Russia’s refusal to expel Snowden ‘slap in the face to America’: McCain

Republican Senator John McCain

American senators have warned the Kremlin about repercussions of refusing to send back National Security Agency whistleblower Edward Snowden to the United States, calling it “a direct slap in the face to America”.

Republican Senator John McCain said on Sunday that Washington should deal realistically, not a return of the Cold War, but realistically with [Russian President] Vladimir Putin.”

McCain also called Putin's refusal to expel Snowden “a direct slap in the face to America”.

The Russian president said earlier this week that Moscow would not extradite Snowden, who is staying in a transit area of an airport in Moscow.

We can only extradite foreign citizens to such countries with which we have signed the appropriate international agreements on criminal extradition”, Putin said.

The NSA whistleblower admitted that he revealed classified information detailing the U.S. secret spying programs. He travelled to Hong Kong and then Russia to stay away from prosecution.

Snowden is charged with “espionage” and “theft of government property”.

Meanwhile, Democratic Senator Chuck Schumer criticized Russia's refusal to extradite Snowden.

“They should pay a price, either diplomatic, economic, geopolitical, for doing what they did. They're always putting their finger in our eye,” Schumer told “Fox News Sunday”.

The NSA leaker is awaiting a response to an appeal for asylum in Ecuador, while U.S. authorities insist that he should be brought back home to face prosecution.

Quote "“They should pay a price, either diplomatic, economic, geopolitical, for doing what they did. They're always putting their finger in our eye,” Schumer told “Fox News Sunday”.

What price can you make Russia pay?

Contributors to this thread should note the following:

1. International law is the order of the day.
  2. Snowden is in a transit area of a Moscow airport with a travel document that's been revoked.
  3. #2 makes Snowden a marooned person and by International treaties and UN Agreements signed on by both thee US and Russia and other countries, Snowden is entitled to a refugee process.
  4. The US has charged Snowden for espionage (hence the Executive action to revoke his passport in flight). However he is not a convicted person and has no arrest warrant out for him.
  5. The US President stated that the US-Russia relationship has more important bilateral issues than the legal process it initiated with Russia.

Given the above let us not take US politicians' rhetoric to a place of serious study.

2. Snowden is in a transit area of a Moscow airport with a travel document that's been revoked.
  3. #2 makes Snowden a marooned person and by International treaties and UN Agreements signed on by both thee US and Russia and other countries, Snowden is entitled to a refugee process.
  4. The US has charged Snowden for espionage (hence the Executive action to revoke his passport in flight). However he is not a convicted person and has no arrest warrant out for him.
  5. The US President stated that the US-Russia relationship has more important bilateral issues than the legal process it initiated with Russia.

Given the above let us not take US politicians' rhetoric to a place of serious study.

What a naive Obamaite clown you are.  The USA conveniently apply international law and invoke "national" interest when they don't want to.  What clown some of you are.

Spying on the EU, industrial espionage against China, attacking Iran with a virus are all "legal" under international law...right!!

What a naive Obamaite clown you are.  The USA conveniently apply international law and invoke "national" interest when they don't want to.  What clown some of you are.

Spying on the EU, industrial espionage against China, attacking Iran with a virus are all "legal" under international law...right!!

Base you leave out Weapons of Mass Destructions for Syria, the only thing is that they need someone to pimp that issue to the world.

Did you forget that they follow internations law when they murdered innocent Women and Children and Babies is their sleep in Afghanistan and Pakistan on a daily basis, who give them the god given rights to act as God.

They blatantly support and gives aids to terrorists to attack a legitimate Government in Syria, Those same terrorist were recently found to behead a Christian Priest and others, and devour by eating the body parts of Syrian Soldiers.

Kari you cannot be serious.

irony totally lost on baseman - the template unhinged, ungrateful, resentfully racist and thoroughly ignorant PPP migrant

Obama is out of control, what a mess both domestically and abroad.  What will this guy point to for a legacy.  What is racist about my position?  Anyway, my comment seem to struck a nerve with you, "the pig has halla".

BaseBoard, your response to my notes on the Snowden affair qualifies you as not as a ring-master; not as a clown; but as a buffoon for whom clown status is above his reach. You are not even a joke - just a pathetic excuse for a human being. We need you here on this Board anyhow, so that readers can see what points of view to avoid. Right Cardboard head?

You are a "nuff" shyte talker banna....just nuff shyte.

Obama is out of control, what a mess both domestically and abroad.  What will this guy point to for a legacy.  What is racist about my position?  Anyway, my comment seem to struck a nerve with you, "the pig has halla".

ahmmm fool, "[US] industrial espionage against China" is ignorance of such high grade that it doesn't need aim to hit a "nerve"

(not so) nice try @ covering your stupidity deh migrant . . . i wonder what hi-tech industrial secrets the US trying to steal from China

resentful racism igniting all kinds of idiocies in posturing PPP refugees running out the clock in Region 11

ahmmm fool, "[US] industrial espionage against China" is ignorance of such high grade that it doesn't need aim to hit a "nerve"

(not so) nice try @ covering your stupidity deh migrant . . . i wonder what hi-tech industrial secrets the US trying to steal from China

resentful racism igniting all kinds of idiocies in posturing PPP refugees running out the clock in Region 11

Not hi-tech secrets, but trying to steal customers in other countries. This is the same reason why US spies on Europe. It is an expensive way of getting a market advantage.

Originally Posted by Lucas:

Not hi-tech secrets, but trying to steal customers in other countries. This is the same reason why US spies on Europe. It is an expensive way of getting a market advantage.

@ least u have the good sense to admit that the Chinese have no industrial secrets worth spending NSA billions to steal

but what's this business about stealing customers . . .? China's comparative advantage in manufacturing and lack of a formal culture that demands ethical conduct when doing business outside China means we fish in different ponds for the most part.

but if u insist, tell me . . . what "customers" are the US Gov't spending NSA billions trying to "steal" away from the Chinese . . . PPP Guyana?

and finally, logic dictates, and facts on the ground confirm that the Red Army has the most comprehensive industrial espionage operation (targeting the West, LOGICALLY) in existence today

your turn

@ least u have the good sense to admit that the Chinese have no industrial secrets worth spending NSA billions to steal

but what's this business about stealing customers . . .? China's comparative advantage in manufacturing and lack of a formal culture that demands ethical conduct when doing business outside China means we fish in different ponds for the most part.

but if u insist, tell me . . . what "customers" are the US Gov't spending NSA billions trying to "steal" away from the Chinese . . . PPP Guyana?

and finally, logic dictates, and facts on the ground confirm that the Red Army has the most comprehensive industrial espionage operation (targeting the West, LOGICALLY) in existence today

your turn

They compete for contracts to build infrastructure mainly, whatever its type, computer networks, roads, railroads, energy production, mining, even telecommunication satellites. This is where the US fell asleep, because it got used to be begged by developing countries. China on the other hand is doing the hard work of knocking the doors, one by one.

your turn

They compete for contracts to build infrastructure mainly, whatever its type, computer networks, roads, railroads, energy production, mining, even telecommunication satellites. This is where the US fell asleep, because it got used to be begged by developing countries. China on the other hand is doing the hard work of knocking the doors, one by one.

. . . grist for another thread, arite?