig
He said that this will allow the country to develop new services, and do things better, faster and cheaper, while creating thousands of much- needed jobs for our people.
“Sustaining the growth of our economy requires that we continue to court investments both local and foreign and catalyzing entrepreneurship and new innovative endeavours…Only through such measures can we create a modern, competitive economy that produces world class goods and services.”

The reason I stated before that Mr Romotar has the potential to be one of the Caribbean GREAT Leader is his wisdom and foresight. He looks at the past, the present and the future and plan accordingly. I am assured that the Guyanese People are in the right hands. GOD BLESS GUYANA.
Originally posted by Nehru:
The reason I stated before that Mr Romotar has the potential to be one of the Caribbean GREAT Leader is his wisdom and foresight.

Nehru:

I like that word foresight.

A lot of folks have good hindsight---they can look back, after the fact, and brilliantly discuss the past.

But having good foresight---being able to anticipate and plan for the future--that is a different cup of tea---only the rare man is blessed with good foresight.

You are 100% right Nehru:

GUYANA IS, INDEED, BLESSED TO HAVE A LEADER OF WISDOM AND KEEN FORESIGHT LIKE MR. RAMOTAR.

Bhai Dem seh me gat ah knack fuh tellin it like it is. No gravey, no sauce just plain and simple. yippie
Originally posted by Rev Al:
Originally posted by Nehru:
The reason I stated before that Mr Romotar has the potential to be one of the Caribbean GREAT Leader is his wisdom and foresight.

Nehru:

I like that word foresight.

A lot of folks have good hindsight---they can look back, after the fact, and brilliantly discuss the past.

But having good foresight---being able to anticipate and plan for the future--that is a different cup of tea---only the rare man is blessed with good foresight.

You are 100% right Nehru:

GUYANA IS, INDEED, BLESSED TO HAVE A LEADER OF WISDOM AND KEEN FORESIGHT LIKE MR. RAMOTAR.

Originally posted by Wally:
Donald is absolutely right. Oil brings with it massive inflation. Last year I saw for myself what it did to North Dakota.

Da man Ramo gatt he head aan. But alyuh rememba, wenn dem find aile, dem Buxton bais wid dem outside force could mek tings baad. PNC nah goa waan see PPP sitting pon so much resources. Mi hope dem PPP nah goa tie up wid dem ME terrorist leaders and mek America vex screw abie coolie again. Dem bais good at datt and dem PNC a wach abie.
Originally posted by Sledgehammer:
But alyuh rememba, wenn dem find aile, dem Buxton bais wid dem outside force could mek tings baad. PNC nah goa waan see PPP sitting pon so much resources.

Sledge:

That's the PPP's mantra:

KEEP CALM AND EXTERMINATE!

The days when Buxtonian PNC terrorists caused mayhem and pandemonium in Guyana are over.

TERRORISTS WILL BE EXTERMINATED.

The PNC have been reduced to candlelit vigils---and yelling "quack, quack at the Donald"---no more destruction by these thugs---they now know the PPP's mantra.

Ramotar, who is a trained economist, told the Parliament that small businesses are known to sustain growth and many of our large firms possess the managerial expertise, skilled workforce and access to resources with which to venture deeper into regional and global markets.

Mr. Ramotar has some good plans in store.
Originally posted by Rev Al:
The PNC have been reduced to candlelit vigils---Rev

Hmmmmm. Yet the other day Ramotar had to beg Granger to let him go to the men's room. Trotman didnt want to allow him to go...and he couldnt do anything about it unless Granger helped him.
Meh cyant wait fu dem mek dat Merika dalla 170 mill airport suh me can fly out to dat blackman Obama kuntry. All abe prablem a guh go way when dat aile start flow. but me nah tek chance. Meh a go to wan a dem blackman kuntry. Dem coolieman a guyana nah prove nuting yet.
Pooran_lall, why you sound like a heart broken child? Nothing nah please you? Obama country get it ups and downs too you know. You know what they say about greener pasture? Cow done eat am out.
Originally posted by ABIDHA:
Pooran_lall, why you sound like a heart broken child? Nothing nah please you? Obama country get it ups and downs too you know. You know what they say about greener pasture? Cow done eat am out.

Bai meh only a see down a guyana. meh a see only patch wuk a guyana.