Remigrants ask Court to order GRA return detained SUVs

September 3, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Three days after their two Sport Utility Vehicles (SUVs) were detained by the Guyana Revenue Authority, a remigrant couple has moved to the Court to have them returned.

The two vehicles being taken voluntarily on Saturday to the GRA’s bond at the Eccles Industrial Site, EBD.

The constitutional action filed by lawyers for Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan asked for court orders to be granted, and directed to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), quashing the decision over the weekend  to detain two Lexus LX 570 motor vehicles, registration numbers, PRR 8398 and PRR 8399.
According to the Brijnanans, both vehicles were imported by them after their application for remigration status was approved by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs on 3rd July, 2013, and tax exemptions granted by GRA via a letter dated 8th July, 2013.
The court action said that the grounds of the seizures were “arbitrary”, “unreasonable”, in breach of their legitimate expectations and of the provisions of the Customs Act, and was unlawful.
The Brijnanans are being represented by attorneys-at-law Robin Hunte, Ganesh Hira and Manoj Narayan.
In their claims, the couple said they have homes in Number 61 Village, Berbice, and at Continental Park, East Bank Demerara, and that they were United States residents since 1997, acquiring citizenship in 2003.
“During the years 2008 to 2012, we travelled frequently to Guyana and eventually in the year 2013, we decided to return to our country of birth to spend our golden years.”
They applied and were granted remigrant status and subsequently were given tax exemptions on the two Lexus vehicles, together with a quantity of household furniture, appliances and other items. The couple said that they were required to pay Excise Tax of 10% of the CIF (Cost, Insurance and Freight) value of the two vehicles which were shipped, arriving in Georgetown last year September.
“Excise Tax was calculated on each motor vehicle in the sum of nine hundred and thirty-eight thousand, three hundred and seventy-one dollars ($938,371) and these sums were duly paid by us to the Revenue Authority on the 20th September, 2013.”
The vehicles were then registered by GRA under numbers PRR 8398 and PRR 8399. According to the Brijnanans, the vehicles were used by them, their son, Nityanand Narootandeo, who is a senior official in GRA, and “by close friends of the family”.
The Brijnanans said they were visiting their Berbice home when they learnt that GRA officers had attempted to remove the vehicles from their Continental Park home.
“On Saturday, the 30th of August, 2014, he (Nityanand) delivered the aforesaid motor vehicles to the warehouse of the Revenue Authority located at Eccles Industrial Site, East Bank Demerara, in accordance with the instructions and directions of the officers, servants and/or agents of the Revenue Authority.”
The couple said that the vehicles have not been released by GRA and they were advised by their lawyers that the seizures were unlawful; in breach of their legitimate expectations and fundamental rights as guaranteed by the Constitution.
The matter will be called again next Wednesday.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

It looks like if you park your car in the garage of a friend, the GRA wants to steal it and sell it so that the PPP has some election funds. 

I know how IGNORANT you ARE BUT you keep raising the Bar!!!

Originally Posted by asj:

What is the case agains't Kaieteur News Bossman?

Seems like a vindictive Government and Vindictive GRA, anyway lets see how this will play out in the Courts

Asj,

That's exactly where it will be decided. Let's not blame the PPP for Lall's scam.

Seems like a vindictive Government and Vindictive GRA, anyway lets see how this will play out in the Courts

Asj,

That's exactly where it will be decided. Let's not blame the PPP for Lall's scam.

The PPP has done lots of work around to pillage the nations till. DO you think Sattaur can tell us how much Vishal paid in taxes for those 31 BMW's the government supposedly bought for "dignitaries" for the Cricket World Cup? Note at that point Jagdeo also give away 800 thousand US to Buddy Gratis!

The PPP are using the tax office and that crony as their enforcement tool. They used this creep to harass Freddi, and the Hughes as we. This is corruption rising like cream in a churn.

Asj,

The PPP has done lots of work around to pillage the nations till. DO you think Sattaur can tell us how much Vishal paid in taxes for those 31 BMW's the government supposedly bought for "dignitaries" for the Cricket World Cup? Note at that point Jagdeo also give away 800 thousand US to Buddy Gratis!

