Guyana not in “really bad state” – Ramjattan

Crime spiralling out of control

…MP calls for Minister to be reassigned or fired

The impression that Guyana is in a “really bad state” as compared to other countries with regard to the country’s crime rate is “not true”.
This is according to Public Security Minister, Khemraj Ramjattan, who at a press conference on Friday said: “sometimes this thing is emblazoned across the front pages of newspapers giving the impression as though we are in a real bad state, [but it’s] not really true”.
He stated that although crimes are occurring, there must be an appreciation of the fact that Guyanese live in a geopolitical space (Latin America and the Caribbean) where interpersonal violence is the highest in the world.
However, this analysis of the escalating crime situation in Guyana did not go down well with Opposition Member of Parliament (MP), Harry Gill; a Member of the Parliamentary Oversight Committee on the Security Sector, who in no uncertain terms called for the Minister to either be reassigned or fired as Public Security Minister.
“Like most Guyanese, I am totally disgusted by all the brutal, senseless killings and barefaced robberies taking place every day throughout the country, and the apparent lack of any coherent plan by the Minister of Public Security to end this escalating crime spree,” Gill said in a letter to the editor on Saturday.
He added that the ease with which criminals are going about their business, “brutalising families in their homes, stripping them of their valuables, their dignity and often, their very lives, is reminiscent of the infamous Burnham era of the notorious kick down the door bandits. And Minister Khemraj Ramjattan seems clueless and in denial,” he added.

PPP MP Harry Gill

According to the PPP Parliamentarian, the Government’s news agencies continue to publicise articles which give the impression that there has been a steady decrease in crime since the APNU/AFC coalition was elected but that independent press reports reveal an escalating crime wave that is “out of control”.
He posited that since 2015, crime has escalated to dangerous levels, prompting the British Government and the US State Department to issue travel advisories to their citizens to exercise caution when travelling to Guyana due to an increase in crime, citing violent crime, such as armed robbery and murder as being “common”.
“Yet Ramjattan declares it is not really true…Since Khemraj Ramjattan became Minister of Public Security, he has brought the entire security sector in disrepute: In March 2016, seventeen (17) prisoners were burnt to death and 11 others injured in what was described as the worst prison riot in our history.
Then in July 2017, during the blazing inferno of the Camp Street Prison, a prison officer was murdered and 8 notorious, hard-core criminals escaped, two of whom are believed to be still on the run. Since then, there have been several more well-organised prison breaks, countless murders and armed robberies that dominate the news behind Government corruption. No doubt, Minister Ramjattan has a difficult job… One he has proven incapable of,” the MP said.
Gill contended that Minister Ramjattan is yet to accept ministerial responsibility for his inability to keep our citizens safe and is calling for him to be fired in the public’s interest, or to be reassigned to a Ministry “where his incompetence can no longer affect the safety of our people”.
Meanwhile, Ramjattan, in downplaying the crime situation in Guyana, said that “countries like Honduras and El Salvador have murder rates that reach over 50 per 100,000, Jamaica 52 per 100,000, then you go to St Vincent and Grenadines, St Lucia and Trinidad and so on at 32 and 42 per 100,000. And I am talking about Caricom countries here, we are probably one of the lowest, 15 per 100,000, and of course, that is 15 more than we want to have happening if we don’t want anything happening in relation to homicides”.
He acknowledged that every day in other Caricom countries there are murders, many of which are brutal in nature, and that here in Guyana it is largely “domestic violence kind of murders”. There has been an escalation in murders and robberies in Guyana.

Ramjattan is living in an alternate universe. 

He is a square peg in a round hole. Ramjattan is best suited to become an Attorney General. The crime portfolio is an incompatible match for him.

The Minister, the Commissioner of Police and the Crime Chief should all resign.  Approximately 85% of the Guyana Police Force is full of criminals from those who prey on innocent people for bribes, thugs, stealing, contaminating crime scenes, involvement in criminal activities, open corruption, sleeping on the job with their ammunition placed on top of their desk, drinking and driving, drinking while on the job etc etc. 

Dondadda posted:

The Minister, the Commissioner of Police and the Crime Chief should all resign.  Approximately 85% of the Guyana Police Force is full of criminals from those who prey on innocent people for bribes, thugs, stealing, contaminating crime scenes, involvement in criminal activities, open corruption, sleeping on the job with their ammunition placed on top of their desk, drinking and driving, drinking while on the job etc etc. 

And who yuh gon replace dem with? Anodda set dat is just like dem? From my first post on GNI, I've been saying the government is a reflection of the people! Today's Guyanese are a corrupt, teefing, immoral, self indulgent, self centered, filthy lot at ALL levels of society. Government kyant mek people dispose of garbage properly or clean their yard.

Of course there are exceptions to this, but very few. The problem is Guyanese people of ALL races and not just the government. De crop to pick from is very, very, thin bai.

