Rudy Giuliani: Former Mayor of NYC and Federal Prosecutor.

(CNN) Former New York City Mayor Rudy Giuliani stood by his recent comments Monday that the Black Lives Matter movement is "inherently racist."

"It's inherently racist because, number one, it divides us. ... All lives matter: White lives, black lives, all lives," he told Fox News on Monday. "Number two: Black Lives Matter never protests when every 14 hours somebody is killed in Chicago, probably 70-80% of the time (by) a black person. Where are they then? Where are they when a young black child is killed?"
Giuliani told CBS on Sunday that he thinks the activist movement, aimed at preventing violence toward the African-American community, exacerbated racial tensions by putting a target on the backs of police officers.
His comments came in the aftermath of the shooting of Dallas police officers last week, in which gunman Micah Johnson targeted officers patrolling a non-violent Black Lives Matter march against the deaths of Alton Sterling and Philando Castile at the hands of law enforcement.
Giuliani also defended himself against criticism that he did not appreciate the problems faced by the black community, standing by his record as mayor of New York City from 1994 to 2001.

"That ain't the truth. The truth is, number one...I prosecuted more police officers than any other mayor in New York history," Giuliani told Fox. "I put 70 police officers in jail... I am perfectly capable of understanding when police officers act improperly and they should be made an example of when they do."
Giuliani said he understood why some people in the black community did not trust the police, but he hopes that would change.
"I would like people to know that the New York City Police Department is a non-majority white police department," Giuliani said. "I understand the other side of it. I don't mean not to talk about the other side of it ... The American people get a wrong impression and Black Lives Matter, therefore, puts a target on the backs of (police officers)."

Black Lives Matter co-founder Alicia Garza said Monday that she disagreed with Giuliani's comments and suggested he spend time with ex-House Speaker Newt Gingrich, who told CNN political commentator Van Jones on Friday that "normal white Americans" do not understand "being black in America."
"I've seen the former mayor give those kinds of interviews before," Garza told MSNBC Monday. "It's disappointing. It shows that he's out of touch with the current pulse of where our country's at. And it also shows a real lack of understanding about how systemic racism actually works."
Source: CNN

I don't like Giuliani, but this Black lives Matter Movement is no different to the White KKK, they are using a race to discriminate against other races and riding on the sympathy of black deaths. In Toronto they blocked the Gay Pride Parade for one hour seeking ridiculous demands.If the governments don't put a stop early, they will be another "Black Panther Group".

Washington (CNN) Carol Swain, a conservative African-American professor, slammed the Black Lives Matter movement Saturday, calling it a "very destructive force" in America.

Is he related to Guyana's Uncle Tom??

You gyal, Beyonce not only showing she fattap when she sing, she does give rise to black racism against white. Rudy Jiualini had called to boycott her shows.

I don't like Giuliani, but this Black lives Matter Movement is no different to the White KKK,

How does demanding that black lives be given the same respect as white lives arise to being racist.

Those 2 men who were murdered by the police last week wouldn't have were they white.  And this is without going into the tremendous humiliation that black men endure daily from the police.

Folks got to ask why highly educated and successful black men tell their sons to be very careful if they encounter a cop.

Do similar white men have to do this?  NO!

50% of the people killed by cops in the US are White People. 25% of those killed are Blacks.  

https://www.washingtonpost.com...m_term=.274fceaaa224

In 2015, The Washington Post launched a real-time database to track fatal police shootings, and the project continues this year. As of Sunday, 1,502 people have been shot and killed by on-duty police officers since Jan. 1, 2015. Of them, 732 were white, and 381 were black (and 382 were of another or unknown race).

But data scientists and policing experts often note, comparing how many or how often white people are killed by police to how many or how often black people are killed by the police is statistically dubious unless you first adjust for population.

