Why Sunil Gavaskar named his son after West Indies great Rohan Kanhai

Sunil Gavaskar said Rohan Kanhai used to "secretly encourage" him during his debut series, whispering in his ear if other West Indies players were not within earshot.

By: Sports Desk | Updated: June 7, 2020 11:51:50 am
Gavaskar Kanhai
Rohan Kanhai (left) played for West Indies between 1957 and 1975; Sunil Gavaskar made his India debut in West Indies in 1971, scoring three tons and one double ton in his maiden series. (File Photo/Reuters)

Sunil Gavaskar, who made his debut for India on a tour of West Indies in 1971, was so overwhelmed by the behaviour of one of the players in the opposition side – Rohan Kanhai – that it “was a no-brainer” to name his son after him, said the former India great. Gavaskar’s son Rohan, born in 1976, is also a former India cricketer, having played 11 ODIs in the early 2000s.

Speaking on a recent episode of 22 Yarns with Gaurav Kapur, Sunil Gavaskar narrated how Kanhai “secretly encouraged” him during his debut series, adding that race issues within the West Indies would have contributed to Kanhai’s endorsement.

“Apart from his batsmanship, (why I respected Rohan Kanhai so much was because of) how he secretly encouraged me. There’s always been this issue between African-origin people and Indian-origin people in Trinidad, Guyana,” Gavaskar said on

Sunil Gavaskar was a great batsman. He made 100 runs at Bourda with   4 chances.  When he went to England he failed miserable.  He never shine at Lord's.

I remembered in one match which stand out to me.

Radio announcer:

John Snow runs in  bowls to  Gavasker, and Gavaskar moves late accross the line of the ball and his middle stump went for a walk..  

Many babies were named after Rohan Kanhai. Rohan Singh of the PPP/C is one of them.

Kanhai himself was named after a Dr Rohan, a white man who practised medicine in Guyana during colonial time.

Some three decades ago I was looking to buy a property in an area north of Atlanta. I worked with a broker from Texas by the name of Billy Spain.  He had two Guyanese real estate agents working for him.  The two gentlemen were from Berbice.  One name Balgobin and the other Ram..  This is how I came up with the alias Billy Ram Balgobin.

@seignet posted:

Moses have a lot of distant relatives including me.  Madrassies marry other Madrassies all over Guiana, most commonly Enmore.

Only I can say that you are a cousin of a great man, Moses Nagamootoo. I don't let politics distort my judgment. 

Do you judge greatness according to the degree of NEE NEE NEEMAKARAMISM?????  Has to be!!!!!!!!

@Prashad posted:

Kanhai encouraged many young players regardless of team. He did it many times for Jamaican players. In Jamaica vs Guyana.

Yuh think he sellout some matches to India and Jamaica? Sometimes he got outed stupidly. Mek yuh wonda wha bin pass thru he mind. 😁

@Nehru posted:

Do you judge greatness according to the degree of NEE NEE NEEMAKARAMISM?????  Has to be!!!!!!!!

If you have a brother that dedicated his life to you and your family, and due to family disagreement, he decided to follow to bad companay. You may forsake him, but you will never considered him a neemakaram. If you practice to hate your own people, it would be easier for you to dislike others.