Remittances flows to Latin America and the Caribbean remain stable at $61bn

Monday, April 29, 2013

Remittances to Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) showed a slight increase in 2012 with respect to the previous year, according to the latest report on remittances by the Multilateral Investment Fund (MIF), a member of the Inter-American Development Bank Group.

The report, “Remittances to Latin America and the Caribbean in 2012: Differing Behavior among Sub-regions,” said that the region received a total of $61.3 billion in remittances last year. This amount represents a year-on-year increase of $300 million, a 0.6 percent increase from 2011. After a historic high of nearly $65 billion in 2008, and a 15 percent drop due to the financial crisis in 2009, money transfers to the region have stabilized.

Remittances inflow trends varied among countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. While remittances to South American countries and Mexico decreased by 1.1 percent and 1.6 percent, respectively, the countries in the Caribbean displayed modest growth and Central American nations experienced a significant increase of 6.5 percent in the total remittances received. This increase helped offset decreases in bigger countries, allowing for the region as a whole to end the year with slight growth.

“The latest data show that migrants continue to provide critical financial support to millions of households across the region,” said MIF General Manager Nancy Lee. “The development impact of remittances can be much greater if families have the option to save some of these flows rather than convert them all into cash upon receipt. The new MIF Remittance and Savings program will help identify innovative and commercially viable business models that work for both financial institutions and families.”

The economic uncertainty and sluggish labor market in Europe continue to affect the amount of money migrants in Spain are able to send back home, while the improvements in the labor market in the United States largely explain increases in remittances to certain countries, particularly in Central America.

The value of the money transferred home in 2012 varied from country to country, depending on exchange rates and inflation levels in each country. In Brazil, for instance, the $1.9 billion sent in 2012 represents a 1 percent increase in nominal terms with respect to 2011, but when expressed in local currency terms and adjusted for inflation, the amount represents a 12 percent yearly increase. In other countries, the dollars sent home decreased in value once received, such as in Colombia, where remittance values expressed in local currency terms showed an 8 percent drop.

Mexico remains the largest remittance recipient with $22.4 billion, followed by Guatemala, with $4.8 billion, and Colombia receiving $4 billion, while El Salvador and the Dominican Republic received $3.9 and $3.2 billion respectively.

Remittance flows continue to represent an important source of foreign inflows in many of the countries in the region, and constitute more than 10 percent of the gross domestic product in several countries, including Haiti, Guyana, Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Jamaica and Guatemala. These flows also represent an important source of income for the millions of families in the region that receive the transfers to cover basic needs and invest in education, health, housing, and small businesses.

The MIF and Remittances

The Multilateral Investment Fund started analyzing remittances in 2000 to gauge their volume and economic impact in Latin America and the Caribbean. Its work promoted greater competition among service providers, which led to dramatic reductions in the costs of transferring money to millions of families in the region. Recently, the MIF launched a Remittances and Savings Program, seeking to increase the access and use of formal savings products among remittance sending and receiving households in the region.

http://www5.iadb.org/mif/HOME/...leid/91/Default.aspx

Originally Posted by Sunil:

Guyana received almost US$400M in 2012, about 17% of GDP in 2012 down from about 25% of GDP in 2007.

Guyanese have always been a kind and generous people! Good to see overseas Guyanese make a positive contribution to the well being of their families back home.

Guyana received almost US$400M in 2012, about 17% of GDP in 2012 down from about 25% of GDP in 2007. Guyana  still has the 2nd highest ratio of remittance/GPD after Haiti in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Remittance is an ongoing issue worldwide.

Similar to other countries, Guyana also benefits from this involvement.

One thing is for sure ... remittance may reduce but will never be eliminated.

Guyana received almost US$400M in 2012, about 17% of GDP in 2012 down from about 25% of GDP in 2007. Guyana  still has the 2nd highest ratio of remittance/GPD after Haiti in Latin America and the Caribbean.

http://idbdocs.iadb.org/wsdocs...aspx?DOCNUM=37735715

Does that include drugs money sent back home?