According to the most recent census data, there are nearly 160 million more white people in America than there are black people. White people make up roughly 62 percent of the U.S. population but only about 49 percent of those who are killed by police officers. African Americans, however, account for 24 percent of those fatally shot and killed by the police despite being just 13 percent of the U.S. population. As The Post noted in a new analysis published last week, that means black Americans are 2.5 times as likely as white Americans to be shot and killed by police officers.

U.S. police officers have shot and killed the exact same number of unarmed white people as they have unarmed black people: 50 each. But because the white population is approximately five times as great as the black population, that means unarmed black Americans were five times as likely as unarmed white Americans to be shot and killed by a police officer.

Black Lives Matter has little to do with Black Lives.  This was put together by a string of Leftist Liberal Socialists groups who needed a platform to launch into mainstream.  The killing of a few Black men, most of whom were criminals, was a convenient "cause"!

If Black Lives did really matter to them, they would be swarming over the inner city gangs which are slaughtering Blacks on a daily basis at a rate 10X that of all police shootings.  Once again, Blacks are being conned with empty promises, this time by [crooked] Hillary!

They day Blacks vote GOP, they will see a rush of changes for the better!

50% of the people killed by cops in the US are White People. 25% of those killed are Blacks.  

In 2015, The Washington Post launched a real-time database to track fatal police shootings, and the project continues this year. As of Sunday, 1,502 people have been shot and killed by on-duty police officers since Jan. 1, 2015. Of them, 732 were white, and 381 were black (and 382 were of another or unknown race).

But data scientists and policing experts often note, comparing how many or how often white people are killed by police to how many or how often black people are killed by the police is statistically dubious unless you first adjust for population.

According to the most recent census data, there are nearly 160 million more white people in America than there are black people. White people make up roughly 62 percent of the U.S. population but only about 49 percent of those who are killed by police officers. African Americans, however, account for 24 percent of those fatally shot and killed by the police despite being just 13 percent of the U.S. population. As The Post noted in a new analysis published last week, that means black Americans are 2.5 times as likely as white Americans to be shot and killed by police officers.

U.S. police officers have shot and killed the exact same number of unarmed white people as they have unarmed black people: 50 each. But because the white population is approximately five times as great as the black population, that means unarmed black Americans were five times as likely as unarmed white Americans to be shot and killed by a police officer.

If you look at those committing crimes, the numbers make sense!  Blacks, by far, commit most crimes!

ba$eman posted:

If you look at those committing crimes, the numbers make sense!  Blacks, by far, commit most crimes!

How does committing crimes relate to being shot to death? I thought that someone suspected of committing a crime is entitled to a trial. Is death the punishment for driving with a broken tail light?

I don't like Giuliani, but this Black lives Matter Movement is no different to the White KKK, they are using a race to discriminate against other races and riding on the sympathy of black deaths. In Toronto they blocked the Gay Pride Parade for one hour seeking ridiculous demands.If the governments don't put a stop early, they will be another "Black Panther Group".

Why do people like you allow yourselves to be tripped up by your racism to display base ignorance of something? Black lives matter is a social justice  movement; it is not an expression of identity and culture.  There is no discriminating content in the movement since it is composed of young blacks and whites. I do not know the KKK has black members. If black lives matter blocked the parade it was not to antoganize gay folks. Black lives people are gay. Check one of the founding members. They are aggressively militant and it makes them unpalatible for some but to them the movement needs that strategy in the face of chronic institutional ambivalence to social justice that for a long time ruined lives

Koolie lives matter. East Indians of Guyana are more likely to be killed by blacks. Koolie lives matter.

This is your chronic racist belief system in action and not fact. Indians are more likely to be killed in domestic violence and other family disputes not to mention in a drunken stupor. Those are the facts jack.

The hate of the koolies has its origins in colonialism. The koolie is seen as an inferior subhuman brown uncultured orange clothes people that is the deep worldview in these people thinking. For us East Indians of Guyana the worst thing that we can do is to imitate these people. And try to copy them and their thinking towards us. We must be proud of our culture and who we are as a people. Koolie lives matter. Koolie lives matter!

