The problem with down zoning neighborhood proposals is that there is little participation and involvement of community residents . Politics and organizations like RHEDC need to bring in Urban Planners. Too often actions are taken because of pressure from community board members whose agenda conflict with the needs of the communities.

I believe the FAR and Zoning etc should go hand in hand with invironmental interests .For instance a certain percentage of each house lot should contain a percentage of green and if this reduces the FAR on construction size then too bad .

I believe like any other ethnic immigrant neighborhood RH needs to be able to build more 2 and 3 family housing because of the community members housing needs however the monstrous ugly cheap looking crap that is allowed to be built is a sin and the people who build these ugly structures should be flogged or jailed for making the neighborhood look so cheap . Flushing faced the same issues from entrenched community board members who were impervious to the asian housing needs which ethnic group have since taken over and dominated the geography in Flushing . Corona and Jackson Heights are facing the same challenges as RH because most the community members there , like RH , are not involved nor do they participate in the community's politics which determines who will dictate and prevail.

I am sure as more bars open up in the RH area one can expect to see less and less political involvement . Residents of RH all have opinions but few are willing to get involved so , the business community ends up having to take the lead which does not reflect well on the genuiness of their intentions .

True RH High School is over crowded but that is not the sole reason for students failing . The problem of students failing has become pervasive across NYC because the ed system suffers from systemic problems and because politicians have not placed education at the top of their list as yet.

There are few indians who bought on my block and the first thing they did was to cut down all the trees and concrete their entire yards with not an iota of green then , we saw their business trucks and vans parked all over their yard with their garages as their wharehouse . I spoke with them one on one and they simply told me it is their property and they have the right to do as they please . Well , I got the entire block to petition them to cease and desist and suprisingly , they ceased using their yard as their commercial parking lot and actually removed a lot of the concrete and replaced it with lawns and some trees .
RHEDC is opposed to any down zoning.

Our position:

Let the current Zoning for the residential area remain as it is since probably 1961 and increase the Economic Corridors along Atlantic Ave from the City Line to the Van Wyck and along the Van Wyck from its current R5 to R6 C4 overlay. We are also advocating an upZoning for Lefferts Blvd and 101 Ave

We are asking all property owners within the proposed down zoning area to contact us as soon as possible to decide on the next steps..

please a current NY1 news feed as of 123011 10:00 AM

http://www.ny1.com/content/top...gle-in-richmond-hill

Happy viewing.

Please visit our website for more information and the status of the petitioning of the Department of Planning

Vishnu Mahadeo
127-21 Liberty Ave
Richmond Hill, NY 11419
Tel(347) 323-6019
www.RichmondHilledc.org
Kidmost,

The layout and outlook of any proposed building or major changes to any building in RH and in NYC is under the control of the Department of Buildings.

The proposed down zoning will affect more than 90% of the community. It will affect both the Height and the Floor Area Ratio.

Originally posted by kidmost:
The problem with down zoning neighborhood proposals is that there is little participation and involvement of community residents . Politics and organizations like RHEDC need to bring in Urban Planners. Too often actions are taken because of pressure from community board members whose agenda conflict with the needs of the communities.

I believe the FAR and Zoning etc should go hand in hand with invironmental interests .For instance a certain percentage of each house lot should contain a percentage of green and if this reduces the FAR on construction size then too bad .

I believe like any other ethnic immigrant neighborhood RH needs to be able to build more 2 and 3 family housing because of the community members housing needs however the monstrous ugly cheap looking crap that is allowed to be built is a sin and the people who build these ugly structures should be flogged or jailed for making the neighborhood look so cheap . Flushing faced the same issues from entrenched community board members who were impervious to the asian housing needs which ethnic group have since taken over and dominated the geography in Flushing . Corona and Jackson Heights are facing the same challenges as RH because most the community members there , like RH , are not involved nor do they participate in the community's politics which determines who will dictate and prevail.