The PPP are using the tax office and that crony as their enforcement tool. They used this creep to harass Freddi, and the Hughes as we. This is corruption rising like cream in a churn.

Why is the opposition quiet on this? Do you know something that they don't?

Asj,

That is when the PPP was "absolute majority" and did not answer to anyone. Everyone knows this...how do you think Vishal came from a nobody to a multimillionaire if not by this bootstrapping him with making him a car dealer and then 35 million in Chinese loans underwritten by the state to levitate him to business magnate status?

Asj,

The PPP is using Kurschid to do their dirty job. It's Burhamism victimization all over again.

PPP get exposed, the victimising anyone who have an alternative thought.

They like Burnham, stave the opposition, starve the poor and feed the PPP FAT cats.

Why don't they seize Brassington duty free vehicles?

Asj,

what will you call a government that act in this fashion a dictator,some day it might be you  

Asj,

That is when the PPP was "absolute majority" and did not answer to anyone. Everyone knows this...how do you think Vishal came from a nobody to a multimillionaire if not by this bootstrapping him with making him a car dealer and then 35 million in Chinese loans underwritten by the state to levitate him to business magnate status?

Stormy,

It's not too late to bring it up. Why not tie this scam with Vishal's. Let them account for the double standard; if that's what it is.

Asj,

what will you call a government that act in this fashion a dictator,some day it might be you  

Bai look, talk some sense and not some nonsense.

Asj,

the only sense you understand is a slap,it might knock some of that ppp racist collie shit out of you

Asj,

the only sense you understand is a slap,it might knock some of that ppp racist collie shit out of you

Keep dah hand fuh wipe you battie when you get ole. You only taak kaka all de time.

Asj,

Keep dah hand fuh wipe you battie when you get ole. You only taak kaka all de time.

you need somebody to wipe your battie with some vaseline and a razor blade  

where is that stupid racist coward skelton man,i need to slap this ass

Bai, gwan yu ass dah side. Keep dah hand fuh wipe you battie when you get ole.

Like yu tun de next battie man on dis board. Go ahead, show us your tongs!

i am the next battie man you want to find out,you hate black man because one probably bugger you,i will make you hate collie when i am finish with you

Le me ask you dis..How many men did you bugger? Any coolie or all negroes?

Asj,

What scam are you talking about here? Explain yourself, as it would seems as if you are running off your rocker.

What are the facts here, 

1) Remigrant and his wife brought in two vehicles under the duty free concessions as were granted by the Ministry, that were given by the GRA,

2) Remigrant leave vehicles with Lall, as a safe keeping.

3) GRA suddenly gets a brainwave (just like the Corrupt PPP/C does at times)

4) They seized the vehicle without a proper reason:

5) Now where is the scam..........seems like it is in your ass.

Why dont you corruupt people gets your facts straight before coming here and make yourself a fool?

Asj,

What scam are you talking about here? Explain yourself, as it would seems as if you are running off your rocker.

What are the facts here, 

1) Remigrant and his wife brought in two vehicles under the duty free concessions as were granted by the Ministry, that were given by the GRA,

Why dont you corruupt people gets your facts straight before coming here and make yourself a fool?

It is not for us to determine who's telling the truth. Anyone can make up nancy stories. Guyanese business men and attorneys can write the encyclopedia of gullible lies. Do you happen to fall into one of these categories? Before using the word "fool", you should first determine the meaning of the word. When you are versed with the meaning, go look yourself in the mirror.

You will see a perfect braying shitting jackass. Take a picture, frame it and put it on your wall.

Many of them boys in the opposition are lured to politics because of that thing they call "Corruption". They have to get the votes of the people to get into office where they can benefit from corruption. However, the people won't consider you if they think you are out to swindle for yourself. What you have to do in this case is too pretend to be an enemy of corruption and an embracer of good governance, the rule of law, and democracy. These shields will cover you well if use them well. 

