Migration from Berbice 

Posted By Shabna Ullah On August 4, 2014 @ 5:01 am In What the People Say | No Comments

Interviews and photos by The last census report has pointed to a reduction in the population due to migration, especially in Region Six. This week on What the People Say we asked persons to share their views as to what may have contributed to this. Here are their comments:

Interviews and photos by Shabna Ullah

20140804azeez

Azeez Khan, vendor,

‘Many persons from this Region Six are leaving because the country is hard. These are rough times for a lot of people. There are no proper jobs for the people so they have to go and seek betterment in other countries. Some persons who have jobs are living from pay day to pay day. They abandon their homes and the little that they achieve here in search of better living conditions. I think a lot of people would prefer to remain if the government opens up industries to create employment.’

20140804radha

Radha Sewnauth, vendor,

‘The reason for so many people leaving this region is because there are no jobs especially for young people who have done well at CXC. The cost of living is too high and people are suffering. They have no one to support them and they don’t know what else to do so they try to migrate to another country to seek a better life. There are also too many bandits kicking down doors and robbing and killing people innocently. If I get an opportunity I would run away from this country too. I live at 3rd Street Bush Dam, Fyrish and the street is no good at all. There is a pool of water; almost like a trench and vehicles cannot use it. I am glad if the government can look into it. I fell on the street the other day and I sprained my knee. All of that cause people to want to fly away from this country. Right now there is stagnant water in the area. It has been there for over two weeks since a heavy rainfall.’

20140804sanita 

Sanita Narine, vendor,

‘The cost of living is too high in the country and you have to work very hard for just a little money. Sometimes you work for the whole day and don’t earn anything. Some people cannot even save. When others achieve a little after struggling for years, bandits would come and kill them for it. Life is too hard here. Many people who migrated are doing well in other countries and are coming back to help their poor relatives. If they didn’t get a chance to go away they would have remained poor like them too.’

20140804parbattie

Parbattie Bickram, housewife,

‘People must run away from this country because life is hard, even for the bandits. When they break into your house and cannot get the amount of money they want they would kill you. They believe that they work for it and give you and then they come back for it. When the bandits attack, the police don’t come right away. When they finally come, instead of looking for the bandits, they sit and take statements for hours and delay the time. The police need to do their job better. Bandits went into our house at Albion last Wednesday and chop my grandmother like a fish. My grandfather took it on and he collapsed and died. I buy a little shrimp and sell it in the market and I make a couple cents. That is barely enough for me and my school-aged children to eat out of.’

20140804david

David Rodney, foot salesman,

‘The people are migrating because the dollar is very low. If you have $1,000 it is as though you have nothing. As soon as you break the $1,000 it finish, and then to make it worse, they have $5,000 bill now. It means that the money devalue so the people decide to migrate more. If you are in a foreign country, like America and you have a $20, you could buy a household ration and still some change left back to buy a shoes, clothes and other things. Now in Guyana, you cannot even buy a weekly ration with $5,000. The people are living under their standards; they are getting paid less for what they are working so they must migrate. People would sell out their houses and migrate. Others would just abandon theirs and go and live in small apartments. But in a short time they can work and have a better standard of living than here. At one time Singapore had the same amount of people like Guyana but today that country has over five million people while the population in Guyana has reduced. For me though, I am a diehard Guyanese and I prefer to live right here and be with my children. In order to make it in life you have to work really hard, like I am doing. I don’t live in Region Six, I live in Region 10 but I came here to sell. I can’t get a job in Linden and survive.’

20140804mustapha

Mustapha Ally, businessman,

‘It is generally observed that in the Port Mourant community a lot of the old people who are the original owners of the properties, have all migrated because of the fact that they had families who were living overseas for a very long time and had sponsored them. As a result we see most of the people receiving permanent visas. Some owners would put people to live in their houses and when they are away for so many years the homes would be vandalized. Even at our masjid, we had a membership of over 150 people, now we barely have 60 people. Then a lot of young people have migrated through marriages. We call it a brain drain. It is a reality where everybody is getting an opportunity to go. The US embassy has been giving visa and a lot of people are going. Some are coming back and some are not. Everybody is looking for a better way of life and the notion is that going to North America or even the islands give them that life.’