Dondadda posted:

And who yuh gon replace dem with? Anodda set dat is just like dem? From my first post on GNI, I've been saying the government is a reflection of the people! Today's Guyanese are a corrupt, teefing, immoral, self indulgent, self centered, filthy lot at ALL levels of society. Government kyant mek people dispose of garbage properly or clean their yard.

Of course there are exceptions to this, but very few. The problem is Guyanese people of ALL races and not just the government. De crop to pick from is very, very, thin bai.

me ah surprise you nah blame Jagdeo and de PPP fuh dis. rememba now you seh "today".

Dondadda posted:

me ah surprise you nah blame Jagdeo and de PPP fuh dis. rememba now you seh "today".

Heh Heh .. good catch. 

Dondadda posted:

@Former Member

Unlike you, Gwana man is not some pissy sycophant that "support he own" and blind to their faults like alyuh shithead PPP supporters hay. The Gwana man doesn't maintain that black people good, indian people bad. He doesn't state PNC good, PPP bad.

Gwana doesn't seh that if the government change to the party I support that everything instantly becomes paradise. Is alyuh "sweet as a sumotoo" morons who carry on wid that antiman kiss ass behavior.Fifty plus years of independence has been a disaster because of PPP/PNC, black man and Indian man both!

So my comment above about "today's Guyanese" stand. Regardless of PPP or PNC, the population of Guyana stinks. Furthermore this coalition government and Granger has made it's share of mistakes, each of which was roundly criticized by Gwana, Ronan and Carib, the 3 black men that post here. Several threads started by Ronan taking the coalition to task! And none of us deny the racism suffered by Indians under the PNC either! 

Suh tell we, Skeldon Klansman, which one of alyuh PPP supporters hay ever critical of ANYTHING the PPP do? Tell we Skeldon Klansman, which of alyuh PPP people hay willing to admit that there is hatred of black people among Indians and that Indians hold some very racist views towards blacks?

NONE of alyuh PPP Indians that post hay will do that. Alyuh are hardcore racist dogs, wuss than any redneck in America! That's why the likes of alyuh must be kept from ever getting majority power in Guyana. If you do, it will be the end of afro Guyanese in Guyana, whose forefathers contributed to the building of that nation!

Oh, muss explain the above to yuh fellow klansman fren "Dave", who don't understand what he snickering about and muttering "good catch". He inbred, suh talk slowly.

Ramjattan has more to gain by stating categorically and truthfully the reality of crime in Guyana and its negative effects on businesses and on the lives of citizens.  No need to get this defensive. People are not buying it.

Last edited by Billy Ram Balgobin
Dondadda posted:

@Former Member

Unlike you, Gwana man is not some pissy sycophant that "support he own" and blind to their faults like alyuh shithead PPP supporters hay. The Gwana man doesn't maintain that black people good, indian people bad. He doesn't state PNC good, PPP bad.

Gwana doesn't seh that if the government change to the party I support that everything instantly becomes paradise. Is alyuh "sweet as a sumotoo" morons who carry on wid that antiman kiss ass behavior.Fifty plus years of independence has been a disaster because of PPP/PNC, black man and Indian man both!

So my comment above about "today's Guyanese" stand. Regardless of PPP or PNC, the population of Guyana stinks. Furthermore this coalition government and Granger has made it's share of mistakes, each of which was roundly criticized by Gwana, Ronan and Carib, the 3 black men that post here. Several threads started by Ronan taking the coalition to task! And none of us deny the racism suffered by Indians under the PNC either! 

Suh tell we, Skeldon Klansman, which one of alyuh PPP supporters hay ever critical of ANYTHING the PPP do? Tell we Skeldon Klansman, which of alyuh PPP people hay willing to admit that there is hatred of black people among Indians and that Indians hold some very racist views towards blacks?

NONE of alyuh PPP Indians that post hay will do that. Alyuh are hardcore racist dogs, wuss than any redneck in America! That's why the likes of alyuh must be kept from ever getting majority power in Guyana. If you do, it will be the end of afro Guyanese in Guyana, whose forefathers contributed to the building of that nation!

Oh, muss explain the above to yuh fellow klansman fren "Dave", who don't understand what he snickering about and muttering "good catch". He inbred, suh talk slowly.

Good try Redux to try and deflect your hoof and mouth disease.

Dondadda posted:

@Former Member

Too bad you racist skont, the coolie man that likes your comment behind the keyboard didn’t get a acknowledgment. 

Dondadda posted:

@Former Member

Good try Redux to try and deflect your hoof and mouth disease.

speaking of deflection, ah notice you didn't answer the TWO questions I posed to you. Yuh write some one liner shit and run off. Now guh hunt fuh some roadkill and feed dem fat wite people from Montana who yuh still paying fuh yuh green card. Racist dog!

Too bad you racist skont, the coolie man that likes your comment behind the keyboard didn’t get a acknowledgment. 

Wasn't a coolieman, was me, I agree with all that was said. I made a post today in that same vein.

Where do you get the impression what was said is racist?

Do you not see these guys do speak against their own?

Do you ever see when an Indo does the same how he is treated by you guys here?