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Many of them boys in the opposition are lured to politics because of that thing they call "Corruption". They have to get the votes of the people to get into office where they can benefit from corruption. However, the people won't consider you if they think you are out to swindle for yourself. What you have to do in this case is too pretend to be an enemy of corruption and an embracer of good governance, the rule of law, and democracy. These shields will cover you well if use them well. 

Billy Boy like you finally wake up....

The president has a nice house.

Those two houses below do not reflect the real condition of housing in Guyana.

Thousands of new homes have been constructed in Guyana over the last two decades in over a 100 new housing schemes. Guyanese people from all strata of society have benefitted greatly from the economic boom over that time despite the international financial crisis and doggish budget-cutting adventures the PNC and their Lil Sister, the AFC. The economy continues to grow despite threats of a vote of no confidence by the AFC and the PNC. Apparently, the people and private sector have great confidence in the ruling party. It has resulted in positive economic growth. 

The rice industry has been a success story to talk about. Sugar, despite setbacks in recent years, is coming back strong while for gold it has been a fantastic year so far.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin

Bai, where is the scam? you said that there is a scam, tell us about it. You rass is getting just like Korhee now.

You prove to me that the Ramotar is corrupt. There have been no evidence implicating the president. Show us the PROOF. The court will decide the alleged scam. Until then, hold your fire.

Bai, where is the scam? you said that there is a scam, tell us about it. You rass is getting just like Korhee now.

You prove to me that the Ramotar is corrupt. There have been no evidence implicating the president. Show us the PROOF. The court will decide the alleged scam. Until then, hold your fire.

Is how come his unqualified and inexperienced son get a big contract that he can't complete?

Ramu corruption exposed.

The Alexei Ramotar saga – paper qualifications do not equate to competence, skill or managerial ability

