Ramotar’s hollow snap election threats

June 29, 2014 | By | Filed Under Letters

Dear Editor The “last of the buffoon leaders” was how one American journalist described the leaders of the PPP in 2014 to us. The journalist was referring specifically to their gross incompetence at governance  in which corruption and crime have reached new heights and their refusal to call Local Government elections despite Mr. Ramotar’s promise to do so. With his numerous outlandish threats of calling snap elections even when Khemraj Ramjattan, Carl Greenidge and Moses Nagamootoo called his bluff, it is clear to us that the President is behaving like a school yard bully.  He has constantly used threats when he does not get his way. What he represents as a leader is cowardice, conceit, and gross ignorance. The President’s record of leadership is confusing and most inconsistent at best. Firstly, right out of the blocks in February 2012 at the opening of the 10th parliament, he threatened that his government “will not be held to ramson” by the opposition and thus snap elections is a possibility.  Not satisfied with his own hollow threats, his ranting of snap elections continued on Labor Day 2012 when he warned the workers that “the opposition actions on the budget can force snap elections.”  Again another hollow threat. Well in that year, the opposition had disapproved portions of the budget and there has been no snap elections.  More hallow and cowardly threats occurred again when the majority opposition cut the budget in 2013 and in 2014, and  yet he did not call snap elections. Not only did he expose his infantile behavior but Mr. Greenidge, Mr. Ramjattan and Mr. Moses Nagamootoo   have continued to call his threats bluff. His hollow threats to call local government elections every time the minority PPP cabal did not get their way in Parliament prompted Ramjattan to say that “Ramotar will never call elections since his own PPP will kick him out of the chair.” So to hear his bluff about snap elections in light of that insightful, clever and powerful statement of a “no confidence” vote in Parliament against the PPP cabal from the old warrior and statesman Moses Nagamootoo has scared the President who is bent on completing his full term in office.  He knows that he will not be the Presidential Candidate for the PPP in the next general election because most in the regime see him as a failure who does not have the requisite skills to lead the nation. They also blamed him for reducing the PPP to minority status. We want the people to know that no one in the PPP not even Mr. Ramotar could bluff Moses Nagamootoo and Khemraj Ramjattan. After all, both of these gentlemen came from the belly of the beast of the PPP. So for the President to claim that he is a warrior and not a coward who is not afraid of elections is furthest from the truth. This is the ”warrior” who could not face a PPP Congress to approve or ratify the selection of his Presidential candidacy above more qualified persons. This is the “warrior” who lost the PPP majority in 2011. This is the “warrior” who was on GUYSUCO Board for almost 20 years, from 1992 to 2011 that presided over the destruction of the sugar industry. This is the “warrior” who during the 2011 election campaign had promised the people to end corruption and reduce crime, but after almost three years as President, crime has increased fivefold and corruption remains rampant with no end in sight. And last but not least, this is the “warrior” who refused to lower the tolls on the Berbice Bridge despite its passage in the National Assembly and demands by members of the PPP in Berbice. Many Guyanese including some of the leaders in the PPP were happy to see Jagdeo demit office because of his cuss-down behavior which has embarrassed the party, his abuse of his wife and his failure to stamp out corruption and reduce crime.  But they have also realized that Ramotar has shaped up to be an even worse political failure than Jagdeo. We want to put on record our deep admiration for the brave and courageous position of Moses Nagamootoo when he made it clear that his party, the AFC, is seriously considering a motion of no-confidence  against the corrupt PPP government which APNU chief Parliamentary whip AMMA Alli said they will support. What we are getting from the PPP cabal is sheer foolish ideological talk aimed at misleading the people and distort the facts.  The end result of all of this is that the leaders of the PPP know that the youths of Guyana both Indo and Afro Guyanese are fed up with their empty promises, distortions and untruths. The PPP is fully aware that the youths will end their reign of power whenever an election is called.  They want leaders with the vision to lead and not be dictated to by the corrupt, greedy and selfish bullies at Freedom House. We sincerely thank Moses Nagamootoo for speaking the truth and are hoping that APNU will act like a warrior and support the AFC.

Asha Balbachan Derrick Arjune, Rohit Misir, Harish Singh, Chandra Deolall, Asquith Rose, Dr. Vincent Nauth, Sase Singh, Allison Rutherford, Devita Khan, Dr. Reginald Watkins, Dr. Terrence Simon, Donna Mathoo, Noel Moses, Vicki Rampersaud

Originally Posted by asj:

Wonder what APNU is scared about, they are looking like wimps right now.

Hehe, because their side-kick will go down the drain and the PPP will end up with 55%.  The PNC knows this one-time luck, one-trick pony, chance with a joint opposition slight majority is the best scenario to pressure and extract "pork" from the GoG.

What a BUNCH of ASSES!!!!1

The intelligent one speaketh above!

Thank you Cain, I always knew you had the knack for spotting intelligence.  When you are not high on dope.

First time you agree with me eh? Is like you rass doan know how fo take sarcasm nuh?

Thank you Cain, I always knew you had the knack for spotting intelligence.  When you are not high on dope.

