Rodney inquiry

Posted By Staff Writer On March 9, 2014 In Editorial

The government received justified commendation for announcing last year that a commission of inquiry would be held into the death of Dr Walter Rodney in 1980. Never mind that it has taken two decades for it to reach this point, or that key potential witnesses, not the least of whom is Gregory Smith, are now beyond the reach of earthly interrogation.  It is unfortunate, of course, that this is likely to be an election year of some variety or other, and the possibility that an inquiry might be seized on for partisan purposes in an election campaign cannot be dismissed out of hand. That said, however, in and of itself there is no reason why 2014 should be ruled out as the year for holding the inquiry if it is handled in a straightforward way.

Straightforwardness, however, has never been the PPP’s strong suit; like all the old-style Marxist-Leninist parties it clings to the view that ends justify means. And certainly on this occasion it has proceeded in a way which lends support to its reputation for sinuousness. After the publication of the news that an inquiry was to be held, there was a long period of complete silence, until suddenly the week before last there was an unheralded burst of activity – the commissioners were sworn in and the public was told that the Terms of Reference (TOR) had been gazetted. This, it transpired, had happened since early February, but the TOR did not become easily accessible to the average citizen until last week when they appeared as part of advertisements in the press inviting witnesses to submit statements to the inquiry. Even the parliamentary political parties seem only to have seen them for the first time in that format, since their reactions followed the ads’ publication.

The two parties which have the biggest stake in this inquiry and which presumably still have relevant information to provide, are those which go to make up the APNU alliance – the WPA and the PNCR. For any investigation relating to the late Dr Walter Rodney to produce anything meaningful, therefore, it would be necessary to have those two parties participate. Given that they have concerns about the TOR and one of the commissioners as well, and that the government has presented them with a fait accompli, it is not a foregone conclusion they will take part.

It is just common sense for any government embarking on an exercise of this kind to consult with the parliamentary parties both on the terms of reference and the choice of commissioners. It might be observed that in this instance the PPP/C has no particular stake in the matter, and so hardly needs to dictate terms to those parties which do, unless, of course, it has some covert motive unrelated to the inquiry per se. If it doesn’t have such a motive, then it is doing a first-class job of conveying the impression that it does.

The first term of reference is innocuous enough (as is the third), involving as it does an examination of the facts and circumstances of the “death” in order to determine who or what was responsible for it. The second one, however, introduces whether it was an “act of terrorism” as one of the lines of enquiry, “and if so, who were the perpetrators.”  The word ‘terrorism’ is very much a loaded political term, and means different things to different people in different contexts. Certainly, the commissioners should not be bogged down discussing problematic definitions or which one should be selected and made applicable (or not) in this instance.  After all, what one wants to find out is whether or not it is a murder (or assassination), and if so who were the perpetrators. As it is the government is raising the suspicion that instead of a search for the truth being its sole objective, an eye to subsequent propaganda in a probable election year has crept into its considerations.

The fourth term of reference has raised objections from several quarters, including the WPA, the PNCR and the Guyana Human Rights Association. As we reported yesterday, in a letter to President Ramotar, Drs Clive Thomas and Rupert Roopnaraine expressed their party’s “grave concerns” that the commissioners are required to examine state surveillance of the political opposition from 1978 to 1980. This, they wrote, strays “a considerable distance” from the precisions of “examining the facts and circumstances immediately prior, at the time of, and subsequent to the death of Dr. Walter Rodney.”  They also expressed in diplomatic language what the GHRA said more explicitly about the examination of state surveillance not being limited to the WPA. The human rights organisation went on to say,  “…the clause provides an opportunity for inserting the ruling PPP into events in which it was marginal at the time and for generating a stream of horror stories from that era… Coming at a time of much speculation over general and regional elections, the proposed COI could be read as the worst form of electioneering.”

Both the parties which make up APNU also expressed serious reservations about the appointment of Senior Counsel Seenath Jairam as one of the commissioners. He had been the lead lawyer retained by the government in the case of the budget cuts, a politically charged and contentious matter. While there is absolutely no suggestion that Mr Jairam is not a distinguished member of the Trinidad Bar known for his thorough professionalism, the issue here, as rightly expressed by PNCR Chairman Basil Williams, is one of perception.

