I remember that day Sir David Rose died. One, it was my father's birthday. Two, my buddy Stewartville friend and I had gone to Monarch cinema in Anna Catharina to watch an Indian movie. Three, on the public road near the cinema an old hire car had knocked down an old man. His brain had oozed out of a crack on his skull onto the dusty road. It was the first time I had seen what human brain looks like. Four, while drinking a Puma beverage in the shop nextdoor to Monarch, I heard on the shop radio the news of Sir David's demise. Sunday November 10, 1969.

I remember David Rose. In 1953, after the Suspension of the Constitution, him and a Contingement of Colonial Police surrounded our house. He knocked on the double panelled door at 3.00am. My father opened the door as he was told it may happen, he expected the read search warrant. My two brothers and I were hustled out of bed. My mother quickly picked up the jute bags that spread out on the floor.

David Rose supervised the search, they were looking for a Big Red Flag that had the stitched words "PPP MEETING", flew where ever and whenever there was a PPP meeting in West Berbice. Subversive materials were neither found. If only they had checked for loose floor boards.

He (Rose) was a Guyanese. Some years later, just before Independence, he ran into my father (a chance meeting). For over ten years my father was  unemployed, he lost his job at the sugar factory. Leaving Mazaruni after his release as a Political Detainee, he was served tranpass notices on all sugar plantations. After a brief conversation, Rose handed him a note. He presented the note to the Ministry of Transport. Immediately he started at the Transport and Harbour Department on the road gang. He stayed on the job until his untimely death.     

I remember that day Sir David Rose died. One, it was my father's birthday. Two, my buddy Stewartville friend and I had gone to Monarch cinema in Anna Catharina to watch an Indian movie. Three, on the public road near the cinema an old hire car had knocked down an old man. His brain had oozed out of a crack on his skull onto the dusty road. It was the first time I had seen what human brain looks like.

Four,while drinking a Puma beverage in the shop nextdoor to Monarch, I heard on the shop radio the news of Sir David's demise. Sunday November 10, 1969.

That got to be Timmy shop.

I remember that day Sir David Rose died. One, it was my father's birthday. Two, my buddy Stewartville friend and I had gone to Monarch cinema in Anna Catharina to watch an Indian movie. Three, on the public road near the cinema an old hire car had knocked down an old man. His brain had oozed out of a crack on his skull onto the dusty road. It was the first time I had seen what human brain looks like.

Four,while drinking a Puma beverage in the shop nextdoor to Monarch, I heard on the shop radio the news of Sir David's demise. Sunday November 10, 1969.

Never knew the man's name but I think he profited immensely by being positioned alongside Monarch. His shop got plenty customers every day. As any good economist would conclude: location, location, location.

If the shop was West of Monarch then the owner name was Ramsarran  also known as Sunday.  He was a bulding.. contractor .

Correct !!!

Correct !!!

Also known  as Sundar.  

Timmy shop was our hang out spot , we started imbibing in wine mixed with beer in big glass mug. He married my second cousin from Campbellville.

Correct !!!

Also known  as Sundar.  

That's the name he is known. Another hang out spot for beer in the 80's.

Sir David Rose was my dad’s God Brother!  He and his wife visited us a few times!  I remember he always had security around him!

The morning when we heard of his death my mom was taking us all to Indra Mahal Cinema to see Do Kaliyan!

Do you remember crying like a Baby during that Movie?

Murga Murgee pray dah dheh dheh

Opposite Monarch Cinema , one of my senior friend had a shop selling popcorn and ice cream, also there was pool tables.

Some good memories at Monarch cinema. Me believe an insurance agent  guy lived with his family in a small house near your friend. The family moved, but the house was still there until last year.   Was that red Charlie wine.

Sir David Rose was my dad’s God Brother!  He and his wife visited us a few times!  I remember he always had security around him!

The morning when we heard of his death my mom was taking us all to Indra Mahal Cinema to see Do Kaliyan!

Do you remember crying like a Baby during that Movie?

Murga Murgee pray dah dheh dheh

Nah. Mi mudda is di one dozz cry.  Me just watch the show wid the fighting sisters!

Several great sons of Guyana were born in the vicinity of Unity Village, Mahaica, ECD.  Sir David Rose is one of them.  His father Dr. F.G. Rose is buried there alongside his mother in the compound of Mahaica Hospital.  I have always wondered why David Rose isn’t buried there with his parents instead of Botanic Gardens.

Mi ‘gree! That banna deh lonely deh.  Is Burnham choice for 7-ponds and he fambly agree!

Tola posted:

Opposite Monarch Cinema , one of my senior friend had a shop selling popcorn and ice cream, also there was pool tables.

Some good memories at Monarch cinema. Me believe an insurance agent  guy lived with his family in a small house near your friend. The family moved, but the house was still there until last year.   Was that red Charlie wine.

The wine was Muscatel. My friend used to rent the spot ,later the owner demolished the old building and new building became a rum shop. You will know him he is popular in the village , owned hire car and other business.

Tola posted:

The wine was Muscatel. My friend used to rent the spot ,later the owner demolished the old building and new building became a rum shop. You will know him he is popular in the village , owned hire car and other business.

Our choice in Berbice was red Charlie wine at Belvedere Inn, that was once a sugar workers co-op store in 1956.

A brother once took me to a wedding at WC and we later had some beers at a place near Monarch.  Must be the same place where Gilly went, but I was roaming the oceans by this time, looking fa de Bounty ancestors.  

During my last visit to Catherina, I took photos of all the old buildings on both sides of the road, because that was what I remember. We also visited the late policeman Khan family, who is related to our family. No me na jain family with Amral.    

Several great sons of Guyana were born in the vicinity of Unity Village, Mahaica, ECD.  Sir David Rose is one of them.  His father Dr. F.G. Rose is buried there alongside his mother in the compound of Mahaica Hospital.  I have always wondered why David Rose isn’t buried there with his parents instead of Botanic Gardens.

Mi ‘gree! That banna deh lonely deh.  Is Burnham choice for 7-ponds and he fambly agree!

Not lonely anymore. Sir David has Desmond Hoyte and Martin Carter buried next to himself. And Papa Burnham on higher ground within earshot.