Koolie lives matter. East Indians of Guyana are more likely to be killed by blacks. Koolie lives matter.

This is your chronic racist belief system in action and not fact. Indians are more likely to be killed in domestic violence and other family disputes not to mention in a drunken stupor. Those are the facts jack.

Well smart bai, you have just made Guliani's case!  10 times as much Blacks die at the hands of black on Black gangs, and this not even counting DV and other interpersonal conflict!  Banna, you are like a chicken without a head!!

ba$eman posted:

They day Blacks vote GOP, they will see a rush of changes for the better!

More blacks live in Red states than in blue. Can you prove that blacks in states like Mississippi are better off than those in NY.  For you to expect blacks to support the GOP then they will need to see evidence that they are better off if they do.  And evidence suggests otherwise.

In the interim please tell us why a party which harbors racists, and does NOTHING about this should deserve the vote of blacks and Hispanics.

And I expect nonsense from a racist like you about BLM.  After all police killing black professional men is something that will give you an orgasm!

ba$eman posted:

Well smart bai, you have just made Guliani's case!  10 times as much Blacks die at the hands of black on Black gangs, and this not even counting DV and other interpersonal conflict!  Banna, you are like a chicken without a head!!

No he did NOT make Ghouliani's case.  What racists like you and that monster need to understand is that the police are supposed to PROTECT people, NOT kill them.

Are you now saying that the police must be judged the same as criminals?  No police are supposed to UPHOLD the law, not break it!

What are blacks supposed to do? Get robbed, and then call the cops and then get humiliated, arrested, and maybe even killed.   Blacks don't support criminals with their taxes.  They support the police and should be entitled to the SAME treatment that others expect and get.

So you and Ghouliani can put on your hoods.  No wonder blacks hate the GOP!

ba$eman posted:

How does committing crimes relate to being shot to death? I thought that someone suspected of committing a crime is entitled to a trial. Is death the punishment for driving with a broken tail light?

And I agree.  The problem, policing in America is aggressive and employ military tactics to resolve simple disputes.  Its a shoot first, ask questions later mentality going back to cowboy days.  So, I'm not doubting you, but in such an environment, any interraction could lead to deadly results.  So, the fact that most crimes are committed by Blacks means that Blacks will die in such interactions.  The less interaction with police, the higher chances of living long.

Now on Minnosota, that's a another story as the man had a lic weapon and seemed a straight jacket guy!

ba$eman posted:

And I agree.  The problem, policing in America is aggressive and employ military tactics to resolve simple disputes.  Its a shoot first, ask questions later mentality going back to cowboy days.  

Yes your hero Ghouliani had cops who shot several innocent blacks.  Interesting that they tended to be Africans or Haitians.

Ghouliani had a huge party when his goons shot blacks in cold blood.

Yet you insist that we should support the GOP.

ba$eman posted:

You show a truly impenetrable incapacity to think. You latch on to what people say and what others feel without expressing your innate desire for understanding. Guliani, I am sorry to say, is a bigot and has as little grasp of policing minority communities as any. His track record here speaks for itself and was the reason he was the most hated man across the board in NY prior to the WTC tragedy.

It is why he received 0 support from minorities and barely any from whites in his senate run. I need not point you to his failures in the presidential primaries. He is a straight up loser when he ventures outside his profession. His statement about the president is patently disgusting and is the reason he will be even more on the fringes from now on.

Black on black crime is indeed high. Why it happens needs to be examined and if as most racist are inclined to conclude, it is about dispositions they will have missed the point as Giuliani has. White people kills most white people but we do not hear similar conclusions. The fact remains that people are killed by those they know most of the times and for many diverse reasons. I do not mind discussing these with you if you feel so inclined.

ba$eman posted:

And I agree.  The problem, policing in America is aggressive and employ military tactics to resolve simple disputes.  Its a shoot first, ask questions later mentality going back to cowboy days.  So, I'm not doubting you, but in such an environment, any interraction could lead to deadly results.  So, the fact that most crimes are committed by Blacks means that Blacks will die in such interactions.  The less interaction with police, the higher chances of living long.

