Not sure what's happening to the wordpress blogging environment on this particular thread, but I thought it would be helpful to recreate it as it is difficult to read as is.

So here goes.

This is Chief's original post

T &T has 25,884 Guyanese illegals

OCTOBER 15, 2014 · BY STAFF WRITER · 19 COMMENTS   NEXT ARTICLE »

Print

(Trinidad Express) Oil- and gas-rich Trinidad and Tobago remains a land of opportunity and currently serves as a haven for 110,012 illegal immigrants.

“You are talking about over ten per cent of your adult population,” National Security Minister Gary Griffith said following the National Security Ministry’s release of the “alarming statistics” yesterday.

Asked if there had been an increase in the number of illegal immigrants in recent years, Griffith said the problem did not start overnight.

“It is just that I am opening this Pandora’s box. And I intend to put an end to it. It is totally unacceptable,” he said.

This disturbingly high number of illegal immigrants comes primarily from 16 countries, of which only six are members of Caricom.

The highest number of illegal immigrants comes from Guyana—25,884; followed by Jamaica.

There are 19,500 Jamaicans living here illegally, while Venezuela has 10,574 illegal immigrants residing here. Next in line are people from St Vincent—9,606; Barbadians—7,169; Grenadians—6,947; Colombians—6,388; Chinese—4,593; Filipinos—4,437; St Lucians—4,391; Indians—3,651; Dominican Republic—2,256; Surinamese—1,944; Cubans—1,434; Nigerians—1,071; and Bangladeshis—167.

Griffith said he was not on a “witch hunt”.

But, he said he had met a very “untidy situation” and he intended to deal with all aspects of national security.

He said once Immigration officials are able to locate people, they are deported back to their country.

8 hours ago

There are no ILLEGALS in the Caribbean.  It is called Freedom of Travel.  It is in the Constitution of Caricom, go check it out.

1 second ago

Pandit, Chief posted an article from a newspaper source. I would take the time to check official sources over the term "illegal immigrants" as it relates to Trinidad and CARICOM Nationals. Google is free when Last Ii checked.

Anyhow, here's what it says the Trinidad government site says about the CSME (Caribbean Single Market Economy) and the free movement of CARICOM Nationals.

Who has the right to Free Movement?

The first requirement is that you must be a CARICOM national; that is you must be a citizen, native or resident of a CARICOM state or a company formed under the laws of Member States as a “CARICOM Company”.  You can qualify for the Right to Free Movement under three broad categories:

Wage-earners – Persons who wish to work for a company or organization in another member state.

Self EmployedNon wage-earners seeking to provide services on a temporary basis.

Self EmployedNon wages-earners seeking to exercise the Right of Establishment

The Trinidad government BTW is using the term illegal immigrants from Guyana.

Nehru jumped on to Chief's post with a smarmy look on his face thinking hew will embarrass Chief. He is yet to respond to my post. Boo hoo.........oh wait, he's at Liberty Express wid dem odda anti-men.

Thank you Kari for the Info. Now Al YUh see what I man talkin bout. People who are willing to EARN a Wage will go the the moon if necessary.

Why Guyanese have to flood the Carribean to see the moon?Like the moon don't shine in Guyana.

Thank you Kari for the Info. Now Al YUh see what I man talkin bout. People who are willing to EARN a Wage will go the the moon if necessary.

Why Guyanese have to flood the Carribean to see the moon?Like the moon don't shine in Guyana.

Pollution blocking the Moon from guyanese.