20140804kristy

Kristy Mangar, farmer,

‘I think the economic pressure and crisis as well as the crime situation has resulted in the high rate of migration from this region. These are factors that would force people out of this country because they want to live with ease. Sometimes bandits come into your homes in high daytime and kill you for nothing. Another factor is the lack of job opportunities. A lot of young people came out of school with good grades and cannot get proper jobs. Some of them cannot afford to go to university right away because of poverty and they cannot even get to work and save towards it. In other countries, there are lots of opportunities so people are making use of it to go and further their education, explore life and achieve their goals. People who migrate and work in another country can return in two or three years and build a property. But some people live their whole lives here and cannot even afford to buy a bicycle.’

20140804nikita

Nikita Williams, teacher,

‘The economic situation is definitely why so many people are migrating. It is also because of the crime rate; people do not feel safe in their homes. I think the authorities should ensure that our neighbourhood is safer. I also think the police need to do more in ensuring proper security for the people. The lack of job opportunities is also another reason why young people leave this region. You find too that many would leave and go to Georgetown just to seek employment. In the case of teachers, we don’t earn much as compared to the teachers in the islands; they work for far more. To me this region is highly political when it comes to getting jobs. I don’t blame the people for migrating in search of a better life. I am even thinking of leaving as well although I am a trained teacher.’

20140804felicia

Felicia Arthur, food vendor,

‘When it comes to the money that we earn it is not much in Berbice so that is why the young people are leaving, even if it is just to go away to Georgetown. In terms of leaving the country, if I get a visa I would go too because life is tough; money is not stirring this way. There is no spending power. We work very hard and we don’t even see our profit. Our life is not moving up. Sometimes I make food items to sell and the majority would leave back so I would end up losing. Crime is also contributing to the high rate of migration. I also think some businesspersons are biased when they are hiring people. When certain persons go to some of the shops for jobs, the owners would pick and choose. For example, one of my cousins went for a job at a shop as a salesgirl the owner turned her down. But when the Indian young lady went he accepted her and that was bad.’

20140804ross

Michael Ross, ex-security,

‘So many people are leaving this region because they want to do better and perhaps they like to see places. It is also because they want to help out their families. People also like to know that when they work they must get value for their money but that is not happening here. If persons have big families and they cannot work for a certain amount of money, then life would be really difficult. Some people have to work almost their whole lifetime to achieve certain basic requirements. Since I was younger, a lot of people went away and never came back to their homes. Most of the people went with residency while a few went through the backtrack route. The crime situation is also one of the reasons that cause people to migrate. People are hardly earning but yet they would be killed by bandits for the little that they have.’

Thank you Tola for this timely post.

And who says the ordinary man does not know what is going on, only the Jagdeo cabal knows everything?

Azeez Khan, vendor,

‘There are no proper jobs for the people so they have to go and seek betterment in other countries."

It is jobs baby!

Who says the farmers do not know what going on?

Kristy Mangar, farmer,

‘Sometimes bandits come into your homes in high daytime and kill you for nothing. Another factor is the lack of job opportunities.

It is CRIME baby, CRIME!

High crime under Rohee, what a failure.

hear the Joke with Rohee, when he is in Freedom House he does tell all them political sanke winkees that He is well respected in the Security Sector.

When he is in the Ministry of Home Affairs, he does tell the public servants that he is well respected as a political thinker in Freedom House.

WHO he really think he fooling?

thanks for this post Tola...it shows the problem with jobs, crime etc...these are big challenges, and the Govt has shown no foresight in creating decent paying jobs...imagine after all these years, they can't seem to create anything better than cane cutting

Since 1972 we were dealing with sustainable projects in developing countries. We did fund-raising with a  large budget.   

With decades of counselling experience at crisis centres and Police Victim Services, in 1985 we discovered that adult counseling youth was not effective in our town, with high suicide levels.

We established a teen crisis centre and provide training for dozens of youth, establishing peer counselling groups in school and communities. Within a year, our teen suicide levels dropped by 75%. This programme is now part of dozens of school curriculum in our town.

Fast forward  to 2005. After discovering high teen  suicide levels in Berbice, friends from Canada, US and Europe  decided to implement a similar program in Berbice, with the previous training manuals, modified for the cultural conditions in Guyana.  

Our funding partners give over US$200,000 for projects, mainly in Berbice.

