Renewed efforts to remove vagrants in front Parliament Building

Vagrants outside Parliament building

THE Ministry of Public Security is seeking technical advice on the permanent removal of vagrants who continue to squat around Parliament building. Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan told the Government Information Agency (GINA) that to effectively remove these persons poses “a huge problem” to the Guyana Police Force. According to GINA, Ramjattan pointed out that while on some occasions police have had to place some of the vagrants in holding cells, they would always return to the area once they are released.

“We have a huge problem there…when you start taking them and putting them in the lock-ups because we don’t really have space for them,” Ramjattan said.

The Public Security Ministry is part of a committee established by the Ministry of Social Protection to address the welfare management of the homeless, mentally challenged and addicted persons on the streets. The committee also includes representatives from the Ministry of Agriculture and the Georgetown Mayor and City Council.

“We have to construct a half-way house, and we’ll have to get the funding from Social Protection Ministry for that purpose,” Ramjattan explained as one solution to address the problem.

Last month, the Ministry of Social Protection had indicated that it had identified a building in Region Five to house street dwellers where they will be evaluated to determine whether some of them can be treated externally, placed in a home or be referred to the National Psychiatric Hospital.

“We have to construct a half-way house, and we’ll have to get the funding from Social Protection Ministry for that purpose,” Ramjattan explained as one solution to address the problem.

Perhaps meaning .... PNC/AFC has no real thoughts and solution.

Ramjattan cannot control crime, but he wants to remove vagrants from in front his kingdom. That's an insult to homeless people in a democratic society. Black people must rebel against the dictatorship government and teach them a good lesson.

No commoners and Slaves allowed near the new Kings and Queens.  dalits in Guyana

Make sense...at least once a day....these one liners of unprocessed sewage  are beyond passe

What is it in the quoted section if not one solution proposed? The PPP tried very often to remove these vagrants but failed. I suggest just load their behinds and send them to the mad house for observation then install guards to ensure no one squats there and soon they will get the message.

I suggest that they load your behind along with them too.

Where else should they beg, the building behind has the richest thieves in Guyana, chances are they get piece of the 50% raise.

Correct. The PPP MP's do visit that building on a regular basis.

No commoners and Slaves allowed near the new Kings and Queens.  dalits in Guyana

Make sense...at least once a day....these one liners of unprocessed sewage  are beyond passe

The sewage coming out of your mouth is real and raw.

Yuh just walk into a WATAK one liner.

I suggest that they load your behind along with them too.

You can suggest anything since  you do believe in many impossible things before breakfast

Make sense...at least once a day....these one liners of unprocessed yosewage  are beyond passe

You seem to have a profound similarity with the sewer!

Make sense...at least once a day....these one liners of unprocessed yosewage  are beyond passe

Your mouth is the NYC Sewer, plenty Raw sewage coming out and you dont even have a treatment Plant.

Is this one liner or two???

Your mouth is the NYC Sewer, plenty Raw sewage coming out and you dont even have a treatment Plant.

Is this one liner or two???

One or two matters not. It is the same swill. You have to be a little more cutting edge than the pedestrian quibble above. But you do not seem to have an aptitude for more than nonsensical drivel

Man you write CRAP by the bundle daily nah. No one reading the CRAP you writing but I guess it gives you salvation.

A routine browsing will confirm your one and occasional two liners are interchangeable with any of your posts. That is as much worth it is. I am not into the salvation market. That is for poor souls pondering something more than their present miserable lives