JANUARY 22, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor,
Finance Minister Ashni Singh went on the warpath recently defending President Ramotar son’s (Alexei Ramotar) shoddily incompetent administration, management and delivery of a US $32 million project to bring a fibre optic cable from Brazil to Guyana. It is no surprise that old ethnic supremacist and intellectual fraudster Vishnu Bisram of the PPP could win up to 60% of the votes in the 2011 election fame echoed Ashni Singh’s misguided and obtuse statements.
The Opposition’s criticism of the soporific pace and abysmal performance of this project and its manager, Alexei Ramotar, has nothing to do with Alexei Ramotar’s qualifications or him being President Ramotar’s son, although most Guyanese must think the incompetence and inaction is now genetic. It has nothing to do with limited talent or a paucity of human resources in Guyana or a brain drain.
These are all red herrings thrown in by con artists like Ashni Singh and their ethnic triumphalist friends like Bisram to detract from the real issue here – Alexei Ramotar failed and continues to fail and it is costing the people of Guyana who dutifully pay their taxes a lot of money. It does not matter how many degrees Alexei Ramotar holds. What this is really about is incompetence and failure and the pathetic attempts to excuse failure and incompetence under all manner of ludicrous guises.
In fact, this fiasco magnifies Alexei Ramotar’s failure and mismanagement because of the same supposedly eminent qualifications he holds. Let us not forget that a man with a Masters in Computer Sciences from a Canadian university has failed at the simple task of stringing a cable from Brazil to Guyana when GT&T engineers, some of whom are not as qualified on paper, have successfully brought a cable across an ocean to Guyana in addition to running hundreds of miles of cables across Guyana.
This is the real problem here. Computer engineers with lesser qualifications right here in Guyana have done more than Alexei Ramotar and the Opposition is right to ask serious questions, for this is taxpayers’ money going down the drain. So, brandishing Alexei Ramotar’s qualifications will only serve to emphasize the depth and shockingness of his deficiencies in handling this project. Now we know he did not fail for lack of qualifications but for lack of managerial acumen, skill, expertise and ability to just get it done.
Qualification is not competence. Ashni Singh with his doctorate in finance has failed to radically transform Guyana’s economy under his helm as Finance Minister. We are a country burdened with high debt, narco and black-market economy, rising exchange rates, growing inflation, gross inequality, oligarchic domination of resources, runaway corruption, failed systems, dismal accountability, a non-functioning stock exchange, a pathetic investment banking sector, catastrophic waste, theft and mis-spending of taxpayers’ money under Dr. Ashni Singh and Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo in spite of their training in economics and finance and their other eminent qualifications.
The Guyana economy performed better under Desmond Hoyte the lawyer (after reforms in 1990) and Cheddi Jagan the dentist, two men without any Masters degrees and without any formal training in Economics, than under the stewardship of Ashni Singh and Bharrat Jagdeo with all their post-graduate qualifications. Dr Leslie Ramsammy, Dr. Bharrat Jagdeo, Dr. Ashni Singh and Robert Persaud, MBA all presided over the collapse of the sugar industry with the final nail in the coffin coming in 2016 when the EU cuts off its preferential market and pricing to Guyana.
The latter three culprits were the architects of a duncified deal with the Norwegians with so many stringent conditions that we have locked up our forests for the Norwegians to profit by getting carbon credits while we cannot get any money in return because we cannot meet the very conditions the three idiot savants in mismanagement have agreed to. Dr. Frank Anthony runs probably the smallest and most inconsequential ministry in the country yet he is exposed on what seems like a daily basis by a Ruel Johnson for his glaring managerial inadequacies.
Dr. Jennifer Westford and Dr. Gopaul have presided over a growing debacle of contract workers (largely PPP comrades and soup drinkers) getting paid like highway robbers while the regular public service have to protest for a decent increase. Dr. Bheri Ramsaran oversees the nation’s public hospital which was recently avoided by the Home Affairs Minister when he fell ill.
These are some of the supposedly eminently qualified denizens of the PPP politburo. We must distinguish them from the unqualified within government such as Clement Rohee and Donald Ramotar who just like their qualified compadres are also very qualified in incompetence, failure, non success and non performance. Ashni Singh might be able to fool the bumpkins who swoon over the piles of degrees, certificates, doctorates and Masters adorning people’s names, but he cannot fool people who know how to make out the qualified fool and qualified incompetent.
The Ashni Singhs and Vishnu Bisrams need to cut the crap and call a spade a spade. This is taxpayers’ money going down the drain and the Guyanese people have a right to question Alexei Ramotar regardless of his qualifications or the state of the brain drain, which incidentally is caused by these frightening acts of seemingly continued nepotism where Alexei Ramotar gets to keep his job for failing and mismanagement.
Only in the peculiar mind of Ashni Singh would investors looking to invest their hard-earned money in a corrupt failed state like Guyana under Ashni Singh and his friends not want to know of the delays, failures and breakdowns surrounding projects and life in general in the PPP’s Guyana. Ashni Singh must think these investors have money to waste.
He must think everyone thinks like him and the rest of the PPP charlatans who have no problem wasting other people’s money with reckless schemes, ill-planned misadventures and plain old corruption and colossal failure. I would like to know how much Alexei Ramotar is being paid for this disaster.
M. Maxwell

Answer this NEHRU.