We choose high risk areas to implement the program, built sport facilities and donated  dozens of sport equipment, including assisting needy families.

A Canadian  company gave us hundreds of  backpacks that they shipped at their cost and we distribute it to single parent students. Berbice, Essequibo, Mabaruma, Parmakatoi, Upper Mazaruni.

Others who came on board to assist were Air Canada, Caribbean Airlines, Scotia bank, Laparkan shipping, Digicel, Telus Canada  as well as numerous individuals in North America and  Europe.

All volunteers paid their own expenses. There were no employees.      

After settling in for the long haul, we provided training in leadership, peer counselling and suicide intervention for hundreds of youth from Mahaica to Skeldon. We also provided transportation cost, with lunch and selected neutral facilitators for the training.

After the training, we selected youth from areas with high suicide levels, provided additional training and established  peer counselling groups.

We were doing well with two school dropouts, who are now teachers. 

This is significant, because they can support their students by telling them  'I know how you feel, because me been there'.

Then the bomb fell. Officials wanted bribes.

When we could not pay their high demands and justifying  it to our funding partners,  they vindictively told those at schools and medical centres not to deal with us.

When the matter was taken to Georgetown, we were told its a local matter and deal with it  locally, with the same people demanding the bribes.

Local officials said they take instructions only from Jagdeo.

When we try to buy a building for a youth counselling centre, the lawyer  who knew our propose and has government connections, bought the place for himself.  

The parents of the youth in Berbice we were trying to assist are totally pissed at the PPP, because we had to abandon our efforts, due to many roadblocks and security concerns.

Also due to delays in making projects  happening in a  timely manner, including an internet wireless system for isolated schools and communities, the remaining funds was routed to a community in the Philippines.

Any NGO working in Guyana will have to deal with government officials, especially when dealing with schools and medical centres.

How can we avoid the bribes, when they are in control of the area ?

When one official left their area they were awarded a more prestigious position, with a higher salary.

Rev, suggested we expose the officials  and we believe it might become legal matter.

Rev did not answer my last question. How do we protect those still in Guyana from intimidation or injury, who have to come forward as witnesses ?  

Since magistrates are appointed by the ruling party, how are we assured a non-biased trial?

Rev,yuji and those supporting the government in Guyana, get off your asses and let us know how we can continue to prevent the youth in Guyana from killing themselves.

President Ramotar should grow some balls and create an atmosphere where these matters can be handled fairly, like they do in Trinidad.

Am I pissed, while children continue to kill themselves in Guyana, with the government doing little...you decide...

This situation contribute to the AFC growing in Berbice and the PPP will be thing of the past. 

Rev, yuji and those in the PPP, if you are really concerned about the youth in Guyana...We have the resources, show us the way with no AHs in our  path...         

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by raymond:

thanks for this post Tola...it shows the problem with jobs, crime etc...these are big challenges, and the Govt has shown no foresight in creating decent paying jobs...imagine after all these years, they can't seem to create anything better than cane cutting

you lie they create REV,NEHRU,YUGI,DEMANTIMAN,CONMAN,A BUNCH OF LOW LIFE COLLIE

Originally Posted by raymond:

you lie they create REV,NEHRU,YUGI,DEMANTIMAN,CONMAN

Who happen to Rev and yuji..looks like de cobra got dem....

Typical of those in the PPP, when confronted, they hide in dem pit latrine.

The people in Berbice are pissed at the PPP.

For these reasons and more, they will lose the next election big time.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

And who says the ordinary man does not know what is going on, only the Jagdeo cabal knows everything?

Azeez Khan, vendor,

‘There are no proper jobs for the people so they have to go and seek betterment in other countries."

It is jobs baby!

What does he mean by "proper jobs"? Laziness in Guyana is becoming an industry there. A friend on mine who had returned to Guyana to build a house gave the contract to a local. Every morning before 7 am the contractor and his men coming out of the rum shop drunk, drunk, drunk. My friend had to abandon the project and return overseas. Another local friend on mine, said that every worker he has hired has robbed him. They also want to tell their employers how much money they would accept before they work. The employers have to feed them as part of the bargain.

Guyanese believe that living overseas is a damn bed of roses and that money comes from a tree.

Tola, don't expect anything from Yugi. He is a dunce he is probably brain damaged for the trench water he drank at #59. Rev needs help himself. He is a depraved perv with a diamond studded dildo.