Now on Minnosota, that's a another story as the man had a lic weapon and seemed a straight jacket guy!

I see you agree on over policing in black community but how come you do not grasp that if blacks are stopped more often, watched more keenly and when taken before the justice system often over charged and since they are inevitably under represented legally have higher conviction rates and longer sentences. "Blacks commit more crimes" as a statement  by itself is empty when looked into minus the social context. Blacks go to jail for robbing a seven eleven but whites take three trillion dollars out of the financial system through derivative scam and casino financing and they not one is charged. You have to look for context not follow your racist nose for "arguments" to harmonize with your preconceived notions.

From today's New York Times

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/07...ot-in-shootings.html 

Analysis Finds No Racial Bias in Lethal Force

By QUOCTRUNG BUI and AMANDA COX

Roland G. Fryer Jr., a professor of economics at Harvard.

Erik Jacobs for The New York Times

new study confirms that black men and women are treated differently in the hands of law enforcement. They are more likely to be touched, handcuffed, pushed to the ground or pepper-sprayed by a police officer, even after accounting for how, where and when they encounter the police.

But when it comes to the most lethal form of force — police shootings — the study finds no racial bias.

“It is the most surprising result of my career,” said Roland G. Fryer Jr., the author of the study and a professor of economics at Harvard. The study examined more than 1,000 shootings in 10 major police departments, in Texas, Florida and California.

The result contradicts the image of police shootings that many Americans hold after the killings (some captured on video) of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo.; Tamir Rice in Cleveland; Walter Scott in South Carolina; Alton Sterling in Baton Rouge, La.; and Philando Castile in Minnesota.

The study did not say whether the most egregious examples — those at the heart of the nation’s debate on police shootings — are free of racial bias. Instead, it examined a larger pool of shootings, including nonfatal ones.

The counterintuitive results provoked debate after the study was posted on Monday, mostly about the volume of police encounters and the scope of the data. Mr. Fryer emphasizes that the work is not the definitive analysis of police shootings, and that more data would be needed to understand the country as a whole. This work focused only on what happens once the police have stopped civilians, not on the risk of being stopped at all. Other research has shown that blacks are more likely to be stopped by the police.

Mr. Fryer, the youngest African-American to receive tenure at Harvard and the first to win a John Bates Clark medal, a prize given to the most promising American economist under 40, said anger after the deaths of Michael Brown,Freddie Gray and others drove him to study the issue. “You know, protesting is not my thing,” he said. “But data is my thing. So I decided that I was going to collect a bunch of data and try to understand what really is going on when it comes to racial differences in police use of force.”

He and student researchers spent about 3,000 hours assembling detailed data from police reports in Houston; Austin, Tex.; Dallas; Los Angeles; Orlando, Fla.; Jacksonville, Fla.; and four other counties in Florida.

They examined 1,332 shootings between 2000 and 2015, coding police narratives to answer questions such as: How old was the suspect? How many police officers were at the scene? Were they mostly white? Was the officer at the scene for a robbery, violent activity, a traffic stop or something else? Was it nighttime? Did the officer shoot after being attacked or before a possible attack? One goal was to determine if police officers were quicker to fire at black suspects.

In shootings in these 10 cities involving officers, officers were more likely to fire their weapons without having first been attacked when the suspects were white. Black and white civilians involved in police shootings were equally likely to have been carrying a weapon. Both results undercut the idea of racial bias in police use of lethal force.

But police shootings are only part of the picture. What about situations in which an officer might be expected to fire, but doesn’t?

