Hardship roads at Grove, Naamryck
By FRANCES ABRAHAM | LOCAL | MONDAY, AUGUST 8, 2011

The pothole-filled roads in the communities of Grove and Naamryck are causing hardships and residents are calling on the authorities to undertake urgent repairs.

Several persons have complained about the state of the roads in their communities and during a visit last week to Grove, East Bank Demerara, residents of the Housing Scheme said that while the main access road was resurfaced about two years ago, the side streets have not been upgraded and are deteriorating.

A road in Grove

One woman said that the bad roads are causing transportation difficulties since the taxis operating in the area refuse to go through the deplorable streets. β€œThe cars is just drop you to the head of the street and you is gotta walk in no matter how far down you live,” she said. Another resident, Waveney Allen, said that all eight side streets are filled with potholes. The state of the streets is so bad that it is almost impossible for vehicles to easily traverse the area, she said. β€œMy son got a van and it is high and when you driving through the holes you can hear how it grazing. You can imagine how bad it is for those cars,” she stated. Residents of Matthew Street said that this street is the worst of all and taxis do not even consider driving through the stretch.

Meanwhile, in the village of Naamryck, East Bank Essequibo, one woman, who declined to be named, told Stabroek News that the potholes on the road have caused students to drop-out of school because the fares are high and many times, vehicles do not want to traverse certain areas.

One of the roads in Naamryck, Parika

The road to Naamryck in the Parika Backdam has been repaired many times after constant complaints but has not been paved despite calls for this by residents. The authorities have said that the cost of paving the road is very high. During the rainy season, the road deteriorates. Naamryck has a population of about 500 persons and is a major farming area and residents say they are very much in need of proper infrastructure. They explained that during the rainy season, it is almost impossible to find transportation, as hire car operators refuse to traverse pot-holed streets. This has resulted in a number of school drop-outs in the community. β€œYou know how much children had to stop go school just because of these roads? They can’t go…it ain’t got no way for them to go,” the woman said. In addition, residents said that they do not have access to potable water in their homes and have to resort to using water from the Naamryck trench for their day-to-day purposes. They are calling for these issues to be addressed.

Good Hope, Lusignan residents unhappy with β€œshabby work” on bridge
AUGUST 10, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Residents in the Good Hope and Lusignan Villages, East Coast Demerara are still unhappy with the contractor(s) responsible for the construction of their only access bridge within the two villages. Several months have passed and construction seems to be slow with villagers worrying about the β€œshabby work” being executed. According to residents, the bridge was supposed to have already been completed, but from their understanding the previous contractor was β€œscamming the job”.

Workers applying β€œfinishing touches” to the bridge which links the villages of Good Hope and Lusignan on the East Coast of Demerara.

One man told Kaieteur News that from the information he received, Bovell Construction Company is now in charge of finishing the project, however, in his opinion it is moving along at a slow pace. β€œThey taking their time and doing this. It really bothering we in here, especially when we got to go market on Fridays. We does use this bridge. Now we got to walk all the way round the two villages just to get somewhere to buy greens. We don’t know when they going to finish this” said the frustrated villager.

When Kaieteur News arrived at the site yesterday, workmen were seen carrying out their duties as they β€œhammered” and β€œnailed” at various parts of the wooden structure. One of the workers promised that the bridge would be completed within two days, assuring the media that villagers would be able to utilize the bridge as of tomorrow. Upon hearing this, some of the villagers of Good Hope looked skeptical since they stated that a lot more work needed to be done, which included the application of tar.

β€œWell I doubt they going to done β€˜cause dem still got to tar the whole bridge. Plus dem using the wrong wood. From what we hear is greenheart dem suppose to be using but this company doing cheap thing and is pure hardwood dem using. You gun see in a short time dem got to repair again and nuff millions going to pass for nothing.”

Contractor exposed for shoddy work on N/A roads
AUGUST 11, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

A popular contracting firm in Berbice was exposed for shoddy works done on various roads in the Angoy’s Avenue area in New Amsterdam. Angry residents had voiced their displeasure about the β€œsubstandard works”, particularly to Unity Dam. The residents took Kaieteur News on a tour of the area which revealed the road deteriorating one day after the contractor had worked on it. Pieces of the roadway were falling off and it appeared as if the stipulated materials were not used properly, if at all.