Originally Posted by Wally:

Berbice needs to be build into a tourist place when Tourists can fly directly there.

The last regional officer said he want to make Berbice the next Singapore...Wha he doing in the PPP central committee ?

First he has to stop people pissing on others mini bus or on  the roadside and when confronted they can get stabbed to death...

Talk is cheap....JUST DO IT.

Originally Posted by Dondadda:

Azeez Khan, vendor,

It is jobs baby!

What does he mean by "proper jobs"? Laziness in Guyana is becoming an industry there. A friend on mine who had returned to Guyana to build a house gave the contract to a local. Every morning before 7 am the contractor and his men coming out of the rum shop drunk, drunk, drunk. My friend had to abandon the project and return overseas. Another local friend on mine, said that every worker he has hired has robbed him. They also want to tell their employers how much money they would accept before they work. The employers have to feed them as part of the bargain.

Guyanese believe that living overseas is a damn bed of roses and that money comes from a tree.

Dadda, like we have the same friends.

Who says the farmers do not know what going on?

Kristy Mangar, farmer,

‘Sometimes bandits come into your homes in high daytime and kill you for nothing. Another factor is the lack of job opportunities.

It is CRIME baby, CRIME!

High crime under Rohee, what a failure.

Agreed that crime is a big factor. Start with all the criminals in the PPP/AFC/APNU/GDF/GPF and the Civil Service including Speaker Trotman. They should all be rounded up and given the death penalty. Maybe, criminality is a new of employment that benefits political parties and their agencies.

Azeez Khan, vendor,

It is jobs baby!

...........................................................................................

We acknowledge work ethics are not the best in Guyana, but what does other governments do about similar situation ? 

Shit starts at the top, what are Guyana leaders like ?

Jagdeo set the worse examples and unfortunately he influenced  the biggest  part of the population...the young people.

In all the developing countries we funded projects, Guyana is the worse.

When voted officials take bribes and nothing is done, the whole dam country become rotten and stink like a dead fish.     

"If you are in a foreign country, like America and you have a $20, you could buy a household ration and still some change left back to buy a shoes, clothes and other things. Now in Guyana, you cannot even buy a weekly ration with $5,000."

This is pure nonsense. Things are cheaper in Guyana  than in the US or Canada when you exchange the currency dollar for dollar. This guy is dreaming.

As well, in the US people have to work like slaves, doing two to three jobs, some waking up at 4 am every morning and returning at night to make ends meet. And they work for minimum wage without benefits. In the US there are no paid holidays.  Rent, mortgage payments and health care are among their biggest expenses. Many US Guyanese are deeply in debt. So think again, you get it too damn good in Guyana.

"If you are in a foreign country, like America and you have a $20, you could buy a household ration and still some change left back to buy a shoes, clothes and other things. Now in Guyana, you cannot even buy a weekly ration with $5,000."

This is pure nonsense. Things are cheaper in Guyana  than in the US or Canada when you exchange the currency dollar for dollar. This guy is dreaming.

As well, in the US people have to work like slaves, doing two to three jobs, some waking up at 4am every morning and returning at night to make ends meet. And they work for minimum wage without benefits. Rent, mortgage payments and health care are among their biggest expenses. So think again, you get too damn good in Guyana.

why yuh think them people in Guyana think life is ah breeze overseasthey gettiing wrong info

As well, in the US people have to work like slaves, doing two to three jobs, some waking up at 4am every morning and returning at night to make ends meet. And they work for minimum wage without benefits. Rent, mortgage payments and health care are among their biggest expenses. So think again, you get too damn good in Guyana.

YOU is a ass,a complete ass.this what you feeding your ppp bottom house supporters.come to Canada and let me show you how guyanese live,you might end up applying for refuge  

Felicia Arthur, food vendor,

"I also think some businesspersons are biased when they are hiring people. When certain persons go to some of the shops for jobs, the owners would pick and choose. For example, one of my cousins went for a job at a shop as a salesgirl the owner turned her down. But when the Indian young lady went he accepted her and that was bad.’"

You think that that is bad, try coming to US or Canada and see if it is better. Stop whining and complaining and be creative - go plant up you garden, get some greens/ vegetables and reduce your expenses and while you are at it bake some bread and cakes.