I am sure as more bars open up in the RH area one can expect to see less and less political involvement . Residents of RH all have opinions but few are willing to get involved so , the business community ends up having to take the lead which does not reflect well on the genuiness of their intentions .

True RH High School is over crowded but that is not the sole reason for students failing . The problem of students failing has become pervasive across NYC because the ed system suffers from systemic problems and because politicians have not placed education at the top of their list as yet.

There are few indians who bought on my block and the first thing they did was to cut down all the trees and concrete their entire yards with not an iota of green then , we saw their business trucks and vans parked all over their yard with their garages as their wharehouse . I spoke with them one on one and they simply told me it is their property and they have the right to do as they please . Well , I got the entire block to petition them to cease and desist and suprisingly , they ceased using their yard as their commercial parking lot and actually removed a lot of the concrete and replaced it with lawns and some trees .
Resisting rezoning Richmond Hill

By Melissa Chan
Tuesday, January 3rd, 2012 3:32 PM EST
Share on Tumblr
The Department of City Planning is looking to rezone 231 blocks of Richmond Hill and Woodhaven to reinforce the predominant one- and two-family homes that are characteristic of the community.Photo Courtesy of Ed Wendell.
The Department of City Planning is looking to rezone 231 blocks of Richmond Hill and Woodhaven to reinforce the predominant one- and two-family homes that are characteristic of the community.

While some local leaders laud the city’s plan to rezone Richmond Hill and Woodhaven, one local business organization said it would negatively impact and cap the growth of the community.

According to a spokesperson for the Department of City Planning, plans to rezone stem from concerns raised by Community Board 9, local civic organizations and area elected officials who say that existing zoning — which has remained unchanged since 1961 — does not closely reflect established building patterns or guide new development to appropriate locations.

Therefore, the Department of City Planning is looking to rezone 231 blocks of Richmond Hill and Woodhaven to reinforce the predominant one- and two-family homes that are characteristic of the community, while redirecting new residential and mixed-use development opportunities to locations along the area’s main commercial corridors near mass transit resources.

“The whole idea of rezoning is to keep neighborhoods stable, safe and healthy,” said Andrea Crawford, chair of Community Board 9. “It’s about maintaining the character of the neighborhood. If you start to tear down the single family and two family homes to put up larger, multiple dwellings, the infrastructure can’t support it, and the school system can’t support it. It makes the area so overly-dense that the neighborhood spills out onto itself. It explodes at the seams.”

The plan also deters expansion in a neighborhood that already struggles with lack of space and overcrowding, said Ed Wendell, president of the Woodhaven Residents Block Association (WRBA).

“Through a residential point of view, expansion takes away parking, and it cripples our services, crowds our schools, and creates more garbage and noise,” he said. “You do not want areas currently zoned for two-family homes to suddenly spring up with large apartment buildings. That’s a no-brainer.”

Wendell said many of the neighborhood’s problems frequently get tied back to overcrowding, including increased noise, fights, garbage and lack of parking.

“We are absolutely in favor of anything that would help cut down on overcrowding,” he said.

Still, Vishnu Mahadeo, president of the Richmond Hill Economic Development Council, said the plan would limit the capacity to build in the neighborhood — subsequently keeping families from growing.

“The community keeps expanding,” he said. “How can you reduce the capacity of the community? The community board needs to review the census data and make it relevant to the zoning.”

Mahadeo said he has a petition with over 2,000 signatures from residents who do not want to be “down-zoned.”

But Crawford said “it’s not down-zoning anything.”

“It’s zoning to correct the neighborhood,” she said, adding that the majority of people against the plan are landlords looking to tear down homes to put up large apartment complexes. “There are many people who live here and support it. They bought into a neighborhood, and they wanted a specific style of the neighborhood. We’re not saying don’t allow for larger structures. We’re saying it has to be sensible, and this does reflect what is necessary and what is allowable.”