Both the WPA and the GHRA raised the issue of immunity being granted to all persons who have committed acts in relation to the death of Dr Walter Rodney, Drs Thomas and Roopnaraine saying that it “tip-toe[d] in the direction of a Truth Commission” although the TOR and the prevailing conditions “fall far short of the complex requirements of a Truth Commission.”  From the tone of  letter, however, the WPA did not seem opposed to the idea in principle.

Attorney General Anil Nandlall made reference to the Rodney family requesting President Ramotar that they have some participation in framing the Terms of Reference, although at what level this was done – or if it was done – he did not reveal. Certainly the family had a right to be consulted on all the terms, and especially be given space to express an opinion on the matter of immunity. At a purely practical level, of course, all that can be said at this stage is that there would be no hope of coming anywhere near to the truth if immunity were not to be granted.

The government needs to do now what it should have done in the first instance, namely, open talks with the parliamentary opposition, more particularly the two main parties in APNU. If either of them withdraw from participation in the inquiry, it would be a waste of time and a waste of money. There is simply no point in Ms Teixeira and Mr Nandlall, the government’s leading spokespersons, going into wordy defence mode in respect of the TOR which their party alone created, and which relate to events in which they have no vested interest. Another of these interminable political wrangles, therefore, is not just inappropriate where this issue is concerned, but entirely unnecessary. If the WPA and the PNC do not participate, and this commission produces nothing, or very little, there will almost certainly never be another one, so it is important to get the terms right now.

The AG said that Dr Rodney’s widow, Dr Patricia Rodney and their daughter Asha had asked President Ramotar that the inquiry not be made the “subject of a political process.”  Whether the current arrangements meet those standards is open to question.

This was a master stroke by the PPP to destory the PNC in any upcoming elections.

Well done PPP!

the PPP appreciates your endorsement

The evidence will show a string correleation between the death of Walter and the PNC.

Who was thr army commander in those days.

His name is  -  Granja!

The truth is the truth and it shall prevail.

Granja going down because of this Rodney enquiry and that is why the PNC is against it

The want to bury the truth.

Let the Inquiry continue.

The evidence will show a string correleation between the death of Walter and the PNC.

His name is  -  Granja!

Granja going down because of this Rodney enquiry and that is why the PNC is against it

dude, did you read the editorial . . . or u just interested in prancing around to the sound of your own (incoherent) voice?

[now . . . ask me why "incoherent"]

His name is  -  Granja!

dude, did you read the editorial . . . or u just interested prancing around to the sound of your own voice?

Read it but my input is my views.  I want the PNC to go down with the PPP.  They were the ones who destroyed the young people's future in Guyana.

I do not have to follow, I man' lead!

FREDDIE ON FRIDAY

FROM the SN

Did Bunham kill Dr. Walker?

Scholarship must never be put to serve the purpose of propaganda. Recently, one learnt of the sudden death of Dr. Tyrone Ferguson in Trinidad. Dr. Ferguson, as many readers would know, was the predecessor of Dr. Roger Luncheon in the Presidential Secretariat under the presidency of Desmond Hoyte. Ferguson's appointment showed the extent to which Hoyte was prepared to go to diminish the influence of the PNC in his new government.

One must erase the belief that the Hoyte period was an era of the democratization of Guyana by the PNC. The PNC as a party was virtually side-lined from 1988 up to when Hoyte lost power in 1992. It was Ferguson himself, writing an eulogy on Hoyte in the Stabroek News days after the death of Hoyte, who pointed to the fear among Hoyte supporters that his life was in danger.

Ferguson went on to add that indeed there was a plot to harm Hoyte for his sustained manoeuvres in the direction of both glasnost and perestroika after 1988.