Guyana received almost US$400M in 2012, about 17% of GDP in 2012 down from about 25% of GDP in 2007.

Guyanese have always been a kind and generous people! Good to see overseas Guyanese make a positive contribution to the well being of their families back home.

This is not a matter of kindness.  This is a matter of people having relatives at home who need the money that is being sent.  Indeed there are any grumbles about the hardships that having to send remittances poses for the senders and doubts about whather this is appreciated by the recipients.

Guyanese have as many problems as others living in North America, making ends meet as they seek to pay their mortgages, educate their kids, and prepare for their retirement. 

Remittances equivalent to almost 20% of the GDP is not because people are being nice.  Its because without this help many in Guyana will be in serious trouble.  For the same reason many Guyanese have bene forced to seek periodic employment in nearby countries, and as that is becoming harder, remittances are likely to be even more needed.

Please explain why Guyana receives over $400MM in remittamces while neighboring Trinidad and Suriname receive less then 1/3 of that.

Also why are remittances more important (as measured by share of GDP in Guyana than any where else other than Haiti?

Your incoherent babble is just an attempt to avoid the fcat that most Guyanese are unable to earn enough in Guyana so many must depend on their relatives in North America, or seek temporary work in neighboring countries.

Please explain why Guyana receives over $400MM in remittamces while neighboring Trinidad and Suriname receive less then 1/3 of that.

Also why are remittances more important (as measured by share of GDP in Guyana than any where else other than Haiti?

Your incoherent babble is just an attempt to avoid the fcat that most Guyanese are unable to earn enough in Guyana so many must depend on their relatives in North America, or seek temporary work in neighboring countries.

Read carefully again ...

... quote ...

"Remittance is an ongoing issue worldwide."

What the hell these people have against remittances?

It's good for the people and the economy. If the PNC was in the power and this same amount of money were remitted it would have represented 90% of GDP.

=======

This is not a matter of kindness.  This is a matter of people having relatives at home who need the money that is being sent. 

carib:

When your beloved PNC ruled Guyana---there was a shortage of everything---Guyanese used to send home barrels by the tens of thousands.

Today, the Guyanese currency is exchangeable and Guyanese are sending cash---400 million(US) last year.

You said people back in Guyana need the money!

Listen carib---90% of people in the richest country in the world need more money----many are in debt up to their noses----so nothing wrong with Guyanese in Guyana accepting gifts from families.

BY THE WAY CARIB, WHEN IS THE LAST TIME YOU VISITED GUYANA ?

The Rev was there late last year---everyone I met was happy----and by the way---my Mom asked me to give some money to a lady who worked for our family decades ago----that lovely woman didn't ask for anything---my Mom was just being generous.

AND TENS OF THOUSANDS OF OVERSEAS GUYANESE ARE LIKEWISE KIND AND GENEROUS.

You are just a miserable Grinch carib bai---it pains you to see Guyana progress under an East Indian President.

General nature of Guyanese.

What is wrong if you can help your family?

Absolutely nothing wrong .. perfectly fine to do so.

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Because it is welfare.  People send remittances only because their relatives cannot generate income to survive.

Please note that Haiti and Guyana have the highest level of remittances relative to GDP.  Please also note that Guyanese receive 4X as much in remittances as do Surinamers, despite the fact that many Surinamers also live overseas.  It does appear as if those who remain in Suriname are better able to generate an income and so have less need for help than those who live in Guyana.

Of course if your family are needy because they live in an impoverished nation there is nothing wrong with their overseas relatives helping them.  Surinamers and Trinidadians are better able to sustain a livelihood in their homelands than are Guyanese, so have much less need of this help.

Why not ask yourself why Guyana and Haiti are the two countries most dependent on remittances?

Because it is welfare.  People send remittances only because their relatives cannot generate income to survive.

