Rupert Roopnarine and David Granger

(Guyana Times)Leader of the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), Dr Rupert Roopnaraine said contrary to popular belief the evidence he will be giving  to the Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry will by no means create a rift between his party and the People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR), which is the major partner in the A Partnership for National Unity (APNU) coalition.

In fact, the political stalwart claims that both the WPA and the PNC had come together, putting aside all their differences for a common goal. He said there is absolutely nothing that will come out in the Inquiry that is not already known to the two parties. “There is nothing that will emerge from this inquiry that will in fact astonish us,” Roopnaraine said on Monday.

The WPA Leader stressed that the two political organisations “knew what we knew” and had at the point of coming together, made a “giant leap in terms of reconciliation by entering into a political partnership.

“We knew what we were doing, and, as I said, there is nothing that would come out of the Commission of Inquiry that will cause us to change our minds,” Dr Roopnaraine, who is also  Vice Chairman of APNU,  said.

No change in views

The Walter Rodney Commission of Inquiry will recommence next Tuesday at the Supreme Court Library building in Georgetown. Dr Roopnaraine, along with   a  few other renowned individuals, has been named to give evidence in the investigation, which seeks to ascertain who or what was responsible for the death of the WPA founding leader, Dr Walter Anthony Rodney, on June 30, 1980.

The WPA has categorically blamed the PNC Government, led by the late Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, for Rodney’s death. According to the WPA, Rodney was very much outspoken on the undemocratic practices of the Government.

“I have had a conversation with Mr Glenn Hanoman, lawyer for the Commission and I told him, yes, I will be coming to testify.” Dr Roopnaraine pointed out that his testimony will provide a broad context of the 1975-1980 period, noting that there will not be any new information, since he has written extensively on the matter, which has been in the public domain over the years. “What I wrote then I believed to be true and I continue to believe it to be true.”

Political context

He said the political environment of that time will be examined. This includes the civil rebellion period, which culminated in June 1980 with the assassination of Dr Rodney. Dr Roopnaraine said he believes that it is very critical that an accurate picture be painted about the political context at the time and the struggles experienced by everyone concerned to build a united front.

But while the WPA Leader remains poised to participate, his political partner and leader of the PNCR, retired Brigadier David Granger has opted not to provide evidence at the Inquiry, despite calls from Government officials for him to do so.

Legal Affairs Minister and Attorney General Anil Nandlall had said that Granger would have had an opportunity to exonerate the name of the PNC, with his participation. However, Granger maintained that his reason for not participating is rooted in the Head of State’s unconcern for the issues raised by the PNC over sections of the Commission’s Terms of Reference, and the presence of a Commissioner, Justice Seenath Jairam, on the board of inquiry.

On June 13, 1980, at the age of 38, Dr Rodney, the WPA Co-leader, was killed by a bomb in his car, a month after he returned from the independence celebrations in Zimbabwe and during a period of intense political activism. He was survived by his wife, Patricia, and three children.

His younger brother Donald Rodney, who was injured in the explosion, said a sergeant in the Guyana Defence Force named Gregory Smith had given Walter the bomb that killed him. After the killing, Smith fled to French Guiana, where he died in 2002.

There's a large faction of the W.P.A that is not in full agreement with Roopnarine and how he had cemented his place at congress place.

Dr. David Hinds views would be very interesting to note...

Originally Posted by Conscience:

There's a large faction of the W.P.A that is not in full agreement with Roopnarine and how he had cemented his place at congress place.

how large is the wpa to begin with....10 people? That means 6 is the larger part! Imaging the dude trusts the murderer of his leader more than you folks! That is amazing.

Why did Rodney needed a Bomb device.

Killing was a big thing then just like the PPP time now. Back then Teekah died. Dolly Baksh died. Dis time, Sawh died and dat girl who was dumped on Water street dat Jagan promised the girl mother he was going find out who did it and justice will prevail. Man, so many ppl gat killed under Jagdeo watch dat Guyanese became numb to killings.

Suh y bother wid rodney. As roopnarine said, he dun tell the whole world about it and he ain about to change his story.

De PPP want to embarass Granger. That is such a mean spirited approach. Prostitutes they are-just like the approach the great leader used as stated in the west on trial.  

Guyana full full wid deep hated ppl. And dey govern the country.

how large is the wpa to begin with....10 people? That means 6 is the larger part! Imaging the dude trusts the murderer of his leader more than you folks! That is amazing.

Dunce

Roopnarine is a Dirty Indian.

Dunce

Shyte bro, dem kind of indians are found only in the Peoples Progressive Party. Bhai, yuh gat no shame.

Dunce

Dude, you calling me a dunce is a badge of honor. It defines me opposite to  you.