Hoyte's appointment of Ferguson demonstrated some fine qualities Hoyte had. Ferguson was given one of the most crucial roles in the state without him having any meaningful party connection. It was a master stroke by Hoyte even though some of us, including this writer, believe that Hoyte was never good at practical politics and strategic thinking in political policy-making. Since Ferguson was raw, then his only loyalty would have been to Hoyte.

A Burnhamite in the position of Head of the Presidential Secretariat (HPS) could have undermined Hoyte's power-base. Of course, there is a counter-argument to this that says Hoyte was concerned with the professionalization in the public service so he needed non-political personnel in the essential services. So he elevated Goolsarran to Auditor-General, Ragubeer to Police Commissioner, Singh to commander of the army, and Ferguson to HPS. It was certainly a retrograde step when Cedi Jagan appointed Roger Luncheon, a party leader to HPS.

Ferguson did not live long enough to face academic grilling from Guyanese intellectuals on a piece of analysis of Forbes Burnham in his book, “To Survive Sensibly or to Court Heroic Death,” (Guyana National Printers, Georgetown, 1999). I did critique his book for the Kaieteur News and the Chronicle. I was severe on him for his interpretation of the murder of Walter Rodney. Here is a typical advantage of scholarship serving the interest of propaganda. On page 297, Ferguson pontificating on the character of Burnham when looking at the possible motives for the assassination of Walter Rodney, wrote, “Burnham would have been acting uncharacteristically to have given the go-ahead for such a politically costly act.”

This is either propaganda posing as scholarship or it is poor intellectual analysis. Without dwelling on the topic of who is to be blamed for the riots and mayhem of the sixties, the X-13 plan puts Burnham as one of the central plotters in the conspiratorial obsession to use violence to burn and kill in the sixties as part of a Western plot to destabilize the Jagan Government. Burnham's political direction in the sixties was characterised by the massive use of violence in which lots of people were killed. Who was Ferguson trying to fool when he speaks of the uncharacteristic style of Burnham if he had consented to kill Rodney? On the contrary, this would have been very characteristic of Burnham.

Ferguson omits vital facts of the seventies and eighties when assessing Burnham in his flawed book. For example, there is no attention paid to the cause of Vincent Teekah's death. There are two explanations for Teekah's death. I offered one of these theories in a Kaieteur News article of August 6, 2001. One of Teekah's very close relatives told me that it was in fact Burnham who ordered the liquidation of Teekah because Teekah was a high-level agent of the Cuban Government. The other story is that one of Burnham's deputies murdered Teekah in the knowledge that Teekah was about to be elevated as second to Burnham. The latter position is inflexibly adhered to by devout Burnham fan, and former advisor to Desmond Hoyte, Halim Majeed. 

(See Majeed's article on Teekah's death in Kaieteur News of Feb 26 - March 4, 1999)

Whichever of these competing formulations you accept, Burnham was undoubtedly involved in Teekah's murder. Teekah was done away with before Rodney was blown up. To secure Burnham's credibility, Ferguson chose to ignore the death of Vincent Teekah in his book and speculate widely on Rodney's death because he was a propagandist for the PNC. I am absolutely sure that had he remained in Guyana, he would have faced extensive questioning of his unashamed support for Burnham in his book.

But leaving aside the academic failings of Burnham, what about Burnham's role in other killings? According to Majeed, a person who wanted to succeed Burnham organised the destruction of Teekah. The principal plotter was Dr. Oswaldene Walker. She came to Guyana, became a confidante of the government and befriended Teekah. The conspiracy was indeed sophisticated. Dr. Walker would become the lover of Teekah, he would be killed, then it would be fixed to look like a tragic triangular love affair. Along the way, some changes were made. Dr. Walker ran out of her car during the uncivilised hour of a morning in the Industrial Site area of South Georgetown, crying to a security guard that her lover (Teekah) was robbed and killed.

According to Majeed there was no blood in the car. Majeed who remains an unapologetic supporter of Burnham to this day, believes Burnham's closet trustee killedVincent Teekah. Ferguson, Burnham's propagandist, remained silent in his book on the fate of Dr. Walker. Vincent Teekah's brother told me that Dr. Walker was smashed to pieces in a strange car accident in the US shortly after she left Guyana. The long arm of Burnham could not have reached anyone he wanted to kill. Time for an inquest into Rodney's and Teekah's tragic murders. Time to unmask Forbes Burnham as a deadly killer.

