Ramotar demotes Chronicle Editor after

‘Jagdeo’ story

March 22, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

A front page story in the state-owned Guyana Chronicle yesterday suggested that former President Bharrat Jagdeo is the best choice for Presidential candidate in any forthcoming elections.

President Donald Ramotar

President
Donald Ramotar

That story has landed a number of Chronicle senior staff in hot water.
The headline, “Jagdeo favoured as PPP/C presidential candidate”, has led to one senior staff, Linda Rutherford, being replaced as acting Editor and demoted.
The Board of Directors is questioning how the story ended up in the newspaper in the first place.
According to the Guyana Chronicle article, a poll conducted by the combined Opposition revealed that in terms of popularity, Jagdeo is way ahead of candidates from both A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC).
The Opposition has since denied knowledge of the poll.
APNU Leader Brig David granger said that he never polled Jagdeo. Khemraj Ramjattan of the Alliance For Change said that it never even gave Jagdeo a thought after he left office.
According to the “poll”, Jagdeo is the one most favoured to be the PPP/C presidential candidate for the next general elections, “particularly given that election fever is in the air, brought on by the ongoing gridlock in the National Assembly.”
President Ramotar was not mentioned at all. A source close to the Office of the President said that President Ramotar accused the Chronicle of promoting mischief.
He said that Jagdeo is not eligible for any re-election, now or ever. The question of him ever being a Presidential candidate must have been concocted by a wild mind or by someone with a business interest.
The article appeared one day after the Guyana Times, a newspaper reportedly owned by Jagdeo and Dr Ranjisinghi Ramroop, carried one quoting unnamed Opposition sources on the polls and headlined, “Jagdeo most formidable candidate –

Bharrat Jagdeo

combined Opposition poll”.

How the article, along similar lines, ended up in the Chronicle was what the Office of the President wanted to know yesterday.
Kwame McKoy, a member of the Chronicle Board, was believed to have a hand in the publication in the Chronicle.
Office of the President believed that Jagdeo influenced McKoy.
Yesterday, Chamanlall Naipaul, the Acting Sunday Editor, confirmed that he was asked to take charge of the newspaper in place of Rutherford.
Mark Ramotar, the current Editor-in-Chief, is on leave.
With Jagdeo not eligible pursuing any other term as President under the Constitution, observers have wondered why the issue has surfaced again.
The ruling party itself has dismissed the possibilities of the former President running again, after he ended his consecutive two-terms in office in 2011.
The Jagdeo administration was plagued with accusations of corruption, poor management of state contracts, bribery and executive lawlessness.

Originally Posted by asj:

‘Jagdeo’ story

A front page story in the state-owned Guyana Chronicle yesterday suggested that former President Bharrat Jagdeo is the best choice for Presidential candidate in any forthcoming elections.

President Donald Ramotar

President
Donald Ramotar

The headline, “Jagdeo favoured as PPP/C presidential candidate”, has led to one senior staff, Linda Rutherford, being replaced as acting Editor and demoted.
The Board of Directors is questioning how the story ended up in the newspaper in the first place.
According to the Guyana Chronicle article, a poll conducted by the combined Opposition revealed that in terms of popularity, Jagdeo is way ahead of candidates from both A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) and the Alliance For Change (AFC).
APNU Leader Brig David granger said that he never polled Jagdeo. Khemraj Ramjattan of the Alliance For Change said that it never even gave Jagdeo a thought after he left office.
According to the “poll”, Jagdeo is the one most favoured to be the PPP/C presidential candidate for the next general elections, “particularly given that election fever is in the air, brought on by the ongoing gridlock in the National Assembly.”
President Ramotar was not mentioned at all. A source close to the Office of the President said that President Ramotar accused the Chronicle of promoting mischief.
He said that Jagdeo is not eligible for any re-election, now or ever. The question of him ever being a Presidential candidate must have been concocted by a wild mind or by someone with a business interest.
The article appeared one day after the Guyana Times, a newspaper reportedly owned by Jagdeo and Dr Ranjisinghi Ramroop, carried one quoting unnamed Opposition sources on the polls and headlined, “Jagdeo most formidable candidate –

Bharrat Jagdeo

combined Opposition poll”.

How the article, along similar lines, ended up in the Chronicle was what the Office of the President wanted to know yesterday.
Kwame McKoy, a member of the Chronicle Board, was believed to have a hand in the publication in the Chronicle.
Office of the President believed that Jagdeo influenced McKoy.
Yesterday, Chamanlall Naipaul, the Acting Sunday Editor, confirmed that he was asked to take charge of the newspaper in place of Rutherford.
Mark Ramotar, the current Editor-in-Chief, is on leave.
With Jagdeo not eligible pursuing any other term as President under the Constitution, observers have wondered why the issue has surfaced again.
The ruling party itself has dismissed the possibilities of the former President running again, after he ended his consecutive two-terms in office in 2011.
The Jagdeo administration was plagued with accusations of corruption, poor management of state contracts, bribery and executive lawlessness.

What an excellent president! Very decisive. Good man to keep in office.