This prompted a visit to the site by Regional Chairman of Region Six, Zulfikar Mustapha, who was summoned to the area on Tuesday. β€œI can’t comprehend what is going on here. It’s very, very unacceptable and I think this whole work has to be overhauledβ€”let me be frank with you”, he told the contractor in front of the residents. Mustapha then began to read the Bill of Quantity aloud for the contractor and it was revealed that there were a number of breaches to the contract.

The contractor (left) is confronted and questioned by Region 6 Chairman Zulfikar Mustapha (right)

β€œSupply, place and compact crusher-run; supply and install 18-inch tube…the roadway should be supplied, placed and compact plate shoulder to grade and [be] lined as indicated in cross-section,” Mustapha read. β€œThis road is unacceptable as I see it here. I am saying the whole work has to be overhauled. And we have to do it according to the Bill of Quantity. Now if you do not have the kind of machinery required, you will have to find the machinery, to grade it, so that the road will not break up or burst away. You as an engineer should know better,” he said.

Mustapha gave the contractor seven days, after which he would revisit the area to see if the stipulated works were carried out. The contractor had nothing to say to all of this. A multi-million-dollar contract was signed a few weeks ago for the renovation of several roads and streets in the Angoy’s Avenue area. This was preceded by a screening process whereby each contractor knew fully well what they were required to do, and the materials that were to be used on the streets.

How could this contractor ever have been under the impression that he could get away with this?! Didn't he realise it is election season too?! Mr Mustapha, just like Dr Misir, has awoken.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
This road, just outside Bartica, was done a year ago at a cost of G$22M - it is presently being redone again:

How many miles is the road? For a paltry 110k US much is not expected. To pave a 100ft by 8ft driveway in the US properly would cost in excess of 10K US if done properly. I suspect the govt is paying for low standard work based on the budget the country can afford. Without a proper layer of crushed rock, elevation of the base, the right thickness and quality of the bitumen the roads will invariably deteriorate. In fact it is proper procedure in the developed world to have a resident engineer monitoring the road building process, checking that the proper material are used and sampling and testing materials in the lab for proper strength and chemical makeup. This apparently is not being done in Guyana as we continue to see roads deteriorate prematurely. The moral of the story is that you get what you pay for. hahhahahhahahha
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
This road, just outside Bartica, was done a year ago at a cost of G$22M - it is presently being redone again:

How many miles is the road? For a paltry 110k US much is not expected. To pave a 100ft by 8ft driveway in the US properly would cost in excess of 10K US if done properly. I suspect the govt is paying for low standard work based on the budget the country can afford. Without a proper layer of crushed rock, elevation of the base, the right thickness and quality of the bitumen the roads will invariably deteriorate. In fact it is proper procedure in the developed world to have a resident engineer monitoring the road building process, checking that the proper material are used and sampling and testing materials in the lab for proper strength and chemical makeup. This apparently is not being done in Guyana as we continue to see roads deteriorate prematurely. The moral of the story is that you get what you pay for. hahhahahhahahha

The moral of the story is the 20 to 30% kickbacks to those handling the contracts.

I see you speak donkey language to your self after your posts. How about adding phhrrp phhrrrppp and you raise youe tail and run. Big Grin panman yippie
More shoddy work on Good Hope/Lusignan bridge
AUGUST 15, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The bridge which interlinks the Good Hope and Lusignan villages on the East Coast of Demerara (ECD) appears to have been abandoned once again, this time by the Bovell Construction Company. On Tuesday, last, workmen of the said company were seen carrying out their duties as they β€œhammered” and β€œnailed” at various parts of the wooden bridge. The workers promised that the bridge would be completed within two days, assuring the media that villagers would be able to utilize the bridge as of Thursday. However, this has proven to be a failed promise.

Residents of the Good Hope Housing Scheme told Kaieteur News that on Wednesday, last, some other persons involved with the project visited the workers at the bridge. β€œOne white pickup come with people and them talk with the men on the bridge who were working. Then a big quarrel start and the people stop working and pack up them things and leave. That was Wednesday. Them not coming to do anything. Them gone,” said one man. Another resident stated that after the confrontation occurred and the workmen left the job undone, there was a huge pile of heavy wood scattered at the ends of the unfinished bridge, preventing any vehicle from using it.

The bridge which links the Good Hope and Lusignan villages, which appears to have been abandoned once again by contractors.