The Department of City Planning is currently conducting community outreach meetings on a proposal prior to initiating the formal public review process, which can take up to seven months. The city agency will speak to residents on January 21 at WRBA’s monthly meeting.

By Melissa Chan mchan@queenscourier.com
I believe like any other ethnic immigrant neighborhood RH needs to be able to build more 2 and 3 family housing because of the community members housing needs however the monstrous ugly cheap looking crap that is allowed to be built is a sin and the people who build these ugly structures should be flogged or jailed for making the neighborhood look so cheap .

eventually...3 family will become 4 family...then you start having mini apartment bldgs...where exactly are all these people going to park?
Originally posted by raymond:
I believe like any other ethnic immigrant neighborhood RH needs to be able to build more 2 and 3 family housing because of the community members housing needs however the monstrous ugly cheap looking crap that is allowed to be built is a sin and the people who build these ugly structures should be flogged or jailed for making the neighborhood look so cheap .

eventually...3 family will become 4 family...then you start having mini apartment bldgs...where exactly are all these people going to park?

every existing high density neighborhood in NYC faced the same challenges as RH. What is funny is that at the time they faced these challenges they were ethnic neighborhoods - irish , jewish, italian - mostly of immigrant backgrounds , and they were opposed by 'amercans' . Housing 2 family and up must be made to provide 1 parking spot per unit of residence. However , housing needs and damands should not be based on vehicular parking , these issues are not the same .
Revisit Richmond Hill and be more informed else visit our website www.RichmondHillEDC.org

Originally posted by raymond:

Originally posted by Vish M:
A signed petition is much better than an uninformed opinion.

most of those signing are renters..who look out more for themselves than the community as a whole. I lived in RH when things were a lot less hectic than it is now. I agree that immigrants did bring the community back up...but severe overcrowding will have an adverse effect.
For instance a certain percentage of each house lot should contain a percentage of green and if this reduces the FAR on construction size then too bad .

Try and tell that to Guyanese who as soon as they buy the house ... slap cement all over the lawn so they don't have to mow grass.

I find that so funny when I drive through NYC.
Originally posted by Nuff:
For instance a certain percentage of each house lot should contain a percentage of green and if this reduces the FAR on construction size then too bad .

Try and tell that to Guyanese who as soon as they buy the house ... slap cement all over the lawn so they don't have to mow grass.

that is the fault of lack of enforcement if there is such an ordinance. I know in my neighborhood we all comply voluntarily because it enhances our properties and neighborhood and ultimately future values.
Nice to see you are back in the GNI ZOO Nuff!
Passing through occassionally to give a APNU supporter view.

I really am not a hardcore APNU supporter ... but seeing no one else on GN&I gives the APNU point of view I thought I'd pick up the slack. Big Grin

Like that ! listen afro guyanese and indo guyanese aint going nowhere so they have to learn to dialogue with each other , listen to each other , understand whate each other is saying and find common ground .

that is the fault of lack of enforcement if there is such an ordinance. I know in my neighborhood we all comply voluntarily because it enhances our properties and neighborhood and ultimately future values.

Kid, I live in a largely Italian neighborhood in Ozone Park right behind the Racino. You and nuff should drive there and would see an absence of grass and lots of concrete - the same things you oth insinuate about that makes immigrant Guyanese, shall we say, a little bit unsophisicate and uncaring of a certain quality of life. It's all about the logistics of space.

Greetings from Freesolaan in Paramaibo - lots of grass here...... Big Grin
Originally posted by Alexander:
Happy new year, hope its the right kind of grass.

Kari betta mek sure he watering and mowing he own grass and dont stray pun other people lawn :0) especially in Paramaribo .

Kari bai, the issue bout being concrete oriented and not caring about having some green is not restricted to Guyanese in the inner city areas like RH and OP and SOP . Like I said the city ought to pass lawns about percentage of lots being kept green . Me fuh wan would pass a law bout every yard must have x amount of green lawns or trees .