British university to pay reparations for £200 million extracted from Caribbean

Reproduced from Jamaica Gleaner

Vice Chancellor of The University of the West Indies (UWI) Sir Hilary Beckles

Vice Chancellor of The University of the West Indies (UWI) Sir Hilary Beckles has reported that The University of Glasgow in the United Kingdom (UK) has agreed to pay reparations for £200 million (approximately GYD$53 billion) taken from the Caribbean.

According to Beckles, who recently returned from the UK, “The University of Glasgow has recognised that Jamaican slave owners had adopted the University of Glasgow as their university of choice and that £200 million of value was extracted from Jamaica and the Caribbean.”

Beckles made the announcement during an interview on the Jamaica News Network (JNN) programme Insight, where he said that the Vice Chancellor of the UK-based university Professor Sir Anton Muscatelli opened up their records, which showed a ‘massive influx’ of grants and endowments from Jamaica.

He said that the University of Glasgow and The UWI are currently drafting a memorandum of understanding, and the term ‘reparatory justice’ is expected to be included.

Beckles said the £200 million would be a combination of cash and kind. “We are not on the street corners asking for handouts. We are looking for partnerships and development.”

One of the projects in which the University of Glasgow has reportedly shown interest involves research in chronic diseases in the Caribbean, including hypertension, diabetes, and childhood obesity.

“They are looking at the possibility of partnering with us and having a massive institute for chronic disease research that is going to prevent the proliferation of these diseases in the future,” said Beckles.

£200m From Slave Trade
A report dubbed Slavery, Abolition and the University of Glasgow, published recently by the university, reveals that it benefited directly from the slave trade in Africa and the Caribbean in the 18th and 19th centuries to the tune of almost £200 million in today’s money.

The university has announced that it has launched a wide-ranging and ambitious “reparative justice programme” that is based on the findings of more than two years of research.

In addition, the University of Glasgow had also announced that it intends to implement programmes and projects that will provide scholarships and exchange programmes for Jamaican and other Caribbean students through its links with The UWI.

The full interview with Beckles will be aired on JNN on Wednesday at 10 a.m.

This is a good victory for Caribbean people. Reparations should be fought on an issue by issue, case by case basis. Its a good precedent too.

It is a very different approach from the one where former colonial peoples are demanding monetary compensation or land. This is a better chance of gaining "victory" for chattel slavery.

The folks in Guyana who are seeking land reparations should take a lesson from Professor Beckles.

Perhaps India should follow the same pursuit to regain some of the wealth stolen from them by Britain. 

Vish, great post. Guyana and India need to do the same.

Gyal, my grandparents were not captured and put in cages to be sold as slaves. They volunteered to migrate to British Guiana and would return if they chose to do. One of my grandfathers returned in about 1955-56. I am happy that my grandparents chose to make the sacrifice for us.

Skeleton-Man, for a descendant of dem “Hill Coolies” (John Gladstone’s words) you don’t know your history too well…

The last ship leaving Port Georgetown was the MV Resurgent in 1955. It took a little over a month at sea before reaching India port Calcutta (Kolkata). The ship carried 175 men, 59 women and 9 children and reached India on the 9th of October, 9, 1955.

You mean to tell me that all of your hairy ancestors who left Colonial India for British Guiana came voluntarily? None of them were wild coolies who were captured by the recruiters and forced to leave?. Hugh Tinker referred to indenture “a new system of slavery”.

Most of your ancestors did NOT want to leave Guyana after their indenture contract.

You need to read the book I am now reading by Odeen Ishmael, The Guyana Story.

Skeleton-Man, for a descendant of dem “Hill Coolies” (John Gladstone’s words) you don’t know your history too well…

The last ship leaving Port Georgetown was the MV Resurgent in 1955. It took a little over a month at sea before reaching India port Calcutta (Kolkata). The ship carried 175 men, 59 women and 9 children and reached India on the 9th of October, 9, 1955.

You mean to tell me that all of your hairy ancestors who left Colonial India for British Guiana came voluntarily? None of them were wild coolies who were captured by the recruiters and forced to leave?. Hugh Tinker referred to indenture “a new system of slavery”.

Most of your ancestors did NOT want to leave Guyana after their indenture contract.

Moleman, I was a child when my grandfather left. That is why I said 1955-56. Sorry for your ignorance. My paternal grandfather told me and my older brother that they were told that they would be paid to work in BG. They came voluntarily. For a so called Guyanese, whose grandfather died before he was born, you "ain't kno shit".

Yes, but how do you know they came voluntarily?  Some of the recruiters were good at recruiting people, often peddling misinformation to fill a quota...