β€œThem leave and it had them big big wood block off the bridge and we around here had to come out and lift it and put it in the corner just to use the bridge. It ain’t done. We hear is $3M them get to do the bridge and look what cheap things them use, is not even worth $1M. It ain’t even got railing on one side!” The villagers are wondering when the bridge will finally be completed since it is an inconvenience to everyone for various reasons. Some vehicle operators have to drive all the way around the village to access their streets, and children are put at risk and other persons are being affected from visiting the market on the Public Road since they have to walk a far distance now.

β€œThe bridge was wider. Them should make a lil walkway for pedestrians cause when vehicle and car them passing some don’t wait. We children them could get knock down and thing. Them lessen the width of the bridge and ain’t doing nothing?” complained one mother. Reports are that this bridge has been under construction since February, but the work of the previous contractor was unsatisfactory. As a result, the Bovell Construction Company became the new contractors responsible for finishing the project, though it appears as if this company has also abandoned their job. (Kristen Macklingam)

And the AFC will fix all these problems and still have money left over to fill their pockets and that of Sase their resident beacon of corruption. ahahhahahha And lowering vat at the same time. I tell you, they are a bunch of snake oil salesmen. ahahhahahah

You had a bowl of kouncy for supper. You spew some now only to come back in the morning to spew the rest.

OPen yuh mouth leh me teck wan dump deh.
HEHEHE Sase the NEW STANDARD in great governance. yippie yippie partybanana Despite being a FAILED individual. KFC looking at the bottom of the barret for their "Talent". Yes I can see the Guyanese People bolying to "Change" for the WORST. I strongly think these KFC Snakeoil Salesmen not only think that Guyanese are Stupid but also have No RESPECT for the Guyanese People. They will find out the wisdom and intelligence of the Guyanese People in about two months.
And the AFC will fix all these problems and still have money left over to fill their pockets and that of Sase their resident beacon of corruption. ahahhahahha And lowering vat at the same time. I tell you, they are a bunch of snake oil salesmen. ahahhahahah
Originally posted by Nehru:
HEHEHE Sase the NEW STANDARD in great governance. yippie yippie partybanana Despite being a FAILED individual. KFC looking at the bottom of the barret for their "Talent". Yes I can see the Guyanese People bolying to "Change" for the WORST. I strongly think these KFC Snakeoil Salesmen not only think that Guyanese are Stupid but also have No RESPECT for the Guyanese People. They will find out the wisdom and intelligence of the Guyanese People in about two months.

They are very wise indeed, even when they vote PPP, they don't give up on that US visa. Smart people.
Third contractor trying to finish Good Hope/Lusignan Bridge
AUGUST 19, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

After numerous issues arose about the construction of the Good Hope/Lusignan Bridge where its two previous contractors were accused of executing β€œshoddy works”, the Ministry of Local Government has recruited a third construction company to complete the project. Kaieteur News understands that the contract has now been awarded to Lall’s Construction Company and work is scheduled to commence shortly.

A third contractor will try his hand at the Good Hope/Lusignan bridge

Marlon Lall, the owner of the company, yesterday told Kaieteur News that he was approached by the Local Government Ministry earlier in the week to β€œdo the contract”. The contractor explained that the project requires greenheart, which has to be ordered a few days in advance, since it takes a little time in which to be obtained. Lall assured that this was already done and the material should be at the location by today where workmen from his company will begin executing their duties.

The entire structure which residents refer to as a β€œshabby bridge” will have to be completely broken down and construction will have to start from scratch. β€œThe whole bridge will have to break down and by this time next week or next weekend the bridge we’re building will be complete. I really don’t know how much money I am being paid as yet, because it is only the other day the Ministry call and ask me to do the work. I trying to help the people of these villages, but I know is less than $3M I’ll get paid,” said Lall.

While most residents are relieved that the bridge will finally be completed and the work is expected to be of β€œexcellent quality” some are still skeptical as to why the construction of a β€œsimple bridge” would pose such problems to Government and contractors. β€œWho is going to monitor the works by this other contractor (Lall) to make sure he doing the right thing and doesn’t do what the others did?” questioned one resident.

Previously, the contract for the bridge was awarded to the Bovell Construction Company, where the works suddenly came to a halt after the contract was withdrawn due to β€œsubstandard work”. This proved to be a nuisance and inconvenience to the residents in the two villages since this was the only bridge that linked the areas and would be utilised quite often by school children and vehicle operators. Residents say that the first contractor is only known to them as Mr. Narine.