To answer this, Mr. Fryer focused on one city, Houston. The Police Department there let the researchers look at reports not only for shootings but also for arrests when lethal force might have been justified. Mr. Fryer defined this group to include encounters with suspects the police subsequently charged with serious offenses like attempting to murder an officer, or evading or resisting arrest. He also considered suspects shocked with Tasers.

Mr. Fryer found that in such situations, officers in Houston were about 20 percent less likely to shoot if the suspects were black. This estimate was not precise, and firmer conclusions would require more data. But in various models controlling for different factors and using different definitions of tense situations, Mr. Fryer found that blacks were either less likely to be shot or there was no difference between blacks and whites.

The study, a National Bureau of Economic Research working paper, relied on reports filled out by police officers and on police departments willing to share those reports. Recent videos of police shootings have led to questions about the reliability of such accounts. But the results were largely the same whether or not Mr. Fryer used information from narratives by officers.

Such results may not be true in every city. The cities Mr. Fryer used to examine officer-involved shootings make up only about 4 percent of the nation’s population, and serve more black citizens than average.

Moreover, the results do not mean that the general public’s perception of racism in policing is misguided. Lethal uses of force are exceedingly rare. There were 1.6 million arrests in Houston in the years Mr. Fryer studied. Officers fired their weapons 507 times. What is far more common are nonlethal uses of force.

And in these uses of force, Mr. Fryer found racial differences, which is in accord with public perception and other studies.

In New York City, blacks stopped by the police were about 17 percent more likely to experience use of force, according to stop-and-frisk records kept between 2003 and 2013. (In the later year, a judge ruled that the tactic as employed then wasunconstitutional.)

That gap, adjusted for suspect behavior and other factors, was surprisingly consistent across various levels of force. Black suspects were 18 percent more likely to be pushed up against a wall, 16 percent more likely to be handcuffed without being arrested and 18 percent more likely to be pushed to the ground.

Even when the police said that civilians were compliant, blacks experienced more force.

Mr. Fryer also explored racial differences in force from the viewpoint of civilians, using data from a nationally representative survey conducted by the federal government. Here, he found racial gaps in force that were larger than those he found in the data reported from the officers’ perspective. But these gaps were also consistent across many different types of force.

This is not news to the black community. It’s at the root of the “talk” that many black parents give to their sons and daughters about how to approach interactions with the police.

Mr. Fryer wonders if the divide between lethal force — where he did not find racial disparities — and nonlethal force — where he did — might be related to costs. Officers face costs, legal and psychological, when they unnecessarily fire their guns. But excessive use of lesser force is rarely tracked or punished. “No officer has ever told me that putting their hands on inner-city youth is a life-changing event,” he said.

For Mr. Fryer, who has spent much of his career studying ways society can close the racial achievement gap, the failure to punish excessive everyday force is an important contributor to young black disillusionment.

“Who the hell wants to have a police officer put their hand on them or yell and scream at them? It’s an awful experience,” he said. “Every black man I know has had this experience. Every one of them. It is hard to believe that the world is your oyster if the police can rough you up without punishment. And when I talked to minority youth, almost every single one of them mentions lower-level uses of force as the reason why they believe the world is corrupt.”

Kari posted:

From today's New York Times

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/07...ot-in-shootings.html 

Analysis Finds No Racial Bias in Lethal Force

By QUOCTRUNG BUI and AMANDA COX

Roland G. Fryer Jr., a professor of economics at Harvard.

Erik Jacobs for The New York Times

Even when the police said that civilians were compliant, blacks experienced more force.

And this is the issue.  If ordinary non criminal blacks have a narrative of adverse encounters with cops that whites don't have then clearly their view of cops will be negative. And clearly there will be a strong reaction to police shootings.

Of course one can ask if the study just looked at police shootings, or if it adjusted for the numbers of fatal shootings where the person wasn't involved in committing a crime. 