Your statement applies also for the huge remittances sent to countries like Israel, US-of-A, Britain, France, Russia, Germany, European countries, etc., etc., etc..

=======

This is not a matter of kindness.  This is a matter of people having relatives at home who need the money that is being sent. 

carib:

When your beloved PNC ruled Guyana---there was a shortage of everything---Guyanese used to send home barrels by the tens of thousands.

And now rather than barrels they send back cash.  What is clear is that the PPP has been no more able to generate an economy which allows Guyanese not to have to depend on their relatives than the PNC was.

Dont know why you are so proud that almost 20% of our GDP is generated fro0m welfare because that is what remittances are.  Its a payment thbat is not offered in exchange for selling goods and/or services.  It is a payment received by people who are too poor to have income to cover their needs, and so need help from others.

You scoff at barrels and yet praise remittances.  Same thing.

Today, the Guyanese currency is exchangeable and Guyanese are sending cash---400 million(US) last year.

Yes.  Thanks to the IMF/World bank and Hoyte.  Why dont you tell us what the exchange rate was in 1992 compared to now?  Even the black market rate in the early 90s was around 80;1.

Your statement applies also for the huge remittances sent to countries like Israel, US-of-A, Britain, France, Russia, Germany, European countries, etc., etc., etc..

Why dont you tell us what % of the GDP do remittances account for in those countries.

Tell you what.  It isnt 17%.

Why not focus on the fact that Guyana is more dependent on remittances than any larger Caribbean counytry aside from HAITI!   It is definitely related to the fcat that only Haiti has suffered a brain drain higher than ours, and that a large % of our brain drain is to countries like Trinidad and Barbados.

"Remittance is an ongoing issue worldwide."

Yes and poor nations like Haiti and Guyana need remittances even more than other developing nations like Trinidad& Tobago and Suriname and Barbados.  And even Jamaica and the DR with all their problems.

Get it through your head.  The ONLY reason why people send remittances is to help family members who cannot earn enough in their homelands and so need help.  The POORER the country the MORE help is needed.  That is why remittances are MORE crucial to Haiti and Guyana than they are to Trinidad, Suriname and Barbados.

Why dont you tell us what % of the GDP do remittances account for in those countries.

Remittance to countries is the issue .. which, by the way, happens for all countries.

And now rather than barrels they send back cash.  What is clear is that the PPP has been no more able to generate an economy which allows Guyanese not to have to depend on their relatives than the PNC was.

Dont know why you are so proud that almost 20% of our GDP is generated fro0m welfare because that is what remittances are.  Its a payment thbat is not offered in exchange for selling goods and/or services.  It is a payment received by people who are too poor to have income to cover their needs, and so need help from others.

You scoff at barrels and yet praise remittances.  Same thing.

On the contrary, remittance has become a crutch and is one of the major causes of the labor shortage in Guyana. If remittance was cut off(with the exception to the retirees) you would see how many young people join the work force and catapult Guyana even further ahead. 

Yes.  Thanks to the IMF/World bank and Hoyte.  Why dont you tell us what the exchange rate was in 1992 compared to now?  Even the black market rate in the early 90s was around 80;1.

carib:

It is patently clear that you are longing for the days of the PNC----you desperately want to see Guyana destitute, down and out, poverty stricken and bankrupt.

THANKFULLY THE PPP ARE IN CHARGE!

And Guyanese can look forward to years of progress and prosperity.

OH GAAD BURNHAM SPECIALIS ENGINER WHO BRUK UP TUMATUMARI A TRY FOH SOUND SMART. ALL BURNHAM ENGINER SEH IS DE OBVIOUS. HEY HEY HEY. 

On the contrary, remittance has become a crutch. 

So are you telling me that the little bit of money that each recipient gets is so lucrative that Guyanese have no incentive to work.

The remittances average US$1300 per household per annum.  Why is this meager mount so powerful an incentive not to work.