Construction of Good Hope Well on the move once again
AUGUST 16, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

After failed attempts to construct a well at Good Hope, East Coast Demerara (ECD), workers are once more trying to establish the much-needed facility which is β€œlong in coming”. Residents in the area have complained that many months have passed since work began to build the said well, however, it came to a standstill after workmen found difficulty in executing their duties. The noise from the drilling has constantly been affecting persons who live in surrounding sections of the village. Though the residents understand that this nuisance must be endured, they are wondering how much longer they will have to tolerate it.

Equipment at Good Hope, East Coast Demerara, where the new well is to be established.

β€œWe know we have to bear it. The well suppose to do good and give we water and such but how long we have to bear this noise I don’t know. They suppose to done dig this thing long now. From what we hear, the first set of workmen come and get problems, the well like it start cave in and everything squash. This next set of workers come and starting all over” said one man.

Another villager complained that this issue only adds to the woes faced by residents of the Good Hope since the village is already experiencing problems that are affecting them. β€œThis only adding to we worries. First we getting’ nuff potholes in all the streets. Big, big hole that only getting bigger and when it rain it is worse than ever. Then we get the bridge that on and off. They gun never done build it. Now is this well. Wha’ next?”

Kaieteur News further understands that the noise from the machinery affects not only senior citizens but also babies in the area who frequently wake up from their sleep after drilling commences.

Excerpt from: Belvedere By SHABNA ULLAH | FEATURES, SUNDAY | SUNDAY, JULY 10, 2011
URL to article

"State of village

Residents love living in the village but were concerned about the deplorable condition of a section of the access road to the Belvedere Primary School. During the rainy season the street which also provides access to the cemetery and the Belvedere Industrial Site located in the nearby Hampshire Village is almost impassable.

They were pleased that some of the other streets had been fixed, although they did not think that they had been done to the required standard they should have been. They said too that the drains are clogged with thick bushes and when it rains sections of the area are flooded.

Access street to the primary school

The residents said too that the Belvedere Primary School is in a terrible condition and badly needs fixing. They noted as well that the vendors have no proper place to sell and have been operating from a classroom. Another concern of businesspersons is that the authorities pulled down the small signboards in the village but left those belonging to the larger businesses."

After this article, this is how the roads were repaired using sand and stones:

Good Hope Well at standstill, bridge completed
AUGUST 24, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The well at Good Hope, East Coast Demerara (ECD) which is β€œlong in coming” seems now to be at a standstill. After failed attempts to construct the well, the workers were once more trying to complete their job, however, residents told Kaieteur News that a problem developed shortly after and operations ceased. Residents in the area had complained that many months passed since work began to construct the said well, and this came to a halt after workmen found difficulty in executing their duties.

The machinery parked at the location where the well was being constructed.

When this newspaper visited the worksite yesterday, the camping area where the workmen were previously staying was locked and not a soul was in sight. One resident explained that he understands that the workmen had internal issues and abruptly ceased operations at the site. β€œMe ain’t know what happen really. In fact none ah we know. Now we bridge done and we get a next headache… this well that seem to never be finishing. We hear that dem workmen who was staying here got problems between themselves and de company, and dey just stop work and pack up. They close off camp and gone. It’s the same six for nine anyhow.”

Meanwhile the residents of Good Hope and Lusignan, East Coast Demerara (ECD) can now breathe sighs of relief as works on the bridge which interlinks the two villages have finally been completed as of yesterday. This bridge which has been the centre of attention for many months now, posed problems for its two previous contractors. The first contractor known to residents as β€œMr. Narine” had abandoned the job and the contract was then handed over to Bovell Construction Company, where the works suddenly came to a halt after the contract was withdrawn due to β€œsubstandard work”.

The Good Hope/ Lusignan Bridge which after many months has finally been completed and is now open to the public.

The contract was re-awarded to Lall’s Construction Company to complete the project. Marlon Lall, owner of the company, had given assurances that within one week after works began the bridge would be completed. His prediction was accurate. The entire structure which residents referred to as a β€œshabby bridge” was completely dismantled and yesterday afternoon residents told this newspaper that the newly finished bridge was officially opened to the public.