No one says anything when a black criminal is shot.  The issue is when the act committed is minor (selling loose cigarettes, or a minor traffic infraction) or when no criminal act is being commit, and the interaction ends in humiliation, or worse yet a death.

Surprising New Evidence Shows Bias in Police Use of Force but Not in Shootings
By QUOCTRUNG BUI and AMANDA COX JULY 11, 2016
Continue reading the main storyShare This Page
Tweet
Email
More
Save

Continue reading the main story
Police officers are more likely to ...
with blacks than with whites
in similar situations
use hands 2,165
for every 10,000 stops
in New York City
for every 10,000 stops
in New York City
17% more likely
push into wall 623 529 18%
use handcuffs* 310 266 16%
draw weapons 155 129 19%
push to ground 136 114 18%
point weapon 54 43 24%
use pepper spray or baton 5 4 25%
* Handcuffs exclude arrests. Counts represent at least that level of force, based on stop-and-frisk data from 2003 to 2013. Similar situations account for gender, age, police precinct, the reason for the stop, whether the stop was indoors or outdoors, the time of day, whether the stop took place in a high-crime area or during a high-crime time, whether the officer was in uniform, the type of identification provided, and whether others were stopped at the same time.
A new study confirms that black men and women are treated differently in the hands of law enforcement. They are more likely to be touched, handcuffed, pushed to the ground or pepper-sprayed by a police officer, even after accounting for how, where and when they encounter the police.

But when it comes to the most lethal form of force — police shootings — the study finds no racial bias.

“It is the most surprising result of my career,” said Roland G. Fryer Jr., the author of the study and a professor of economics at Harvard. The study examined more than 1,000 shootings in 10 major police departments, in Texas, Florida and California.

The result contradicts the image of police shootings that many Americans hold after the killings (some captured on video) of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Mo.; Tamir Rice in Cleveland; Walter Scott in South Carolina; Alton Sterling in Baton Rouge, La.; and Philando Castile in Minnesota.

The study did not say whether the most egregious examples — those at the heart of the nation’s debate on police shootings — are free of racial bias. Instead, it examined a larger pool of shootings, including nonfatal ones.

The counterintuitive results provoked debate after the study was posted on Monday, mostly about the volume of police encounters and the scope of the data. Mr. Fryer emphasizes that the work is not the definitive analysis of police shootings, and that more data would be needed to understand the country as a whole. This work focused only on what happens once the police have stopped civilians, not on the risk of being stopped at all. Other research has shown that blacks are more likely to be stopped by the police.

Photo

Roland G. Fryer Jr., a professor of economics at Harvard. Credit Erik Jacobs for The New York Times
Mr. Fryer, the youngest African-American to receive tenure at Harvard and the first to win a John Bates Clark medal, a prize given to the most promising American economist under 40, said anger after the deaths of Michael Brown, Freddie Gray and others drove him to study the issue. “You know, protesting is not my thing,” he said. “But data is my thing. So I decided that I was going to collect a bunch of data and try to understand what really is going on when it comes to racial differences in police use of force.”

Continue reading the main story
ADVERTISEMENT

RELATED COVERAGE

Police Try to Lower Racial Bias, but Under Pressure, It Isn’t So Easy JULY 11, 2016
He and student researchers spent about 3,000 hours assembling detailed data from police reports in Houston; Austin, Tex.; Dallas; Los Angeles; Orlando, Fla.; Jacksonville, Fla.; and four other counties in Florida.

They examined 1,332 shootings between 2000 and 2015, coding police narratives to answer questions such as: How old was the suspect? How many police officers were at the scene? Were they mostly white? Was the officer at the scene for a robbery, violent activity, a traffic stop or something else? Was it nighttime? Did the officer shoot after being attacked or before a possible attack? One goal was to determine if police officers were quicker to fire at black suspects.

