August 22,2016  Source

President David Granger during his visit to officially open the 2016 Berbice Expo on Friday, August 20, 2016,  highlighted that Berbice has the undeniable potential to become a tourism hub.He posited that “people can come to see your magnificent tourist product, something that is ignored”.Mention was made of the attractions that would bring tourists to the ancient county, “the wetlands, the national bird comes from the wetlands, the Canje Pheasant”.

The President said since it is one of the rarest birds, tourists would be in “awe” to visit and catch a glimpse at the magnificence of the Canje Pheasant. He also highlighted the fact that there is such diversity in the races across the county.The Guyanese leader pointed out that Berbice has a richness that no other region has  with its vast Agricultural accomplishments, and talented people “you have produced some of the world’s finest cricketers, so you have talent”.

The president believes that the region is still faced with several challenges as a result of a dwindling population, “migration is hurting this region.”According to the President, region six has benefited more than  any other region with more resources being pumped there to foster it’s growth, pointing to the construction of roads and bridges, a university campus, hospitals and much more.

He charged to the Regional Administration , the Central Corentyne Chambers and the private and public sector to come up with possible solutions to the issues facing the region.“You have to develop an economic model which evens out through the good years and the bad years and you have to diversify,” he reasoned.

August 22,2016

President David Granger on Friday called for an action plan for the Corentyne, which he said has the potential to afford its residents a good life.

Booths at the Berbice Expo and Trade Fair

Speaking at the Central Corentyne Chamber of Commerce’s (CCCC) 12th annual Berbice Expo and Trade Fair at the Albion Sports Complex, the President said, “The Corentyne is diverse. The Corentyne is Guyana's agricultural heartland.”

According to the President, although Region Six is a vast region and is gifted with a strong production base and an abundance of talent, the region's population continues to decline tremendously. He said civil society and non-governmental organisations should ask themselves why people are turning their backs on what is potentially a rich region.

He said he does not have the answer, but believes that, "When things were good, good prices for sugar, good prices for rice, we did not think of diversifying the economy. So when the prices declined it was too late to change and they had no reserves."

However, he said citizens need to change. "Once you are depending on rice and sugar, even if you get a good price one year, sooner or later the prices will fall," he stated. He urged citizens to develop an economic model which evens out between the good years and the bad years. “You have to diversify," he charged. "You have to introduce new technologies. You need new economic ventures, new employment opportunities, new strategies."

He called on officials, leaders and organisations in the region to put their heads together in order to put the Corentyne's tremendous resources to work and make the entire region a prosperous and productive one.

"Corentyne, you can enjoy sustained growth and give your people a good life, if you are prepared to make that change; if you are prepared to examine your tremendous potential and put your resources to work for you," he exhorted. "East Berbice Corentyne needs to start planning if it is to translate the economic potential of this great region into economic prosperity."

He suggested that the plan be based on information. He stressed that in order to make informed decisions information is needed. He also told persons gathered, that the region needs to be innovative in order to develop further. He encouraged citizens to court investment from overseas-based Guyanese. "You must bring back the people who have accumulated capital if you want to develop the business section in this region,” he stressed.

Meanwhile President of the CCCC Mohamed Raffik explained that the expo has evolved over the years despite numerous challenges. However, he stated that there will always be room for growth. "We would like to see the expo a bit more diverse and bigger," he said.

In his presentation to the gathering, he stated that Guyana needs to boost diversification in its economy. However, according to Raffik, this will only happen when citizens of the country are willing to be imaginative and think outside of the box.

He called on local business owners to use the expo and trade fair as a marketing tool for their companies, adding that over 20,000 persons attended the expo last year.Also in attendance at the opening ceremony were Minister of Business Dominic Gaskin, Regional Chairman David Armogan and other top officials.The region's top students at the National Grade Six Assessment were recognized and awarded plaques.

The Berbice Expo and Trade Fair, which opened on Friday and ended yesterday was held under the theme, ‘Promoting Entrepreneurship for a Diversified Economy.’

Granger likes to crap.He needs to explain to the Berbicians what they need to diversify to and what markets are available. He should tell them to wait for the oil. 

Banna are you fuh real,after two decades the Region got effective Local Gov't suh what them Bhais doing waiting on Central Gov't to hold them hand and show them what to do.

Bhai looks like you stuck in the Commie mode.

I got a small business you think the State tells me what to do,I got to  find the work to keep the doors open.

Granger likes to crap. He needs to explain to the Berbicians what they need to diversify to and what markets are available. He should tell them to wait for the oil. 

No he needs to ask Berbicians why they voted for idiots who had 23 years to encourage the diversification of Berbice, but instead chose to bail out a failing industry. 

Look at how much could have gone instead into developing other agricultural,  and agro industrial sectors!  Yes loans, fiscal incentives and technical assistance. 

Instead it went to Skeldon, because the PPP cannot think beyond our 1946 economy which consisted of the exports of RAW sugar, rice, gold, bauxite and timber.  Doesn't it embarrass you that after 23 years of PPP rule our economy is the same one that we had as a British colony?