Originally Posted by GT Stingaa:
Banna even in bad times when Forbes banned a lotta stuff we never ate this crap, suh mih cyan relate

Oh no this wasn't a bad time meal. I had this for the first time in like 2008 in America. Some Guyanese relative was visiting and they asked what I wanted so I asked for snails. They were absolutely appalled.

My grandfather who spent decades in French Guiana developed a taste for French gross foods (including horse) so he and I share a passion for gross foods.

No member of my huge Berbician family eats this or any other gross creature. This is just a Shaitaan and his Francophile grandfaddah thing.

Originally Posted by ksazma:
Banna even in bad times when Forbes banned a lotta stuff we never ate this crap, suh mih cyan relate

As bad as edda bush was, it cyant be as bad as dis.

Oh My Allah. I can't stand eddo (didn't know you could eat the plant).

Eddo is some kinda cross between snot and puke.

Oh My Allah. I can't stand eddo (didn't know you could eat the plant).

Eddo is some kinda cross between snot and puke.

Edda good if yuh nah gat aloo? It is kinda yucky though.

Kaz .. like you are not a country bhai,when as kids

helping out in the farm a pot is prepared with all

ground provisions,plantains and fresh fish caught

from the trenches top off with some young tanya

leaves eaten on sucker leaves,that meal was the

best.

Originally Posted by Django:

best.

I agree with you that we town bais didn't have as much exposure to as many things than the country bais.

Our job is to educate the Indians that the PPP Jagdeoite is not a party that cares for the working poor Indians.  PPP killed sugar at Skeldon.  They built the new factory to steal billions.  The factory is a nightmare.

Educate them that the PPP rules in favor of the the bourgeoisie, not the poor people who continue to get red water, blackouts, poor roads, no recreation, trash not picked up, drains not cleaned, rice field canals not being dug, etc.

Tell them under the PPP, they are not any more secure.  Tell them under the PPP, they still have to go to GT to be mugged by the robbers there in order to get govt services.

Unless they are gluttons for punishment, they will vote PPP again. If Granger apologizes for Burnham's sins it will go a far way to appease the older folks who remember the Burnhamite days.

best.

I agree with you that we town bais didn't have as much exposure to as many things than the country bais.

I lived in GT Durban and Symth st one of Neville(Besto)

house early 70,enjoyed the life for two years,doing all

kind of work,last job before i went back to the country

was at Plaza cinema i used to walk from there to home

midnight with out no fear.

I recalled window shopping on water st,any way went

back and work traveling from the country WCD to

Mohamed Radio and Electronics(tech job)

at Robb ST in 76 to 85,used to see Cheddie chatting

away with small crowds in Robb St, i knew all the bad boys

in that street.I enjoyed both city and country life.

It is interesting how we went through the '70s being scared of venturing into some neighborhoods and then came the '80s during which I hanged out in some of those areas with no real fear. My bike gang used to be all over the place. I used to go to Boogie to get my bike fixed and would have found that to be a very frightening undertaking in my early days. But I am happy that I had the opportunity to remove those obviously false fears before I left in 1987. My job took me to McKenzie as well as Skeldon and Parika and places in between. Tiger Bay was supposed to me mean street. Not so when I was in my early 20s. I even went to Hammie's house on one occasion.

One of the times I was truly afraid was when for whatever reason I went to Paramaribo through Skeldon. The law was that after arriving in Nickerie on has to buy a travel permit before traveling to Paramaribo. We arrived late and I didn't want to wait for the office to open the next day so I got on the bus. Big mistake. I had no idea that there wee so many really attractive Javanese girls there. I was forced to behave myself because I was afraid that if I don't Allah would punish me.   On the way to Paramaribo, the police come on board quite a few times but none asked me for anything.  

It is interesting how we went through the '70s being scared of venturing into some neighborhoods and then came the '80s during which I hanged out in some of those areas with no real fear. My bike gang used to be all over the place. I used to go to Boogie to get my bike fixed and would have found that to be a very frightening undertaking in my early days. But I am happy that I had the opportunity to remove those obviously false fears before I left in 1987. My job took me to McKenzie as well as Skeldon and Parika and places in between. Tiger Bay was supposed to me mean street. Not so when I was in my early 20s.I even went to Hammie's house on one occasion.

One of the times I was truly afraid was when for whatever reason I went to Paramaribo through Skeldon. The law was that after arriving in Nickerie on has to buy a travel permit before traveling to Paramaribo. We arrived late and I didn't want to wait for the office to open the next day so I got on the bus. Big mistake. I had no idea that there wee so many really attractive Javanese girls there. I was forced to behave myself because I was afraid that if I don't Allah would punish me.   On the way to Paramaribo, the police come on board quite a few times but none asked me for anything.  

I used to go to his house to fix his electronics

equipment,one time i had to talk to him on the

phone(red)on the progress of the repair,he said

comrade...i replied Mr.Green after a long pause

the conversation continues i never use the word

comrade.I met him twice each time he will direct

the maid to give us refreshment.