How Officer Reports Were Coded
Excerpt from a typical Houston Police Department summary
Suspect Race: Black
Suspect Sex: Male
Suspect Age: 32
Suspect Injury: Wounded
Suspect Weapon Used: Firearm
HPD Firearm Injury: No Injury

Capital Murder (Attempted):
On duty HPD officers responded to a robbery. One susp. was arrested and handcuffed. Susp produced a weapon fired at HPD SGT. who returned fire; susp fled the building firing at a second officer who returned fire. Susp fled and was found later with gunshot wounds.
In shootings in these 10 cities involving officers, officers were more likely to fire their weapons without having first been attacked when the suspects were white. Black and white civilians involved in police shootings were equally likely to have been carrying a weapon. Both results undercut the idea of racial bias in police use of lethal force.

But police shootings are only part of the picture. What about situations in which an officer might be expected to fire, but doesn’t?

To answer this, Mr. Fryer focused on one city, Houston. The Police Department there let the researchers look at reports not only for shootings but also for arrests when lethal force might have been justified. Mr. Fryer defined this group to include encounters with suspects the police subsequently charged with serious offenses like attempting to murder an officer, or evading or resisting arrest. He also considered suspects shocked with Tasers.

Mr. Fryer found that in such situations, officers in Houston were about 20 percent less likely to shoot if the suspects were black. This estimate was not precise, and firmer conclusions would require more data. But in various models controlling for different factors and using different definitions of tense situations, Mr. Fryer found that blacks were either less likely to be shot or there was no difference between blacks and whites.

Lethal Force in Houston
In different sets of encounters when police might plausibly have fired their weapons.

LESS LIKELY FOR BLACKS
MORE LIKELY FOR BLACKS
shot at
−24%
Equally Likely
for Blacks
and Whites
shot at, adjusted for suspect, officer
and encounter characteristics
−22%
95% confidence
interval
The study, a National Bureau of Economic Research working paper, relied on reports filled out by police officers and on police departments willing to share those reports. Recent videos of police shootings have led to questions about the reliability of such accounts. But the results were largely the same whether or not Mr. Fryer used information from narratives by officers.

Such results may not be true in every city. The cities Mr. Fryer used to examine officer-involved shootings make up only about 4 percent of the nation’s population, and serve more black citizens than average.

Moreover, the results do not mean that the general public’s perception of racism in policing is misguided. Lethal uses of force are exceedingly rare. There were 1.6 million arrests in Houston in the years Mr. Fryer studied. Officers fired their weapons 507 times. What is far more common are nonlethal uses of force.

And in these uses of force, Mr. Fryer found racial differences, which is in accord with public perception and other studies.

In New York City, blacks stopped by the police were about 17 percent more likely to experience use of force, according to stop-and-frisk records kept between 2003 and 2013. (In the later year, a judge ruled that the tactic as employed then was unconstitutional.)

Use of Force in Stops in New York City
Based on stop-and-frisk records from 2003 to 2013.

LESS LIKELY FOR BLACKS
MORE LIKELY FOR BLACKS
Equally Likely
for Blacks
and Whites
hands
+17%
pushed into wall

+18%
handcuffed
(excludes arrests)
+16%
weapon drawn

+19%
pushed to ground

+18%
gun pointed

+24%
+25%
pepper spray,
baton

95% confidence
interval
Adjusted for gender, age, police precinct, the reason for the stop, whether the stop was indoors or outdoors, the time of day, whether the stop took place in a high-crime area or during a high-crime time, whether the officer was in uniform, the type of identification provided, and whether others were stopped. Likelihoods are for at least that level of force.
That gap, adjusted for suspect behavior and other factors, was surprisingly consistent across various levels of force. Black suspects were 18 percent more likely to be pushed up against a wall, 16 percent more likely to be handcuffed without being arrested and 18 percent more likely to be pushed to the ground.

Use of Force in Stops of ‘Compliant’ Citizens in New York City
Suspects who complied with officers’ directions, did not verbally threaten police officers, were not arrested and were not found with weapons or contraband.

