- Stabroek News - http://www.stabroeknews.com -

Roopnaraine won’t return as APNU’s prime ministerial candidate –sources

Posted By Staff Writer On September 15, 2014 @ 5:05 am In Local News | No Comments

With early general elections a distinct possibility, sources close to the opposition coalition, A Partner-ship for National Unity (APNU) have revealed that the grouping would have to seek a new Prime Minis-terial candidate as the current candidate Dr Rupert Roopnaraine won’t reprise the role.

Roopnaraine, a co-leader of the Working People’s Alliance will not be running on APNU’s electoral ticket should the AFC’s no-confidence motion pass once Parliament reconvenes next month and elections are called, sources told Stabroek News.

When contacted, Roopnaraine remained mum on the issue only stating that such decisions would need to be discussed at the party level. He stated that as co-leader of the WPA, he would need to discuss with the party, its future and how to move forward with the new generation of leadership. He told Stabroek News that he was looking to further engage APNU as a stand-alone party while maintaining the coalition aspect.

Are we seeing a Granger/Nagamootoo ticket now? 

It would make for very interesting politics but I think the PNC missed the boat on that opportunity. The debacle at the congress has weakened them to the point where many of their key people are now running to the AFC.

The AFC has definitely sensed that and they would be silly to join any coalition with Granger who would demand the Presidency.

The PNC is very weak right now and that works to the advantage of the AFC. As long as Granger keeps meeting with Ramotar and excluding the AFC that also leads to massive distrust, Ramjattan apparently has spoken to Granger and the entire PNC leadership about this several times recently and there has been no change from the PNC. 

The PNC deal to make Raphael speaker also has left a bitter taste in the mouth of Granger and backfired massively on the PNC. More distrust left and right.

Please ask a serious question to get a serious answer.

Gilly, my question is not impossible. BTW, who would be APNU's prime ministerial candidate? He may have to be an Indo-Guyanese of course.

Could be an indo woman like Miss JB  

Granger/Nagamootoo ticket would mean that there is a merger between the PNC and AFC or Nagamootoo has left the AFC for the PNC party.

wow you get all of this from this merger,thank god the ppp have you as a adviser. 

I will NOT be surprise. POWER is addictive!!!

speaking from the ppp experience  i see

Gilly, my question is not impossible.

At this stage, not possible.

BTW, who would be APNU's prime ministerial candidate?

APNU will have to answer that.

He may have to be an Indo-Guyanese of course.

Not "of course." He/she could be Chinese, Amerindian, Portuguese.

I am thinking more of a merger since APNU & AFC cannot win against the PPP as stand alone parties. The AFC supporters are playing down the idea of a merger in the making.

Me born 1989 how me going to be Mr Granger candidate? 

Plus you retire and den you back out of retirement...........

tyrone retires

• tyrone retires

Posted By Staff Writer On September 15, 2014 @ 5:05 am In Local News | No Comments

With early general elections a distinct possibility, sources close to the opposition coalition, A Partner-ship for National Unity (APNU) have revealed that the grouping would have to seek a new Prime Minis-terial candidate as the current candidate Dr Rupert Roopnaraine won’t reprise the role.

Roopnaraine, a co-leader of the Working People’s Alliance will not be running on APNU’s electoral ticket should the AFC’s no-confidence motion pass once Parliament reconvenes next month and elections are called, sources told Stabroek News.

When contacted, Roopnaraine remained mum on the issue only stating that such decisions would need to be discussed at the party level. He stated that as co-leader of the WPA, he would need to discuss with the party, its future and how to move forward with the new generation of leadership. He told Stabroek News that he was looking to further engage APNU as a stand-alone party while maintaining the coalition aspect.

What party level?  The WPA is a dead party.  He mean he and Bonita Bones and Andaiya in a Ménage à trois in his bed!

You all know Old boy Roops used to knock all them WPA ladies and used to say for the revolution.  Wicked willy!

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

What party level?  The WPA is a dead party.  He mean he and Bonita Bones and Andaiya in a Ménage à trois in his bed!

You all know Old boy Roops used to knock all them WPA ladies and used to say for the revolution.  Wicked willy!

i prefer being a successful garbage collector than a fail politicians,like these fools 

Reliable source said that Dr. Rupert Roopnarine is hoping to ask PPP to join them. Latest from Guyana...

Join them where isn't he already part of the PPP?

Reliable source said that Dr. Rupert Roopnarine is hoping to ask PPP to join them. Latest from Guyana...

Why would the PPP need him???

And you point is?

It is not going to be easy to make you understand. Tonight I will explain.

And you point is?

Stuuups...2 inch willie. 

And you point is?

Stuuups...2 inch willie. 

BUt yuh does Prapa enjoy the 2 in.  Gal ah love yuh so.

And you point is?

Stuuups...2 inch willie. 

Keep that for those lady in richmond hill. 

And you point is?

Stuuups...2 inch willie. 

Keep that for those lady in richmond hill. 

NO, I want you always. Love you.

Me mamoo say Janet Bulkan will be candidat. Mr Horsie don't know what he saying.

De same mamoo between yuh legs again? Dat ting is what a magic 8 ball now? 

Wait till Jalil get a wind of dat.

Me mamoo say Janet Bulkan will be candidat. Mr Horsie don't know what he saying.

De same mamoo between yuh legs again? Dat ting is what a magic 8 ball now? 

Wait till Jalil get a wind of dat.

Yes bring the Mr Jalil let he show the world how to support AFC. Show them class

YOu round my age. You single, if not, you does fool round?