Rum Journal: Guyana’s El Dorado 15

February 27, 2013 - 11:26 pm, Source

GUYANA IS the southernmost country in the Caribbean Community, and just one of two CARICOM Member States that are not actually islands.

But its Demerara region long produced the best sugar in the Caribbean, and Guyana has one of the region’s oldest rum traditions.

While Guyana has far fewer distilleries than it did during its heyday in the colonial period (according to tradition, there were more than 300 sugar estates in Guyana at that time), their spirit remains in the South American country today.

Leading the country’s rum sector is Demerara Distillers, which debuted the El Dorado series in 1992 from its estate on Guyana’s Demerara River and produces four varieties in that range, from 12 years to 25 years of aging, along with three other categories of rum.

The best known of all its brands, however, is El Dorado’s 15 Year Old Special Reserve, which is matured for at least 15 years in oak casks, and blends a group of rums, some of which are 25 years old, from among the distillery’s plethora of unique pot stills.

And that’s the one Rum Journal tasted.

El Dorado 15 has a reddish brown colour, with an aroma of caramel and brown sugar.

The flavour profile is marked by notes of brown sugar, coffee, oak and dried apricot.

The finish is smooth, and evocative of a rhum agricole, with just a hint of spice.

The verdict? A complete, robust rum, worthy of the proud heritage of Guyana.

We recommend it neat.

— CJ

sweet sweet guyana . guyana too sweet. sweeter than sugarcane, sweeter than sumutoo. No Chamar, Neemakaram can put us down!!!!

They doan have to, the 15yr old would take care of that.

sweet sweet guyana . guyana too sweet. sweeter than sugarcane, sweeter than sumutoo. No Chamar, Neemakaram can put us down!!!!

They doan have to, the 15yr old would take care of that.

de daroo or de hoooman..........?

Since when you are a Brahmin? Lookie here!!!....you and Yug Yug are ship Brahmin together!

Storm, you like to dish it out but holler and ball when I return fire with fire. I will give you a pass this time.

Bro, I have nothing but contempt for the concept of Brahmanism as a top echelon parasite by theology construct. You can come after me as hare as you want. I am simply stating what I believe...your friend was talking about chamars and without Brahmins there would be no chamars. It curses Hindu theology to irrelevance. The very idea is disgusting to me.

Rum Journal: Guyana’s El Dorado 15

February 27, 2013 - 11:26 pm, Source

GUYANA IS the southernmost country in the Caribbean Community, and just one of two CARICOM Member States that are not actually islands.

But its Demerara region long produced the best sugar in the Caribbean, and Guyana has one of the region’s oldest rum traditions.

While Guyana has far fewer distilleries than it did during its heyday in the colonial period (according to tradition, there were more than 300 sugar estates in Guyana at that time), their spirit remains in the South American country today.

Leading the country’s rum sector is Demerara Distillers, which debuted the El Dorado series in 1992 from its estate on Guyana’s Demerara River and produces four varieties in that range, from 12 years to 25 years of aging, along with three other categories of rum.

The best known of all its brands, however, is El Dorado’s 15 Year Old Special Reserve, which is matured for at least 15 years in oak casks, and blends a group of rums, some of which are 25 years old, from among the distillery’s plethora of unique pot stills.

And that’s the one Rum Journal tasted.

El Dorado 15 has a reddish brown colour, with an aroma of caramel and brown sugar.

The flavour profile is marked by notes of brown sugar, coffee, oak and dried apricot.

The finish is smooth, and evocative of a rhum agricole, with just a hint of spice.

The verdict? A complete, robust rum, worthy of the proud heritage of Guyana.

We recommend it neat.

— CJ

I'll be bringing back a bottle.

Originally Posted by Prashad:

How much Canadian for a bottle of the 25 year old rum.  Someone told me that Prince Charles drinks the 25 year old regularly.

The last time it was about $US200.oo.

Price Range of 750ml bottle, ex-tax in USD

Average: $407   From: $334   To: $488

Bro, Guyana 25 yrs is gold...I just google and found the correct price. damn!

Cobra, Is dat fuh drinking or for display in yuh Cabinet????  Liberty gat Beers fuh $2.50.

The 25 year old is very hard to find.  I think you may have to get the Liquor board to special order it from DDL themselves. I did some on line checking and it seems that DDL only start making a batch in 1980 for only the start of the new century.  So there maybe very few left.  So it is a rare rum.