LESS LIKELY FOR BLACKS
MORE LIKELY FOR BLACKS
Equally Likely
for Blacks
and Whites
+21%
hands
pushed into wall

+17%
‘compliant’
citizens
handcuffed
+13%
weapon drawn

+10%
pushed to ground

+8%
gun pointed

+7%
pepper spray, baton

−14%
95% confidence interval
Adjusted for the same characteristics as all stops.
Mr. Fryer also explored racial differences in force from the viewpoint of civilians, using data from a nationally representative survey conducted by the federal government. Here, he found racial gaps in force that were larger than those he found in the data reported from the officers’ perspective. But these gaps were also consistent across many different types of force.

Use of Force in All Types of Police Encounters, According to Civilians

LESS LIKELY FOR BLACKS
MORE LIKELY FOR BLACKS
Equally Likely
for Blacks
and Whites
grabbed
+170%
handcuffed
+217%
+305%
gun pointed
+87%
kicked, subject to a
stun gun or pepper spray
95% confidence
interval
Adjusted for type of encounter, self-reported behavior, gender, age, employment status, income, population size of civilian's home, time of day and officer race. Likelihoods are for at least that level of force.
This is not news to the black community. It’s at the root of the “talk” that many black parents give to their sons and daughters about how to approach interactions with the police.

Mr. Fryer wonders if the divide between lethal force — where he did not find racial disparities — and nonlethal force — where he did — might be related to costs. Officers face costs, legal and psychological, when they unnecessarily fire their guns. But excessive use of lesser force is rarely tracked or punished. “No officer has ever told me that putting their hands on inner-city youth is a life-changing event,” he said.

For Mr. Fryer, who has spent much of his career studying ways society can close the racial achievement gap, the failure to punish excessive everyday force is an important contributor to young black disillusionment.

“Who the hell wants to have a police officer put their hand on them or yell and scream at them? It’s an awful experience,” he said. “Every black man I know has had this experience. Every one of them. It is hard to believe that the world is your oyster if the police can rough you up without punishment. And when I talked to minority youth, almost every single one of them mentions lower-level uses of force as the reason why they believe the world is corrupt.”

ba$eman posted:

You show a truly impenetrable incapacity to think. You latch on to what people say and what others feel without expressing your innate desire for understanding. Guliani, I am sorry to say, is a bigot and has as little grasp of policing minority communities as any. His track record here speaks for itself and was the reason he was the most hated man across the board in NY prior to the WTC tragedy.

It is why he received 0 support from minorities and barely any from whites in his senate run. I need not point you to his failures in the presidential primaries. He is a straight up loser when he ventures outside his profession. His statement about the president is patently disgusting and is the reason he will be even more on the fringes from now on.

Black on black crime is indeed high. Why it happens needs to be examined and if as most racist are inclined to conclude, it is about dispositions they will have missed the point as Giuliani has. White people kills most white people but we do not hear similar conclusions. The fact remains that people are killed by those they know most of the times and for many diverse reasons. I do not mind discussing these with you if you feel so inclined.

Oye D[unce]2.  You are the one who used the comparison of DV in the Indian community vs other killings.  I just drew the same parallel.  And I only mentioned Gangs, which was the point of Guliani!

What's good for the goose i good for the gander!!

ba$eman posted:

Oye D[unce]2.  You are the one who used the comparison of DV in the Indian community vs other killings.  I just drew the same parallel.  And I only mentioned Gangs, which was the point of Guliani!

You are the dunce.  You seem unable to differentiate those who are supposed to uphold the law breaking it from the behavior of criminals.

ba$eman posted:

There are no parallels to what Guliani said and black on black on black or indian on Indian crimes. In each area there are social interactions that causes it and that is the only nexus. The particular circumstances are not the same. Your conclusions are shallow. You argue like a cow.