I think that you meant that remittances are a crutch that Guyana's economy depends on, because without it the purchasing power of many Guyanese will be lower, depressing the retail sector, and that much of the construction is finance dby overseas Guyanese.

Remittance to countries is the issue .. which, by the way, happens for all countries.

Oh I forgot that you have dementia so cannot understand that if Guyana has the second highest levels of remittances, behind Haiti, and considerably higher as a % of GDP than richer Caribbean nations like Barbados, Trinidad and Suriname, then it suggests something unique about Guyana relative to the rest of the Caribbean.

Now most will say that Guyanese are more dependent on remittances than most other Caribbean people, aside from the deperately poor Haitians, because Guyanese living in Guyana have fewer opportunitioes to generate income levels that they need to properly sustain themselves.

But addled with dementiai this fact is beyond you.

On the contrary, remittance has become a crutch. 

So are you telling me that the little bit of money that each recipient gets is so lucrative that Guyanese have no incentive to work.

The remittances average US$1300 per household per annum.  Why is this meager mount so powerful an incentive not to work.

I think that you meant that remittances are a crutch that Guyana's economy depends on, because without it the purchasing power of many Guyanese will be lower, depressing the retail sector, and that much of the construction is finance dby overseas Guyanese.

You don't know the average remittance so please don't guess. In fact the attitude is the same in the US where welfare recepients would rather kick back and accept a relatively small welfare check than work. You should know about this, why else live in a section 8 apartment?

Cribby,

Why don't you find out what percentage of the total annual remittances actually ends up in personal bank accounts of the remitters? This will change the image of the remittances and its effects on the economy.

You don't know the average remittance so please don't guess. In fact the attitude is the same in the US where welfare recepients would rather kick back and accept a relatively small welfare check than work. You should know about this, why else live in a section 8 apartment?

We know that US$405MM are sent.  We know that there are $750k people in Guyana and that the average household has 2.5 people.  So we can sense how significant remittances are to the average Guyanese.  Clearly if this is enough to prevent them from working then it means that the earn virtually nothing.

I note your incessant personal attacks on me, though not being you I will not report yopu to to fellow PPP admin.  Its a known fact that you PPPItes can post whatever racist nonsense you wish against blacks and NEVER get banned.  If admin refuses to care that most see this site as a racist PPP site because of the clear double standards then that is their business.  But already some one reported years ago that this site was blocked at their workplace because it is racist.

Cribby,

Why don't you find out what percentage of the total annual remittances actually ends up in personal bank accounts of the remitters? This will change the image of the remittances and its effects on the economy.

So why dont you tell us? While you are at it tell us why a foreign  company senses a great opportunity to make profits from remittances from Antigua, and St KItts where they report large Guyanese communities.  And also that many AFROGuyanese in Antigua stay there because they see Guyana is a country which is increasingly hostile to black people.

We know that US$405MM are sent.  We know that there are $750k people in Guyana and that the average household has 2.5 people.  So we can sense how significant remittances are to the average Guyanese.  Clearly if this is enough to prevent them from working then it means that the earn virtually nothing.

But already some one reported years ago that this site was blocked at their workplace because it is racist.

405m is a guestimate, how did your source determine this number. To humor you, let us pretend that it is 405m, then you can not simply divide by 750k. This population should be only those with relatives overseas. Once that number is determined then it must be divided into Indian and Black and mixed. Given the universal habit of Blacks to spend most of their money on material things such as sporting, fancy car and other superficial commodities, we can surmise that Black remittance would be vastly reduced when compared to Indian remittance. We would then add a percentage to the Black remittance vs Indian remittance and split the difference of the two to the mixed population. Only then can a reasonable  estimate of average remittance be determined, broken out by Black, mixed and Indian. 

Now as to your claim about this site being blocked, almost all workplace will block discussion forums especially those with sensitive information. Employers don't want their employees chatting away on forums when they should be working.