Oh my god? I used to use that road to go to Kwakwani and never in the history of my life I have seen that road like that. Shame, Shame on the PPP in their oppression of Region 10 people.

Recently repaired road
By STABROEK STAFF |
LETTERS | WEDNESDAY, JUNE 15, 2011

Dear Editor,

Below is a picture of a recently repaired road in Ituni, Region 10 taken on June 7, 2011 at 7am. I hope the millions that Minister Benn pledged to the Linden-Ituni road would not go to waste like this.

Yours faithfully,
(Name and
address provided)

Stalled $600M complex could be completed by year-end - Nadir
AUGUST 23, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

The multi-million-dollar complex being constructed at High and Princes Streets, where the Guyana Broadcasting Corporation (GBC) was once located, could be completed by year-end, Minister of Labour Manzoor Nadir said yesterday. The building has been under construction for some three years. The original contract sum was $600 million. Construction was put in the hands of different contractors. However, at the moment, the building remains incomplete, and there is no work going on.

Three years later and this government complex is yet to be completed.

Nadir said he, along with Minister of Finance Dr Ashni Singh, have been tasked by Cabinet to look into the completion of the building. Nadir said not a lot of work remains, and he is confident it could be ready by year-end. At first, the government had said that the building would be used to house the Ministry of Labour, Human Services and Social Security. But that decision was abandoned. When the Ministry of Health was burned down, it was said that the building would, when completed, be used to house that Ministry.

However, it was later indicated that the building would be used to house several government departments, to ease the rent the government pays for the use of several buildings around the city. Later, it was suggested that the building could house offices of the Guyana Revenue Authority, but with the building incomplete, nothing materialised in that regard. Yesterday, Nadir said that at this time, the building is earmarked to house government offices. What has been built of the 65,000-sq ft. complex, is now surrounded by thick bush.

When will GWI works in Queenstown be completed?
By STABROEK STAFF | LETTERS | THURSDAY, AUGUST 25, 2011

Dear Editor,

It has been just over one month since GWI began works in the Queenstown area without informing residents. The attached taken on August 24 speaks for itself. Will we get relief soon? What about restoration works (bridges, etc, ripped up)?

Yours faithfully,
(Name and address provided)

$130M Diamond road upgrades…. Three months past deadline, residents still suffering
AUGUST 27, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Six months after the heartening development of $130M in contracts being signed on February 8, last, for road upgrades and repairs in the new Diamond Housing Scheme, East Bank Demerara, residents are now peeved and expressing utter disgust that they are not receiving value for their dollar as residents, but more importantly, taxpayers. The contracts, which were inked by a representative of GuyCo Construction and General Services and Romel Jagroop, stipulated that First to Sixth Avenues were to be completed within the project time of three months. This period has obviously elapsed.

Kaieteur News understands that the two contractors were given separate operations where one was to complete from First to Third Avenue, and the other from Fourth to Sixth Avenue. However, when a check was made of the roads, from First to Third Avenues were less than 75% complete, while from Fourth to Sixth there was even more work to be done. When this newspaper visited the Diamond Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC) to enquire about the contractors and their work which was attracting complaints by residents, a female overseer said that the Chairman was not in the country and a number that was given for the Acting Chairman, provided a exercise in futility since after the first ring it was later turned off.

This is the state of a section of Sixth Avenue which was supposed to be completed three months after the contact was given out in early February.
According to Mahadeo Deokinandan of Diamond, after enduring years of indescribable inconvenience and uncertainty, he was happy that the roads in sections of the new Diamond Housing Scheme would be upgraded and repaired. Adding that this was disclosed to him at a meeting earlier in the year at the Diamond Secondary School, he said the Minister of Housing and Water had indicated that the six avenues of Section A Block X would be upgraded with concrete asphalt, while seven of the cross streets would be bitumen covered.

β€œWe were informed that the specifications for these works would be freely accessible to all residents by visiting the NDC’s office and making a request to Mr Ron Robinson, who was introduced as the area representative in this regard,” Deokinandan noted. However, he noted that when checks at the NDC were made, a representative said that the specifications and any information pertaining to the project could not be provided. β€œIn fact, I was told by a member of the NDC that the Minister of Housing and Water was wrong to have informed residents that we could freely access these specifications.”