Nepotism: The best and the brightest minds in Guyana are fleeing

March 1, 2013Leave a comment

Dear Editor,
As nationals of Guyana, we have been concerned about how poorly employers, particularly the PPP regime, have used the human resources in the country.
For too long, this government has allowed the finest minds to be either underemployed or without any positive and active involvement in the country affairs.
Yet the state continues to expend significant amount of resources on educating the people and encouraging them to prepare themselves. To what end?
Let’s call a spade a spade! Almost daily, available jobs are usually advertised in the media and elsewhere by the government in order to satisfy some internal organizational protocol.
But government officials merely go through the fraudulent motions of an interview process when they have already decided who the holder of the position will be. And it is one of their supporters or relatives of high ranking PPP officials.
But the regime has the gall in these advertisements to let potential applicants know up front that they thank them for applying but do not have the decency to even acknowledge their applications let alone call them for an interview.
This is the scam that this regime has been involved in for years and it has caused unnecessary grief and pain after those who apply found out after what has happened. To use such a sinister ploy to deceive the nation indicates how low the administration has descended.
The fact is when the private sector engages in these acts, at least the consequence is personal, and shows up in their bottom line expense sheet.
But when the Government does the same, employing only friends and supporters of the PPP despite their lack of ability, qualifications experience and requisite skills, the entire nation suffers.
Let us be clear in saying that we have no difficulty whatsoever with the regime wanting to hire its party supporters and members or people of like thinking in critical policy areas so long as those persons are qualified to do the job.
But this has not been the case at the office of the President and at several other state agencies and departments which have employed hundreds of contract employees who are paid super salaries because they are the children, relatives and friends of the PPP cabal.
This is happening in a country where brain cells have gone on strike for an extended period and the loudest mouths in political campaigns are usually rewarded with the most influential positions.
This is wrong and the Jagdeo/ Ramotar cabal must stop this ignominious and dishonest practice if it is to regain the trust and confidence of the people.
The reality has been since Guyana attained its Independence on May 26, 1966, party purity and loyalty have become more important than to employ qualified and experience persons to carry the government tasks.
Once a political party wins, its candidates begin to circle the wagon of political power. The game is essentially about paying back those who made the win possible.
While the noble intentions of politics are “serving the people’s interests,” the first people usually served are those elected, that is, jobs for the boys.
The bigger question is why most of the educated Guyanese with college/university degrees are all over the world and not in Guyana.
The answer, we believe, is that we have never found a way as a society to harness and apply the best and brightness minds to address our nation’s challenges at any one time.
The real sadness of all this is that it does not matter where you come from in society, what your ethnicity is or whether you belong the PPP or the PNC, it was Guyana and the Guyanese taxpayers who have given you a start in life and have prepared you for wherever you now are.
Our continuous poor use of our most qualified personnel is tantamount to perpetrating an injustice on the country which has invested heavily through taxation, blood, sweat and tears in the development of its citizens.
With that said, we always held the view that the real issues we face in Guyana are not only corruption, poverty, crime, joblessness, illegal narcotics trafficking but also injustice! People all over the world have fought and died for their civil rights and against injustice, will Guyanese do!

Dr. Asquith Rose and
Harish Singh.

Danald son did his studies on how computers can enhance xrays - some nano technology stuff.

He should be in Georgetown Hospital Lab check all them equipment, not managing a $13 billion project that has failed because he was INCOMPETENT.

CJ orders GRA to release vehicles seized from remigrants

September 3, 2014 ·

Acting Chief Justice Ian Chang has ordered that the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) release the vehicles belonging to Narootandeo and Gharbassi Brijnanan, who moved to the High Court yesterday to challenge the lawfulness of the agency’s decision to seize and detain them.

The GRA took possession of the vehicles on Saturday and Commissioner-General Khurshid Sattaur has since said that it is part of a wider investigation into the use of vehicles imported by remigrants that began since the start of the year. Kaieteur News publisher Glen Lall, who is a close family friend of the couple and made use of the vehicles along with his wife, has since said that the move was intended to persecute the newspaper due to its reports on government corruption

Asj,

That's exactly where it will be decided. Let's not blame the PPP for Lall's scam.

What are the facts here,

1) Remigrant and his wife brought in two vehicles under the duty free concessions as were granted by the Ministry, that were given by the GRA,

Asj,

That's exactly where it will be decided. Let's not blame the PPP for Lall's scam.

What are the facts here,

1) Remigrant and his wife brought in two vehicles under the duty free concessions as were granted by the Ministry, that were given by the GRA,

You see the educated fool here? No wonder you solved the mystery as to why jackass shit square.

Asj,

What are the facts here,

You see the educated fool here? No wonder you solved the mystery as to why jackass shit square.

You were wrong then, when you accuse Lall of being involved in a scam, with these vehicles, just like you are wrong now, after the CJ ordered the vehicles back to the Remigrant. The man was never involved in any Remigrant Scam.

Why would the re-migrant leave two expensive luxury vehicles with Glen Lall and his wife? You mean it is not safe to keep vehicles anywhere in Berbice? Not even in a rented garage?  Something smell very fishy here. 

Kerr ayuh S0-s0-so daside.