SARA serves papers on Jagdeo to recover his seaside property; calls reporter’s question “stupid”

Former President, Bharrat Jagdeo’s residence at Goedverwagting (Pradoville 2 Housing Scheme), East Coast Demerara.

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo on Thursday confirmed that High Court marshals served him with court papers on behalf the State Assets Recovery Agency (SARA), and his lawyers plan to respond.

“I received it. My lawyers are dealing with it,” he told a news conference. The marshals caught up with Jagdeo at the Church Street-based Opposition Leader’s office.

“I didn’t even look at it. I heard it came and I told the guys to send it over to the lawyers’,” he said. Jagdeo declined to give an estimated value of his property located at Goedverwagting, East Coast Demerara. He and then senior government officials and ministers have also been sold land there and built posh houses.

He said SARA’s Director, Professor Clive Thomas was not appointed properly, and that SARA is an unconstitutional agency. He called SARA’s move a “silly adventure” that is politically motivated.

Political commentator, Ramon Gaskin several months ago challenged the legality of SARA in the High Court.

The Opposition Leader said he did not read the court papers that went through an agency (SARA) that is being run by several, what he described as, “geriatrics”. Pressed on on the value of his property and the basis for rejecting any likely offer to pay for the property, Jagdeo slapped down Prime News reporter Nazima Raghubir for “stupid question” and, instead, responding with “I don’t have time for silly question”.

While President of Guyana from 1999 to 2011, Jagdeo had frequently attacked media houses and journalists for asking him probing questions, branding them “opposition media” and “vultures”.

He had also banned government advertisements from the privately-owned Stabroek News newspaper, but this was reversed only after the Guyana Times newspaper owned by his friend, Dr. Ranjisinghi ‘Bobby’ Ramroop began publication. The privately-owned CNS-TV6 and HBTV Channel 9 had been also taken off the air during Jagdeo’s presidency.

Meanwhile, the Opposition Leader threatened that if his People’s Progressive Party (PPP) returns to office, it would go after incumbent politicians who have allegedly squandered or misappropriated public funds for their personal interest. He said measures would include civil recovery actions and deductions from pensions.

“There is a whole slew of things that are going to come,” he said.

I hope they take away the property and give him a nice big tent.

LOL....

Is that the sea in the background? De man got a great ocean view.

If I was his neighbor living in the grey house in front of his, I would be pissed because his house is blocking de man's view.

LOL....

If I was his neighbor living in the grey house in front of his, I would be pissed because his house is blocking de man's view.

Guyana's Maharaja Bharatwa Jagdeowa in his Seaside Palace with pool house, guest house, servants house, etc. What a life. Next time I visit Guyana, I'll be sure to go and take some pics.     

LOL....

Guyana's Maharaja Bharatwa Jagdeowa in his Seaside Palace with pool house, guest house, servants house, etc. What a life. Next time I visit Guyana, I'll be sure to go and take some pics.     

Be careful before he pull you in

LOL....

Gyal, who God bless, no man curse. Jagdeo is living the good life. It is nearly a decade since he started being accused of one crime or another and he is still enjoying more freedom than anyone else in Guyana. Jagdeo will prevail. He like Teflon. 😀

Kascz, maybe but if they have evidence that he stole, Jail him. NO ONE IS ABOVE THE LAW!!! People in Govt is there to serve(NOT THE PNC) not to steal taxpayers money!!!!

I agree that he is not above the law and should be prosecuted if he committed crimes. The problem is the current government wants to try legal cases outside of the courts. From all the allegations that go back to even before the 2011 elections, we should have been seeing PPP MPs before the courts every day.

Even though Ali probably doesn’t have any undergraduate degrees, I still think he will present them sooner than his case comes to a conclusion. 😀

He can only "present" what he has achieved. If not he has done the biggest con job on the people.

Even though Ali probably doesn’t have any undergraduate degrees, I still think he will present them sooner than his case comes to a conclusion. 😀

On a serious note, if he does not have the degrees he claimed he has and is not removed from being the Presidential candidate then Guyana is beyond a SHIT HOLE and the PPP is nothing but GARBAGE!!!!!!

He needs to man up and produce his qualifications. Not that his qualifications matter. I think he is a smart guy. It is questioning his veracity. Hope he can come clean.

If he cannot show proof of his qualifications, then he is a FAKE and is unqualified as a Presidential candidate.

I don’t think the banna has any degrees. Check out the weird names of some of the schools he has papers from. I didn’t even make it to 2nd standard and I must have better papers than this banna. 😀

Jagdeo unbothered by SARA lawsuit over “Pradoville 2”

– describes it as “Silly” and “politically motivated”

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo has confirmed receiving a lawsuit from the State Assets Recovery Agency (SARA) over purchased land at “Pradoville 2” located at Sparendaam, East Coast Demerara, but has described it as silly and politically motivated.
“Yes, I have received it, I am responding to it… my lawyers are responding to it… I didn’t even look at it; I heard it came and I told the guys to send it over to the lawyers… it’s a political matter, I don’t waste my time… it a routine matter for me,” he told the media on Thursday.
Jagdeo said the Director and Deputy Director of SARA, Professor Clive Thomas and Aubrey Heath-Retemyer are holding their respective posts illegally. The Opposition has argued that the SARA Act provides very clearly that their appointments shall be made through a parliamentary process. Since that Act came into force last year, that process was never activated.
The Opposition has argue too that a transition provision in the Act allowed the Director who operated in the agency before the Act came into force, to continue to act in that office for a limited period. They noted however that that period has long expired.
Jagdeo said he recalled that SARA had stated publicly that they are working on some high-profile cases, with recoveries above US$10 million and these cases would be filed by the third quarter of 2018, which they did not. Instead, they have gone to the Pradoville issue.
“SOCU (Special Organised Crime Unit), SARA nor FIU (Financial Intelligence Unit) have not charged a single drug dealer, they have not launched a single cases against or recovered a single cent from anybody. Now Pradoville is the only case after we have spent close to $600-$700 million on hiring the geriatric cabal at SARA,” he added.
The former President has also made it clear that he would not pay a single cent more for the land, even if he was asked to pay a difference by SARA. “Why would I waste my time behind an adventure which is a political matter…?” Jagdeo said, when pressed for an answer.
Jagdeo had said that SARA is just another mean for the Government to secure employment for retired citizens. “If you shut down SARA, you can hire 400 people. Where are these US$10 million cases that SARA was supposed to discover, (they said) that how many people had US$10 million and above abroad. What is happening with them? They are just wasting our money.”
The Opposition has also spoken about the directors known and professed political connections. Professor Thomas is a leader of the Working People’s Alliance (WPA), one of the political parties in the coalition Government.
On the other hand, Heath-Retemyer was quoted in the press as conceding that he has a political affiliation. He did not disclose to which political party he is aligned. Tacuma Ogunseye and Desmond Trotman, two longstanding leaders of the WPA were also employed by the agency.