Naieem Gafoor

DEMERARA WAVES, AUGUST 5 --- The Alliance For Change’s (AFC) Councillor in Region 8, who was arrested in connection with a protest march against the extremely poor condition of roads in Mahdia, on Tuesday vowed to continue agitation moments after he was released on station bail.

“I wasn’t scared because i was trying to do things to benefit the community. I am not giving up. I planning to go back,” Naieem Gafoor told Demerara Waves Online News.

Gafoor said he was charged with obstructing traffic and illegal procession after he refused a request by police for him to ask protesters to cease blocking the airstrip road. “I refuse to instruct the people to remove the wood. I can’t go and tell the people that.  I will get beat up,” he said.

Gafoor said he was taken into custody about 4:30 Monday afternoon, charged and released on GUY$18,000 station bail about 3 PM Tuesday. He has to report to the police on August 11.

Gafoor said he was the only person arrested.

At least 14 members of the Police Force’s riot squad arrived early Tuesday morning and, in collaboration with police at Mahdia, removed obstructions on the airstrip road.

The Region 8 Councillor said he was surprised that the police arrested and charged him because the march was accompanied by police and there was no incident.

Demerara Waves Online News was told that organisers did not receive police permission for the march.

Region 8 is controlled by the AFC.

GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: The undemocratic PPP is intolerant of peaceful protests. Recently Essequibo Coast protesting rice farmers were tear-gassed and charged. The PPP singled out AFC Councillor Naith Ram for harrassment.

At Mahdia the PPP have singled out AFC Councillor Naieem Gafoor.

The AFC will not be deterred by PPP police intimidation. More protests are in the works.

Gafoor said he was charged with obstructing traffic and illegal procession after he refused a request by police for him to ask protesters to cease blocking the airstrip road.I refuse to instruct the people to remove the wood. I can’t go and tell the people that.  I will get beat up,” he said.

Naieem Gafoor was the leader of that protest. He has a right to follow police direction and perform a peaceful protest. He didn't do that. A peaceful protest need leaders who can have control of the crowd, and make sure no law is broken. Every protest permit stipulate the agreement that protesters must follow.

This will back fire on the PPP/C bullyism.

What happen to the one that claim police striped him naked? If that was true, why Ramjattan didn't press charges against the officers?

Gafoor said he was charged with obstructing traffic and illegal procession after he refused a request by police for him to ask protesters to cease blocking the airstrip road.I refuse to instruct the people to remove the wood. I can’t go and tell the people that.  I will get beat up,” he said.

Naieem Gafoor was the leader of that protest. He has a right to follow police direction and perform a peaceful protest. He didn't do that. A peaceful protest need leaders who can have control of the crowd, and make sure no law is broken. Every protest permit stipulate the agreement that protesters must follow.

Ashni hit and run and shows no care for injured fellow Guyanese. Two vehicles were written off, yet he was not charged.

What happen to the one that claim police striped him naked? If that was true, why Ramjattan didn't press charges against the officers?

A civil action might be in the works.

Ashni hit and run and shows no care for injured fellow Guyanese. Two vehicles were written off, yet he was not charged.

Like we going on a race that you running from the topic at hand?  Let's get back to Naieem Gafoor.

Might is maybe or never. In better words...lack of evidence...fabrication, etc.

How many protests have you been in, Cobs?

I was in at least 14 in Guyana, and I can tell you from experience that the police know which limb to climb pon. When ruling party people protest, police turn aside dem face and allow slackness.

When opposition people protest, police on instructions go into action and arrest and charge.

BTW, Cobs, even here in Toronto I've taken part in street protests. Today I got an email invitation to join a flash mob on Saturday at Dundas Square against the Israeli massacre in Gaza.

Like we going on a race that you running from the topic at hand?  Let's get back to Naieem Gafoor.

This is PPP bullyism. It will back fire. Mahdia is one the most rich towns, with Diamond and Gold. One Observer said: So much GOLD and DIAMONDS in and around Madhia and it is like a fifth rate village SHAME, SHAME, SHAME...!!!!!!  But Madhia's principal problem is that they do not vote overwhelmingly for the PPP....and so they pay the price.

Might is maybe or never. In better words...lack of evidence...fabrication, etc.

Mediation...

This is PPP bullyism. It will back fire. Mahdia is one the most rich towns, with Diamond and Gold. One Observer said: So much GOLD and DIAMONDS in and around Madhia and it is like a fifth rate village SHAME, SHAME, SHAME...!!!!!!  But Madhia's principal problem is that they do not vote overwhelmingly for the PPP....and so they pay the price.

Is that's why Ramjattan is allowing the protest leaders to break the law?  Come on, Mitwah. There is something more to this story. I agree about the pot holes. There are pot holes all over Guyana. Isn't this an opportune moment to picket the government and to distract attention form issues? 

Is what Ramjattan feed you guys when he was in Canada? I would like to taste what he was sharing. 

Ramjatan right now in Canada I was told and he drinking up and drinking dhall and sporting up and partying up.

BUT NO BACK BALL.  The leader is not low life like Danald.

Mits is where that Danald lawless picture deh?

Is what Ramjattan feed you guys when he was in Canada? I would like to taste what he was sharing. 

The founding fathers of MAHDIA during the 1940s are:
Portugese Messrs. Jimmy Fraites, and Gravesande .

Naieem Gafoor

DEMERARA WAVES, AUGUST 5 --- The Alliance For Change’s (AFC) Councillor in Region 8, who was arrested in connection with a protest march against the extremely poor condition of roads in Mahdia, on Tuesday vowed to continue agitation moments after he was released on station bail.

“I wasn’t scared because i was trying to do things to benefit the community. I am not giving up. I planning to go back,” Naieem Gafoor told Demerara Waves Online News.