First time you agree with me eh? Is like you rass doan know how fo take sarcasm nuh?

Oh Rass wait was Sarcasm???

You kinda like excited deh. Iman did say, Fake orgasm, I said, take sarcasm.

Hehe, because their side-kick will go down the drain and the PPP will end up with 55%. 

Can you explain why the PPP will increase their votes from 49% to 55% its HIGHEST ever when its core support base has softened, and those who don't traditionally vote for them are even less inclined to do so.

Bare in mind that the voter turnout is likely to be quite low, and the most motivated are likely to be those who want change.  If gold continues to weaken the PPP rant about a strong economy will begin to look silly.  Look at how the rice farmers are bawling that they haven't been paid.

Hehe, because their side-kick will go down the drain and the PPP will end up with 55%. 

Can you explain why the PPP will increase their votes from 49% to 55% its HIGHEST ever when its core support base has softened, and those who don't traditionally vote for them are even less inclined to do so.

Bare in mind that the voter turnout is likely to be quite low, and the most motivated are likely to be those who want change.  If gold continues to weaken the PPP rant about a strong economy will begin to look silly.  Look at how the rice farmers are bawling that they haven't been paid.

Well pray to yuh God fuh leh GOLD disappear from Guyana nah!!!!!!!!!!!

You view the support at base as Indian but you could be wrong.  Many non-Indian and mixed voters will turn PPP.  49 + most of the AFC votes will give them 55%.

The PPP is barely making 40% this time. 55% is an impossibility. Contrary to you, the PPP will lose even more from its ranks in the young demographics. Urban mixed and indians are movingly heavily away from them. The AFC stands to gain here.

I will not argue, the results will vindicate either of our claims.

I van say with 100 percent certainty they are not making 55% unless they stuff the ballot box.

Ow Baseman, that was a low blow Ramjattan is no PNC side kick.

You meking me laught, when the mixed population in the main living in squalor.  Look and see.

I van say with 100 percent certainty they are not making 55% unless they stuff the ballot box.

Not so sleek conditionality to ensure you can back into the "100% certainty".

Actually it was without even a thought except  for the reality that the PPP in their best of times in 92 barely got that much. These crooks will have to stuff the box to achieve that count.

The trend is AWAY from the PPP.  If the PPP couldn't get non Indian support in significant numbers in 2001 and 2006, it is not going to get it in 2016, when 2011 showed its support among its core base, rural Indians, to be beginning to soften.

Come 2016 many will not vote.  And this will include many Indians, who will not bring themselves to vote for another party, but are seriously disappointed with the PPP.

Look at GNI. 12 years ago even stormborn (then known as D2) was a staunch PPP supporter. Even Raymond was a PPP supporter, though admittedly not enthusiastic.  Kari as well. Indeed it was the rare Indian on GNI who wasn't.

Roll to 2014 its only the dinosaurs and the racists who remain PPP.  Even yuji and cobra seem to be signaling a willingness to drink PNC soup if accepted.   By 2016 its  likely that only Nehru will be a PPP supporter, and that because he is a mental retard.

Baseman also understand that there is no generic mixed population in Guyana.  Mixed people are those who don't identify with any specific racial group.  These include;

1.  Some vaguely mixed black people who call themselves mixed, because they perceive greater hostility towards blacks.  Trotman is an example of this.  To most people he is black, but he prefers to identify as mixed, so that he can get political support from non blacks.

2.  The remnants of the old "red" population.

3.  People who have parents with different ancestries.

4.  The tendency of many in the third category to mix with each other rather than with the "single race" population.

I can imagine that there isn't a uniform way that these people may behave from an ethno political standpoint.  What is obvious is that Africans are about 1/3 of the voting age population, and yet the PNC consistently wins 40% of the votes.  This even though 10-15% of the black population support other parties.

So don't build your notion of PPP victory on the mixed or the Amerindian population.

2016 will most likely continue the trend of declining support for the PPP.  The % of the votes that it will win depends on the extent to which the opposition parties can galvanize the anti PPP voters (now the majority) to actually vote. 

Baseman check 1997, 2001. 2006, and 2011 and EVERY election shows the PPP getting FEWER votes than the prior electionGiven that Ramotar looks like, and is as charismatic as a crapaud, I don't see why he will reverse this trend.

Baseman also understand that there is no generic mixed population in Guyana.  Mixed people are those who don't identify with any specific racial group.  These include;

1.  Some vaguely mixed black people who call themselves mixed, because they perceive greater hostility towards blacks.  Trotman is an example of this.  To most people he is black, but he prefers to identify as mixed, so that he can get political support from non blacks.

4.  The tendency of many in the third category to mix with each other rather than with the "single race" population.

I can imagine that there isn't a uniform way that these people may behave from an ethno political standpoint.  What is obvious is that Africans are about 1/3 of the voting age population, and yet the PNC consistently wins 40% of the votes.  This even though 10-15% of the black population support other parties.

So don't build your notion of PPP victory on the mixed or the Amerindian population.

2016 will most likely continue the trend of declining support for the PPP.  The % of the votes that it will win depends on the extent to which the opposition parties can galvanize the anti PPP voters (now the majority) to actually vote. 