In further explaining that while the roadworks were being carried out, it was noted that the roads were supposed to be covered with two inches of thick asphalt, Deokinandan said when the surfacing of First Avenue commenced, and he spoke to the person in charge of the operation, he was told that the concrete asphalt cover would be two inches thick as on the main access road to the scheme. β€œTo date, only one layer of this material, which is less than two inches, was applied. There was no indication or information suggesting that another layer would be applied.” He said checks of Second to Sixth Avenues revealed that workers were merely filling potholes and covering these with bitumen.

Upon enquiry, residents were told that the avenues other than First Avenue would not be completely resurfaced, and the works only included the filling and sealing of potholes. According to concerned residents, this was not what was related by the Minister of Housing, since they were told that the roads are expected to be redone with the use of asphaltic concrete and double digitmeanous service treatment (DDST). In addition, priority was to be given to the areas under the project with more than 75 per cent occupancy rate. However, a check of most of the inside roads between Second to Sixth Avenues revealed that there are machines being used along with sand, loam, crush-and-run, and tar, but the main avenues which are supposed to be completed by now are still in a state of disrepair. These roads, residents noted, were to be upgraded to asphalted concrete.

Minister Ali had urged residents to take care of the roads when completed, and he called on them to β€œbecome part and parcel of the development process and wave of change that is expected to grip these communities”. He said he wanted residents to β€˜own the process’ and to realise that the buck stops with them. β€œWe want you residents to be integrally involved, and so you must become monitors of the final process and work that will be done by these contractors. However the residents said when requesting information from the NDC and contractors they were not privy to any information about what was being done. Efforts to contact the contractors failed, while the NDC, as indicated, was of no assistance.

Road conditions in Kaneville have residents steaming
SEPTEMBER 8, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Residents of a small upcoming community, Kaneville, East Bank Demerara, say Government has turned a blind eye and has not been repairing and maintaining several main roads in the area. Responding to complaints, this newspaper visited that community which is east of Samatta Point and the Grove Housing Scheme. Residents complained that they are gravely disappointed over the situation.

The craters on Cemetery Road, Kaneville.

According to one resident, President Bharrat Jagdeo, during a community meeting in 2004, challenged the residents there to hold the government to task as $250M has been earmarked to be spent on drains and roads, electricity and water. The promises of the Head of State were questioned.

According to one resident, who would only give her name as Roxanne, the state of the roads has caused many parents in the area to be worried. Many taxi-drivers refuse to drive through the roads. β€œWhen me daughters coming home late from work, taxis don’t want drop dem. Me husband does go till out on de road for them and they does have to walk in.” One taxi driver, Mark, complained of constantly being stuck in the craters. More often, the vehicles ending up in the workshop constantly.

Robin’s Street, Fourth Field, Kaneville.

Deputy Chairman of the Grove/Diamond Neighbourhood Democratic Council (NDC), Shyam Doodnauth, on Tuesday hung up the phone when questioned on the plans for the road. Except the main access road linking the East Bank Demerara public road to Kaneville, all the side streets are in a terrible state. The residents also complained that a $2M bridge linking Second and Third Field in Kaneville had started to deteriorate just a few years after being completed.

Accabre Drive residents call for urgent road repairs
By STABROEK STAFF | LOCAL | THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 8, 2011

Residents of Accabre Drive, Kara Kara, Linden are calling for the rehabilitation of their road which they say has been neglected for more than 15 years despite regular promises. Accabre Drive is one of the oldest areas in Kara Kara with approximately 25 houses facing a single lane. In its history the street was never paved and is in a deplorable condition today. Residents say they have been lobbying the local and national authorities but their pleas keep falling on deaf ears. According to Zola Layne, who has been living in the area for more than 12 years, approximately three to four weeks ago she was in contact with Regional Chairman Mortimer Mingo as regards the rehabilitation of the road. Another resident said she had dialogue with Mingo since January this year but to date nothing has been done.

Contacted, Mingo said residents had approached him voicing their concerns about the state of the road. He said he had informed them that Accabre Drive was slated to be rehabilitated under the President’s project. Mingo said he had informed the persons, based on information from the Ministry of Works, that the road would have been done. He said he has since learnt from the engineer in the Works Ministry that a check would be made to confirm whether the work had started and if not, the firm that was contracted since January 2011 would be penalized in line with the contract agreement. There was no indication of how soon this would be done or if and when a new contractor would be taken on to do the work.