YOU is a ass,a complete ass.this what you feeding your ppp bottom house supporters.come to Canada and let me show you how guyanese live,you might end up applying for refuge  

Why do you label people whose experiences of reality differs from yours? As I have said before, I do not belong to any political party in Guyana, so unlike you, I do not have to bend over and give the PNC/APNU whatever they like. I came here and worked VERY VERY HARD for what I have and I am thankful for that. Yes, I agree with you that refugees like you get treated better than hardworking people. As matter of fact, I'll go one step further and say that the system is designed for lazy people who rely solely welfare. The middle class is quickly eroding.

Bandits went into our house at Albion last Wednesday and chop my grandmother like a fish. My grandfather took it on and he collapsed and died. .’

The criminals who did this should be caught and given the death penalty or be sent to jail and be given a teaspoon to dig a grave for an elephant. Unfortunately, these very criminals have police, and/or political connections. 

Bandits went into our house at Albion last Wednesday and chop my grandmother like a fish. My grandfather took it on and he collapsed and died. .’

This is indeed very sad. I photographed this lady selling shrimp at PM market. Her family lives on a modest home, bordering on low income. 

They were attacked and robbed  because of seniors visiting them from the United States at  her home at DB.

We assisted her children,who they are too traumatized and their education suffers. Girls who might not have a future.

Under the PPP, Guyana is producing a whole bunch of people with mental illness.

If this insanity is not stopped, there will be little hope for future generations, as the situation propels itself and becomes uncontrollable.

Edit...

Rev and yuji are asses, who contribute to this situation for the poor in Guyana.         

Last edited by Tola
Originally Posted by Tola:

This is indeed very sad. I photographed this lady selling shrimp at PM market. Her family lives on a modest home, bordering on low income. 

They were attacked and robbed  because of seniors visiting them from the United States at  her home at DB.

We assisted her children,who they are too traumatized and their education suffers. Girls who might not have a future.

Under the PPP, Guyana is producing a whole bunch of people with mental illness.

If this insanity is not stopped, there will be little hope for future generations, as the situation propels itself and becomes uncontrollable.

Edit...

Rev and yuji are asses, who contribute to this situation for the poor in Guyana.         

Tola, I happened to know the Rampat fella who died.

.’"

You think that that is bad, try coming to US or Canada and see if it is better. Stop whining and complaining and be creative - go plant up you garden, get some greens/ vegetables and reduce your expenses and while you are at it bake some bread and cakes.

All of these peoploe are employed people, many self employed. You sit down in an economy which is booming by the standards of Guyana and then pronounce all of these people lazy.

When you find one who is unemployed and makes these remarks than you might have a case.  But for all you know many of these people are struggling mightily hard to make a living, and just can't make a go0 of it in Guyana.

What they do notice is that NONE of the overseas based Guyanese who have loads to say about them return to Guyana.  If life is so hard in the USA/Canada why do these Guyanese not only NOT return home, but sponsor their relatives to join them?

The criminals who did this should be caught and given the death penalty or be sent to jail and be given a teaspoon to dig a grave for an elephant. Unfortunately, these very criminals have police, and/or political connections. 

Well thats not going to happen because the PPP has no interest in fighting crime, or in dealing with the poor education system which creates people with inflating expectations, but no skills.

, I'll go one step further and say that the system is designed for lazy people who rely solely welfare. The middle class is quickly eroding.

I assume that you live in Canada because the USA has barely more social supports than Guyana.  In this country if you dont work at some point you will starve.  Those pantries are packed with people for a reason.

.’"

"When you find one who is unemployed and makes these remarks than you might have a case."   

"If life is so hard in the USA/Canada why do these Guyanese not only NOT return home, but sponsor their relatives to join them?"

I never said that all the people are lazy. I said that laziness is becoming an industry in Guyana. Many of today's youths in Guyana from all races do not want to work. Just hang around America Street and by your local rum shops, you will see some of them there. They are not looking for work. For those in the US/Canada who can't make it - they don't want to return because of the crime rate and because they are ashamed to do so. They want to save face. They prefer to go on welfare. Some sponsor their parents to look after their pickneys so that they don't have to pay for daycare.

Azeez Khan, vendor,

It is jobs baby!

YOUR friend was cheap, he chose some sangiwan and annointed them into contractor.  HE LIE.

Guyana got hard working contractors.