Baseman check 1997, 2001. 2006, and 2011 and EVERY election shows the PPP getting FEWER votes than the prior electionGiven that Ramotar looks like, and is as charismatic as a crapaud, I don't see why he will reverse this trend.

CarbJ bhai, all what you say sounds great and is very academic. In 2011 the PPP got 49% after losing 6-7% due to Nagamootoo.  I think most of these will return to the fold regardless of Nagamootoo and the PPP will eat away some PNC support and 55% could become the low-end.

Regardless, the PPP will be in the comfortable 50+% level.  You will see, maybe you prove me wrong, I will be the first to eat humble pie.

CarbJ bhai, all what you say sounds great and is very academic. In 2011 the PPP got 49% after losing 6-7% due to Nagamootoo.  I think most of these will return to the fold regardless of Nagamootoo and the PPP will eat away some PNC support and 55% could become the low-end.

Regardless, the PPP will be in the comfortable 50+% level.  You will see, maybe you prove me wrong, I will be the first to eat humble pie.

You again got it wrong. They lost 3 percent and that did not come about because of Naga's defection alone

Not 6-7 %, 3 % and IT was not because of Naga alone.  Doctor Ramaya did an excellent job in central corentyne in hurting the PPP.

Only last Christmas, irffat the Ali baba Minista offered him 25 million to cross the floor politically - resign from the afc and join camp PPP in Berbice.

He tell them to haul them rass.

Not 6-7 %, 3 % and IT was not because of Naga alone.  Doctor Ramaya did an excellent job in central corentyne in hurting the PPP.

Only last Christmas, irffat the Ali baba Minista offered him 25 million to cross the floor politically - resign from the afc and join camp PPP in Berbice.

He tell them to haul them rass.

He was right, $25 mil is too low.  $35-$50 is a better price.

Why will the PPP eat away at the PNC?  They didn't do it in 22 years, so what is Ramotar going to do that Cheddi, Janet, and Jagdeo failed to do?  These are mainly black people, so why would they suddenly become oriented to the PPP?  Ramotar spends even LESS time with them than Jagdeo did, and Jagdeo failed at winning them over, despite his taunts that he would beat the PNC in Linden.

Many of those who voted Nagamootoo are disaffected with the PPP.  They mightn't support the AFC next time.  They might simply not vote. Voter turnout in Guyana has collapsed from 85% as recently as 2001 to around 60% in the last few elections.

Why will the PPP eat away at the PNC?  They didn't do it in 22 years, so what is Ramotar going to do that Cheddi, Janet, and Jagdeo failed to do?  These are mainly black people, so why would they suddenly become oriented to the PPP?  Ramotar spends even LESS time with them than Jagdeo did, and Jagdeo failed at winning them over, despite his taunts that he would beat the PNC in Linden.

Many of those who voted Nagamootoo are disaffected with the PPP.  They mightn't support the AFC next time.  They might simply not vote. Voter turnout in Guyana has collapsed from 85% as recently as 2001 to around 60% in the last few elections.

In 1978 according to yuh Daddy Bunam the turn out was 90% and he WON 85%/

This one for tyrone kemraj and papa burnham.

People’s National CongressPNC228,71878.54%42

1985 elections  - PNC  - 78% of the votes and 228,000 votesd with 42 seats.

If shit can fly, Uncle Tyrone Kemraj and the PNC can win 2085 elections.

HE HE.  Har Har Har.

Come 2006 some 20 years after and this is the PNC.

People’s National Congress Reform - 1 GuyanaPNCR-IG114,28334.09%

PNC  - 114,000 votes and 22 seats - 34%

Now we talking.

Tyrone and these fruit cakes tief a whole 100,000 votes in 1985.  Yes Uncle Higyte and Uncle Carbin and Tyrone god father Hammie tief 100,000 votes in 1985.

And these azzhole want to tell we about PNC Part 1 and PNC Part 2.  They think they talking about tyrone kemraj left side Brain and right side Brain.  Both empty.

Idiots.

HE HE.  Har Har Har.

Come 2006 some 20 years after and this is the PNC.

People’s National Congress Reform - 1 GuyanaPNCR-IG114,28334.09%

PNC  - 114,000 votes and 22 seats - 34%

Now we talking.

Tyrone and these fruit cakes tief a whole 100,000 votes in 1985.  Yes Uncle Higyte and Uncle Carbin and Tyrone god father Hammie tief 100,000 votes in 1985.

And these azzhole want to tell we about PNC Part 1 and PNC Part 2.  They think they talking about tyrone kemraj left side Brain and right side Brain.  Both empty.

Idiots.

kishan/rev moving fitfully out de closet as he becomes unhinged

de lil punk even attempting a poor-ass imitation of me . . . i suppose i should be flattered

defenestration to come

har har har har!

What a BUNCH of ASSES!!!!1

The letter hitting you deep eh Nehru.  The Guyanese people are rising up mentally against this PPP.  Check out the post on how they rejected the Berbice bridge toll.  It has to come dow, regardless of what danald seh.