A section of the pothole-laced Accabre Drive in Mackenzie, Linden.

Layne referred to incidents where cars suffered damage to their undercarriage. There were occasions when persons fell because of the condition of the road and it is worse when it rains. Traversing the road at night is also challenging because of the risk of being bitten by reptiles or insects. Persons said they would usually wade through the water-filled potholes and would have to compete with vehicles for the best spots.

Another resident who opted not to be named said that she has been living in the area well over 25 years and has never seen any work done. She said the road is usually treated as a track or passageway. Both she and Layne said that contractors rehabilitating nearby streets would stockpile their materials in Accabre Drive, without even taking the initiative of grading the road. β€œWhen the new hospital was being built, the sand trucks used Accabre Drive to transport sand and stones and other material to the site,” a resident said.

The hardship is also felt by residents who are owners of vehicles. They said that their maintenance cost is very high and money is wasted on washing their vehicles. β€œI have a handicap sister and I can’t even take her out to get some fresh air in her wheelchair as the conditions make it challenging for you to manoeuvre the chair,” a resident complained.

Residents have tried to maintain the road through self help but underscore the need for urgent professional intervention. Lawrence Simon who has been a resident of the area for more than 40 years said that during the most recent cabinet outreach Minister Jennifer Westford and other officials had walked the length of the street with residents and indicated that the road would have been included in the president’s multi-million-dollar infrastructural programme.

Shoddy road works cost Linden municipality a fortune
SEPTEMBER 10, 2011 | BY KNEWS | FILED UNDER NEWS

Substandard road and drainage works on both the Mackenzie and Wismar shore, have been raising the ire of Linden residents and the Interim Management Committee Chairman Orrin Gordon and other major stakeholders for some time now. Yesterday the IMC Chairman himself took media operatives on a tour of the community to highlight the worst of the infrastructural works that were recently carried out.

The road is collapsing one month after construction

Some of the worst rehabilitated roads are located in the heart of Linden, and intersect with a major thoroughfare in the community, Greenheart Street. Potaro Road and Dageraad Avenue were both rehabilitated less than a month ago, but the deterioration that is already clearly evident would suggest otherwise. As with most of the new infrastructural works in Linden, erosion has already begun to take place. This erosion is further exacerbated by the clogged drain which runs parallel to Greenheart Street and which overflows whenever it rains.

Gordon said that the clogged drain results from the very drain cleaning exercise undertaken by D&I workers. The workers would deposit the silt on the shoulders of the road. The material washes right back into the drain whenever it rains. Well Road in South Amelia’s Ward was done less than two months ago, and already huge chunks of the road edge have β€˜broken off’. There are also gaps between the road and the drains where water collects instead of flowing straight into the drains. It was pointed out by Gordon areas where the erosion has begun to undermine the drain itself.

Further down the road on a turn, water overflows into a resident’s yard threatening the foundation of her house, whenever it rains. The woman said that she has lived at the location for over 22 years and was never affected by water β€˜rushing down’ into her yard, even though there were no drains. β€œSince we get this new road we getting this problem. In the past, the water was used to subside in the sand, but as we get the drain, we glad for the drain to carry the water where it suppose to go. β€œBut they aren’t properly done, so they’re overflowing and eroding the area. Now we got to prop up and try to save we foundation. β€œThe erosion is terrible, cause if you notice all the edges of the road going, because of the substandard work, and now instead of the water running in the drain, it running at the side of the drain. So is only a matter of time before the drain breaks in” the woman pointed out.

There is a depression in the drain right opposite to where the woman lives, where the water collects and overflows. Revetment using huge slabs had to be erected down the road to stem the flow of water into other residents’ yards. Gordon pointed out that most of the substandard work that is now so prevalent in Linden is due to the fact that the works are executed with no consultation with the relevant stakeholders, and as a result there is no supervision of these projects. The materials used in the construction of the roads are also of questionable content, he added, while noting that none of the roads was done with double bituminous surface treatment. Instead, they were done with a mix of sand and laterite. Poorly constructed is how he described the roads.

In Central Amelia’s Ward, some 33 kilometers of β€˜red road’ is presently under construction. This road intersects with the highway about a mile from the newly constructed police outpost. Gordon questioned the wisdom of constructing a back road which connects directly with the Soesdyke/Linden Highway far beyond the police outpost.