You celebrate your erudition and intellectual profundity    well with your petty dog whistling. But being a racist ranks high in your idea of excellence!

Dunce

Dude, you calling me a dunce is a badge of honor. It defines me opposite to  you.

You celebrate your erudition and intellectual profundity    well with your petty dog whistling. But being a racist ranks high in your idea of excellence!

What a dunce response. Dunce d2.

You like to call names so yuji will return fire with fire. No sympathy for a dunce like you.

You call names and then run to admin like a sissy. Cry baby D2.

I complain when you take your compulsion to be a fool and become a thread derailing troll. I call u what u are.

I complain when you take your compulsion to be a fool and become a thread derailing troll. I call up what u are.

Dunce and cry baby D2 has no substance and is caught lying many times. Ker you...

No amount of damage control could save Roopnarine and the  W.P.A, they are now  fully embedded with the P.N.C.

WPA/PNC/AFC are intertwined like a three strand rotten rope.  Roopnarine is a traitor like Moses. They sold their souls to the devil. They are dirty indeed. 

I complain when you take your compulsion to be a fool and become a thread derailing troll. I call up what u are.

Dunce and cry baby D2 has no substance and is caught lying many times. Ker you...

You do seem to be begging for attention...pity you and your fanciful imagination!

Dunce D2, you are just that, a dunce.

How is your close friend who was jailed for fraud and corruption doing these days ? Are you providing him with advice ? You have zero credibility.

Dunce D2, you are just that, a dunce.

How is your close friend who was jailed for fraud and corruption doing these days ? Are you providing him with advice ? You have zero credibility.

As I said, a troll is just a troll. Yes I knew a fellow who misused his office. He is in jail. I am outside. I

wonder what you would say of the more than a dozen in RH who are friends and financial supporters of the PPP and who are quir pro quo  benefactors of the PPP in our asset give aways? And they stole Millions! That fellow I knew as a kid growing up misused a mere 200k I had not seen him in decades so he did not give me a jaw breaker from his filching!

Credibility is not in trolling for muck. It is on insight, intellect and expressions thereof.

Dunce

Blah Blah Blah. There is a difference. Your friend was sent to jail because there was proof that he committed fraud.

There is ZERO evidence to prove your claim. You are such a dunce.

Dunce

Blah Blah Blah. There is a difference. Your friend was sent to jail because there was proof that he committed fraud.

Captain obvious...who doubted he is in jail or denied he committed fraud! And what makes you think he was my friend as in confidant, associate, ie a person I had a long standing relationship with?  I knew him over one summer!

That being said, I knew his father and I can say with confidence he came from honest stock. I have no reservation that he will do well after his time served. If ever I meet him I would gladly embrace him and call him brother. I am no christian but a man who admits his sins is better than the man who denies them. You are the latter.

Dunce

Captain obvious...who doubted he is in jail or denied he committed fraud! And what makes you think he was my friend as in confidant, associate, ie a person I had a long standing relationship with?  I knew him over one summer!

That being said, I knew his father and I can say with confidence he came from honest stock. I have no reservation that he will do well after his time served. If ever I meet him I would gladly embrace him and call him brother. I am no christian but a man who admits his sins is better than the man who denies them. You are the latter.

Embrace a convict ? Speaks volumes about your shady character.

Dunce

Do convicts lose their humanity? The  only thing that speaks volumes is your backwoods parochialisms.

Dunce

Do convicts lose their humanity? The  only thing that speaks volumes is your backwoods parochialisms.

D2 associates with and embraces with convicts. yuji does not. There is a difference between me and a low class dunce like you.

Dunce

D2 associates with and embraces with convicts. yuji does not. There is a difference between me and a low class dunce like you.

You embrace the PPP and they are unrepentant crooks! As for class....we came from the same dalit ancestors....you claiming Brahminhood notwithstanding!

Dunce

You embrace the PPP and they are unrepentant crooks! As for class....we came from the same dalit ancestors....you claiming Brahminhood notwithstanding!

Dunce

My foreprents are from Haryana India. I have successfully traced my roots. We are not dalits, unlike a drunk like you. And further dunce, not all Indo Guyanese are from dalit stock.

I will not touch a person like you with a yardstick.

Dunce

Dunce

My foreprents are from Haryana India. I have successfully traced my roots. We are not dalits, unlike a drunk like you. And further dunce, not all Indo Guyanese are from dalit stock.

I will not touch a person like you with a yardstick.

All of us were of the rajas! Our ancestors  came to create our holiday palaces  in Guyana.

As for yard sticks and touching...it is why there are 600 million communally shitting on the sidewalks because they do not know what is a toilet!

I wonder why you presume I would be a drunk? Habit and heritage I guess!