Now I want to see Ramo, roll the heads of the thieves, and corruptors that is Plagueing the Corrupt PPP/C

QUOTE: "A source close to the Office of the President said that President Ramotar accused the Chronicle of promoting mischief.
He said that Jagdeo is not eligible for any re-election, now or ever. The question of him ever being a Presidential candidate must have been concocted by a wild mind or by someone with a business interest."

yuji22 is someone with a wild mind. Only a few days ago I mentioned that he has an unsteady mind.

Yesterday he started a thread promoting Bharrat Jagdeo as the next PPP presidential candidate. He even called for an amendment to the Constitution of Guyana to ensure that the president rule indefinitely.

President Ramotar should ask one of his staff to monitor yuji's nonsensical posts on GNI Political Forum which are embarrassing him and the PPP big time.

If OP needs help, I can provide yuji's posts free of cost, no strings attached.

Amral should ban Cunsie, and Yugee for posting Brer Anancy Stories on GNI

Do you want to limit freedom of speech on this bb? Disciple of Forbes? They also can label your postings as Brer Anancy stories. Should they complain about your postings and ask that you be banned? What's good for the goose is also good for the gander. I thought Amral suspends violators.

Hehe. Ramo shuda fiah dem stupid ass. Bai de talk in town is Jagdeo serious dis time. Big show down comin. De man want run foh pressie. De man only know bout powah and thieving. Pavi cyant want foh get he free poke cuttahs and rum again. Pavi is wan low class jackass.

Me bai? want to limit freedom of speech? your papa Ramu demote the Chronicle reporters, go grow some balls and tell him not to limit freedom of speech, or,  are you fightened?

QUOTE: "A source close to the Office of the President said that President Ramotar accused the Chronicle of promoting mischief.
He said that Jagdeo is not eligible for any re-election, now or ever. The question of him ever being a Presidential candidate must have been concocted by a wild mind or by someone with a business interest."

yuji22 is someone with a wild mind. Only a few days ago I mentioned that he has an unsteady mind.

Yesterday he started a thread promoting Bharrat Jagdeo as the next PPP presidential candidate. He even called for an amendment to the Constitution of Guyana to ensure that the president rule indefinitely.

President Ramotar should ask one of his staff to monitor yuji's nonsensical posts on GNI Political Forum which are embarrassing him and the PPP big time.

PPP will never listen to a traitor and Judas like you.  

Surprise. I still maintain contact with two old PPP comrades at the Office of the President. We've been friends for over 30 years. They understand why I left the PPP.

This is a warning to any PUBLIC servant, anytime the Jagdeo crew - Rawbert, Kwame etc try to instuct you, seek clearance from Ramu first.

OR ELSE!

Ramu run things now, nOT FAG_DEO!

Me bai? want to limit freedom of speech? your papa Ramu demote the Chronicle reporters, go grow some balls and tell him not to limit freedom of speech, or,  are you fightened?

Can never be civil about any response heh? You can't seem to respond without being vulgar. Not sure what this has to do Ramotar and Guyana. I was addressing the postings on this board.

Leaving the PPP is one thing. Fighting to bring back the dirty and rotten PNC is another. Traitor indeed.

Can never be civil about any response heh? You can't seem to respond without being vulgar. Not sure what this has to do Ramotar and Guyana. I was addressing the postings on this board.

skeldon_man, how on god's good earth can YOU, a proud purveyor of the vilest, GRATUITOUS, racial filth on GNI whine unctuously about "vulgar" postings . . . WITH A STRAIGHT FACE[!!], eh?

somewhere . . . a bunch of "negra" Howard University grads are howling with laughter contemplating YOU, a BARELY LITERATE, ignar train wreck making a total jackass of himself hay

Originally Posted by asj:  Me bai? want to limit freedom of speech?....... Since meh joined leh me tell you dat Bai ASJ has been the most knowledgeable with your Politics and he understands thoroughly the system. And he is one of the best Posters in the sense dat I hav hardly seen him use bad/foul language unless he is forced too. Please try and respect each other on the forum.

Leaving the PPP is one thing. Fighting to bring back the dirty and rotten PNC is another. Traitor indeed.

Far better to be a traitor to an utterly corrupt PPP regime than to be a racial and mindless PPP sycophant. The PPP has to go, sooner or later.

Yuji will forever remain a loyal PPP supporter. He will never sell his soul to the dirty and rotten PNC like you did.

Get your facts right, I am supporting the AFC.

The AFC reserves the right to work with any other component of the parliamentary opposition to fight your corrupt PPP.

Romatar should not stick his finger into the pie and be instrumental  in sanctioning these people. That should be by some lines of authority in the ministry of information. Sticking his finger here is akin to Benn deciding to storm over to the broadcasting studio and demand the  musicians be banned from the air. It also shows that the media is not independent and they dare not go where they will least the offend the powers that be and gets sacked.

Further, that someone can so undermine the President is really indicative of some worms in the core of the PPP's apple. Surely, some internal dissent as to the Ramotar's presidency exists or this piece of useless bilge would not hit the airwaves.

‘Jagdeo’ story

President Donald Ramotar

President
Donald Ramotar

Bharrat Jagdeo.

He should a fiya she stupid rass fuh following Jagdeow?

Who the man now???