The standard belief is that many of your Indo ancestors came voluntarily. If thats the case, why did many of them (in Guyana and other Colonies) not return to India voluntarily when their contract was fulfilled, which would have been the logical thing to do, no?

And, how come none of your Indo ancestors have waged a major revolt like dem Afros...Cuffy, Daman, and so on?

Yes, but how do you know they came voluntarily?  Some of the recruiters were good at recruiting people, often peddling misinformation to fill a quota...

The standard belief is that many of your Indo ancestors came voluntarily. If thats the case, why did many of them (in Guyana and other Colonies) not return to India voluntarily when their contract was fulfilled, which would have been the logical thing to do, no?

And, how come none of your Indo ancestors have waged a major revolt like dem Afros...Cuffy, Daman, and so on?

You play sthupit or you juss plane sthupit?

Many were enticed with land after their contracts were over. They figured they were richer than when they left India, so they accepted the deal. They stayed, we were born there, then we fled to foreign lands where life is so much better than if we were in Guyana. So all around is progress and more progress. I thank my ancestors for leaving India and never returning.  

You are concurring with Skelly, if they came voluntarily then they never had an urgency to return, they came for a better life and made good at it.

I know of a few Guyanese  that went back to India to trace their family roots, they all praised their fore parents for taking that voyage after seeing the social standards of their families in India, many of them stuck in time.

Many were enticed with land after their contracts were over. They figured they were richer than when they left India, so they accepted the deal. They stayed, we were born there, then we fled to foreign lands where life is so much better than if we were in Guyana. So all around is progress and more progress. I thank my ancestors for leaving India and never returning.  

Yeahhhhhhhhhh!

If America and Canada was not in the picture, I bet you knuckleheads would have wished you stayed in India today, given what has become of Guyana

...so you got wild roots growing on three continents...most people migrate once...you people running all over creation, it seems. 

If America and Canada was not in the picture, I bet you knuckleheads would have wished you stayed in India today, given what has become of Guyana

...so you got wild roots growing on three continents...most people migrate once...you people running all over creation, it seems. 

Hey hey hey...Vish wirting like wan very capable historian meh know. Anhow me better gee de man he clurb soon. Hey hey hey...

Yea, from his first day I knew he was playing us for info. All that stuff about not knowing what is awara, cookrit, etc. was too funny.

Not sure what an anwara and cookrit is...am familiar with cockpit though ...sometimes I think you folks making words up.

I thank my ancestors for leaving India and never returning.  

Why do you say that? If your ancestors had stayed in India, you could have become Mrs Amitabh Bachchan today.

I am sorry my great grandfather left India. I could have been the Chief Minister of Rajahstan, the territory he abandoned.

Not sure what an anwara and cookrit is...am familiar with cockpit though ...sometimes I think you folks making words up.

Bai awara and cookrit is tasty tings. Dem is real guyanese fruits. Doh how dem lil bais get marbles. Yuh ever had stinkin toe? 

I thank my ancestors for leaving India and never returning.  

Why do you say that? If your ancestors had stayed in India, you could have become Mrs Amitabh Bachchan today.

I am sorry my great grandfather left India. I could have been the Chief Minister of Rajahstan, the territory he abandoned.

Bollywood is very dangerous and cutthroat. India's political system very corrupt, Amitabh tried and gave up. Thank god I was born in humble Guyana. 

Bai awara and cookrit is tasty tings. Dem is real guyanese fruits. Doh how dem lil bais get marbles. Yuh ever had stinkin toe? 

stinkin toe?    you mean athletes foot??

Bai awara and cookrit is tasty tings. Dem is real guyanese fruits. Doh how dem lil bais get marbles. Yuh ever had stinkin toe

Stinkin' toe === stinking toe fruit ...

A fruit in the West Indies.

Bai awara and cookrit is tasty tings. Dem is real guyanese fruits. Doh how dem lil bais get marbles. Yuh ever had stinkin toe

DG,
Just found it..

Guyana got too many fruits and such...

So why so many people still begging at the airport and near the boathouses...?
------
The Stinking Toe fruit, otherwise known as the Locustfruit or Jatobá, is the fruit of the West Indian Locust, the largest tree in the Caribbean. The fruit is contained within a large brown pod that is shaped somewhat like a toe. Stinking Toe fruit is roughly 3 to 5 inches in length, oblong and slightly kidney-shaped.

Image result for stinking toe fruit

DG,
Just found it..

Guyana got too many fruits and such...

So why so many people still begging at the airport and near the boathouses...?