Friday - May 27, 2005

His name is  -  Granja!

dude, did you read the editorial . . . or u just interested prancing around to the sound of your own voice?

Read it but my input is my views.  I want the PNC to go down with the PPP.  They were the ones who destroyed the young people's future in Guyana.

I do not have to follow, I man' lead!

you are incoherent

incoherent people cannot "lead" . . . except in the PPP

Freddie seh:

One of Teekah's very close relatives told me that it was in fact Burnham who ordered the liquidation of Teekah because Teekah was a high-level agent of the Cuban Government.

Who was in charge of the ARMY when Teekah died?

Granja!

Who cover up the liquidation done by GDF special forces?

LOL  - Granja!

Freddie seh:

One of Teekah's very close relatives told me that it was in fact Burnham who ordered the liquidation of Teekah because Teekah was a high-level agent of the Cuban Government.

Granja!

LOL  - Granja!

Bloody hands, the PPP know who got the bloody hands.

The PPP and the House of Israel is now ONE FAMILY!

your posts read like a not-so-clever PPP campaign to foster confusion, race hate and mistrust in the opposition ranks

You got to be a certified JOKER to not understand that my mission is the downfall of the PPP = PNC oligarchy.

I have always exposed both the PNC and PPP.  Not because you are in bed with the PNC today, you must wear blinkers.

At the end of the day, we all have to meet with the Lord at our death and the PNC or the PPP cannot help you there.  ONLY THE TRUTH WILL!.

So continue to be water in the PNC CUP and restrict your mind to be truly free, that is your business, not mine.

I AM FREE!

I have always exposed both the PNC and PPP.  Not because you are in bed with the PNC today, you must wear blinkers.

At the end of the day, we all have to meet with the Lord at our death and the PNC or the PPP cannot help you there.  ONLY THE TRUTH WILL!.

So continue to be water in the PNC CUP and restrict your mind to be truly free, that is your business, not mine.

I AM FREE!

NOTICE - I SAID PNC CUP  - that is a deep statement.

PNC = PPP = ONE CORRUPT family.

ummmmmm . . . OK

Freddie seh:

Granja!

LOL  - Granja!

dude, we already have a resident klown on GNI

u do know that there is another narrative claiming that Teekah was a Burnham favorite murdered by another well known favorite (u-know-who?) famous for his ambition and jealousy . . . so, which is it?

complexity tends to be the bête noire of charlatans, simple minds and wannabe PPP smartman disinformation agents . . . nah suh bai?

The WPA is a waste of time political party. They should not accept this charade. 

Agree with JB, the WPA is finished politically.  10 wheel to a coach!

The WPA is a waste of time political party. They should not accept this charade. 

Agree with JB, the WPA is finished politically.  10 wheel to a coach!

They should all go and jump in the river and let those alligators eat them. A group of stupid people the WPA. Mr Granger needs to kick them out. 

"a pox on all their houses" is not a principled political position unless you are an anarchist or ole time [revolutionary] communist

in a tribal situation such as exists in Guyana, this is a scampman/coward's propaganda aimed at protecting incumbent despotism

This was a master stroke by the PPP to destory the PNC in any upcoming elections.

Well done PPP!

Yuh onkle Forbes killed Rodney, go pick a fight with the.  The PPP should stay away.

Well done PPP!

Yuh onkle Forbes killed Rodney, go pick a fight with the.  The PPP should stay away.

dummy . . . nobody's arguing that point

find another jumbie to arm wrestle with

Well done PPP!

So don't blame the PPP, back to back, belly to belly, PNC and WPA done dead aareddy.

Well done PPP!

So don't blame the PPP, back to back, belly to belly, PNC and WPA done dead aareddy.

trapped in your own stupidity, the resort to klowning is desperate, no?