Gafoor said he was charged with obstructing traffic and illegal procession after he refused a request by police for him to ask protesters to cease blocking the airstrip road. “I refuse to instruct the people to remove the wood. I can’t go and tell the people that.  I will get beat up,” he said.

Gafoor said he was taken into custody about 4:30 Monday afternoon, charged and released on GUY$18,000 station bail about 3 PM Tuesday. He has to report to the police on August 11.

At least 14 members of the Police Force’s riot squad arrived early Tuesday morning and, in collaboration with police at Mahdia, removed obstructions on the airstrip road.

The Region 8 Councillor said he was surprised that the police arrested and charged him because the march was accompanied by police and there was no incident.

Demerara Waves Online News was told that organisers did not receive police permission for the march.

GILBAKKA'S COMMENT: The undemocratic PPP is intolerant of peaceful protests. Recently Essequibo Coast protesting rice farmers were tear-gassed and charged. The PPP singled out AFC Councillor Naith Ram for harrassment.

The AFC will not be deterred by PPP police intimidation. More protests are in the works.

Police acting under political direction - arrest the AFC members ONLY.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

Ramjatan right now in Canada I was told and he drinking up and drinking dhall and sporting up and partying up.

Donald Ramotar is my president and the current President of the republic of Guyana. If you don't like the sound of that too bad. That's all I will entertain from you right now. Nothing else matter to me in your post.

So now the PPP will look like the bully and the AFC will look heroic.  Indeed APNU will look lazy because this is their backyard, but they are missing in action. AS USUAL.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

LOL. You want Gilly throw some lash pon me.  

So now the PPP will look like the bully and the AFC will look heroic.  Indeed APNU will look lazy because this is their backyard, but they are missing in action. AS USUAL.

Is madhia still called "Little St. Lucia" and are St. Lucians still there?

Originally Posted by Cobra:.

Donald Ramotar is my president and the current President of the republic of Guyana. If you don't like the sound of that too bad. ..

And that is so much like Burnham.  Continue.  I like it when the PPP does this because it guarantees that we will see the end of them SOONER.

Indeed the backwardness of this region of Guyana was exposed TO THE ENTIRE world in GOLDRUSH. Yes that same reality show that Irfaan boasted would have tourists galloping to Guyana.  Irfaan any one who was tempted to visit Guyana, who didn't have family or business reasons to do so promptly canceled.  That show made Guyana look like what it is. A backward, lawless, and dangerous country.

Is madhia still called "Little St. Lucia" and are St. Lucians still there?

No.  They are back in Micoud, Soufriere, or Laborie, or where ever their GRANDPARENTs came from.  St Lucia makes Guyana look like bush, and St Lucians prefer town life these days.

Quote by BT

Yes! If they are the only one's breaking the law. This is not a coincident, it's a habit to abuse law enforcement in Guyana and hope to get away with it.

LAW AND ORDER COMMRADE ROHEE. I am so happy to see LAW and ORDER is the game of the Day.

I see that when the PPP protested under Burnham and burned down canes you would have screamed law and order, and supported Burnham when he sent in the HOI goons to stab them up.

Obviously because the protesters aren't doing anything now that the PPP didn't do then.  If the gov't doesn't listen what do you expect people to do?

Naieem Gafoor

Me hear Ramotar is frustrated wid the AFC, too many sleepless nights...losing weight...

His wife, like Jagdeo's  'wife' are good friends, very concerned about his health.

Quote by BT

Yes! If they are the only one's breaking the law. This is not a coincident, it's a habit to abuse law enforcement in Guyana and hope to get away with it.

I am so happy because when the PPP behaves like this they begin to resemble the worst of Burnham.

The arrogance of those people is amazing.  They will spend millions to build an excessively large airport, yet can't even provide decent roads for these people!

The corrupt PPP/C is using the Police, just like Burnham did, as their dogs of war, their dictatorship attitude is becoming more and more visable for Guyanese to see and remember comes Elections time.

What happen recently, Mits? Those are old stuff. We keep up with current affairs.

You guys have short memory of Police brutality under PPP regime. This arrest has PPP political prosecution and intimidation written all over it.

What happen recently, Mits? Those are old stuff. We keep up with current affairs.

You guys have short memory of Police brutality under PPP regime. This arrest has PPP political prosecution and intimidation written all over it.

Bhai, in every nation there are right and wrong, good and bad. In government, things will happen and fade away overtime. If what you posted have to stack against the PPP government, then so be it. I am not condoning it. There are a lot of thinks that you and I may not like, but until nothing better is done, the PPP will still be your problem. Guyana is my country too you know.

LAW AND ORDER COMMRADE ROHEE. I am so happy to see LAW and ORDER is the game of the Day.

yes rohee,sent all your police to arrest the people that protest,and please sent some to collect empty casing that the bandits left when they rob and kill them collie people,good job SIR law and order

Bhai, in every nation there are right and wrong, good and bad. In government, things will happen and fade away overtime. If what you posted have to stack against the PPP government, then so be it. I am not condoning it. There are a lot of thinks that you and I may not like, but until nothing better is done, the PPP will still be your problem. Guyana is my country too you know.

Bhai, I know you love Guyana. This incident has Burnhamism written all over it.

just one collie man have to pick up a gun and start shooting some of these police,then they will refuse to arrest protesters , let rohee and ramotar go and arrest them 

Rohee police charge Mahdia AFC Councillor for protesting

Should be Guyana Police, perhaps.

People of Mahdia are intimidated for protesting against bad road condition, and all D_G as a retired civil engineer can quibble about is my choice of title.

Yes. Rohee police. He is the subject minister who controls the police.

As a newspaper reader in Calgary, D_G must be aware that the press often say "Harper government" instead of Canadian government.