------
The Stinking Toe fruit, otherwise known as the Locustfruit or Jatobá, is the fruit of the West Indian Locust, the largest tree in the Caribbean. The fruit is contained within a large brown pod that is shaped somewhat like a toe. Stinking Toe fruit is roughly 3 to 5 inches in length, oblong and slightly kidney-shaped.

Image result for stinking toe fruit

Unfortunately, people in all countries are begging at various locations in their respective country.

There is something wrong with this picture. University of Glasgow don't have an endowment of 200 million pounds. I think what they will do is cover ( in kind ) 50 percent of expenses for Jamaican students studying at the University of Glasgow with free room and board until the 200 million pounds is payed off while the Jamaican government or the Jamaican students cover the other 50 percent of expenses for the Jamaican students studying at the University of Glasgow. So it is a win/win for both the University of Glasgow and the Jamaican government.

Some Indos returned only to be sorry they did. They were ostracized for mixing with Blacks and not being pure anymore. They were shocked at how their own turned on them. Some returned to Guyana!

ishMahabir posted:

Hey, you sthupit fool, America and Canada should be addressed as plural. I am glad my forefathers left India. Maybe you should have learned some good Hinglish from the Indian teachers the British heducated.

Some Indos returned only to be sorry they did. They were ostracized for mixing with Blacks and not being pure anymore. They were shocked at how their own turned on them. Some returned to Guyana!

Hi Len, do you have any evidence to support your claims regarding Indians been ostracized for mixing with blacks.  

Recently Vish posted a YouTube video of Africans living in India, you should look at it. 

Hi Len, do you have any evidence to support your claims regarding Indians been ostracized for mixing with blacks.  

Recently Vish posted a YouTube video of Africans living in India, you should look at it. 

It is mentioned in Gaiutra's book 'Coolie Woman.'

ishMahabir posted:

Hey, you sthupit fool, America and Canada should be addressed as plural. I am glad my forefathers left India. Maybe you should have learned some good Hinglish from the Indian teachers the British heducated.

He He...

It is mentioned in Gaiutra's book 'Coolie Woman.'

Ok thanks. 

I gon get DJ to  post and dissect for me. 

Come in Sir Django. 

I don't know about the "mixing with Blacks" part. I know about "kala pani" which literally means "black water". In those days, crossing the oceans was generally regarded as crossing black water, a contaminant in the minds of Indians. It applied to Indian indentured labourers not only in the Caribbean but also in Mauritius, the Far East and other places. So, a returnee/remigrant faced hostility and unfriendliness back home. Those backward days are over and nonresident Indians fly back and forth without being regarded as outcasts.

I wonder if my nana got killed when he returned. Parents never heard back from him. Maybe he took his wristwatch and somebody asked him the time and he gave them his mouth and he got into trouble.

Not likely. He probably returned to a better destiny. By 1955 that kala pani phobia would have diminished, thanks to enlightenment from the likes of Swami Vivekananda, Rabindranath Tagore, Jawaharlal Nehru etc.

I  heard from a re migrant  family to Guyana, they were given the cold shoulder,  the current generation are not friendly. 

The Indians from India see us as outcasts. I do not give a rat's ass about what they think of me. I never asked them for a handout. They should feed their beggars and take care of their people first before they can point a finger at others.
Thank God that my forefathers abandoned that country.

For discussions on reparations I recommend Eric Williams book "Capitalism and Slavery". First published in 1944 this book shows with facts & figures how profits from the slave trade and slavery financed the industrial revolution and the growth of manufacturing in Britain. Those profits also funded the construction of mansions and notable buildings. 

No question, descendants of slaves are owed reparations in whatever shape and form mutually agreed upon.

Eric Williams (1911-1981) was first Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago. "Capitalism and Slavery" is available online at Google Play Books for less than US$5.

Those Afro Indians are an impoverished lot and report rampant racism.  Try again when you can show Afro Indian actors in Bollywood.

Indians also traveled to England during that era.  Did they face ostracism when they returned?  I bet you not.

For discussions on reparations I recommend Eric Williams book "Capitalism and Slavery". First published in 1944 this book shows with facts & figures how profits from the slave trade and slavery financed the industrial revolution and the growth of manufacturing in Britain. Those profits also funded the construction of mansions and notable buildings. 

No question, descendants of slaves are owed reparations in whatever shape and form mutually agreed upon.

Eric Williams (1911-1981) was first Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago. "Capitalism and Slavery" is available online at Google Play Books for less than US$5.

Individual institutions might decide to provide reparations. Governments will not.  The UK fears that if they concede to the Caribbean India, Ireland and various African nations might do the same. Ironically so might the USA if it choses.

I suggest that reparation demands from gov'ts are a waste of time.